Originally posted by Reliefdriver4u:Hi Sandisct, try to look at the street directory and find out how come you end up in bendemeer, bukit timah, etc when trying to go to outram
at balestier, there’s a slip road towards city further up, think you saw the first word CTE and just whack without thinking, the first one goes north instead of south
Conrad to Bedok – use nicoll – KPE – PIE short, sweet and fast
As for vivo from alexandra side, i always suggest the ramp drop off, fast drop and fast to pick up another fare down the ramp
FYI, the ramp connects both vivo and harbourfront
there are 3 dropoffs in this area, try to study them
what are the amenities next to them
and find out how to best U Turn legally
there are many pts where you can u turn legally
too many combinations to describe hereGood luck and report back, we would like to see how you
fare on a typical week day drive
At the moment I just relief for sunday alone. No weekday yet. no hirer.
Originally posted by Reliefdriver4u:As for vivo from alexandra side, i always suggest the ramp drop off, fast drop and fast to pick up another fare down the ramp
FYI, the ramp connects both vivo and harbourfront
there are 3 dropoffs in this area, try to study them
what are the amenities next to them
and find out how to best U Turn legally
there are many pts where you can u turn legally
too many combinations to describe here
The one that need me to U-turn is the Taxi stand at vivo P2-P3... the one they say next to GIANT. The ramp i know. made a mistake there too... haha thats y i know liao.
Wow, see your takings really motivates me. I just went for the excursion yesterday and will be taking the test this Friday. Can't wait to get my TVDL and become relief on weekend.
Originally posted by Reliefdriver4u:Conrad to Bedok – use nicoll – KPE – PIE short, sweet and fast
Oh yah, KPE.... Forgot about this...
As someone staying in Bedok for the past 30 years, my first reaction is also take ECP... LOL...
Originally posted by inasmak:Wow, see your takings really motivates me. I just went for the excursion yesterday and will be taking the test this Friday. Can't wait to get my TVDL and become relief on weekend.
Yeah boy... For a Sunday, with no surcharges etc, that figure is really motivating...
You mean you taking the test this Friday? Did you take the excursion yesterday with Comfort? I was at the excursion yesterday as well but thought that the earliest test date is next week?
I booked the test through SMRT. The instructor really gave a lot of tips yesterday. Otherwise, I don't know how to memorize hundreds of locations. Dunno if reading the past questions would be enough to prepare for the test?
No offences to TDs,
As it is a Online Forums, any one can access to this page, including the taxman. Hence, you can disclose your daily revenue but if somebody knocks on your door wanted to check your income for the last 10 years (becos you haven't declare and pay your tax). And/or some reporters from Shit Times doing some articles/survey on how much a TD can make... LTA could issue more TD licences since there is a market (high demand since TD earn this much) in the industry.
There are alway good days and bad times. Newbies or Lau Jiao = be humble. Not everyday is a Friday. (Friday is supposed to be the best day for revenue).
Go talk to TCL and Poolman, they are the best TDs you can speak too...
cheers.
Originally posted by Sandisct:ok here my maiden journey as a TD report!!! This will be a very looooooong report.... hahaha After writing this i think i can qualify to be a yao gui liao.
Cab: Citycab Sonata
Time:(Sunday) 0800-0300 including pump diesel and car wash.
Qns:Can anyone share with me where can i find 24hrs human car wash service up in the north? or anywhere?
Total hours: 19hrs including 2.5hrs of break. (1hr lunch and 1hour dinner... 30mins lost due to mistake so take it as a break.)
Total distance covered :600km
Total diesel cost:$51
Rental:$85 (according to poolman its $70 take it or leave it. but i already agreed this price before i saw the message... )
Total takings:abt $420 including tips. (can lao jiao here share is this average or good for a sunday full day?)
Total Pax served:40pax. (target was either 50pax or 2am whichever comes first)
Total Calls taken: 10 ( Target hit. which is extra $25.)
Details :-
Start my first day very kancheong. Totally dunno what to expect. But remember alot of tips from this forum. So try to use it.
First thing, as I m not too sure of many routes, I'll start the trip by asking the pax do they know how to get there?, out of 10, 9 know and will guide you. So this thing so far not a problem to me. But I screw up 2 trips becos pax never say how to go. Will explain later.
For sunday morning, i reckon the crowd would be people going to church, heading to extra lessons for kids, going to market, etc. So most of the time I'll stay put at the housing estate and just sweep. And if you know which estate got more foreigners, like Japanese or Koreans, just sweep there. Best time to start would be after 7am. or even 8am. Becos most lessons starts at 9am. One thing i learn is to think like pax. Eg, What would people normally do on a Sunday and usually where would they head out from. And just go....
So far, no problem getting connecting pax. For my first sunday, by the time i hit 1230pm i already covered my rental and full day diesel cost liao. I think for a total newbie like me, can consider quite good liao hor? haha...
I screwed up 2 trips.
1 from Conrad Hotel at Temasek blvd to Bedok Centre. When i hear Bedok both my legs totally lembeh... Bedok I totally got no idea how the roads there work!!! totally got no idea how to go there. Well actually got rough idea. Was thinking maybe use ECP=>Marine Parade=>Bedok, so i ask pax "use ECP?" He say too far... Maybe use PIE. WAH KOR!!! WORST!... Kan cheong liao, at that moment i can only think of going PIE from selegie=>bendemeer road... So I just tell him ok PIE....
When i reach Rochor Road turning to little india, he ask me why i take this route. I told him sorry... first day.. not sure... so apologise to him... Suddenly I saw a Charcoal sitting besides me... hahahaha
When I reach bedok, he was sleeping... So i ask him turn left or right... he guide me until dunno where but very near liao... then he keep quiet... after i missed the turn I'm suppose to turn he said you should turn just now... in the end I alight him at the carpark just besides the interchange. Get fare from him and glad that he was gone.. haha
End of trip $11.20. just collected $8 from him... damn paiseh... haha
2nd trip Screwed up - After alighting a pax from lucky plaza to novena road pick up a filipina along the road at 5.50pm. Ask pax does she knows the way?. NO!!!!? So think ok...Going to Pearls Bank near outram MRT, so first thing i thought of is use CTE exit Outram. So was thinking hard how to connect to CTE from Novena side at thomson Road. So think, ok, use Balestier Road=>CTE (city)=>Outram exit. Ok. Think quite reasonable. then off we go...
BASKET when i reach end of balestier road i only see CTE(SLE/TPE)... WHERE THE HECK IS CTE(CITY)??? then make a wrong turn... dunno how come ended up at bendemeer road!!!!! Wah lao!!! So ok tell pax sorry, first day driving.. So bo pian drive up to PIE (Toa Payoh) was thinking fish! how to connect to CTE...
Dunno how and why suddenly drive and ended up at BUKIT TIMAH ROAD!!!! HAHHAHAHA... apologised like mad... lucky pax quite soft spoken... never cow peh cow bu... So park at road side quick check road directory... Mind totally blank liao. After checking abit was damn fedup with myself already... So i off the meter and tell pax "Tell you wat. I'll send you there for FREE!! sorry for all the inconvenience caused". In the end managed to send her there at 6.20pm. And when we reached there then i realised PEARLS BANK IS A ROAD NAME AND NOT A BANK!!!!!! And she still gave me $6. Nice lady.
Overall My first day of driving, I wasted alot of unneccessary time, distance and diesel. I think i wasted abt 50km doing unnecessary distance for missing a turn and dunno where to U-turn and in the end travel damn far then make a U-turn. eg. While heading to vivocity Taxi Stand from alexander road got No-U-turn sign.. then siao liao... so go straight... SHIT!!! all the way no U-turn sign!!!!!... in the end ended up turning to Keppel Road=>cantonment road and u-turn back... then realised... SHIT I CAN ACTUALLY DO IT AT Kampong Bahru road!!! HAHAHAHA... sigh... lessons learnt.
Alot more things to learn.. Next sunday another day to conquer... think quite ok, as long as dun fetch grouchy and hot tempered pax... should be quite a pleasant thing to do. End of the day I can feel why there's this sense of satisfaction being a TD. A WALLET FULL OF CASH!!!!
Thats all for now. Hope will do better next time. Got so many question I want to ask the lao jiaos here... maybe next time when we meet up will ask.
If i am in your shoes, i will just keep quiet on how much i clocked... i won't do it online... any way.. TDs may envy your revenue, so is the taxman. (and probably the spouses of some TDs log on too - may cause unhappiness in other families becos TD only came back with $50, not $420).
Robbery will goes up too... Cabbies are like instant ATM machines. (who we need to thanks ?)
you may have a great day.. becos you don't have to drive the next day - do it for 7 days and then you write again.. ( most TDs drive for 6-7 days a week ).
Newbies or Seasoned TDs, sometimes, grow up and be more humble... keep your earnings to yourself and your families. As fellow TDs, we are very happy for your great day. if you can do that for 30 days a month... then you are surely the King of TDs, but make sure you declare income tax.
cheers.
Originally posted by Just_do_it_lah:If i am in your shoes, i will just keep quiet on how much i clocked... i won't do it online... any way.. TDs may envy your revenue, so is the taxman. (and probably the spouses of some TDs log on too - may cause unhappiness in other families becos TD only came back with $50, not $420).
Robbery will goes up too... Cabbies are like instant ATM machines. (who we need to thanks ?)
you may have a great day.. becos you don't have to drive the next day - do it for 7 days and then you write again.. ( most TDs drive for 6-7 days a week ).
Newbies or Seasoned TDs, sometimes, grow up and be more humble... keep your earnings to yourself and your families. As fellow TDs, we are very happy for your great day. if you can do that for 30 days a month... then you are surely the King of TDs, but make sure you declare income tax.
cheers.
I understand where you are coming from....
I posted my takings is not for show off...
just like what my hirer say... if taxman really want to go after TD they dun have to look into the forums... they can just ask comfort to submit TD's takings will do... For CDG TD we got the drivers portal... in it.. all details of the trips are captured... so what is there to hide?
i have calculated... it is pure hard work as a TD.. and no joke.. like you say.. i only drive for 1 day.. thats y got such takings... I TOTALLY AGREE!!! ask me to try the next day... I'll definately DIE SOMETHING STANDING!!! hahah...
its actually very hard work... i've calculated... for pure profit alone divide by the hours put in... its about $14/hr.... thats not very impressive...
Sandist , 19 hours on the road , and u got $22 / hr .
$30 is the average i would say , but ok la .
But don't do it in regular basis , will tear down your body .
Let us know next time how long u the duration u drive .
First time is like that one ....
Originally posted by Just_do_it_lah:No offences to TDs,
As it is a Online Forums, any one can access to this page, including the taxman. Hence, you can disclose your daily revenue but if somebody knocks on your door wanted to check your income for the last 10 years (becos you haven't declare and pay your tax). And/or some reporters from Shit Times doing some articles/survey on how much a TD can make... LTA could issue more TD licences since there is a market (high demand since TD earn this much) in the industry.
There are alway good days and bad times. Newbies or Lau Jiao = be humble. Not everyday is a Friday. (Friday is supposed to be the best day for revenue).
Go talk to TCL and Poolman, they are the best TDs you can speak too...
cheers.
It's a one off thing .
No one can do that in everyday basis .
$420 collection for 19 hours , if i am the tax man , i will not issue him any document , i would call him to get ready a bed at SGH , hahahahah
Originally posted by inasmak:Wow, see your takings really motivates me. I just went for the excursion yesterday and will be taking the test this Friday. Can't wait to get my TVDL and become relief on weekend.
Motivate ? U freaking wanna drive 19 hours ?
Originally posted by Poolman:Sandist , 19 hours on the road , and u got $22 / hr .
$30 is the average i would say , but ok la .
But don't do it in regular basis , will tear down your body .
Let us know next time how long u the duration u drive .
First time is like that one ....
sun easy easy can get 30/hr ....... :P
but for me abit hard no extra amt appear below the meter
i dun move 1 ....... ;)
yah 19hrs no joke bro really taxing i sometimes do 14hr
marathons on fri/sat by sun i really puncture liao haha
Originally posted by Sandisct:
so what is there to hide?
okie.. ( me back from changing water for my arowana tank ).
1) to hide from spouses of other TDs - they may compare when their hubbies are not working hard enough. (or worst - having families outsides).
2) to hide from potential robbery of cabbies.
3) to hide from the authority - since this TD can clocked so much - LTA can release more TD licences. (Demand definitely higher now based on some survey like yours).
4) to hide from taxman ( that is your problem lah... i don't bother
)... but the above-mentioned 3 pointers are good enough right ?
no offences anyway, but you will know the trade after a few years... cheers.
Originally posted by Poolman:It's a one off thing .
No one can do that in everyday basis .
$420 collection for 19 hours , if i am the tax man , i will not issue him any document , i would call him to get ready a bed at SGH , hahahahah
yeah.. drive 19 hrs is no easy task...
but next day confirmed punctured.
there was this one pax with 2 kids... the boy sits at the front pax seat...
then halfway thru the journey the boy ask his mom....
"mommy, what is today's date?"
"25th"
"huh? this uncle's license only issued 2 days ago leh"...
I just smiled... hahahaha
Originally posted by Sandisct:there was this one pax with 2 kids... the boy sits at the front pax seat...
then halfway thru the journey the boy ask his mom....
"mommy, what is today's date?"
"25th"
"huh? this uncle's license only issued 2 days ago leh"...
I just smiled... hahahaha
Eh.... All along I thought you are auntie???
Originally posted by BobbyToon:Eh.... All along I thought you are auntie???
ER... great disappointment?? hahah
Sandisct, good to see your report. interesting.
When we just started driving, dun set too high a standard. Although some cabby say ave $20 per hr or $30 ..... Slowly build up yr strength and know yr weakness.
When you dun meet your target (if you have) today, dun worry. there will be another good tomorrow or solid next day.
Originally posted by Sgm40 vps:Sandisct, good to see your report. interesting.
When we just started driving, dun set too high a standard. Although some cabby say ave $20 per hr or $30 ..... Slowly build up yr strength and know yr weakness.
When you dun meet your target (if you have) today, dun worry. there will be another good tomorrow or solid next day.
Correct, "Live to fight another day" ;)
seriously , why cant everyone just keep their mouths shut abt their earnings?
is there a need to highlight how much u make? first of all , u arent going to impress the old birds , impress the new birds maybe? get the attention of the reporters? high chance! taxman?? maybe not.
come on la , u guys are adults. please dont be like little kids going around blabbering abt things that are best kept a secret!
20 an hr? 30 an hr? tell for wad?
The lesser u blab , the better for all of us. so pleaseee
TCL today lut 530 pm to 530 am... 12 hrs , very tidy sum but u all know how much? nope sorry , im not that silly to post my takings here.
i wan the general public to know that we are a pitiful lot , sloggin very hard for $80 or $90. Since sg looks down on cabbies , good , give them that impression then.
so what if u make good $? that doesnt elevate your status in the social ladder. all are just taxi drivers.
for heaven's sake............ some things just keep quiet.
thank u
And one last thing before i sign off and go to sleep. i totally 100% agree with JDIL bro about the risk of robberies.
Posting collection figures in the open might invite eyes with criminal intent.
Its really funny, u guys never think of wad your post can result in before u click the submit button?
Kena robbery is destiny one ....
even if u are millionaire , people also dun want rob you .
Some rob beggars knn ......
I am ok with telling figures ...... again , this is not the only forum telling figures .
And we only have less then $200 cash in all with us at all time , like 7-11 with us ?