The rest of the courses in NUS and NTU are really worthless. All the students who profess their love for let's say arts, business, social sciences and the physical sciences are innocent youths. In reality, they are needed to keep the education economy going. The uni professors need a crowd of slaves to attend their boring lectures, pass their exams and work like rats in their laboratories.
One day when these students graduate and find out the cost of a HDB, they will wonder if they should have just worked those 3 or 4 years instead of wasting time in a local uni.
They will also start finding out that the garment is hiring foreigners with Masters degrees doing the same jobs for less pay.
By the time they wake up, its too late. No enough money for honey, no enough money for a resale HDB (new HDB must married first mah) and still must stay with parents till 40. Lagi worse, go library also no money for the foreign books. HAHA..
Originally posted by f1taxidriver:The rest of the courses in NUS and NTU are really worthless. All the students who profess their love for let's say arts, business, social sciences and the physical sciences are innocent youths. In reality, they are needed to keep the education economy going. The uni professors need a crowd of slaves to attend their boring lectures, pass their exams and work like rats in their laboratories.
One day when these students graduate and find out the cost of a HDB, they will wonder if they should have just worked those 3 or 4 years instead of wasting time in a local uni.
They will also start finding out that the garment is hiring foreigners with Masters degrees doing the same jobs for less pay.
By the time they wake up, its too late. No enough money for honey, no enough money for a resale HDB (new HDB must married first mah) and still must stay with parents till 40. Lagi worse, go library also no money for the foreign books. HAHA..
Absolutely agree!
Dentistry, Product Design also not bad.
All the general degrees are useless one! Even look for civil service job also worthless against FT master degrees.
Best is still to be own boss or flexi. And only taxi driving provides a certain degree of guaranteed income in this sense. Others very iffy.
f1, you stay in Chinatown? Me oso. Might even be neighbours. Haha.
Originally posted by f1taxidriver:The rest of the courses in NUS and NTU are really worthless. All the students who profess their love for let's say arts, business, social sciences and the physical sciences are innocent youths. In reality, they are needed to keep the education economy going. The uni professors need a crowd of slaves to attend their boring lectures, pass their exams and work like rats in their laboratories.
Gd description bro, go library also get mainly
foreign books nia...... :P
Bros here, get degree for what (if u have, its a plus, if u dun have. It not a minus). Do you know studying too much will clog your brain. My way of driving taxi to success :
1) Drive taxi part time, relief to have a taste of TD life. If suitable for you, then move on. Not all people are made for taxi driving.
2) Next, drive taxi full time, OMO or relief, depending on your needs, cover your expenses and save $$$$. Must saved $$$ in your bank. Dun smoke too much, dun drink, dun go library. I would recommend relief. No point u drive OMO and ended no time for yourself. You can be a hirer, but get a relief.
3) Attending crash course in TD in this forum. Ask and ask and ask. Learn and learn and learn. If u dun want to learn, u will never make it as a TD.
4) Use spare time to look out for lobang to earn residual income, anything from part time business, stock, forex trading, mlm, internet stuff....even or gui tao hehehe
5) Built up your residual income and when your residual income is comparable to TD, start to drive less taxi, slowly letting go, eg from omo to relief, to super relief.....
6) When residual income very stable, drive for fun, cos u will miss TD friends from this forum if u dun drive.
FYI, Residual income mean incomes that continues to generate even when you don't spend the time working on it. Eg, Insurance agent, mlm, real estate rental....etc.
How many person can drive taxi for lifetime? I always see driving taxi as a stepping stone to financial freedom, not as a career. Residual income is a life-term insurance. One day u go to heaven (touch wood), your families will be taken care of. Not when u driving taxi for lifetime, who will take care of your families.
For those newbie looking to drive taxi, especially to druss66. TD is not the end of tunnel, it's the beginning of a new life. To see lights at the end of tunnel depends alot on you. You can choose to see light or u can choose to remain in the darkness of tunnel.
I love driving along KPE, I always love to see lights at the end of tunnel.
Originally posted by Ngkialeong888:
I hate KPE...kena 2 photo liao...12 points gone $300 burn...:(
Originally posted by ALN:knn…. KPE so many camera warning still kena photo?
KPE my home ground… haha
the first time kena because my first day driving i took the wrong way and into KPE kang cheong forget...2nd time damn yuan wang...hahaha...3 gals inside drunk make so much noise and 1 merlion....f**k lo...2nd still not yet come i sure appeal...
You can dun know the way and exit in KPE, but you must know where the camera is.
KPE's cameras beli easy to see one.
When u see the "warning", these cameras are about 50 m from the sign.
2 on the left and 1 on the right. each one for each lane.
Cannot run one.
The camera is abt 300 x 300 mm bot on the wall.
Originally posted by Ngkialeong888:Bros here, get degree for what (if u have, its a plus, if u dun have. It not a minus). Do you know studying too much will clog your brain. My way of driving taxi to success :
1) Drive taxi part time, relief to have a taste of TD life. If suitable for you, then move on. Not all people are made for taxi driving.
2) Next, drive taxi full time, OMO or relief, depending on your needs, cover your expenses and save $$$$. Must saved $$$ in your bank. Dun smoke too much, dun drink, dun go library. I would recommend relief. No point u drive OMO and ended no time for yourself. You can be a hirer, but get a relief.
3) Attending crash course in TD in this forum. Ask and ask and ask. Learn and learn and learn. If u dun want to learn, u will never make it as a TD.
4) Use spare time to look out for lobang to earn residual income, anything from part time business, stock, forex trading, mlm, internet stuff....even or gui tao hehehe
5) Built up your residual income and when your residual income is comparable to TD, start to drive less taxi, slowly letting go, eg from omo to relief, to super relief.....
6) When residual income very stable, drive for fun, cos u will miss TD friends from this forum if u dun drive.
FYI, Residual income mean incomes that continues to generate even when you don't spend the time working on it. Eg, Insurance agent, mlm, real estate rental....etc.
How many person can drive taxi for lifetime? I always see driving taxi as a stepping stone to financial freedom, not as a career. Residual income is a life-term insurance. One day u go to heaven (touch wood), your families will be taken care of. Not when u driving taxi for lifetime, who will take care of your families.
For those newbie looking to drive taxi, especially to druss66. TD is not the end of tunnel, it's the beginning of a new life. To see lights at the end of tunnel depends alot on you. You can choose to see light or u can choose to remain in the darkness of tunnel.
haha i like ur point 5, still waiting govt to gibe me
my license for my [email protected]
to me that is confirm won won chia beehoon residual income...... :P
Come on lah, you think NTU and NUS very easy to get in. So many people are left out of the race simply because they are not good enough. Where are your children going to go when the can read and write better than you.
With taxi driver income it is very unlikely that you would be able to put your children though foreign college regimes. So please be thankful and don't trash other's people's dream of making it into local u just because you made it and is driving taxi. Let's just say I am thankful there is ITE, Poly and University programs in place.
One more thing, if you have study so much and is so good at it, I would expect you to be helping the world to be a better place at a greater magnitute than satisfying customer with one trip at a time. You are different, you have proven yourself in the academic field where so many have failed. You ought to be better.
Kalimango, I come from garment sector. All the promotions and awards in government and military service are mostly kelong one. It is not so much your capability but whether you gave your boss a good blowjob.
I am not surviving on my taxi income. It is a supplement. My children can chose to study hard and go uni, or they can chose to drop out of school and be an entrepeneur. Paper qualifications dont mean much to me and I dont emphasize it to my kids. I already have them and personally feel that education for the sake of getting a piece of certificate is a waste of money.
What is important is that my kids understand the importance of communication, how to treat people kindly, respectfully and to always be willing to learn. This will lead them to success regardless of their academic ability. If they have this spirit and they got the brains for it, I believe they can also excel in their studies and get many many certs. But to emphasize that they must have a cert or they are a big failure in life is a big NO NO.
Originally posted by f1taxidriver:Kalimango, I come from garment sector. All the promotions and awards in government and military service are mostly kelong one. It is not so much your capability but whether you gave your boss a good blowjob.
I am not surviving on my taxi income. It is a supplement. My children can chose to study hard and go uni, or they can chose to drop out of school and be an entrepeneur. Paper qualifications dont mean much to me and I dont emphasize it to my kids. I already have them and personally feel that education for the sake of getting a piece of certificate is a waste of money.
What is important is that my kids understand the importance of communication, how to treat people kindly, respectfully and to always be willing to learn. This will lead them to success regardless of their academic ability. If they have this spirit and they got the brains for it, I believe they can also excel in their studies and get many many certs. But to emphasize that they must have a cert or they are a big failure in life is a big NO NO.
Veri much agree with u bro on the military sector,
knn i was in the F navy for the last 11yrs!!! PHUI!!! :P
Wow komade u lao jiao there. Why u quit?
Originally posted by komade:Veri much agree with u bro on the military sector,
knn i was in the F navy for the last 11yrs!!! PHUI!!! :P
U WHAT??? NAVY??? Cook???storeman???hahaha...joking joking...
Originally posted by Ngkialeong888:Wow komade u lao jiao there. Why u quit?
You see his msg got the word PHUI!!! or not?
PHUI still dun quit then the person's �功一�
I wonder how he survived the 11 years. For me even the 2 years in NS I also buay tahan. Counting my ROD everyday from the day I enlisted.
hello TS:
a. Go and get your driving licence first then think about getting the taxi vocational driving licence
b. Get the taxi licence as backup, just in case you lose your current job.
c. if you failed driving test then no need to think too much on this issue
Originally posted by Ngkialeong888:Wow komade u lao jiao there. Why u quit?
2 words..... F UP!!! :P
Originally posted by Insg:You see his msg got the word PHUI!!! or not?
PHUI still dun quit then the person's �功一�
I wonder how he survived the 11 years. For me even the 2 years in NS I also buay tahan. Counting my ROD everyday from the day I enlisted.
Was fun the intial yrs then knn they change policy
a few times for the next few yrs then culture change
also not as fun as last time liao n they do not value u
in ur job anymore so i left without imparting any on my
knowledge so now another part of the naval culture n
skill sets may hav been lost...... they actually lost a number
of gd people during the last 3=5yrs all du lan quit when
contract ended then all same left without teaching new
generation anytin............
ya lor now during ICT they even got anonymous questionaire asking such questions as :
1. do u think Singapore can be defended in the event of a war?
2. are u prepared to defend Singapore in the event of a war?
Obviously I circled NO to both. Yes I love Singapore and I will be very angry if my HDB flat gets bombed. But then as much as I love Singapore, the answer to both questions is still NO. Perhaps MINDEF should tell us the SOP for evacuation of VIPs like President, MM, SM and PM in the event of a war. Will they pick up their very own SAR21 and fight?
Actually we already have history to guide us. What did they do during Jap occupation? haha....
Education is just a process in our journey. It doesn't matter which school you graduate from or whatever standard or grade. In any job, you must be able to grease your boss, carry his balls, suck up to his liking, create some good reports for his merits, clean up all the dirty shit he/she left over.
Politics is everywhere. Not only in Job, also within family.
In work - play along like an ignorant guy, innocent and sometime stupid sometime smart, sometime weird, sometime crazy,sometime hardworking, sometime lazy to show off. This is part of politics.
Too deligent, Too On the Ball, too kiasi, kiasu, Too lazy, Too Stupid. Too Egoisitc and Proud. Surely cannot survive.
Originally posted by Druss66:Hi all,
I'm thinking very hard of switching my job to become a taxi driver cos I'm really sick and tired of the corporate world with all its stress and backstabbing. Need to have a job that is my OTOT one, retrenchment-free, and less mental stress.
At the moment, I work 12-14 hours weekdays, and 6-8 hours weekends. No time for family, friends, or even myself. My mental and physical health also taking a beating because of this.
I don't need to earn 4 - 4.5k that I'm making now. Just need to make about 3 - 3.5k without CPF is fine for me cos I only have one child to support and my wife oso working.
But there're 2 problems:
1. Still on company contract for two more years
2. I don't have a driving licence
I know that my immediate action should be to get a Class 3 asap, then wait for a year until my company contract expires, so that I can become a OMO hirer.
Questions:
1. Can I apply for the VTL licence while I'm still working under contract?
2. How long before the VTL licence expires? Renewable yearly?
3. Which taxi company has the best benefits (in terms of maintenance, insurance)?
4. Which model is the best for Diesel engine? Sonata?
5. Can I expect an income of 2.8 - 3.4 k if I were to drive OMO 12 hrs a day, Mon - Sat, breaking up my shifts to include both peak hours and the 3-5pm slot?
6. Installing a GPS system is additional cost or is it included in the daily rental?
Sorry for being so 'Chang Qi' but I really wanna know from the frontline soldiers than reading 'politically correct' versions on the company public webpages.
Many thanks for your patience and hope to hear some responses. Hope to join the ranks in 2 years' time!
Druss66, i hope not to see u in TD in 2 years time.
You should be prepare for Plan B, Plan C all the way to Plan Z. Be ready to execute Plan B anytime even though you are still in contract.
Get your Driver license first and think about TD later. Spend more efforts learn how to politikal around. This is life surviving skills one need to polish no matter where you are.
Politicking doesn't means bad and it happen everyday even in coffeeshop, hawker centers.
From your Point # 1 to # 6 questions, it looks like you are too meticulate in doing things.
Take easy man....Taxi Driving may not be your cuppa.....
f1taxidriver - let me guess what you studied in NUS.....ummm.....
must be "business" graduate...worthless piece of paper.....Just a Guess...!