Saw a few threads .
Since a few months back .
From GreenHornet to whoever u can see .
Just pass from SMRT , goes Ssangyong , goes MercCabs , goes Sonata , goes Crown .
U think hirer song si bo ?
U think OMO easy as ABC ?
Old bird and current " after probation " drivers , what you think ?
New bird be OMO ?
...i notice something...alot come to this forum to get advise but how many really listen? Must let them try then they will know what best for them. OMO the only good point i can think, its all yours don't have to worry what kind of relief u will get.
I am going OMO soon...
But oni aft 1yr+ as relief
Many considerations (time for family, no CPF,MC,Leave etc)
Did a lot of calculations (Target everyday/month? How much is enough?)
Asked a lot of advise, opinions (in STC, SgForums)
Make a lot of plans (selling my car and bike, etc)
Try out Walkie group (haha even I drive only 3 or 4 days currently)
Be prepared (in case there r some bad times)
I AM READY!
Kingkong , u are consider 1 year experience , it's ok to go OMO , cos at least got 1 yr experience , but some just pass ...OMO ?
That my Azera37 mate , was an OMO from beginning , after he got his license , he just call it quit .
Originally posted by Poolman:but some just pass ...OMO ?
i am 1`of those. in fact, after i collect my tvl on a fri, i took cab the following thur. actually wanted to take on mon, but certain personal issue crop up, so delay few days.
am i being æ•¢æ»é˜Ÿï¼Œor 大笨蛋? it really depends on which pov anyone coming from. 1st and formost, i decide to be a td when i went for my tvl. so the next step was to look for something that suits me. (i want as less responsibility as possible). now, some bros may ask, hirer sure to have lots of responsibility. not for my case. i join my current comp mainly because, the deposit is only $250. (beg, steal, borrow also not diff!), next issue, i can actually quit as and when i like, just have to give 14 days notice in advance. so why not?
i'm someone who don't like people to nag at me. (imagine i got a hirer who want to do vehicle inspection on every handover, i die!) to me, as lone its reasonably clean, whats the issue? no body is going to sleep inside anyway.
i try to find a hirer, but to no avail, after some serious thoughts, my current comp suits me just fine even if its to be a hirer. also i'm lucky that i found a relief after about 20 days...
Originally posted by Poolman:
U think hirer song si bo ?
U think OMO easy as ABC ?
hirer not really song, but if being a relief and got a shot plug hirer, also not song.
omo is def not easy as abc, unless with strong will and determination, then go for it.
I actually cannot bear to see new drivers straight jump into OMO bandwagons .
I still believe , every step must be gradual .....
From crawlings , standing , walking , running etc .... In order to built up that self belief in yourself .
I learnt from sweeping floors in town ... then learnt to sweep trying to find some at HDB , along the way , think of when and why they take taxis , get a bit of understanding can be useful in taxi driving .
Then up a level to use bookings , and always find more about other MDT . Power likewise etc ....
Then up another level into Jurong Industrial areas like Tuas .
Then slowly to Loyangs , Changi , Pandan , Penjuru etc .... my network of call taking . So when and where need calls , it's in my finger tips .
Keep thinking of ways to up another level .
Slowly move up more levels up into Shenton Ways etc .....
Then everyday improving my income .
Always wanting to reach aother summit .
Then slowly up another level , to master Airport .
Then walkie talkie etc .....
This process took me 9 years .
Wee and Cash Lee are 2 great examples of OMO after passed , and very soon must find a relief .
Now Wee song song kao jurong everyday . Smiling face everyday .
First few weeks , he cannot smile .
Some new drivers when they are at Suntec or Shenton Ways for example ....
They must be thinking : " Wow , taxi stands , everywhere so many people , must on call then got cab , taxi drivers must be damn song ."
Every morning they take buses , se many people wait at road side , they must be thinking : " Wow , business very good . "
But once they at office , they see anything ?
Are they aware taxi stands after 10am , long long Q of taxis ?
Have they seen those taxis cruising headlessly ?
So for those new soon-to-drivers , dun see from one side , pls see from different and wider angles .
Originally posted by Poolman:Wee and Cash Lee are 2 great examples of OMO after passed , and very soon must find a relief .
Now Wee song song kao jurong everyday . Smiling face everyday .
First few weeks , he cannot smile .
yes sir! i call it the power of having a relief...
not only that. i got to admit i learn alot from you and my teacher, lakeview 388! during my 1st month, i recall how i did some "stupid" things during my 1st 2 weeks and laugh while cruising into cbd to choose pax while treating those outside cbd as transparent.
now i'm quite constant to hit certain amt. still aiming more and still learning.
My friend's brother was a A level graduate , was an Engineer in a chemistry processing plant .
Lots of free time , work 3 days , off 4 days , 24 hours rotating shifts .
So he took up taxi driving .....
Well , his brother is a cabby , so he thought , his brother can earn $2500 a month , not even completed N level , he A level , surely can .
But NO !!!
he quit in 8 tries .
Once in a week , for 2 months .
He started to have doubts to how we can earn $2500 to $3000 per month .
From there , i understood , not all beginners , can have $100 take home , my friend's brother took home , according to him , sometimes $20 , tat's why he quit , claiming a waste of time .
He just dunno where , when , what , which , who about taxi driving .....
Originally posted by wee's:
yes sir! i call it the power of having a relief...not only that. i got to admit i learn alot from you and my teacher, lakeview 388! during my 1st month, i recall how i did some "stupid" things during my 1st 2 weeks and laugh while cruising into cbd to choose pax while treating those outside cbd as transparent.
now i'm quite constant to hit certain amt. still aiming more and still learning.
U should try to adopt something unique about your own driving .
Dun just listen to us .
I really salute those who can omo a sonata/Merc/Maxicab
plus fuel at least $130+ knn how to drive?
Originally posted by Poolman:
U should try to adopt something unique about your own driving .Dun just listen to us .
oh ya, i know. but i still green, so i explore along the way. i need to have more knocks, experience to have my own style.
Sonata , with CDg's bookings , can la .....
Merc got Merc's jobs , and $3.20 .
If u calculate , drive merc and sonata , with fuel and rental , same one .
Sonata , cheaper rental , higher diesel used .
Merc , higher rental , cheaper diesel .
SsangYong i dunno .
<MaxiCab> , still ok with 7-seater's jobs .
Each one has got their own lobangs before they commited to that !
This topic is about new , and start off with very high rental taxis , and OMO .
imo never jump ship into omo just becos wanna earn more $$$
without exp,can really die very fast
most of $$$ from your efforts will be using to pay only rental,fuel,season parking & maybe only left $20 salary
How come some people can earn $150-$200 by driving only 10-12hrs?
How come some people only earn $80 after driving 14-16hrs?
That's the diff between omo(also must see wat vehicle) & being a relief driver
Poolman u have miss out those, A1 top class Greenhornet.
Just pass only. Sign up for a new cab,5 year's contract. Confidence, determination, courage, 5 years planning.... This is what many lack. I did not follow up, so don't know how are they doing now?
Do know that some who started as OMO got lot of problem with the relief. No experience! Some TD are special breed, no easy to handle.
Originally posted by lazyeebone:Poolman u have miss out those, A1 top class Greenhornet.
Just pass only. Sign up for a new cab,5 year's contract. Confidence, determination, courage, 5 years planning.... This is what many lack. I did not follow up, so don't know how are they doing now?
Do know that some who started as OMO got lot of problem with the relief. No experience! Some TD are special breed, no easy to handle.
Huh ? Greenhornet sign up what 5-yr-contract ? Prime u mean ?
Ai yo , wo nya bo ?
when i was a OMO , i hated Sunday !!
When others off on Sunday , we actually must work on Sunday .
When others earned double pay on Sunday , we dun have double pay .
Not only dun have double pay , also dun have those regular surcharges .
Stupid .
See i'm starting engine very soon,0740hrs on a sunday
so you still wanna be a hirer lol ?
knn sianz
Originally posted by lazyeebone:Poolman u have miss out those, A1 top class Greenhornet.
Greenhornet I salute you! Power
Originally posted by Teolk:See i'm starting engine very soon,0740hrs on a sunday
so you still wanna be a hirer lol ?
knn sianz
haha knn sianz lor bro i understand, my hirer starts round 9am
on Sun juz drive cover rental some $$ for makan then spend time
with family but sian lor like working for free.