A cabby was sentenced to two weeks jail for obstructing a public servant from discharging his duties.
Tan Teck San, 46, parked his taxi half a metre behind an ambulance at Marina Square around noon on 20 Feb last year.
The paramedics had been dispatched to a clinic
there because a patient was feeling breathless.

While they could open the rear doors of the ambulance, they could not move the patient from the stretcher into the ambulance.
When one of the paramedics asked the cabby to shift his vehicle, Tan said he couldn't because of another vehicle parked behind his, and added: "So what (if) you got (a) call?"
He then asked the paramedics to move their ambulance forward.
Tan is now out on bail pending his appeal against his sentence. For obstructing a public servant, Tan could have been jailed three months and fined $2,500.
-- TNP
Looks like he got a valid defense,
he cannot reverse bec another vehicle was behind his taxi...
The taxi driver ought to be taught a lesson.
He should not have parked so near the ambulance in the first place.
Yes the ambulance can move forward and save the day, but the taxi still obstructed the ambulance.
I hope they make an example out of him.
2 man whack an ambulance driver , got away scot free. 1 taxi block an ambulance kena jailed. wad is this country becoming?
Ambulance driver, not on call, is also just another driver if only going from point A to point B, even in an ambulance.
The taxi driver was obstructing a real evacuation.
Originally posted by Pandanchen:Looks like he got a valid defense,
he cannot reverse bec another vehicle was behind his taxi...
read from the paper there not parking lot. Fell so stupid la move only what so hard..
Go and vote for PAP lor .....
There are ambulance drivers , emergency or not also use siren.
Once I was driving behind an ambulance with the siren and strobe light ON.
When about to reach the coffee shop the siren was OFF, one of them went to the coffee shop to buy food.
the taxi driver deserved it. if really no space and you just need to move off and go around the marina area one round also wouldnt take more than 3mins.
Trust me if that taxi driver isnt driving a taxi but his own car he wont get jailed. Period. In the first place the ambulance is obstructing the way. An ambulance have 3 persons inside namely the driver and two paramedics......what the hell the driver cant move forward and expect two cars to reverse for him.....no bloody logic.
'Can't we all get along?' Rodney King
orbee goot
He still want to appeal the case somemore. Hope he gets an even longer sentense in his appeal.
2 weeks jail just lan lan take it as a new experience lah. Still want to waste time and money to file a appeal. He think employ lawyer don't need money is it?
Stupid guy
i dunno la .... i felt sad for this cabby .
I mean , initiative la guys .
An ambulance behind you , siren on , u must find ways to give way to him , we are educated to do that , isn't we ?
all along u see Ambulance on highways , siren on , u also give way , right ?
Why look for trouble ?
Buay song , buay song for just that 3 secs only , right ?
After ambulance go , then u do what u want , right ?
I dun believe the ambulance dun give you any chance . They will warn you before they issue you those threats .
Ambulance is there to help and save people , they are not out to make life difficult for anyone .
I am sorry , i think this cabby deserve it .
If once ambulance put you on charge , u must damn one fucking idiot .
Originally posted by Poolman:i dunno la .... i felt sad for this cabby .
I mean , initiative la guys .
An ambulance behind you , siren on , u must find ways to give way to him , we are educated to do that , isn't we ?
all along u see Ambulance on highways , siren on , u also give way , right ?
Why look for trouble ?
Buay song , buay song for just that 3 secs only , right ?
After ambulance go , then u do what u want , right ?
I dun believe the ambulance dun give you any chance . They will warn you before they issue you those threats .
well, speaking from a taxi driver pt of view, a clap.
I think this was just a bit too much. Why does it need to involve Jail? A fine would have been enough for it will hit the driver hard and message sent.
Sometimes, we all read the story, but we dont know what happened before like, maybe the taxi driver was involved in some other incidents, and in that thought, the ambulance driver.
Normally, the AO or ambulance officer or we called vehicle commander is the officer who will make the call.
And in this case, she/he must have been pushed over the edge.
Sad for the taxi driver, made an example, with an over-the-top punishment.
Originally posted by iceFatboy:well, speaking from a taxi driver pt of view, a clap.
I think this was just a bit too much. Why does it need to involve Jail? A fine would have been enough for it will hit the driver hard and message sent.
Sometimes, we all read the story, but we dont know what happened before like, maybe the taxi driver was involved in some other incidents, and in that thought, the ambulance driver.
Normally, the AO or ambulance officer or we called vehicle commander is the officer who will make the call.
Must be the cabby very xia lan la. If not the judge will not give out a jail sentence. And if the patient the ambulance is attending too die becos of 3 mins late.. I think 2 weeks jail for him is already discount wo..
U guys dun forget , every ambulance has got a camera to take down all those things u did .
They have reached their limits for this case , and with evidence , they can proceed with pressing charges against that taxi driver .
Not only the vehicle commander can be the wtiness , ambuance driver also can be witness , beside those evidence taken from the camera .
My advice , whatever ego u can have , whatever obstructions u can have , at least u try to make way for ambulance .
They are there for a rescue mission , not la kopi .
This is certainly a wake up call for those ignorant driver .
Whatever anti-PAP or anti-government , pls la ....... Ambulance are there to save your fellow Singaporeans , fellow lives .
Originally posted by iceFatboy:well, speaking from a taxi driver pt of view, a clap.
the jail sentence was to �一儆百.