jus heard from a reliable source tat smrt will be pushing out its new line of mid-range taxis very very soon. Wonder wat 'll be the rental like?
Hi all
I have a friend who is a bankrupt, can he join as a TD and any differnent tretament ?
Thanks
Originally posted by Gotcha111:Hi to JLKL n also to everyone out there., can u tell me which operator are you with now. Which taxi model r u driving. Which taxi models are most cost efficient -- anybody ?? Tks Poolman 4 ur advice this morning ,will bear n keep in mind .
50 yrs old to start a new profession, really wonder how long can i sustain in this line of hard n tire work. Nevertheless, it "s a good profession as in the amount of hardwork put in equates the same amount of rewards rec'd in the long run. Agree ?
me transcab wish lor.. 1.8 used one.. not like bro poolman so garang 2 litre one..
Originally posted by komade:Lot 1 PHUI!! lar sun pass by there also wun go in lor
lest kenna sabo by ppl like captain PHUI!! go cck ave4 nia...... :P
not only lot 1..now i dun pick pax from shopping centre with ntuc or cold storage even if i send pax there.. just drop, put busy and go off..kana before from amk hub. see the pax waiting empty handed, so okay lah go in.. knn once i stop, his family members push out the trolley duno from where. load slowly, then tell u amk st 61.. phui!! one time enuf liao..
How old was ur transcab wish? How is it running.. smooth n hassle-free. How is the call booking volume from transcab? I'm seriously considering transcab's taxi.
Originally posted by Gotcha111:How old was ur transcab wish? How is it running.. smooth n hassle-free. How is the call booking volume from transcab? I'm seriously considering transcab's taxi.
1.5 yrs old.. my cab not in tip top condition lah.. but as long as can move.. meter working. i dun care liao.. what calls? me got zero calls..no call at all.. i sweep floor type
Originally posted by Gotcha111:How old was ur transcab wish? How is it running.. smooth n hassle-free. How is the call booking volume from transcab? I'm seriously considering transcab's taxi.
1.5 yrs old.. my cab not in tip top condition lah.. but as long as can move.. meter working. i dun care liao.. what calls? me got zero calls..no call at all.. i sweep floor type
Originally posted by Poolman:
Taxi company dun have , that is true .But why become hirer ? Go and try as relief .
Cannot find ? Then we discuss the option later .
Now most important is to decide what timing u decided to drive .
And what lifestyle your family can accept and cannot accept .
Ur family is the priorities .
Hi
I have a friend who is a bankrupt, can he join as a TD and any different treatment ?
Thanks
Originally posted by Gotcha111:Hi TCL, it seems like u r quite piss off w this routinely yet paying well "mundane" or else u would 've switched to other job. Guess u probably 've been driving for > 1 yr n have never derived any satisfaction from it. It sort of really dishearten me whose gonna start TD soon. Is there really no job satisfaction from TD ??...... Anyone out there..pls tell me otherwise !!!
10 years bro... 10 fucking years. what nice things to expect me to say abt this trade?
Singapore is really a very unique country where the citizens drive the foreigners around.
if u are 30 or mid 30s , pls la dont give up the fighting sprit in the corporate world. The fact that at this age , u guys jump into taxi driving serves to let the regime know that citizens are farked up thats why need foreigners to come in.
When u are 1 or 2 years into the trade , ya plenty of good things to say but down the road u begin to wonder why u are this farking deep shit with no prospects of a turn for the better and as you go longer and longer , u will realise that job opportunities are slipping away and then you start to realise... kinda late bro, too late.
1 year a new taxi driver , 10 years still a taxi driver , 15 years also a taxi driver.
Think abt it
btw im not discouraging people but this is 1st hand experience from many of those that have driven for decades.
wanna listen up to u all.
Remember , TCL dont paint rosy pictures for people to jump in.
Originally posted by xinyan:Hi
I have a friend who is a bankrupt, can he join as a TD and any different treatment ?
Thanks
Bankrupts can be reliefs but not hirers for CDG. No different treatment coz bankrupts also have to pay rental.
Originally posted by Gotcha111:jus heard from a reliable source tat smrt will be pushing out its new line of mid-range taxis very very soon. Wonder wat 'll be the rental like?
i heard it some 24 months ago .... dun tell me u heard Chevrolet Epica diesels ?
Fuck la old news , i heard it 24 months ago .
Still nothing from them .
Still i can see their old Cedric on the road , and their old baby , Crown !!
Originally posted by JLKL:not only lot 1..now i dun pick pax from shopping centre with ntuc or cold storage even if i send pax there.. just drop, put busy and go off..kana before from amk hub. see the pax waiting empty handed, so okay lah go in.. knn once i stop, his family members push out the trolley duno from where. load slowly, then tell u amk st 61.. phui!! one time enuf liao..
That day TCL & myself was laughing ....
Lake View actually got booking from Lot-1 !!
Destination > Yishun & Sembawang !
And somemore need to repeat order , no taxis want to go Lot-1 , wtf !!!
A friend of mine , barely 30 years of age , just married with a new flat. Prior to this , he was desperate to seek a job after getting laid off coz of well foreigners. With an engineering diploma , he was jobless for half a year.
Asked me if he should drive taxi. i advised him against it and told him to fucking go and look harder for a job. He understood where im coming from.
Now he's got a 2500 per mth job , not much but theres something to look forward to and that is promotion, CPF , leave , MC etc etc.
Had i encouraged him to drive taxi , most likely im helping him to dig his grave faster.
Originally posted by Tio Call Liao:10 years bro... 10 fucking years. what nice things to expect me to say abt this trade?
Singapore is really a very unique country where the citizens drive the foreigners around.
if u are 30 or mid 30s , pls la dont give up the fighting sprit in the corporate world. The fact that at this age , u guys jump into taxi driving serves to let the regime know that citizens are farked up thats why need foreigners to come in.
When u are 1 or 2 years into the trade , ya plenty of good things to say but down the road u begin to wonder why u are this farking deep shit with no prospects of a turn for the better and as you go longer and longer , u will realise that job opportunities are slipping away and then you start to realise... kinda late bro, too late.
1 year a new taxi driver , 10 years still a taxi driver , 15 years also a taxi driver.
Think abt it
btw im not discouraging people but this is 1st hand experience from many of those that have driven for decades.
wanna listen up to u all.
Remember , TCL dont paint rosy pictures for people to jump in.
Very true indeed... But for my case, I've already saw the dead end to my previous career path unless I start my own company... Where got so much $$$?!!
I'll still go with TCL, "Got choice, who wants to be a TD?"
Originally posted by Mvp30sg:Very true indeed... But for my case, I've already saw the dead end to my previous career path unless I start my own company... Where got so much $$$?!!
I'll still go with TCL, "Got choice, who wants to be a TD?"
After 10 years behind the wheel , what else can i do ? Employers will ask me wad the fuck have u been doing since 2001? err taxi driver? *plonk* goes your CV into the thrash bin.
As years go by , its all about steering wheel , MDT , accelerator , diesel , brake, walkie talkie , collect $ change $ , carry luggage , nothing else.
Those in their 30s driving or intending to drive should really think abt some other things to do before the 'taxi disease' infects u.
If nothing else works , dont worry , plenty TDVLs awaits u.
Just dont throw in the towel too easily.
Originally posted by Gotcha111:So Poolman where do u normally go to make ur earnings, ie if u dont mind sharing w us. A TD friend of mine is a hardcore AP attacker. He'll start at 7am Q AP n make at least 4 AP trip til 11am then roam the st til 1pm. He'll start AP again at 4pm n if possible make 2 more AP + sweeping n knock off at 11-12 . He says his mthly net is quite comfortable. (Been doing 4 past 1.5 yr) I'm skeptical abt it, can he really earn that kind of monies?
Work smart dun work hard.... ;)
Originally posted by Tio Call Liao:After 10 years behind the wheel , what else can i do ? Employers will ask me wad the fuck have u been doing since 2001? err taxi driver? *plonk* goes your CV into the thrash bin.
As years go by , its all about steering wheel , MDT , accelerator , diesel , brake, walkie talkie , collect $ change $ , carry luggage , nothing else.
Those in their 30s driving or intending to drive should really think abt some other things to do before the 'taxi disease' infects u.
If nothing else works , dont worry , plenty TDVLs awaits u.
Just dont throw in the towel too easily.
wah so jialat ah bro.... lucky olredi plan retirement plan
open kopitiam in vietnam liao........ :P
Originally posted by komade:wah so jialat ah bro.... lucky olredi plan retirement plan
vietnam kopi tiam sell wad? haha
Originally posted by Tio Call Liao:vietnam kopi tiam sell wad? haha
Sell kopi lar F..... but served by chio chio mei meis...... :P
u come treat on me haha~~~~
Maybe can open my own taxi company there called "69 dial a cab"~..~~~~
Originally posted by Tio Call Liao:A friend of mine , barely 30 years of age , just married with a new flat. Prior to this , he was desperate to seek a job after getting laid off coz of well foreigners. With an engineering diploma , he was jobless for half a year.
Asked me if he should drive taxi. i advised him against it and told him to fucking go and look harder for a job. He understood where im coming from.
Now he's got a 2500 per mth job , not much but theres something to look forward to and that is promotion, CPF , leave , MC etc etc.
Had i encouraged him to drive taxi , most likely im helping him to dig his grave faster.
Very true what TCL said. I have friends who started being TD in their 30s and still stucked in this and cannot get out. One other guy driven for 5 years also in his 30s and finally get out and he sighed that he had wasted those 5 years and restart his careers all over again and mind you he is very academic and hands on qualified. He finally survive in his latest career.
Before i become a TD, one kind Old TD advise and told me that if you wanted to become a TD:
1) you mustn't have debt or if possible no more mortgage to maintain.
2) Children a little grow up.
3) You must have health and maintain a healthy lifestyle once you become a TD.
4) Don't think taxi is your own family car or otherwise you get distracted with your routine.
Number # 4 : haha the word "routine".....What TCL said is true....you will stuck to a Routine......because no matter what you come out with Plan A or Plan B strategy for the day, it is still Mundane Routine.
What has im new thread become?Political thread?![]()
Originally posted by komade:wah so jialat ah bro.... lucky olredi plan retirement plan
yup, must plan for retirement...if need to drive taxi till old age, sibei jiak lat..i drive taxi, i open my ears big big.. sometimes can hear some lobang..
I would said that it is true that as a TD you must have a good self discipline, and there are pros and cons between TD and working in a company, TD are actually working for a taxi company, but on a self mode condition, the key word here is "in" and 'for".
The corporate world also have stress, pressure, politics, colleague pressure, boss and subordinate disatisfaction and many more, and you have to look at people face to work, more so is the 8 or 9 to 5 routine job, more routine than a TD.
TD, is own discipline, own time and own target, they may not enjoy MC, leaves, and CPF, but they get cash, can plan their time and leaves, and more so, they are the frontline contact with customers which help singapore as an important transport mode. Other than having to pay the hiring fees to the compay that provide them the taxis, they do not have to support a high overhead cost like in company, where there are MD, GM, managers, Admin and office peoples, exectutives are overhead that suppressed the real productivie workers/staffs' wages.
So, i do not really agree that taxis career is not better than some others, but the most important is that, as long as you are happy in what you are doing, go ahead, take pride in it, stay healthy and dsicipline, takes thing easily, you can be a very happy cabby.
Bingo !!!! U can't be more right abt it...... n i hope 6 mths later, i can still maintain this spirit n state of mind.