New guys , pls make full use of this thread to learn about the real business of a taxi driver .
All saturated into one thread , easy to read .
GPS , Route , Exams etc ....
All here !!!
I do agree with pool the best GPS is in the head, but newbie must take GPS as a aids, not something that you rely strongly on. Imagine going to a place where you and pax do not know, how about a funny address you never heard off, a very ulu industrial park, pax asking certain ammenities around (eg, atm, cc, clinic etc), how about you got a booking from mdt and you don't know where, ask who ( not all mdt got gps ok, hmm... smrt heard that).
GPS could be a great learning tools for a newbie but must develop a mentality not to rely on it. Quote you another example, if pax ask to go Hillcrest on bukit timah from suntec, lao gui no problem, but newbie die liao lor, which u turn to take? But with GPS, u can clearly see hillcrest on the opposite side of road and know which u turn to take.
Don't use GPS for route planning, i never use that, use it for learning where the roads are. Its a convenience on the road compare to flipping street directory.
Just my 0.02
One newbie qns here.
If relief and hirer agreed on certain days of driving eg relief to drive on sunday. If on a particular sunday the relief driver never drive. is he obligated to pay for that sunday's rental? Or relief only pay whenever he drives?
i think if initial agreement is made the relief still need to pay. if not why not ask your taxi company if i wanna take off can dont count rental or not lol.
Originally posted by Ngkialeong888:I do agree with pool the best GPS is in the head, but newbie must take GPS as a aids, not something that you rely strongly on. Imagine going to a place where you and pax do not know, how about a funny address you never heard off, a very ulu industrial park, pax asking certain ammenities around (eg, atm, cc, clinic etc), how about you got a booking from mdt and you don't know where, ask who ( not all mdt got gps ok, hmm... smrt heard that).
GPS could be a great learning tools for a newbie but must develop a mentality not to rely on it. Quote you another example, if pax ask to go Hillcrest on bukit timah from suntec, lao gui no problem, but newbie die liao lor, which u turn to take? But with GPS, u can clearly see hillcrest on the opposite side of road and know which u turn to take.
Don't use GPS for route planning, i never use that, use it for learning where the roads are. Its a convenience on the road compare to flipping street directory.
Just my 0.02
Thats all true. GPS for location finding only. Not for routing.
Sandisct,
Generally it is a good idea to pay the agreed rate regardless off day or not. If off day, just drive 2 hours to cover costs plus maybe 10 dollar profit and enjoy your holiday. Be nice to your hirer and he will take care of you.
Originally posted by Sandisct:One newbie qns here.
If relief and hirer agreed on certain days of driving eg relief to drive on sunday. If on a particular sunday the relief driver never drive. is he obligated to pay for that sunday's rental? Or relief only pay whenever he drives?
Generally, relief should pay for rental irregardless of whether he drive or not. Of course it depends on the relationship between hirer and relief. For me we always cover each other whenever we not free. A happy relationship go a thousand miles.
Originally posted by Ngkialeong888:Generally, relief should pay for rental irregardless of whether he drive or not. Of course it depends on the relationship between hirer and relief. For me we always cover each other whenever we not free. A happy relationship go a thousand miles.
yup muz be buddies btween hirer n relief like
"u scratch my back i scratch urs" then u both
would have gd working relationships like me n
my hirer ;)
Well later today will be my first day of the week to get whack
. let see how...............
Originally posted by Sandisct:One newbie qns here.
Yes must pay at least half if sekali one party wanna go off .
Standard practise .
All my hirers or relief like my style .
Cos i am super clean .
And my current hirer , so good , he sometimes get nenefit , pay me some drink coffee .
And he actually told me if i ever wanted any extra off , just go , no need pay any money .
So it's good for me , if i am sick , tired after badminton session , i can go extra off .
Originally posted by 888kel:Well later today will be my first day of the week to get whack
. let see how...............
Today is your first day on the road.? Keep us informed on how u fared yeah.
How long will it takes from submitting application to LTA for TDL to approval?
Also Where can i take the TVL course cheapest?
Also can the seniors here share with us newbies how badly were u hit by the economy downturn eg. during 97-98 ? Did it affect your daily earnings badly? if yes, how badly was it?
Hi all seniors here, I juz applied for my TVL. I know it takes one mth for LTA to get back to me..I need some seniors to help me here on some qns. May I know after LTA give the approval, hw long before I can start to drive assuming all the tests I pass in one try. Which company can provide me wif a vehicle in the shortest time? I heard some say Comfort gt to wait quite long. Silvercab ok? Thanx for help in advance..Huat ahhh..
Originally posted by Newbie Lim:Hi all seniors here, I juz applied for my TVL. I know it takes one mth for LTA to get back to me..I need some seniors to help me here on some qns. May I know after LTA give the approval, hw long before I can start to drive assuming all the tests I pass in one try. Which company can provide me wif a vehicle in the shortest time? I heard some say Comfort gt to wait quite long. Silvercab ok? Thanx for help in advance..Huat ahhh..
I believe the fastest way to get TVL with smrt...go online u can pass within 6 weeks.
lol i pass mine in 3 weeks.
Originally posted by Newbie Lim:Which company can provide me wif a vehicle in the shortest time? I heard some say Comfort gt to wait quite long. Silvercab ok? Thanx for help in advance..Huat ahhh..
It's true .. current trend Comfort long wait . 6 months . Unless Crown , immediate available .
Next it's TransCab Wish , 2nd longest wait , 3 months . Crown also need to wait .
SMRT no need to wait for Azera , but sucks . Ssangyong space also no need to wait .
SILVER no need to wait , cos all used taxis , no new taxis .
Smart got CNG Black Merc , no need to wait .
But Newbie Lim , why must hirer a cab ?
U think fun ?
be a relief la .
Slowly then consider be hirer .
Why kang chiong ?
U think be hirer like owning a car ?
U fat thinking .....
Thanx all for answering my qns..Poolman, coz I currently unemployed..tinking of driving full time to earn more income to put food on the table..
Hi mangodew, 3 wks is thru e-learning or any other ways?
Originally posted by Newbie Lim:Thanx all for answering my qns..Poolman, coz I currently unemployed..tinking of driving full time to earn more income to put food on the table..
Drive fulltime must be a hirer meh ?
Drive fulltime like me , relief , will put more food on the table than OMO , that's for sure .
In long run , relief driver will last longer in the trade .
I mean 2 drivers shift will last longer .
OMO cannot make it in long run .
i attended class for full three weeks while waiting for approval letter that was fast forwards to approve in 3 weeks.
i agree with poolman.. omo is not earning as much as 2 man driving thats for sure..
Thanx for the guidance..at least i nw knw do relief better..
Originally posted by mangodew:i agree with poolman.. omo is not earning as much as 2 man driving thats for sure..
Hi mangodew,
u looking for relief huh? Me going to take test this thursday.. if pass, will start driving in july and may consider as full time relief driver.. by then if you still looking for relief, and dun mind a new bird, i can look for you to discuss... cos i also stay sengkang.. anyhow, see this thurs how lah.. hope can pass 1st time like you.
Why relief earns more ?
Cos got energy , no.1 .
2nd , relief rental take about 2-3 hours to complete , OMO , average 5-6 hours to complete .
3. fuel overheads is lower .