haha...there is an arguments between a few taxi uncles at potong pasir coffeeshop last week.... the subject all about ( Long ) trip better.... or (Short ) trip.... better contribution on your daily collection.
Some said short trip less fuel burning more income.
Some said long trip more income less fuel burning.
Which is which? (only Kong but no solid answer ...after the debate session
your opinion?
Just an example
1.One Raffles Quay 8pm . Friday night .
On Call to Raffles Hotel .( very short )..... many bidders , who fast who gets the job .
2.One Raffles Quay 8pm . Friday night .
On Call to Woodlands ( very long ) ..... no bidder . Let him rot .
Why ????
Another example :
1.One Raffles Quay 11am
On Call to Raffles Hotel ...... no bidder , rot .
2.One Raffles Quay 11am
On Call to Woodlands ...... many bidders , who come first , who get it !
WHY ????
What are there to argue ???
Day shifts .. flag down same , on call cheaper $2.50
Night shift .. flag down same , on call $3.50 , got CBD surcharge $3
Argue what ?
Day shift no surcharge , long better la . Best is many taxis time , low period , 4-5 places also can , the best it's meter dun stop !!!
Peak hour , short better la , save diesel somemore .
Night shift , long trip to Ah Wang , Ah Shun Ah wood kam lan ?
Night shift is steam steam ORQ to Raffles Hotel
Night shift is stick inside CBD .
Night shift is stick inside , inter-cbd , best with ON CALL !!!!
Aiyo play different game base on different time .
Coffee shop Uncles talks , tsk tsk ....
I wouldn't be surprise thread starter his theory is longer the better for all times !!!!
It's my last answer here .
Everyone here knows u and me are in different league .
My opinion .
Full stop . The End .
for me, it doesnt really matter if its short or long trip. but i recently discover i tend to be in better mood if the next customer is heading towards where I originally intended to head.
if i wanted to head south, the next customer wants to go chinatown. i wanted to head north, the customer goes north point. if i wanted to head downtown, the customer goes raffles place. if i wanted to head airport, the customer goes tampines.
and if i want to look for food or toilet, the customer drops right next to a kopitiam or hawker centre haha!
I have set a standard for myself which I named it as Dollar Per Kilometer(play too much MMORPG).
A TD fully maximise his fuel usage when the gap between the 2 is small. As such, my take is that short distant trip is better. TD earn more with shorter distant travelled unless the TD like to idle his engine for long period of time.
However, in reality, time and combination of both long and short trip will go a long way. As such, I see no point is arguing whether long or short trip is better. We need both. Very rare I see every single trip we pick up during the shift is less than 5km and roaming/waiting time is near to 0.
A wise TD, in my own opinion, will know roughly when he need to catch up on his dollars vs mileage. Therefore what is really important is the mindset and experiences of the TD to fully maximise his earnings.
Originally posted by La2534:I have set a standard for myself which I named it as Dollar Per Kilometer(play too much MMORPG).
A TD fully maximise his fuel usage when the gap between the 2 is small. As such, my take is that short distant trip is better. TD earn more with shorter distant travelled unless the TD like to idle his engine for long period of time.
However, in reality, time and combination of both long and short trip will go a long way. As such, I see no point is arguing whether long or short trip is better. We need both. Very rare I see every single trip we pick up during the shift is less than 5km and roaming/waiting time is near to 0.
A wise TD, in my own opinion, will know roughly when he need to catch up on his dollars vs mileage. Therefore what is really important is the mindset and experiences of the TD to fully maximise his earnings.
DPK very complex one leh .
Must sweep floor 100% .
Also must be inside CBD 100% .
Inorder to maximise the DPK .
Can be like $100 for 90km sometimes .
Must be at nearest taxi Q if possible , no cruising allowed .
Run according to the Traffic warden's appearance .
If no TW , meaning just Q at nearest T/S .
Me it's diff .
Like TCL , we chiong as much as possible during peak hour .
I seldom chiong until i push myself for peak hour .
8pm , call time .
Call only inside CBD , outside no .
Seldom cruise , it's all about listening and execute .
All the way all inside CBD play call .
My mileage is like $180 for 200km . Averagely .
U can achieve low mileage , good collection , only if inside CBD !! Plus call will be better , and cannot go mountain side one .
All the way inside town .
Complex and skills .
For me fuel, milleage not important one, end shift question is "Is Your Target Hit"? "What is my income today"? " What have i done wrong today and How to improve for the next day"? Sometime I feel when pax inside my taxi, i feel more motivated than idling on the road. Some people say no no to outside CBD. me say yes yes, but selectively and on the right timing.
Yesterday my first trip to woodland from CBD, thought die liao. But before 8pm still can make $90++, not too bad lah. Sometimes also must follow your heart one. Try one thing. Think hard of where you want to go and high chances the next pax or next next pax will bring you there. Don't underestimate the power of brain.
I wouldn't be surprise thread starter his theory is longer the better for all times !!!!
For me...I alway do what peoples don't like to do... as like all chiong to simei and tampines, burning fuel looking for their preys after Changi airport ...during peak hours in the morning. Me... will be at expo near the MRT doing shuttle services...when the MRT arrived, sure got.... short ones as like st 1 as and nearby...very good.
No congestion no hectic easy money...less competitor...after completed go again there...but one thing not at the taxi stand...my the ulu spot...haha.
why? long is better...
For me...I alway do what peoples don't like to do... completed the CBD. out you go to where? too far lost of times to near many competitors...so you know where I go?...guess.
Originally posted by ALN:beri long never see kin liao… orh he hiding at potong kopi… haha
haha...me not debtor..so why? need hiding at potong pasir for kopi. free carpark when warden come, we can see them easily....save 50cents one month there is a sum...hehe.
i dont have any target.
if today make $50, i dont feel like driving anymore, i go back, which i did before.
if today make $500, i STILL fell like driving somemore, i continue on, which i ALSO did before.
i usually dont select where to go, yesterday drizzling, peak hours, picked up an odd indian couple, going sengkang, they dont mind jams, just take aye, ecp, kpe, chit chat all the way. reach liao, meter 1 short of 50..$49. and exactly 7.59pm. :P
wow sgcabby, you power sia... $500 you fly taxi haha
$500 ? He say example only la .....
Originally posted by Ngkialeong888:wow sgcabby, you power sia... $500 you fly taxi haha
yes. 500+. after expenses. same applies to the $50 also.
U drive chrysler sia??? 6 trip AP to Fullerton and 6 trip fullerton to AP..
Originally posted by Sgcabby:yes. 500+. after expenses. same applies to the $50 also.
That would be at least 20 hours on the road .
A day like New Year Eve .
Only this day u can hit that amount .
Other day ??? Dun scared me .