hi everyone , i'm going to drive 2000cc red wish soon next week . just able to get to know the forum here . hoping seeking some help .
I dont have any driving taxi experience, but i kind like a daredevil took a cab on my own hoping to drive on my own.
Hoping brother here able to give me some idea how should i start my date . How do i cope with customer when i unfamiliarize with road and building. what is the best way to get myself familiarize with road.Is GPS system useful?
Do driving more in the neighborhood help me to know the route better?
where do i get infomation on CNG station price and opening hour.
How much petty cash is needed for a day ?
any great deal (Lobang) installing radio system?
thank you very much
my 0.02
any gps thats not between your ears is waste of money (and time)
driving more in the neighbourhood is also waste of money (and time). get someone to pay you for it
i thought they provide a list of stations?
when i started i almost never bring petty cash. strangely it worked for me (for me that is)
theres only one radio system worth considering. its called LV.
Congratulation for joining red engine.
To survive in this industry you have to go through a school call " School of Hard Knock". Getting left right up down from pax and you will learn faster this way. The first 6 months is the most crucial period, you will go through lots of up and down but push on. Perserverance, diligent and hardwork is the keys to succeed in this industry. No shortcuts. Ask any lao gui in this forum I belive they will tell you the same thing.
1) Perserverance - You must be willing to put up with all kind of nosense pax will gave you. Bear with it, take it light hearted. DO NOT take it personal or you will feel a drag going to work everyday.
2) Diligent - Drive with diligent. Know the in and outs of the industry. Go read thru the past post / thread and know when, where, who, how to find pax. Army now is already 3G, taxi driver cannot stay in 1G or 2G. Must think differently.
3) Hardwork - No shortcuts. To make $$$ you must work hard, and also work smart. Don't put your target too high as a beginner. Set like 50-60% what some lao gui make in this forum. Slowly increasing it when you get the hang of it.
As for GPS, i do have one inside my car, but i use it mainly to serach for addresses, not so much for navi. GPS can be rather stupid. It doesn't factor in traffic conditions and traffics light.
When I first started to drive, I trace out copies of HDB area map and put in a small B6 hardcase cover. It easier to visualize the whole of HDB area at one glance than to look through street directory, which is often break up in many pages. For town, very hard to draw , too big. You can break down the town into region, like CBD, Orchard, Orchard Outskirt etc and learn it bit by bit.
CNG station, the toh tuck and mandai are 24 hrs. Serangoon north close when they dry out of gas. I don't have the current price, maybe pool can update.
Petty cash wise depends on individual, i like to have 15 - $10 notes, 10-$5, 25-$2, coins i have 15-$1 coin, 15-$0.50, 25-$0.20, 25-$0.10
You can join lakeview. They have a special price for new member. You can check with pool.
Sorry lah, very long winded. Let me know if you need any help
i think wat 888kel meant for radio system is the cd player not radio call system....
u can go mustafa buy those head unit yourself & ask someone to install for u
or call class auto Mr Peh/May at 96166810.they are the co.engaged by transcab to do the carpentry work for the cng tank console
most of our audio system are installed by them.give them a call 2days b4 collecting your wish & you will see the unit already installed when u collect the taxi on the actual day,very efficent guy Mr Peh
I spent $195 on a kenwood cd player,with a usb port for i-pod & thumbdrive :) good deal
but if you are keen on something more high end,go to their office at ubi to make your choice
you can also order the wish armrest from them at $80
Senior Teo , u never tell new bird where to put curtains ?
Thank you all for the comments. Thank bro Ngkialeong888 i don't mind you long winded as i do learn something . And thank for bro Teolk for the correction ya i did call the guy in ubi and being code for the kenwood player for $195 but i personal think that is to expensive for the brand kenwood. And thank bro Sgcabby haha u must be a lucky guy which dont need any petty cash to start off.
i didn't know abt the arm rest did the 2000c wish came with a center comparment. i dont know abt taxi wish, i know those personal 1.8 wish have to buy it outside can act as arm rest. how is the arm rest look like ? is it those that attach to seat type?
There people tell me to go to Concorde Auto Accessories to get thing that need for car anyone go there before ? How is the price there? i hope to get some cheap Accessories like top screen darken sticker to block some sunlight ........etc
Please bear with me i got alot of question.
what about how to you people deal with drunk person ?
what must i do when i happen to meet in an accident ? (touch wood)
look like there is alot for things i need to learn
Bro Pool install curtains?? can spore TP allow that? i wish to install that if can haha i scare of Big sun during hot day.
i am just kidding ard about the petty cash la. but indeed i started with next to nothing...becos i forgot i AM the driver..NOT the passenger liao hahaha!! (but first few days went ok)
i dont take anyone who even faintly resembles hes/shes been drinking
the first thing to do in an accident is to keep calm and keep quiet. really.
Originally posted by Sgcabby:my 0.02
any gps thats not between your ears is waste of money (and time)
driving more in the neighbourhood is also waste of money (and time). get someone to pay you for it
i thought they provide a list of stations?
when i started i almost never bring petty cash. strangely it worked for me (for me that is)
theres only one radio system worth considering. its called LV.
Dun listen to Sgcabby.........I agree with Ngkialeong888. Just go around to familiarize urself. Dun be afraid of unknown place. most pax will help. If not use ur street directory. U will find MOST pax are patient or at least understanding as long as u tell them before hand.
When u drive around, note all the Taxi Stand. If u see many taxi queue there, it mean that place is good place to pick.
learn the hard ways like me.. i am doing so now. lol...
Prepare to get upside down , centre , left , right .
This is the best and shortes way .
When Poolman speaks , listen !!
I am not a taxi driver but take cab frequently.
One thing that taxi need is to be friend, smile and be humble and tell pax that you are new, and need his/her direction. Remeber to say thank you sir/mdm.
If you feel that you take long route, tell the pax you will deduct a few cents off and tell them you are still learning. Smile and say thank you to him/her when he alight your car.
That is from the pax point of view.
Good luck and stay forcus.
Originally posted by likeyou:I am not a taxi driver but take cab frequently.
One thing that taxi need is to be friend, smile and be humble and tell pax that you are new, and need his/her direction. Remeber to say thank you sir/mdm.
If you feel that you take long route, tell the pax you will deduct a few cents off and tell them you are still learning. Smile and say thank you to him/her when he alight your car.
That is from the pax point of view.
Good luck and stay forcus.
I fully agree with likeyou, singaporean and ang mor generally are understanding, except a few bastard (sorry got to use such strong words). Communication is important between TD and pax. Don't know mean don't know, don't keh kian. Pax would rather TD tell him he's new and don't know the way rather than you go the wrong way and still insist you are right.
Originally posted by Poolman:Senior Teo , u never tell new bird where to put curtains ?
oh ya ok...front 2 pcs must be those netted type for TP to see thru,$30 per set.
Back 2 pcs more expensive at $68/set...all bought from bt batok autobacs
Pax always say my taxi like 5 stars taxi,don mind even to sleep in it :)
makes my day whenever they say this
Originally posted by 888kel:Thank you all for the comments. Thank bro Ngkialeong888 i don't mind you long winded as i do learn something . And thank for bro Teolk for the correction ya i did call the guy in ubi and being code for the kenwood player for $195 but i personal think that is to expensive for the brand kenwood. And thank bro Sgcabby haha u must be a lucky guy which dont need any petty cash to start off.
i didn't know abt the arm rest did the 2000c wish came with a center comparment. i dont know abt taxi wish, i know those personal 1.8 wish have to buy it outside can act as arm rest. how is the arm rest look like ? is it those that attach to seat type?
There people tell me to go to Concorde Auto Accessories to get thing that need for car anyone go there before ? How is the price there? i hope to get some cheap Accessories like top screen darken sticker to block some sunlight ........etc
Please bear with me i got alot of question.
what about how to you people deal with drunk person ?
what must i do when i happen to meet in an accident ? (touch wood)
look like there is alot for things i need to learn
Bro Pool install curtains?? can spore TP allow that? i wish to install that if can haha i scare of Big sun during hot day.
How to deal with drunk person? Hmm..The best way is to avoid hahaha. Reason is simple, a drunkard don't talk reason. If you get a dead drunkard, good cos he won't gave you crazy remarks but make sure you ask him for address before he fall asleep. Half drunkard is the worst one, cos this type always think he is the god, he is right, he is never wrong. You will usually get hell from this type. Siam lah, try not to take.
Vomit how, lan lan lor. If you want to go pub area pick up, always be prepare for this. But keep lots of plastic bag in the taxi, incase they merlion. You can go SKP buy 1 stack (nice folded) and neat. No need stuff here stuff there.
Accident? Try not to get into one lah. But sway sway touch wood if u kena, remain calm. DO NOT admit you at fault. Write down particulars of all parties involve, name, ic no. hp number, car plate no., time. date, where, weather. Best if you take photo. Don't just take the accident parts of the car. Must also take surrounding, overview of the chain accident, lane of accident ( eg, any filter lane, double white line, zebra crossing, stop line, etc. I am currently trying out the in-car camera i brought from china. i will share with you guys after i tested it. I think its a good investment since we on the road most time. You know nowsaday accident happen is "purposely one" you know what i mean. With the camera, no horse run one. They can argue all they want, but picture tells a thousand words.
Originally posted by Teolk:oh ya ok...front 2 pcs must be those netted type for TP to see thru,$30 per set.
Back 2 pcs more expensive at $68/set...all bought from bt batok autobacs
Pax always say my taxi like 5 stars taxi,don mind even to sleep in it :)
makes my day whenever they say this
Wow expensive sia, i ask my mum to sew haha. Sorry me cheapo
Originally posted by Ngkialeong888:Wow expensive sia, i ask my mum to sew haha. Sorry me cheapo
Mum's sewing become 1-Star hotel .
Good move to get that TransCab Wish for a start , at least , when u tired , wanna an extra off day , u still have that $716 to back you up !
$716 is = 7 extra off days .
Meaning every Sundays , and 3 Saturdays each month , u can afford go off .
Tell that to the rest !
Ur family will value it alot .
Sorry i am that family man sort , always think of that .
6am start or 7am start , just charge for that $70-$80 .
Then Q all the way .... after 10am , just Q ...... anywhere hotels , any Shopping centre , u will find those places .
When 4.30pm , when others changing shift , although u no changing shift , u also ask pax where they wanna go ? It's to prevent yourself kena stuck with places like Sengkang , Punggol or CCK .
Cos this sort of trips is usually long distance one .
All old OMO fellows , will want to stick inside CBD when 5pm .
That 30 minutes can do a lot of good .
Just set a $200 target .
As in from 6am to 6pm 12 hours $200 .
Per hour $17 .
U can la , just Q can get la .
Just go for $200 .
Next week $210 .
3rd Week $220
and so on ...
I believe standard 12 hours maximum is $240 .
Give yourself 3 months to know those places .....
Then after u familiar yourself in town , join us Lake View .
Lake View is useful .
1.Traffic jams info
2.Pick N Go info
3.Can asked members "where" is "where" ?
And of course , jobs !!
Will generate extra incomes .
Originally posted by 888kel:hi everyone , i'm going to drive 2000cc red wish soon next week . just able to get to know the forum here . hoping seeking some help .
I dont have any driving taxi experience, but i kind like a daredevil took a cab on my own hoping to drive on my own.
Hoping brother here able to give me some idea how should i start my date . How do i cope with customer when i unfamiliarize with road and building. what is the best way to get myself familiarize with road.Is GPS system useful?
Do driving more in the neighborhood help me to know the route better?
where do i get infomation on CNG station price and opening hour.
How much petty cash is needed for a day ?
any great deal (Lobang) installing radio system?
thank you very much
Serangoon operate frm 8am-10pm everyday
or whenever gas finish, u can go to the office n
give ur hp no. to them to apply for the sms alert so that
when gas finish u get sms u wun waste time goin down
Originally posted by Ngkialeong888:Congratulation for joining red engine.
To survive in this industry you have to go through a school call " School of Hard Knock". Getting left right up down from pax and you will learn faster this way. The first 6 months is the most crucial period, you will go through lots of up and down but push on. Perserverance, diligent and hardwork is the keys to succeed in this industry. No shortcuts. Ask any lao gui in this forum I belive they will tell you the same thing.
1) Perserverance - You must be willing to put up with all kind of nosense pax will gave you. Bear with it, take it light hearted. DO NOT take it personal or you will feel a drag going to work everyday.
2) Diligent - Drive with diligent. Know the in and outs of the industry. Go read thru the past post / thread and know when, where, who, how to find pax. Army now is already 3G, taxi driver cannot stay in 1G or 2G. Must think differently.
3) Hardwork - No shortcuts. To make $$$ you must work hard, and also work smart. Don't put your target too high as a beginner. Set like 50-60% what some lao gui make in this forum. Slowly increasing it when you get the hang of it.
As for GPS, i do have one inside my car, but i use it mainly to serach for addresses, not so much for navi. GPS can be rather stupid. It doesn't factor in traffic conditions and traffics light.
When I first started to drive, I trace out copies of HDB area map and put in a small B6 hardcase cover. It easier to visualize the whole of HDB area at one glance than to look through street directory, which is often break up in many pages. For town, very hard to draw , too big. You can break down the town into region, like CBD, Orchard, Orchard Outskirt etc and learn it bit by bit.
CNG station, the toh tuck and mandai are 24 hrs. Serangoon north close when they dry out of gas. I don't have the current price, maybe pool can update.
Petty cash wise depends on individual, i like to have 15 - $10 notes, 10-$5, 25-$2, coins i have 15-$1 coin, 15-$0.50, 25-$0.20, 25-$0.10
You can join lakeview. They have a special price for new member. You can check with pool.
Sorry lah, very long winded. Let me know if you need any help
A very sound advice from an experience driver indeed!
Just add small points :
* First few weeks (it's up to you how long you set your target), just pickany pax onsight and they will bring you to many diff parts of Singapore that you have never been to, then you can learn S'pore as a "big picture".
* Forget about those SatNav. I always tell my pax, I don't need GPS coz I have the best GPS system at the back (and usually it takes them a while b4 they understand it and laugh :) ). It is OK to ask them the direction if you are not too sure. BUT, after they got down from the cab just spend a short time to glance at the map and "see" where you have driven.
By the way, NKL is well known to be a hard working driver. It is OK if you cannot follow 100% of what he write here. (Peace Bro NKL!)
Originally posted by Ngkialeong888:Petty cash wise depends on individual, i like to have 15 - $10 notes, 10-$5, 25-$2, coins i have 15-$1 coin, 15-$0.50, 25-$0.20, 25-$0.10
Eh Bro, your total float is much more than my total daily collection leh. :) No need so much lah.
Just bring 5 - $10 notes, 10-$2, and coins (5-$1 coin, 10-$0.50, 20c and 10c) enough liao. If not enough then use plan B "I give you my number you call me tomorrow". (Woops sorry this one is Komade's line.:) Plan B is "Here I give you my account number just transfer the amount to my account OK?". Best case: "NVM, you keep the cahnge lah", worst case: free delivery. LOL
Originally posted by Poolman:Give yourself 3 months to know those places .....
Then after u familiar yourself in town , join us Lake View .
Lake View is useful .
1.Traffic jams info
2.Pick N Go info
3.Can asked members "where" is "where" ?
And of course , jobs !!
Will generate extra incomes .
As expected. Poolie will advertise LV at any possible chance. Phui.!
WOW thank all bros and sis if there is any :) . i know there will be no short cut, i have to hit and error to learn thank all the helping hand.
Umm to what extend i can known to be master in a area ? know all the roads name And buildings ..........etc is it ?