Originally posted by RotaryEngine:bowah is really philosophically powerful. very true of it. Whatever or no matter how many Pinnacles you have climb and achieve, there will be a cause or consequences of good or bad event that follow for you to experience it.
Taxi degree huh ! Knn - then Poolman has what degree? Taxi Phd or Master ?
TCL what degree? Aln ?
Me har? i got navigation degree. yes highest amongst all. Navigate thru Orchard , Navigate thru Tuas , Navigate thru Shenton way all i have.
Yo TCL, thks for your advice and take note of it and will update u guys later on when I finish this week part time driving..:)
Originally posted by Tio Call Liao:At 41 , i feel im very grumpy , naggy & hot tempered . Even my friends have farked me for that ....Signs of old age bro hehehe
aiya.. i also very hot tempered mah.. but vent out okay liao..when cab no pax, just vent out lah..
must have some eca lah..cannot always just drive and drive.. i only 3 mths also cannot tahan drive and drive, dun talk abt u driving for 10yrs liao..to me, important is comfortable living can liao..
saturday and sunday can close shop at 10pm to watch soccer can liao.. 1 month can off 2 days to do my own things can liao..monday and tuesday can close shop at 7pm to have dinner with my family can liao..with this, i am contented.. relax driving..
Originally posted by Tio Call Liao:Really leh , their earnings figures are farking scary. Sometimes i just wish i can be my normal self , close shop at 1 am.
Am trying to let go bit by bit haha
no wonder komade can afford to open kopitiam.. sibei ho..
no la , our pay is slightly a bigger peanut .
Not the Malaysia type .
Ours ShanDong peanut .

i remember one good buddy of mine ....
His dad also a taxi driver ..... single handedly brought him and his 4 sister up ? 4 sisters > I think so .
Yes , 5 children brought up single handedly by a taxi driver father !!!
I am so proud of his dad , my idol .
I have the same sentiments with bowah .....
DO i care what people said about me as a TD ?
No la fuck la ...... i dun give a damn .
I am proud to be a TD , happy to be one and happy to share my happiness .
If one is feeling inferior about being a TD . Pls leave this profession alone .
So what i am a TD ? Low grade ? And that's your problem !
The problem i have , u have money to pay for the fare ???
PAY and thank you .
Next pax pls ......
Originally posted by Poolman:i remember one good buddy of mine ....
His dad also a taxi driver ..... single handedly brought him and his 4 sister up ? 4 sisters > I think so .
Yes , 5 children brought up single handedly by a taxi driver father !!!
I am so proud of his dad , my idol .
to my understanding, in older days, taxi drivers were original taxi owner, there are no taxi companies other than taxi selling companies, so being able to drive a taxis is consider a towkay, no need to pay rent and can charge any price depend on time and the crowd, no meter, or got meter but never use, so, in a way, who offer the best fare can take the taxi, I remember when i was young, when we were very poor, taxi is like a big luxury ride for us, so I have no doubt that in those days, taxi driver can make a living, afford this and that, but today, if you ask a taxi driver to single handedly bring up 5 childrens and one wife and also old parents, I think he can die cock standing first.
There also many people jobless and some like my dad and uncle, working as bell hopper at train station carrying ang mo or rich peoples language earning a few cents per day plus tips from ang mo, and they also have 6 to 8 or even 10 childrens,...until PAP said stop at 2
Originally posted by Poolman:I have the same sentiments with bowah .....
DO i care what people said about me as a TD ?
No la fuck la ...... i dun give a damn .
I am proud to be a TD , happy to be one and happy to share my happiness .
If one is feeling inferior about being a TD . Pls leave this profession alone .
So what i am a TD ? Low grade ? And that's your problem !
The problem i have , u have money to pay for the fare ???
PAY and thank you .
Next pax pls ......
Everyone is entitle to their opinons, mouth belong to them, you cannot stop it, if you care about what other said, forever, you will not have a peace of mind. A smart TD will take in the good advices, improve himself on it and remove all those nonsense remarks. At function or wedding dinner, when frens or relatives ask, i alway proudly said, i am a TD, some may walk away and look down on me, some may talk about road and wanted my advice on how to get to here and there at the fastest way, just get on with it, you own no one a living, nor does anyone own you a living. And also you come with nothing, born nake with nothing and you go with nothing, and that nothing last forever, not LKY nor his wife. Take life as easy, TD or MD or plate collectors, as long as it is decent, we are proud to be, there was this story about body parts argueing that some may have heard before...
All the body parts get together for a meeting, every part, be it the eyes, stomach, brain, hands etc etc said that they are better than each other in contributing to the body, as they go on to decide who contribute the most and who contribute the least, the asshole said that he is the best, and every other parts laughed at him, saying that the asshole is nothing but a tube to let go shit and sometime get whacked or raped, shitty hole..so asshole should be the lowest contributor in the body parts, the eyes said, if i shut my eyes, the body cannot see, the brain said, if i switch off, the body goes blur and mad, the hands said, without me, you feel nothing and touch nothing,..the stomach said without me, you cannot eat...and so on. The asshole was left out of the meeting, so he goes on strike for a few days, closed the hole for a few days, all the other body parts become so frustrated and tight, as all the waste and shit are on Q, the brain is getting hot and mad, the hands are getting weaking, the stomach are full and in pain, the eyes also blur blur and feel the heat...and the many other parts start to complain and ask the asshole to open the hole, they begged him to open and let go all the shit...then the asshole said, on one condition, I wan to be the most important part of body, respect me and honor me. All the others body parts start to kneel down and beg him, they agreed to all request, as long as he open his hole and stop going on strike. Now, you know that asshole are sometimes the most important of the society.
very well said bowah...:)
Originally posted by JLKL:no wonder komade can afford to open kopitiam.. sibei ho..
hehe yah muz relax n idle sometimes ydae wed ladies nite,
me F care sit down with pool 12mn- 3am lar kopi then go
mustafa shopping then continue :P
Very good say pool.
I'm still waiting for LTA to send me the second letter.
I can't wait to get my Taxi licence and start clocking my bank account.
do i need to apply thur taxi company to get faster reply?
thank you
Originally posted by komade:hehe yah muz relax n idle sometimes ydae wed ladies nite,
me F care sit down with pool 12mn- 3am lar kopi then go
mustafa shopping then continue :P
u all so good, can earn shandong peanuts, big and nice.. knn, i earn duno what peanut, small and black.. haha...
of cos u two can idle lah, very fast can cover everythng.. like that i think u need to give me 4 hours handcap liao [pool say u give me 1 hour handicap also beat me hands down].. it is true lah.. u know what.. my friend took a comfort taxi and they talk abt daily target... my friend told him my target, u know what the comfort taxi driver say... he ask my friend "gross or nett?", my friend told him gross.. he say "can survive meh?".. knn cannot survive? still got spare man hehe.. u know why got spare? where got time to spend money...
Originally posted by JLKL:u all so good, can earn shandong peanuts, big and nice.. knn, i earn duno what peanut, small and black.. haha...
of cos u two can idle lah, very fast can cover everythng.. like that i think u need to give me 4 hours handcap liao [pool say u give me 1 hour handicap also beat me hands down].. it is true lah.. u know what.. my friend took a comfort taxi and they talk abt daily target... my friend told him my target, u know what the comfort taxi driver say... he ask my friend "gross or nett?", my friend told him gross.. he say "can survive meh?".. knn cannot survive? still got spare man hehe.. u know why got spare? where got time to spend money...
haha no lar bro juz tat we r idle cabbies target hit liao
or tat day idle bug come we relax liao......
I last night call on my former taxi colleague , now currently employed by MBS , as dealer .
Before as a MBS dealer , he was a store supervisor . 包山包海 。
As a store supervisor , he earned $1600 before CPF .
I was thinking , wtf .... i can earn that in 16 days ! Average 8 hours daily work for me .
He need to work for 20 days , 9 hours at least base on MOM regualation !!!!!! That's providing his company is a 5 days work company .
I cannot imagine how i can survive with that mini $1600 a month !
If i am to work for this 4 days , i'll be at least $400 more than him each month .
Now he is emloyed by MBS , month $1500 , miscellaneous allowance $350 .
Shift work .
Now high blood pressure , due to high level of stress in his dealer's job nature .
One mis-calculation , that's it , penalty !!!
Anyone for MBS ? Now they need more dealers , cos many quitting soon .
If anyone here , only has got ite cert , N levels , O levels , and need people to see you up , unlike driving a cab .
Join MBS !
So u can tell people : " I working for MBS ."
Most will say : " WOW , MBS ?"
But dun reveal the exact salary . Laugh die people .
Wear coat , bow tie , leather shoes , clean shave ....... clean and aircon environment , join MBS . $1500 basic salary , year 2010 liao , salary base back to 1990 , when i fist started to work .
I heard RWS better salary and benefits , plus standard shift , unlike MBS , irregular shift timing .
I also have a taxi buddy staying at Bt Panjang .
His son .... a LCCI Holder , almost a Master Degree in Accounting .
Working in MBS , as a Credit Executive .
Basic salary : $3500 .
Any Masters here ? Pls go and apply at MBS .
They need more , cos many got the boot for approving credit limit and cannot get those money back .
OK again i think some of u havent got the point. My point is a person in their 30s should not be a TD coz this job is a dead end with no light at the end of the tunnel. Anyone can disagree to this?? Poolman surely u cant disagree coz u are driving almost a decade like me?
If u asked your son what will he like to be when he grow up? would u react nicely when his reply is Papa i wanna be a taxi driver.
My views are no doubt somewhat negative but it reflects the truth. Those who wanna join noone is stopping u but think for a moment what TD can offer u in the long run.
Taxi driving cannot delegate to others to do while at the same time u earn , for every dollar u make , the metre must be running. Never run u eat grass , sometimes have to top up with your own $. Its pure sheer hard work , no idling , no fooling around.
And next time u wanna go back to employment , your resume put what?
But i guess people who visit the taxi forum has just about made up their mind to be one so good luck.
OK cant post much gotta go hospital now. Problems are surfacing after 10 years behind the wheel.
This will be the last of my post regarding this issue. good luck to all newbies
Originally posted by Tio Call Liao:If u asked your son what will he like to be when he grow up? would u react nicely when his reply is Papa i wanna be a taxi driver.
If he is capable of doing something he enjoy , and earns more than a Master degree holder , why not ?
Even if he tell me , i wanna try , and see if i can earn more than a Master degree .
Taxi driving also can be a scholar's job .
Sorry , not many drivers earn more than a Master degree , confidential on this !!!
If one capable of writing a good resume , he will not be a taxi driver at the first place .
Self employ is the word in the resume .
Originally posted by Poolman:
If he is capable of doing something he enjoy , and earns more than a Master degree holder , why not ?Even if he tell me , i wanna try , and see if i can earn more than a Master degree .
Taxi driving also can be a scholar's job .
Sorry , not many drivers earn more than a Master degree , confidential on this !!!
Okay - we confer you "Dr. Poolman --Phd (Taxiology) ". Not easy one you know, must write research on Land & Transport engineering & Operations.
Originally posted by komade:haha no lar bro juz tat we r idle cabbies target hit liao
or tat day idle bug come we relax liao......
making fun of u lah.. the 2 lao jiao always debate on whether young chap should join this trade or not.. sibei funny.. the newbies reading thread will think harder.. pool pointing out the pros and tcl pointing out the cons.. very informative..
why u never particpate.. u should tell us more abt yr thinking and experience mah..
Both Bro Poolman and Bro TCL also need to listen..... for new birdie, read both the Pro and Con and then decide for yourself.....
Dont be like me..... read but never listen never understand..... sigh
Can cover cost, you ask???... cfm plus chop sure can cover..... can make $$$, you ask again??... that will depend on how hardworking, how lucky, how street smart, any distractions etc etc.....
Anyway, a good advise from Bro Poolman if new birdie want to be TD.... join as relief first.... for some, it will be tough to find..... but no choice, got to try and try..... again dont be like me..... sigh.....
So sit down and read carefully and ask yourself truthfully..... then the answer on whether to step in as TD will be there......
For me, after 1 month, already lau hong, depress, energy totally gone, morale rock bottom..... why, because I "read but never listen never understand".....
Originally posted by MDT2410:Both Bro Poolman and Bro TCL also need to listen..... for new birdie, read both the Pro and Con and then decide for yourself.....
Dont be like me..... read but never listen never understand..... sigh
Can cover cost, you ask???... cfm plus chop sure can cover..... can make $$$, you ask again??... that will depend on how hardworking, how lucky, how street smart, any distractions etc etc.....
Anyway, a good advise from Bro Poolman if new birdie want to be TD.... join as relief first.... for some, it will be tough to find..... but no choice, got to try and try..... again dont be like me..... sigh.....
So sit down and read carefully and ask yourself truthfully..... then the answer on whether to step in as TD will be there......
For me, after 1 month, already lau hong, depress, energy totally gone, morale rock bottom..... why, because I "read but never listen never understand".....
The only issue me and pool can agree on is newbies really should be reliefs first rather than be hirer.
Taxi driving is not about just picking whoever that comes , if u do this after a while, u are going to get burn out very soon.
After 1 mth lau hong is not a very good sign bro. it took me abt 3 years to lau hong , disillusioned and feel souless abt taxi driving.