Bro TCL.. that's what my fren told me. He is so fed-up with the job. He's U grad , started the job as system engineer yrs back. Tink he got snabbed by his boss, end up as data 'processor'. Tink he is 39 yrs old. Very Sad for him... I told him to try TDing, like what bro poolman said, no more debts or mortgages to bear, Why not choose to have freedom on your job.
Originally posted by Gotcha111:Bro TCL.. that's what my fren told me. He is so fed-up with the job. He's U grad , started the job as system engineer yrs back. Tink he got snabbed by his boss, end up as data 'processor'. Tink he is 39 yrs old. Very Sad for him... I told him to try TDing, like what bro poolman said, no more debts or mortgages to bear, Why not choose to have freedom on your job.
Gotcha, System engineer doing "data processing". Probably his boss put him in "cold storage" and hopefully he resigned. Then can employ another FT to replace with lower salary. Knn, WTF trick.
I think it is up to your friend to smell and sense his surrounding. What's the big deal with IT? In this field, whatever you know now will be obsolete and redundant very fast.
Better get out of that square box and do something else if he really have innovative brain.
i think it is to each his own.. everyone has different expectations of life in terms of financial, lifestyle etc.. i am used to working 7 days and long hours cos i have been a hawker before.. working from 5am to 11pm.. that is really no life..
when i come into this trade, frankly, for the 1st time, i feel that every dollar is really hard earned.. and realise last time in corporate world, money is more easily earrned..
again, we should not resigned ourselves to being taxi drivers our whole life.. at all times, we should be thinking of other business or investment to do.. so bro TCL, 41 is still young, me 39, i consider myself still very young, to be honest..
for me, i buy share and keep for long run.. must buy those wen wen de.. like sgx, dbs etc.. once i got spare money, i will just buy 1 lot and keep..that is my style..
From all your posts , u painted the good sides. How abt at fault accidents? fatigue at the wheel? LTA complains , unreasonable paxes? daily deduction of rent even though u are sick? etc etc
I've said a thousand times ..... one must be discipline in all aspects , to avoid those things you mentioned .
Do you see me got involve in accidents ? Touch wood , but it's individual driving habits and disciplines in driving .
Fatigue ? One must be discipline in ample rest , again discipline , very regimental .
LTA complains ? Since when u heard Uncle Poolman got caught ? Once again , one must be skilful and discipline when communciating with commuters .
Unreasonable paxes ? Which customer service dun have such issues ? Ask Mcdonald , Kentucky , Watson's etc .... Bus captains , it's part and parcel of customer service trade .
Of course with Super Flu bugs virusing around , it's inevitable to be sick , again , when u are discipline , u can avoid that ! To some extend , open up your windows for better ventilations , Vitamin C capsules daily , drink water , alot of them .
All those points u provided , can be avoided .
I had never painted all good for all people , it's individual basis .
Say for example .....
One 31-yr-old young man , own a house in Sengkang , 2 kids , wife housewife . House can tahan instalment by CPF , cos he worked for 10 years already .
He lost his job in a factory , earning previously $1800 a month before take home .
Found a new job , as a store clerk cum delivery man , per month $1450 . 5 and half days work , 8am til 5pm , sometimes overtime late for delivery .
If he asked me : " Pool , u think i should drive a cab , money no enuf ? "
I 100% tell him he must drive a cab .
Becos to me , i've seen many cabbies , hardworking , less fussy type , earning cold hard cash $1450 in 2 weeks !!!!! Just 2 weeks .
Dun say $2900 a month , just say $2400 a month ( per day pathetic $80) .
Against $1450 a month as store cum driver .
Which one is more logical ?
This is precisely what many here has this problems .
Credit cards issues , gambling issues , divorce issues , business collapsed etc ..
Do they got any other choices ?
Any other jobs that has got daily cold hard cash for them to roll ?
Pls find for them , u'll be a hero .
I have got a pal .....
He was formally a civil servant .
Earning steel rice bowl in The Police Department .
He actually can stick there until retire , earning a cool $3500 mthly , and eventually earns pensions at age 55 .
But at age 37 , he resigned from SPF .
Meaning resigned from possible pension, and yearly steady income of $42,000 from the SPF .
And becoming a cabby .
He fare better than anyone else here , his mental strength was there , desire and passion was there .
Just need a bit of fine tuning from me .
And some butter of course from me .
He can consider one of the top guns i've seen .
And now he can earn slightly more than what he had earned from SPF .
How much ? He earn $42,000 a year at SPF , what u think he can earn from taxi ?
Again , let me emphasis , if u are a degree holder , owned a Condominum , and a car , with a maid .......on top with 2 parent , below wife and 3 kids ........ earned from current job .
With no debts .
Pls give taxi a miss .
Pls go back where you belong .
In the lab !!!!
Dun give taxi a bad name .
The only downside one will get when driving a night shift .
The wife and yourself will have reverse timing .
She work , u sleep .
She sleep , u work .
Like me , but after 10 years , we are so used to it .
She said it's a blessing in disguise , like that more loving .
Everyday see each other , might not be so good afterall , will quarrel more often , hahahah .
The one next best thing about taxi driving .....
U can be open up into many business opportunities .
Even if u do not have sufficient funds to start any business , but by talking , u'll learn a lot . Believe me on this .
U learn about how people think , how people analyse , how people execute decision .
And those words they used to talk to people , their tones , their knowledge , their intentions etc .
U'll learn how business people from all over the world see us in Singapore , and the diff between Singapore and the rest of the world .
And by talking to Singaporeans doing business in shanghai , u'll roughly will know how's the progress like across the globe , anywhere .
This is something got money also cannot buy one .
And it's free to ask , get answers and learn from it .
I thank god he gave me those luxuries to learn for free .
Originally posted by Poolman:I have got a pal .....
He actually can stick there until retire , earning a cool $3500 mthly , and eventually earns pensions at age 55 .
Meaning resigned from possible pension, and yearly steady income of $42,000 from the SPF .
And becoming a cabby .
He fare better than anyone else here , his mental strength was there , desire and passion was there .
Then me leh poolie?? Should stick being a TD or not?? :P
Then take car OMO haha~~~~
If i were desktop bound , i might be a frog in the well i think .
If i were desktop bound , i might not see the developement of Singapore , i've seen it everyday as a cabby !!!
I saw Omni Marco Polo tore down .
I saw from a small park for Philipinos girls on Sunday , into our iconic building Ion Orchards .
I saw how Suntec grows .
I saw how Marina Promenade the facelift changed hands .
I saw how Esplanade Erected .
I saw how from a Pier , and now One Raffles Quay .
I saw from former WTC , and now Vivo and Harbourfront .
What about Marina Bay Sands ?
And Terminal 3 ?
And Singapore Flyer ...... Floating Platform ......
The lastest being the Marina Financial Centre .
Only if u were in my shoes , how u feel ?
Only because i am just a taxi driver . i've seen all .
I can tell my grandson how Singapore grow , with those details .
Can you do that ?
Originally posted by komade:Then me leh poolie?? Should stick being a TD or not?? :P
Then take car OMO haha~~~~
No , u go sell Kopi at HCM City .
Taxi driving is not all about money .
It's not all about prospects .
Not all about career .
It's the values we got from it .
It's the friends we'll gained from the job .
I can say , i made many great friends .
Originally posted by Poolman:
No , u go sell Kopi at HCM City .
haha ok or sell HCM kopi in Sg then u guys
can come n patronise my stall ;)
Yah agree with Poolie made some gd frens frm
driving taxi~~~~
Originally posted by Poolman:I have got a pal .....
And becoming a cabby .
Lets not take mr 37 as an example coz he is less than a year in the TD bizness. Still new , still fresh , still charging.Lets hear from the > 5 year TDs will be more ideal.
Strange the last time i met him he told he is sick and very tired of driving cab but at the same time gotta respect him coz i think he ranks amongst those top guns in taxi industry. those that hit X,XXX per mth. 1 % of the TD industry i think.
As for the SPF thingy , i have no comments.
Originally posted by JLKL:i think it is to each his own.. everyone has different expectations of life in terms of financial, lifestyle etc.. i am used to working 7 days and long hours cos i have been a hawker before.. working from 5am to 11pm.. that is really no life..
when i come into this trade, frankly, for the 1st time, i feel that every dollar is really hard earned.. and realise last time in corporate world, money is more easily earrned..
again, we should not resigned ourselves to being taxi drivers our whole life.. at all times, we should be thinking of other business or investment to do.. so bro TCL, 41 is still young, me 39, i consider myself still very young, to be honest..
for me, i buy share and keep for long run.. must buy those wen wen de.. like sgx, dbs etc.. once i got spare money, i will just buy 1 lot and keep..that is my style..
At 41 , i feel im very grumpy , naggy & hot tempered . Even my friends have farked me for that ....Signs of old age bro hehehe
Originally posted by Gotcha111:Bro TCL.. that's what my fren told me. He is so fed-up with the job. He's U grad , started the job as system engineer yrs back. Tink he got snabbed by his boss, end up as data 'processor'. Tink he is 39 yrs old. Very Sad for him... I told him to try TDing, like what bro poolman said, no more debts or mortgages to bear, Why not choose to have freedom on your job.
Actually erm my bro in law also face the same situation , working in 1 of the banks . coz of his many years in the company and climbing to manager .
In recent years he got bumped down to a high paying 'clerk' earning 4k . Asked me if he should resign and join me as a td. After giving him a scare on wad TD is about , he is still working there , stressed out & basically a nobody but imo he's still better off than being a TD. Cos the stress that he gets is nothing compared to the stress u get on the roads. And fyi , if he makes mistakes, the bank will not ask him to pay anything . Taxi u make mistake u pay dearly.
Double Post
Originally posted by Poolman:If i were desktop bound , i might be a frog in the well i think .
If i were desktop bound , i might not see the developement of Singapore , i've seen it everyday as a cabby !!!
I saw Omni Marco Polo tore down .
I saw from a small park for Philipinos girls on Sunday , into our iconic building Ion Orchards .
I saw how Suntec grows .
I saw how Marina Promenade the facelift changed hands .
I saw how Esplanade Erected .
I saw how from a Pier , and now One Raffles Quay .
I saw from former WTC , and now Vivo and Harbourfront .
What about Marina Bay Sands ?
And Terminal 3 ?
And Singapore Flyer ...... Floating Platform ......
The lastest being the Marina Financial Centre .
Only if u were in my shoes , how u feel ?
Only because i am just a taxi driver . i've seen all .
I can tell my grandson how Singapore grow , with those details .
Can you do that ?
I never really track all these developments but one thing that captivates me till this very day is the construction of REC. When the foundation was up , i was already there to pak calls. Pak until the plant is up and running.
It is really an amazing project . I bet those people working inside has some kind of buggy to get around.
Those who never heard of REC , it is at Tuas South Ave 14.They make solar panels i think.
Originally posted by Tio Call Liao:I never really track all these developments but one thing that captivates me till this very day is the construction of REC. When the foundation was up , i was already there to pak calls. Pak until the plant is up and running.
It is really an amazing project . I bet those people working inside has some kind of buggy to get around.
Those who never heard of REC , it is at Tuas South Ave 14.They make solar panels i think.
haha been there once only super steam place~~~~
Originally posted by komade:Me started at 31 but if can i will start some sideline business once
i get an opportunity then do both at same time n finally concentrate on
the business but maybe still drive taxi PT like maybe 1-2 days like hougang
PHUI!! to pass time earn some ECA $$, lar kopi with frens or excuse to
go liberation excercises........ :P
Good luck , u are a very street smart fella. im sure u wil succeed
Originally posted by TaxiNoob:Precisely... Like me, I'm doing web development on my side. Income not regular yet, but it's coming in. Target 18 months before I can safely say bye bye to taxi driving or just drive for leisure sake.
thats really good to know. I dunno why but im always happy when people get out of the taxi trade to do something more meaningful .
Maybe its coz i dun have the chance to so instead of envying , might as well feel glad for that person haha
Originally posted by gung:Yo bros, me started driving last friday and sat nite, so far so good except that during the nite the sign board quite difficult to see especially when you are new to tis trade..I have also attended the MDT half day course yesterday which at least now I am more confident to take current booking calls, nets and credit card payment, any wise words from all of u...:)
Gung my advice is to just whack. see 1 pick 1 . If there is a call , judge quickly if u think u make it to the place within a certain eta. Too far just reject and also pay particular attention to the pick up pt , if it says main road , REJECT.
Not all CDG calls can take one... some are really rotten and phui chao nua type.
Friday i would say just whack street la. plenty people around. Coz u only drive 2 days and these 2 days are about the best in the week. So no pt wasting time taking calls .
It is days like mon , tues that u need a certain strategy to stay alive.
Friday?? no need to strategy .... just whack
Saturday let those who drive give u some advice. me no drive saturday one :p
good luck
And kindly do us very sensitive people a favour , if u perform fantastically , just let us know so we will be happy for u . No need to post earnings here. When u perform well , we have an approx estimation as to how much u make.
Dont have to let the whole world know ok ? haha