I dunno why I cannot see the last reply I made. Here is it again
As far as I am concerned, I have already shared such information on how to drive a "big car". Seriously, wad wrong with u with all the income thingy blah blah.
Some can hit $300-$380. Some cannot. Those who cannot must examine why.
- Do they understand their vehicle, fuel consumption? How much u spend per km?
- Do they always "kang chia" (ie empty car) and roam from one area of the town to another?
- Do they bother to sell themselves? Some driver tell me they hate to go Changi, but thats where all the business comes from. U bother to share with them about Singapore and its politics or rather spend time passing negative remarks about what government should do? Did u bother to offer them trip to tourist attraction and with ticket income u can earn more? Did u offer them a return service?
I tell u, even I drive Transcab I will charge at least $35-40 for such services. That will make ur job easier.
- Do u always go Casino and Airport excessively? Do u think alway go airport when u are Bedok/Tam[ines/Pasir Ris is always good at all the time? Do u think Casino is worth the travelling? 15 min waiting time is good, but do u bother to think how much time to reach there?
- Do u bother to understand airline terminal info? Do u bother to roughly check wad period or tiiming of the year/day that there are more pax at AP and which timing has more planes landing?
- Do u understand wad is going on in the world and Singapore so that when u talk to foreigner they will tend to like u and tip u more? This is especially to older westerners (the more so for US older couples)
- Do u know which Taxi stand to go and which to avoid if u drive certain kind of taxi? This is only possible if u bother to try and fail for the first 3-6 months. Dun believe wad other taxi driver all the time. Go there try urself and see whetehr true or false. If no good, u think veteran taxi driver queue there for wad? Sight seeing? To retire at Changi Villiage?
- Do u measure Time vs Money earn/spent? Do u measure Earning vs Kilometer travelled? Do u measure effort vs income earned? Are u driving more to earn wad I earn at a lesser time?
Last question, DO U EVEN BOTHER? Or u are just a taxi driver who dun care and keep driving to earn what u think is good money (I believe the old birds can do that cause they are experience enough to subconsciously calculate but new drivers better think all these before u settle down in to the "old bird routine". Remember u are not them. They drive so long and can relax liao, we new bird must work hard while we r still young).
If u guys think all the above questions is too bothersome, seriously, no wonder u said u cannot hit $300 even with 14hrs driving.
Originally posted by La2534:I dunno why I cannot see the last reply I made. Here is it again
As far as I am concerned, I have already shared such information on how to drive a "big car". Seriously, wad wrong with u with all the income thingy blah blah.
Some can hit $300-$380. Some cannot. Those who cannot must examine why.
- Do they understand their vehicle, fuel consumption? How much u spend per km?
- Do they always "kang chia" (ie empty car) and roam from one area of the town to another?
- Do they bother to sell themselves? Some driver tell me they hate to go Changi, but thats where all the business comes from. U bother to share with them about Singapore and its politics or rather spend time passing negative remarks about what government should do? Did u bother to offer them trip to tourist attraction and with ticket income u can earn more? Did u offer them a return service?
I tell u, even I drive Transcab I will charge at least $35-40 for such services. That will make ur job easier.
- Do u always go Casino and Airport excessively? Do u think alway go airport when u are Bedok/Tam[ines/Pasir Ris is always good at all the time? Do u think Casino is worth the travelling? 15 min waiting time is good, but do u bother to think how much time to reach there?
- Do u bother to understand airline terminal info? Do u bother to roughly check wad period or tiiming of the year/day that there are more pax at AP and which timing has more planes landing?
- Do u understand wad is going on in the world and Singapore so that when u talk to foreigner they will tend to like u and tip u more? This is especially to older westerners (the more so for US older couples)
- Do u know which Taxi stand to go and which to avoid if u drive certain kind of taxi? This is only possible if u bother to try and fail for the first 3-6 months. Dun believe wad other taxi driver all the time. Go there try urself and see whetehr true or false. If no good, u think veteran taxi driver queue there for wad? Sight seeing? To retire at Changi Villiage?
- Do u measure Time vs Money earn/spent? Do u measure Earning vs Kilometer travelled? Do u measure effort vs income earned? Are u driving more to earn wad I earn at a lesser time?
Last question, DO U EVEN BOTHER? Or u are just a taxi driver who dun care and keep driving to earn what u think is good money (I believe the old birds can do that cause they are experience enough to subconsciously calculate but new drivers better think all these before u settle down in to the "old bird routine". Remember u are not them. They drive so long and can relax liao, we new bird must work hard while we r still young).
If u guys think all the above questions is too bothersome, seriously, no wonder u said u cannot hit $300 even with 14hrs driving.
Some can hit $300-$380.
380? hmm.
Like I say, some never will until they adjust their mentality.
Of course bear in mind not everyday Sunday. Some time u earn more some time u earn less.
On top of that, I am OMO. I base my assumption on my own OMO experiences.
As long as the taxi company dun come and kajiao me (eg Car work shop issues need to go back 2-3 times per month) my income is ok.
Wad I really trying to say is that in the end, the income is mainly a mentality issue.
And O, I do have one more secret which I dun think u guys can accept. I have Jesus to help me, do u? (I win already lor ^^ )
To conclude, there are many different ways to earn money as a TD. In the end, it is the question of whether u have the mentality and brain to do that.
I agree fully with wad Pool has said, sometimes it is all in the head and discipline.
I am quite sure some TD are information traders. Dun ask me to elaborate further, I wun tell u for safety reasons ^^. U wun believe some of the things said in the Taxi especially business information that is not available to public. Some of them think TD stupid but I have the feeling some of them are aware TD are actively listening.
As such they purposely talk infront of a TD on the business plan etc. TDs is a good source of information and rumour spreader.
Money is out there, it is only you who determine how you gonna earn them.
Originally posted by La2534:I dunno why I cannot see the last reply I made. Here is it again
i have already made myself clear , there is no pt talking abt income here simply becos this bizness is cyclical , its not something that will be there forever. u wanna talk abt tourist? when the economies are going downturn , i wonder where your kin gu is going find all the tourist to pick , LPPL u also got to take street.
Your 'do u bother questions' doesnt make sense to me , im saying that we should refrain from posting abt earnings coz i have not seen any particular group of people in the same line , coming together into a forum and talking abt their day to day earnings.
From your post , i can tell that you do not derive your income from just ferrying passengers.
well should i post abt hotel ding dong? gu ni hoon? hourly charter? ohh and how abt shum? do u do that? if u do of coz can hit 380 , surely no problem la
i can post a long long list of wad you limo guys do but sorry im not one to pichak lobang.
Originally posted by La2534:If u guys think all the above questions is too bothersome, seriously, no wonder u said u cannot hit $300 even with 14hrs driving.
i sense some belittlement in this line. i dont know who u are taking a swipe at coz if its me , so sorry im neither OMO , i dont work 14 hrs & i hardly ever hit $300 :p
Originally posted by Tio Call Liao:its a case of giving out too much information which is not necessary at all. In every line there are always trade secrets like car salespeople, do they tell u how much they make?? wat tactics they use? how much the used car dealer cover them?
these buggers drive big big cars yet they dont go around forums telling people how much they make.
i am all for lobangs , jobs , looking out for one another , giving advice to newbies but when people come and reveal earnings & best part insist they are right , that is really too much.
To be blunt, I am taking a swipe at u, TCL.
I replied because of wad u said, knowing full well you will never believe. As u can see, my tactics is simple. I ask more questions than some of you. This is my driving style.
I dun have any "ding dong". I dun have any extra income selling information.
I sweep the floor like anyone else. I am trying to tell u and everyone else that earning good income is possible. I am, like Pool, feels that we should generate as much income as possible in the shortest possible time with least effort.
When I take my Wish, I gonna try Lake View.
Moreover, I find your post is alway somewhat negative (I eating now cannot find the words to describe ^^). I am here to contribute and give my 2 cents worth.
My stand is if I can do it, I am sure many can. For crying out loud, I am a newbie. It is only after many days of experiments that I can slowly drive taxi in a more relax way. From 18hrs cut down to 16hrs to now 12-14hrs.
You are stereotyping TCL. Just because most drivers adopt certain type of driving eg taking "ding dong" from bell boy, u must think EVERY SINGLE TD is the same. Well, I am not the same and I achieve wad I want. I drive the taxi in the most clean and honest way and earn reasonable good money.
I ask myself everyday how do I improve myself (well everyday is a bit "tua kang". ok most of the time....wait well just say it regularly.)
I am here to share. My heart goes out to those who says they earn only $220-250 per day OMO for 12-14hrs drive. Not that I dun have that kind of "lousy" earnings. I am sure they can do better. Maybe LakeView is a good choice since Pool mention one can earn more by bring more productive.(ie work less lol)
If I can, you can do it too.
Originally posted by Tio Call Liao:i have already made myself clear , there is no pt talking abt income here simply becos this bizness is cyclical , its not something that will be there forever. u wanna talk abt tourist? when the economies are going downturn , i wonder where your kin gu is going find all the tourist to pick , LPPL u also got to take street.
Your 'do u bother questions' doesnt make sense to me , im saying that we should refrain from posting abt earnings coz i have not seen any particular group of people in the same line , coming together into a forum and talking abt their day to day earnings.
From your post , i can tell that you do not derive your income from just ferrying passengers.
well should i post abt hotel ding dong? gu ni hoon? hourly charter? ohh and how abt shum? do u do that? if u do of coz can hit 380 , surely no problem la
i can post a long long list of wad you limo guys do but sorry im not one to pichak lobang.
I start driving at the height of financial crisis. Though it may not be as bad as SARS, I am earning only $12-20 sometime during morning peak hours unlike some of the normal cabs can still earn better because pple siam my cab.
In every period, there bound to have good and bad times. BUT one thing for sure, there are money to be earned in good and bad times. U adjust. I made adjustment until I begin to adopt the timing of 12pm to 2am. Some TD ask "wad u siao", can earn meh?
Well it work for me.
The more fluid you are, the more likely that u can survive when bad times come. It will be bad, but one thing I know, it would be worst if one cannot adjust when bad time comes simply because they cannot adjust and adapt.
A saying goes, there are always money to be made, it is just how u make them. When bad time comes, I ask a different set of questions to myself other than the one listed.
Like I say, my final secret is I have Jesus, do U? He is my safest insurance. Sometimes the day is bad, I dunno how, but by the end of the shift, everything falls in place.
U dun have to believe. Judging from wad u said, most likely you r a sceptic. But thats just me.
O I forgot to mention since u said it. I do have other ways to generate income. Such as hourly booking and airport transfer. When I have that, then I can hit the higher end of the spectrum. However, hourly booking and A/P transfer for me happen only once in a while cause I am not as lao jiao as other MPV driver who may have it more often especially the Maxi.
However, being said that, like I said in the end it is how u ask questions and sell urself. Normal cab also can hourly booking if u lucky enough.
TD is the only obstacle to their earnings MOST of the time.
But $300 should not be too high a mountain to climb for OMO. If I have relief, $250 is enough for me and I can still earn the same as OMO cause my cost is half.
Bro La2534,
I suggest u avoid saying things like "I have Jesus, do U?". This attitude of "my religion is better than yours" or to quote John 14:6 "I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me." can result in a modern day castastrophe if a critical mass of christians got instigated by a rogue pastor.
It is fine if you are a teenager in secondary school arguing about whose parents are the richest, and who got the longest prick. But please quit hinting to the masses that Jesus is the only way or that your religion is perfect because Jesus is perfect. The bible is full of violence and genocide in the old testament. The new testament is fine. Now compare that with buddhism and taoism. No violence at all. Very peaceful. No self-righteous stuff as "my father got the fastest car in the whole neighbourhood" thingie.
Peace to you bro. Please bring your evangelism elsewhere. Such statements will not win you any new converts.
hey folks off topic abit. how come got pple call up ask if wan to involve in advertising or not. have what fuel vouchers la. dinner vouchers la and dunno what this what that
with so many perspectives and opinion in this forums ...
i guessed very soon it will go Top-3 in Sgforums .