Thesedays Private Cars do more than just block other cars (Taxis?), they actively provoke them, maybe to tease for fun or create an opportunity for accident, either way they treat the road and moving cars like a game. A Game of Ego.
A call came in about 2 traffic lights away from pickup point, need to filter right from left soon (to turn right) as the 2nd traffic light is nearer and shorter.
check right side, theres a black private car but further back, should be sufficient time to change lane, so gave signal and start tilt car inwards..SUDDENLY, the black private car accelerate so fast until its window to window..i thought maybe i misjudged so i straightened and then slowed down to let it pass.
but that black car DIDNT accelerate or drive faster. in fact it ALSO slowed down to match my new speed, again window to window..i was like ??
so i was ok, fine, maybe that driver didnt notice i was signalling to go right earlier until now, so now the driver's letting me to go ahead, i then accelerated again thinking go in front since its slowing down. AGAIN that driver accelerated forward to match window for window..!?
I feel something is not right, when i look out of my driver seat window at that black car (still on the right), i notice the driver had suddenly switched on its internal cabin light and he was a early thirties fellow in casual, look like those yappies executives. he has a strange half smile smirk on his face and sort of pretended to look down, looking for something somewhere around his handbrake or seat side compartment..BUT as we came neared to the 1st traffic light, HE STOPPED 4 VEHICLE SPACES FROM THE 1ST CAR ON HIS LANE!? i repeat again, he stopped 4 empty vehicle spaces from him to the 1st vehicle (stopped at the traffic light line) on his lane. (his cabin light still on, he still looking downwards, not holding steering wheel)
As I was slowing down in my lane, theres a bus ahead (also around 3-4 empty vehicle spaces ahead me), and I knew the next traffic light was quite near, so I sped up abit to filter into that 4 vehicle spaces in front of that car. I thought the driver meant for me to go in there..but You guess what that driver did next !!
While still looking down, he must have suddenly stepped down on the accelerator to forward his car to close down the 4 empty vehicle spaces!!
Because I moved faster first, I managed to get my vehicle into his lane by the time we both got near to the traffic light. But he still continued to prod forward, so my vehicle got sort of pinched between my lane front bus on the left and that black car on the right. Finally that fellow stopped. But this is not the end!
Becos I was tilted rightwards, he now switch on high beam! I was next expecting he would flash or horn, but he didnt. When the traffic light turned green to go, I had to do a hard swing leftwards to straighten the vehicle, but if I had overstepped on the accelerator then my vehicle might jutt out into the 3rd right lane where there are also vehicles moving off.
Later on as I picked up the passenger, I thought back and I realised, that black private car driver was intentionally playing with me at along, from the moment I gave signal to go right til he deliberately set a trap by stopping 4 empty vehicle spaces away from the first vehicle parked the traffic light line. he anticipated I had to filter in there (think he also knew the next traffic light is coming up) so he could pinch me sideways. I dont see any reason for him to suddenly turn on his internal cabin light when we are window to window.. he did it with a half smile and pretending to touch his side compartment, all without looking at me, to tell me:
HE IS THE KING OF THE ROAD.
you muz be driving a crown , u might wanna consider taking a sonata , magentis , CDI or skoda. then u dont have to tolerate such behaviour
I remember when i was still driving crown towards ECP besideORQ, that mami F**ker drive infront of me 20-30km(he is the only car infront) i cut to next lane and F**k him. Now sonata hahaha....if meet this kind f**ker i will go infront him and jam brake c who tou ki..give way to taxi drive no face to them, u drive crown they even no face giving u way.
In Singapore, we dont signal so we can filter lane. If we want to signal, then filter first and then signal in the middle of lane change. Otherwise problems can arise from these fucking drivers.
Remember, just loon and loon. We are here to collect as much fares as we can. We are not here to pick a fight with anybody.
I am a Toyota Crown driver. Red light junction turn green, I am always first ahead, even with porsche beside me. Of course down the road I lose to them. Up to a certain level, driving fast depends more on skill than the car model.
no offence to those driving crowns. some of em really kiam kan sometimes. take right lane go at 80 km/h , when my sonata or any other car go behind em , refuse to budge , hog the farking lane.
i come across a lot of crowns really beh song with sonatas , when they see a sonata , they purposely dont give way.
hate tis type of TD. u dulan wad? pay $15 more la , u also can take sonata wad!
then to add , there are those driving CDI , also cannot tahan a sonata overtake em . will either catch up and zoom past me just to prove a pt. CDI i know i confirm i cannot beat u all one but if u are driving slow , pple must stay behind u? cannot overtake? fark la
i also dont like crown.
they tend to drive at 80/90km/h on lane 1... switch to N and glide. behind car wouldnt know he is slowing down slowly but surely.
and no one drives at 80/90 on KJE/SLE/TPE on lane 1. seriously.
Sorry to see so many crown haters. I always give way to others whenever possible. We cannot change the stinking singaporean driver mentality, but we can decide not to follow the crowd and make things worse. I drive 100 on major expressways unless got camera and never glide. Gliding with an empty taxi means no $$$.
i dont hate crowns but in general if a faster car comes behind , pls siam . i do tat all the time. my normal speed is 110 to 120. if you're going more than that , i will gladly shift for you to pass even if u are china car or german car or taxi.
f1taxidriver, u dont believe just observe on the expressways , theres bound to have one crown hogging lane 1 & taking his own farking sweet time and a Q of cars behind him.
even at 100 , u should make it a habit to look at ur rear mirrors for faster cars.
Originally posted by Tio Call Liao:
f1taxidriver, u dont believe just observe on the expressways , theres bound to have one crown hogging lane 1 & taking his own farking sweet time and a Q of cars behind him.
true. travelling east to west everyday always see such instances. as cab drivers, i believe you would see even more instances than i do.
when i overtake them via lane 2, it's either they are animatedly telling passengers some story or just very concentrated looking forward driving. whatever happened to the habit of looking at your rear view mirror every few seconds.
Originally posted by sinicker:true. travelling east to west everyday always see such instances. as cab drivers, i believe you would see even more instances than i do.
when i overtake them via lane 2, it's either they are animatedly telling passengers some story or just very concentrated looking forward driving. whatever happened to the habit of looking at your rear view mirror every few seconds.
every nite i see that. can be very frustrating esp when my own policy is to 'pick and alight pax' fast.
but then sometimes if u look properly & see the driver is full of white hair , ok la forget it just accelerate and overtake. very hard to reason with ah peks. they will probably say they are within speed limit knn
TioCallLiao,
I always monitor my rear view mirror for fast drivers and siam for them to overtake. I always remember what my taxi instructor told us at E2I.
"Life is short. If someone wants to overtake you and go Mandai crematorium first, let them go ahead and overtake."
Ya these types r always those white hair wrinkles many types...
juz move on lor, 敬�尊贤 mah...
Originally posted by f1taxidriver:"Life is short. If someone wants to overtake you and go Mandai crematorium first, let them go ahead and overtake."
tat is purely road courtesy. nothing abt going crematorium or wad. you are looking at a driver with no accident record for 6 years.
pai seh got one but is people whack into me
Originally posted by kingzkong:Ya these types r always those white hair wrinkles many types...
juz move on lor, 敬�尊贤 mah...
how to move on when every nite u come across tis type? hahaha
to be fair,i've came across a fair share of private cars giving way to me when i signal my intention. Most of them will wait patiently behind me when i pick up a fare along the road,i never fail to wave a "thank you" after moving off
in all aspect,there'll be blacksheeps...be it taxis or private vehicles
there are good sbs drivers that give way to me for filtering or exit.
most of the bad drivers have bad attitude and the selfish always "me" type mentality.
some are panicky ah pek, auntie, chio bu, youngster who horn, flash discrimately.
some are cocky and thought they are king of the road sporty, hatch back, loud exhaust noise but no speed type.
truck drivers are another lot you have to watch out..
of course i also met many of our TD drivers of which good soul type and bad apples type regardless of car models and company.
another attitude type of motorist are those ang mor drivers/riders
don't know why they are always so friendly as pax but once they're behind the wheels,it is totally opposite
they will horn or flash at you when u switch into their lane with 3 cars length to spare
I kena b4 an ang mor big bike rider hit my window with his fist when i stop to pick up a pax
I had signal way b4 hand & he still get so angry
knn
i think what ken say is true.....:)
Originally posted by Teolk:another attitude type of motorist are those ang mor drivers/riders
don't know why they are always so friendly as pax but once they're behind the wheels,it is totally opposite
they will horn or flash at you when u switch into their lane with 3 cars length to spare
I kena b4 an ang mor big bike rider hit my window with his fist when i stop to pick up a pax
I had signal way b4 hand & he still get so angry
knn
I have met many of those ladies angmor drivers...very panicky type...and show their sour face some more....when i give ample time to signal for filtering out , they press a long horn sound...WTF
not only angmor, Foreign Ah Neh (also lady) - cannot give way.
Who King Of The Road ?
U all saying ME ????
Originally posted by Poolman:Who King Of The Road ?
U all saying ME ????
Yah i forgot leh...every time i saw your number from my back mirror in CTE, i siam siam siam and let you go first.
Also another guy Tony (skoday) always tailgate me from behind in CTE and AYE.... he either flash me high and low from behind me, or speed to my side in the middle of expressway and give me a horn....give me a big shock......knn
Originally posted by Tio Call Liao:no offence to those driving crowns. some of em really kiam kan sometimes. take right lane go at 80 km/h , when my sonata or any other car go behind em , refuse to budge , hog the farking lane.
i come across a lot of crowns really beh song with sonatas , when they see a sonata , they purposely dont give way.
hate tis type of TD. u dulan wad? pay $15 more la , u also can take sonata wad!
not only crown some stupid sonata driver also, last night rushing to ap at PIE i was 120km the stupid sonata 90km right lane center also got one car 80-90km...i have to go to the left lane cut back to right lane...i only can explain their behaviour as sour grape.