I have a Full Time job and thinking of driving relief at night. But I can only start driving maybe from 7pm onwards. And maybe chiong all the way until at most 2am.
Do you think it's workable? I m thinking of doing this is becos i need to get some extras to clear my horrible debts... Sigh...
How many Pro here holds on to a full time job while relief driving? Care to share your experience?
irregardless of timing, I think the hirer will ask 1/2 the day rent from u. Drive weekend full half shift if u wan some extra income. No point drive until next day go work zombie kanna screw by boss.
Or worst if ur work is physical, wait industrial accident.
Originally posted by ALN:part timer… if
drive 1 day is for fun
drive 2 day is for fun plus $
drive 3 day is for $
drive 4 day is owe BIG $
haha…
so ALN u drive 2 days leh always say muz
run away frm debtors where got..... :P
if not u drive 4 days lor.......
Sandisct , thanks for signing in to cabby.sgforums.com .
My advice is : " Don't do it now ."
U are too raw to kena left right centre from us .
U will be do charity drive for most of the night .
Dun waste time .
Ur energy will be drain .
Ur mental strength will be softened .
Ur desire will be lessen .
Don't do it until June .
But go get a license first .
Without a TVDL , dun think too much .
Good night .
Thanks for all your advises.
@ALN - Me working 5.5 days alternate week Sat off. 9-6pm Usually by the time i reach home will be ard 8pm. What time do you usually start driving?
@Pool - I am submitting my application for approval today. What method will ensure i get my TVDL fastest? And why do you suggest to wait till june?
If you got no experience, it is going to be very stressful to force yourself to earn money in those few short hours of taxi driving on top of your current job. You risk an accident too. Not worth it.
If your current job is paying less than 2K, I suggest you resign and drive taxi for 16hrs a day after getting your license. That is the most common and fastest way to repay ah long debts.
I m getting abt 2k take home. But still not enough hence need some other ways to supplement. Maybe I'll drive for a couple of months and if i feel I like it maybe may turn this into a career.
Right now, felt that I need to try out first. Right now approaching late 30s need to try something that can see myself still doing maybe at 60. Current position may not last till then, so need to plan ahead.
BTW , which way to take the TDVL Course? Thinking of going through Comfort online course but the online course is under maintenance and STA charges $$$ for it. Now abit lost.
Originally posted by Sandisct:I m getting abt 2k take home. But still not enough hence need some other ways to supplement. Maybe I'll drive for a couple of months and if i feel I like it maybe may turn this into a career.
Right now, felt that I need to try out first. Right now approaching late 30s need to try something that can see myself still doing maybe at 60. Current position may not last till then, so need to plan ahead.
BTW , which way to take the TDVL Course? Thinking of going through Comfort online course but the online course is under maintenance and STA charges $$$ for it. Now abit lost.
smrt also got online course. just got to www.smrt.com.sg to register.. but u must have the approval letter from LTA first.. so since you just apply to LTA, then got to wait till the LTA give you the approval letter then decide lor
just curious,
how much is half day rent? average?
after U get TVL, is it a must to get a taxi straight away? or U can wait and decide as long as u like? any timeframe?
for interest sake, if I work from 8-5pm (Mon to Fri), non technical job, is it k to try?
Originally posted by ALN:yeah get TVL first then plan more….
Driving 8pm to 2am is waste of effort for me… cos 12 to 2am ghost town liao…. can earn a bit but not enough to buy mi casa… haha….
me drive tue 630pm to 1130pm already earn peanut… yao gui pool ask me to go kick football better…
if must, try latest 7pm to 1am… like another yao gui part timer moh… haha
u work 5.5 days means u cant drive Fri for longer hours… wasted… then u must really drive sat nite… liao
i recommend wed or thur (6 hr) plus sat (11 hr)....
sun go kick football… haha…
dun drive 3 days per week… no life and unhealthy…
haha ALN then u dun drive lar go kick ball lor.... :P
less competition for us on the rd haha
Earning aside, if you think of driving everynight, please DON'T!
You will have only 2-3 hrs of sleep everynight, you think it is OK? Short term maybe, long term - no way.
Please consider the safety of the pax and other road users, if not of yours.
If you are thinking of drivng on Fri/Sat nights, then you can consider. Together with the added stress and little additional earning.
Sandisct, horrible debts? Stocks lose money?
Don't work more than 3 days in a week. You will damn tired on your day job. I guess you wouldn't want to risk your day job just because you are driving part time.
As what WizQ said, driving on Fri/Sat nights, then you can consider. Or even Sun.
Originally posted by ALN:so ALN u drive 2 days leh always say muz
run away frm debtors where got…..
if not u drive 4 days lor…....
tell u hor… me was happily driving 2,5,6 for 1.5 year….
then one lao gui from cck come and disturb me… throw $ at my face and ask me quit sat and go kick football….
otherwise me still 2,5,6….
like that loh…...
haha okok like that also gd mah got healthy lifestyle
Originally posted by ALN:
tell u hor… me was happily driving 2,5,6 for 1.5 year….
then one lao gui from cck come and disturb me… throw $ at my face and ask me quit sat and go kick football….
otherwise me still 2,5,6….
like that loh…...
Aiyah that CCK yao gui is high flyer owning Mi Casa condo mah.
Thanks for the advises bros... Anyway my daily routine is also about 1.30am - 2am then go to bed. wake up at 7am then go to work. So was thinking maybe if driving maybe can tahan until at most 1am? I know its different when driving, we'll get even more tired driving.
Anyway, I just posted my application today so i guess gotta wait 1 month for the reply first then see how.
BTW, got 1 qns to ask, If i take online course do I have to pay? And if I take from Comfort or SMRT online course, must I drive with them?
I think everyone has give u much advice already. Like I say, dun do it if u are thinking of the timing you have in mind.
If u wan to supplement, after get ur TVL, go to those HDB Taxi Agent which rent out old unwanted taxi dirt cheap and drive for fun. U need only to pay a little money for insurance / deposit etc.
U need to drive at least 10hrs to earn anything decent.
AND Dun bother about SMRT online course or their contract. Trust me, if u really have to sign up with Taxi Company, go for COMFORT only. They are more worth it. otherwise sign up as private candidate cause at the end of the day, you still need to fork out cash to study the course. The only diff is that by signing up with Comfort and SMRT, u can claim back course fee and put it in deposit - ie ONLY IF U DRIVE WITH THEM FULL TIME BY RENTING A VEHICLE.
Remember....ONLY Comfort. The rest is all .........well fill in the blank.