Hello all i have a couple of questions that i wish i could clarify and i doubt there are any better places than here,a culimnation of cabbys! Therefore can anyone here enlighten me?my question is as follows:
Is there a designated area which is considered city area? If not how does a passenger safeguard his interests?However if there is indeed a designated city area how would you suggest the passenger react to a driver who tries to add the extra "city" charge?i am especially curious about Central mall at clarke quay in particular, is it by any chance under the "city area"?
Thanks again to those taking the time to read the topic and answer!
Originally posted by ALN:yes central mall and central C both are considered $3 city…
how to define city? if a taxi MUST (no other way) pass through a ERP gantry to get to exact pick up spot, then it is city…. still confused?
suspicious whether cabby cheating you? just look at the colour of the taxi… if blue or yellow quite safe… if red…......... hahaha
yaya....i blue 1 very very safe...other hmmmmm............
thanks for the quick and awesome replies!
Originally posted by pistonf:Hello all i have a couple of questions that i wish i could clarify and i doubt there are any better places than here,a culimnation of cabbys! Therefore can anyone here enlighten me?my question is as follows:
Is there a designated area which is considered city area? If not how does a passenger safeguard his interests?However if there is indeed a designated city area how would you suggest the passenger react to a driver who tries to add the extra "city" charge?i am especially curious about Central mall at clarke quay in particular, is it by any chance under the "city area"?
Thanks again to those taking the time to read the topic and answer!
Very easy la, after 5pm where got long taxi Q mean got $3 lo...and those got long pax Q mean no la...
questions: if i am in orchard road after 5pm and i going to selegie road. i will pass by 2 gantry after handy road right? so is selegie city area?
ok i got the ans , its cbd all the way till middle road junction
is there a rule that in cbd we can only pick up and drop off at taxi stand or stop?
Originally posted by mangodew:ok i got the ans , its cbd all the way till middle road junction
wrong. end of CBD is the junction of Bt Timah road and Selegie Road. e.g pick a pax from the old REX cinema is CBD. pick at the bus stop of boon siew bldg is out of CBD. mackenzie , niven rd short street , prinsep street , sophia road all falls within CBD
To the thread started , my advice to you , don't try walking from inside CBD to just outside of CBD just to save that $3 surcharge , u will be very very disappointed .....
If u dun believe .....
8.30pm , just go and check out Ion Orchards t/s and Wisma Atria t/s .
Ion Ochards long Q of passengers , no taxis .
Wisma long Q of taxis , no passenger .
another place is along scott road , far east plaza, hyatt hotel n marriott hotel -> long Q of paxs, no taxis but lucky plaza -> long Q of taxis but not many paxs... just need to see who have the patience to wait only ... paxs or TD ... haha ...
Originally posted by ALN:most are clear cut…
some must really think a bit e.g. clemenceau… fort canning…mazchenzie… niven road….
but still same logic lah…
yah juz need to visualise where the erp gantry r can liao>
Rex i pick up few pax liao they ask got cbd ah?? I said yes
n even printed receipt for some of them if they need to clarify
with company or LTA.
Originally posted by Sonata83:another place is along scott road , far east plaza, hyatt hotel n marriott hotel -> long Q of paxs, no taxis but lucky plaza -> long Q of taxis but not many paxs... just need to see who have the patience to wait only ... paxs or TD ... haha ...
Haha Ion really cmi every nite 1 pax crying for taxis..... :P
Ion Orchards paxes , for me , they are clever , just too clever .
I always kena calls from Ion Orchards .... i always thinking ....
U booked a cab , $3.50 .
Just walk a few steps into Wisma , $3 .
And yet they still call .
Wondering why they dun looked around , seeing why TAXI kept going into WISMA .
And when taxi empty , always BUSY after alighting paxes at Ion Orchard .
Not clever or too clever ? either way , they still cannot get any taxis .
Originally posted by Poolman:Ion Orchards paxes , for me , they are clever , just too clever .
Like old hokkien saying.... "Kiang jiu ho mai ke kiang" :P
For those not sure. The above show CBD area and all the taxi stands within CBD.
Sorry can't do a proper link in this forum. Anybody who know ps help !
Doesn't mean you pass thru gantry u are in CBD.
Don't forget about the gantrys along CTE, AYE and Bukit Timah road.
I think you need to have 30 posts before you can do a hyperlink
Originally posted by lazyeebone:http://www.lta.gov.sg/public_transport/doc/CBD%20Map%20-%20Nov%2009%20website.jpg
For those not sure. The above show CBD area and all the taxi stands within CBD.
Sorry can't do a proper link in this forum. Anybody who know ps help !