Originally posted by WizQ:Eh Bro, your total float is much more than my total daily collection leh. :) No need so much lah.
Just bring 5 - $10 notes, 10-$2, and coins (5-$1 coin, 10-$0.50, 20c and 10c) enough liao. If not enough then use plan B "I give you my number you call me tomorrow". (Woops sorry this one is Komade's line.:) Plan B is "Here I give you my account number just transfer the amount to my account OK?". Best case: "NVM, you keep the cahnge lah", worst case: free delivery. LOL
haha I kia su mah. Sometime during near payday, $10 always not enough one. Every body pay with $50, can go break lah but very troublesome. Just take more $10 with you and solve the problem.
Originally posted by 888kel:WOW thank all bros and sis if there is any :) . i know there will be no short cut, i have to hit and error to learn thank all the helping hand.
Umm to what extend i can known to be master in a area ? know all the roads name And buildings ..........etc is it ?
Master in an area -
10 years driver - "Uncle go xxxx"- close to 2 eyes, no need think, down the pedel liao, can tell the price even before reaching destination, know which route to take at which timing, know the number of traffic light along the way. tcss along the way (if he choose to), can ibntroduce singapore landmark along the way at the same time, bid mdt and talk walkie. Also got time to bun pee pee if pass-by chio bu .
3 years driver - "Uncle go xxxx" - Open 1 eyes, think abit, slowly down the pedal. Know fairly most major road, know by hard which route to take during which timing. Can whistle along the way.
1 years driver - "Uncle go xxxx" - Open 2 eye, hesistate 5 sec, very slowly down the pedel, mind always think which route is the best, where got more traffic light? Keep quiet throughout the journey cos mind always thinking of roads.
1 month driver - " Uncle go xxxx" - Open 2 eyes + eyeball in the centre, blur liao, hesistate 15 sec, very slowly and reluctantly, leg stuck at the brake. " Erghhh how to go ha", "turn left or right at the junction sir". Sweat breaking out throughout the journey. Mind always think " will I be f if i go the wrong road" so no time to think which road to take.
Above for entertaining only lah. There is no master in an area. Everybody everyday is learning new thing, know the road, then learn the building, then learn the backlane of building, then learn carpark shortcut, then learn which geylang lor got which kind of library, then learn where got good food, then learn which petrol station got cheap carwash and petrol or diesel, then learn airport timing, then learn ferry timing, then learn to see people face, who to take and who not to take, then learn where to anchor, then learn where to find a good place to take a nap blah blah blah. Cannot finish learning one.
A good guideline for beginner is when pax ask to go xxxxx, the route come to your mind without hesistating.
Originally posted by Ngkialeong888:Master in an area -
10 years driver - "Uncle go xxxx"- close to 2 eyes, no need think, down the pedel liao, can tell the price even before reaching destination, know which route to take at which timing, know the number of traffic light along the way. tcss along the way (if he choose to), can ibntroduce singapore landmark along the way at the same time, bid mdt and talk walkie. Also got time to bun pee pee if pass-by chio bu .
3 years driver - "Uncle go xxxx" - Open 1 eyes, think abit, slowly down the pedal. Know fairly most major road, know by hard which route to take during which timing. Can whistle along the way.
1 years driver - "Uncle go xxxx" - Open 2 eye, hesistate 5 sec, very slowly down the pedel, mind always think which route is the best, where got more traffic light? Keep quiet throughout the journey cos mind always thinking of roads.
1 month driver - " Uncle go xxxx" - Open 2 eyes + eyeball in the centre, blur liao, hesistate 15 sec, very slowly and reluctantly, leg stuck at the brake. " Erghhh how to go ha", "turn left or right at the junction sir". Sweat breaking out throughout the journey. Mind always think " will I be f if i go the wrong road" so no time to think which road to take.
But it sound like me when I just started lol...now I am in stage 2 lol
Originally posted by WizQ:Eh Bro, your total float is much more than my total daily collection leh. :) No need so much lah.
Just bring 5 - $10 notes, 10-$2, and coins (5-$1 coin, 10-$0.50, 20c and 10c) enough liao. If not enough then use plan B "I give you my number you call me tomorrow". (Woops sorry this one is Komade's line.:) Plan B is "Here I give you my account number just transfer the amount to my account OK?". Best case: "NVM, you keep the cahnge lah", worst case: free delivery. LOL
hehe bro how come u knoe my tactics liao ah...... :P
only used on "selective" customers haha
Wow just reach 31 year of miserable life , 我的�天在那里? �天會远嗎。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。
Hi anyone know to operate a GPS Ples help ...............What is the different in setting the shortest road in the routing options and the recommended route ?
what is Tollway avoid ? is it skipping ERP?
Friend give me as a gift for my new career .....haiz dun know how to set
Sorry to pour cold water on you 888kel. The best GPS out there is the free IPhone 3GS map application. It uses both cell tower triangulation and satellite signals. Very fast and works in real time.
Originally posted by 888kel:Hi anyone know to operate a GPS Ples help ...............What is the different in setting the shortest road in the routing options and the recommended route ?
what is Tollway avoid ? is it skipping ERP?
Friend give me as a gift for my new career .....haiz dun know how to set
Are you using Holux GPSmile 62F?
Shortest route - it navigate through the shortest distance, no highway. I try navigate from yishun to hougang ave 10, it tells me to go thru' seletar camp, jln kayu, fernvale, punggol road, hougang ave 10. DO NOT use this option for taxi driving, you sure kena f up down left right by pax.
Tollway avoid - basically mean avoid all highway, using major roadm like thomson road, lornie road, etc
recommended route - The best option, combine both highway, major road and sometime short cut, quite amazing. But sometime can be quite disastrous.
Its better to view it in 3D compare to 2D (my own view), but if you use 2D, go off the "North xxxx setting" or else the map won't turn and follow your direction.
If you in CBD, better to off the 3D building option, else the building will block your route.
If you using the houlx 62F, let me know if you need any help on that.
To all newbirds , technology is just a guide , but technically , it'll take a longer process to master those important routes .
If u want to master as quick as possible , do what we did ......
Those hard way .
Those kena f*ck ways , those always ask pax which way ?
Those they dunno , u dunno , then check street directory ways .
Try not to adopt " All GPS " technics , u'll not improve .
Less reliance is good for you .
Take my word .
Before i drove a cab , i try to "read" street directory .
Today i read from Tuas > Airport , see how many exits are there ? From Tuas Road > TPE .
Tampines last exit is Exit 3b ....... then TPE .
Then tmr study AYE > SLE end at BKE . I studied those exit .
I make sure i am equiped with basic expressways knowledge , learn by hard .
Then next day i study AYE > ECP .
Go where exit where ?
Why used Bayshore exit ?
Why used Siglap exit ?
Who used Marine Pararde ?
Then ECP into KPE , where is the links ?
Link to KPE Sengkang , then how ? Exit where into Sengkang from KPE ?
U guys studied basic knowledge of expressways , u are already 1/4 in mastering the routes .
Then those small roads .
Take gradual steps .
I mastered 95% Singapore in 3 years .
By the 5th year , i closed 2 eyes can go around Singapore .
By the 7th year , i know what price estimation .
By the 8th year , still got some places i also blur .
Like got one old bird , asked me : " Where's Currency House ? "
I know la , he drove 10 years , he also blur .
U take Singapore as 4 zones .
North South East West .
Everyday besides making money , must mix with going around that palces .
Dun stuck there for the sake of finding paxes there , take those chances to find paxes , at the same time learn .
If u come out with something like : " Oh , so this is the place ! Now i know "
Then u learnt something today .
I day "So this is the place " .
In one month , 31 places u learnt !!!
So discover new things ....
Why Singapore some roads got St 11 ? Go find those answers !
Why some got Dr ?
What's the diff between Ave of even numbers and odd numbers ?
And explore those major Avenue from HDB area .
Like Yishun Ave 2 is the main road of Yishun .
Like Woodlands Ave 2 also main road .
Marsiling side , Wlands Ave 3 is the main road .
Bukit Batok East and West , where is the joint ?
Go and study , understand more , it's easier to drive .
Uncle me on GPS ?
Fuck la , waste my money !
MY GPS solid one , in my head .
Originally posted by Ngkialeong888:Are you using Holux GPSmile 62F?
Shortest route - it navigate through the shortest distance, no highway. I try navigate from yishun to hougang ave 10, it tells me to go thru' seletar camp, jln kayu, fernvale, punggol road, hougang ave 10. DO NOT use this option for taxi driving, you sure kena f up down left right by pax.
Tollway avoid - basically mean avoid all highway, using major roadm like thomson road, lornie road, etc
recommended route - The best option, combine both highway, major road and sometime short cut, quite amazing. But sometime can be quite disastrous.
Its better to view it in 3D compare to 2D (my own view), but if you use 2D, go off the "North xxxx setting" or else the map won't turn and follow your direction.
If you in CBD, better to off the 3D building option, else the building will block your route.
If you using the houlx 62F, let me know if you need any help on that.
Bro NgKialeong Thk for the guide on how to set .....My one is m3gps software papago r5800.....wonder is it the same ?
Just search under google i find that ppl saying current SLA map is the best mapping experience you can in spore but my set never came with it
i will try to play with it when i get my ride .
Originally posted by f1taxidriver:Sorry to pour cold water on you 888kel. The best GPS out there is the free IPhone 3GS map application. It uses both cell tower triangulation and satellite signals. Very fast and works in real time.
Wah Iphone 3gs need data plan to operate those i think .......umm maybe can i will try when the New iphone is out . currently still tie down with mobile plan..
Thk bro F1taxidriver for the review
Bro Poolman, i totally agree that technology is just a guide ......GPS is more suitable for private car user rather than taxi. But it can do help abit here and there .......after i getting it, i do really feel that it not best for taxi navi too much time needed to key the address and so on ....
Thk for the break down guide for newbird
driver to learn on route . actually i'm getting ready & standby to get left right center from Paxs.......Must learn to tahan with a smile haha
The best and cheapest way....use ur road directory.....