After drivin for quite a while , i still am not certain whether the metre jumps faster when the vehicle is moving fast or when it is slow.
i always have pax asking me and i tell em that the faster i go , the cheaper your fare will be.
so anyone here can tell for certain if this is true?
KC lao gui? any input?
Well... if you go faster, it would only turn in the km travelled. if the vehicle is crawling in the traffic. it will count in the time.
what i mean is when the car is in motion. say 110 km/h compared to 70 . which will jump faster? coz i see many TDs drive at 60 to 70 on highway , is there a reason why they go so slow?
yah lor , the faster the taxi , the cheaper it is .
Traffic jam , knn from Tuas to Ap , $60 , how can that be ?
Normally is about $45 .
cause the taxi meter is calibrate accurate max to 110km/h......in mileage faster = u go 140km/h the calibration is off.....apollo meter go the faster.....proved...can pump the tire pressure lower metter will jump 5% more.
Just to share my 2 cents worth.
Most meters are tapped from the source of the transducer or sensor used to produce 'speed' to the speedometer & odometer. This 'pulses' has been correctly calibrated by the manufacturer of the said vehicle.
There's no way to amend unless you are the mechanic.
I am not sure whether the meter 'clock' faster if you do more than 100.
But I am sure if one changed to a 'under-sz' tyre, you are going at 100 as shown in the meter, but was actually at 95 physically. got it?
Anyone tried it before?
Just for info.. all taxis meters in Singapore runs on Mirage (km), distance travelled.... and are regulated by LTA. anyone tempts with the meter will get into trouble with the authority. But if you are caught in the jams or traffic lights junction (cab stationery), every 25 seconds, the meter will jump 20cents..... Hence, it is diffinitely better when you cabs are cruising up and down a expressway... from my understanding, an hour, the revenue is around $25 w/o peak hour, evening CBD surcharges, sentosa casino surcharges & airport + call surcharges. But if you got stucked in traffic jams... your revenue may even drop to around $14.. to $15 per hour... ( me not from LTA, not a cab driver either... ) but all the info are truth.... (unless changes made to it after 2009).
The above meter rates doesn't not include SMRT Chryslers Limo Taxis which meter jumps every 30 cents instead of the normal 20 cents per 200m travelled. The Blues/Yellow meters will jump faster after 10km, ie, 20cents per 175m (after 10km travelled)
Originally posted by Sgm40 vps:Just to share my 2 cents worth.
Most meters are tapped from the source of the transducer or sensor used to produce 'speed' to the speedometer & odometer. This 'pulses' has been correctly calibrated by the manufacturer of the said vehicle.
There's no way to amend unless you are the mechanic.
I am not sure whether the meter 'clock' faster if you do more than 100.
But I am sure if one changed to a 'under-sz' tyre, you are going at 100 as shown in the meter, but was actually at 95 physically. got it?
Anyone tried it before?
My advice to you is NOT TO TEMPT with your Tyres size or pressure.. Not worth it.. Furthermore, if you get a punctual on your tyres, you will have difficulty changing it....
especially with the current model of the "last model of the round eyes", the Rims-nuts are very difficult to be unwise... Furthermore, the Mercedes has it own "computer" within. It tracks down the air-pressure and will prompt you onces your tyres are not in good-conditions... an early warning signal to the driver (advance techno)... And upon changing tyres... which normally takes you quite a while.... the opportunity costs lost.... hence, better weigh your options before deciding... good luck....
JDIL, correct me if I am wrong..
You mean different taxi company has got different meter jump interval? I thought it is 'standardise' across the board, meaning 380m for <10km, and 330m for >10km.
I checked website, say all taxis same regardless of normal cab or limo cab.
advise pls. tks
Pls refer to the "sticker" normally placed on the left side of passenger's backseat windows. It clearly tells the passenger on board the Flagged down rates, the respective surcharges, peak hours timing & charges. ( I got the above-mentioned info from one of the cabs recently ). All meters assigned by the authority should run the same as cost of transporting the pax are based on mirage, distance run ( except the Black Chyslers taxis, their charges different from the rest as it jumps by 30 cents for the same distance travelled.). But if you gets catch in a jam or at stationery positions, the meter will jumps every 25 seconds...
meter jumps 20 cents per 45 seconds of waiting time (not 25 secs).
distance is correct at 20 cents for 380m for first 10km, thereafter it is 20 cents for every 330m.
travelling at 100km/hr your meter jump approximately 65cents every 45 seconds. Therefore I do not like pax to ask me to wait. Waiting costs me money. They will tell you that meter is on lah, I will tell them my calculations.
Hate to say this but it is the ang mohs who pay you for waiting, $6 plus meter every 15mins. Locals think 'meter running is big fuck'.
I see. only Chyslers are different from the rest..
Is it often that customers give additional $$$ + meter from those calls from taxi stand? eg: LV taxi stand...
if yes? means broadcasting: "Blk 10M Braddel View to airport T3, $8 + meter", "No 45, Springleaf garden to MOE HQ, $8 + meter, anyone?"
Mmm... what is the reason here? faster? or..
The $8 add-on is the current call surcharges for Limo Cabs... If a pax called for a cab (cab within the next 5-12mins, the "normal" current call surcharge is $2.50 at this hour, this defers with the time you call).. sometimes you may get a Mercedes Cab...
But if the pax request for a Limo Cab, then the extra bill is Meter + $8.... Advance call is at $16 (at least 30mins in advance... i think) haha..
Check out with some Limo grouping since you are driving the Mercedes cab... it should help to generate more income.. and more traffic informations
I see. That's the normal limo surcharge.
Tks a lot.