finally, i got a taste of life of a taxi driver..
went to pump gas at toh tuck, come out go towards bt batok, pax board tell me bt batok driving centre, i dun even know where is it, so ask pax do you know hw to go, pax say yes, guide me all the way.. drop 1st pax off, then just turn into bt batok west ave 7, got old couple board, tell me bt panjang ring rd, my mind blank again.. so ask old man how to go.. old man say dun worry, i guide you all the way.. appreciate man.. come out carpark, got one lady flag, going bt batok polyclinic, die liao.. duno again, so ask again and again pax guide all the way..
in short, out of 7 pax today, 6 is all guided haha
only one go genting lane i know how to go
a lot to brush up man.. now i really salute those taxi bros who know their routes very well one.. sure it will be a long road to be like them
most passengers are willing to guide if they know the way.
just be humble.
gd luck.
Originally posted by JLKL:now i really salute those taxi bros who know their routes very well one.. sure it will be a long road to be like them
What ?
Knowing the routes ? Sup sup water .
Knowing the "shortest" routes ? That's the hard one .
Remember this .
Uncle Poolman , well , nearly 10 years in the market , well slightly 95% familiar with Singapore .
Haven't 100% , not possible .
Cos the road kept changing each day .
new roads , new highways , new link ways .
Me Zero 5 , 5 years nia ...... know 70% i think .
Mine most effective method , i think so . This method .
" Miss , today my 3rd day of driving , new , so can u guide me with the shortest route u know ? "
Even after 6 months , still the same old phrase .
Can still use after 1 year if got problem .
Now i also use this method , cos we young ma , old liao cannot .
Reasonable that we are new .
Me 36 years old nia .
Originally posted by JLKL:finally, i got a taste of life of a taxi driver..
went to pump gas at toh tuck, come out go towards bt batok, pax board tell me bt batok driving centre, i dun even know where is it, so ask pax do you know hw to go, pax say yes, guide me all the way.. drop 1st pax off, then just turn into bt batok west ave 7, got old couple board, tell me bt panjang ring rd, my mind blank again.. so ask old man how to go.. old man say dun worry, i guide you all the way.. appreciate man.. come out carpark, got one lady flag, going bt batok polyclinic, die liao.. duno again, so ask again and again pax guide all the way..
in short, out of 7 pax today, 6 is all guided haha
only one go genting lane i know how to go
a lot to brush up man.. now i really salute those taxi bros who know their routes very well one.. sure it will be a long road to be like them
nvm juz tell them u new can guide u?? even me drive
8mths liao some places im not sure i will ask pax i head
to the area then later u guide me ok?? norm all of them ok
with it if u ask them polietly ;)
even now my yishun/woodlands still jialat cause i seldom go there..... :P
Welcome JLKL......to the life of taxi driver. Take it easy. Listen to Uncle poolman or his niece Zero 5, sure right one.....
The most important things is you must have the right mindset to learn. Keep learning everyday, you will never finished learning everything.
Good luck
HI JLKL, welcome aboard.
As all the seniors have put it here, with right mindset and attitude you will go a long way.
99% of pax will guide you if you tell them you don't know the place (the other 1% cannot guide you because they also don't know themselves). If you kay kiang and screw up later, then the pax will get really annoyed.
Me also new cabby, been on the road only 3mths plus. Know about 71% I think, better than that useless Zero 5. :)
Bukit Batok.....??? After driving 1 year plus i still donno how to come out from there...:p
my worst unfamiliar place to go are bukit batok & tampines , normally i know how to get there , but when reach nearby the area then ask them to guide the way , but now tampines slowly getting better liao because of icc1 jobs ... hehe ...
JLKL, u need at least know how to reach the area they want , then ask them to guide u ... Normally , they will surely guide u de ... unless u pick those tourists from AP or any tourists attractions, they surely dunno the way in singapore ...
Originally posted by FT:Bukit Batok.....??? After driving 1 year plus i still donno how to come out from there...:p
easy 1 bro ;) come treat me kopi i teach u ;)
Originally posted by Sonata83:my worst unfamiliar place to go are bukit batok & tampines , normally i know how to get there , but when reach nearby the area then ask them to guide the way , but now tampines slowly getting better liao because of icc1 jobs ... hehe ...
JLKL, u need at least know how to reach the area they want , then ask them to guide u ... Normally , they will surely guide u de ... unless u pick those tourists from AP or any tourists attractions, they surely dunno the way in singapore ...
haha yah i use SATS jobs to help me in my woodlands/yishun area :P
Hi JLKL,
Needn't worry. You will learn as the days go by.When i first start also kar lang kar bot.
MUST LOON!
Originally posted by Ngkialeong888:Welcome JLKL......to the life of taxi driver. Take it easy. Listen to Uncle poolman or his niece Zero 5, sure right one.....
The most important things is you must have the right mindset to learn. Keep learning everyday, you will never finished learning everything.
Good luck
Hello nephew nephew pls .
Originally posted by Zero 5:
Hello nephew nephew pls .
Haha paiseh la...all my bros are daughters, sooo used to call niece..hehehe
thanks all bros for the advice and encouragement.. and after 3 days of driving, i can now fully understand what is no life of OMO.. the only good point of OMO is you can have the flexibility of choosing what time u want to drive..
routes wise so far, most pax guide me from start to finish cos i dun even have an idea how to go.. like last nite, i pick up a pax going 2 places, turn out he also taxi driver but his cab is under repair, so need to take cab.. i ask him to guide me, which he did. the way he guide, i must say very impressed.. so familiar with all the road names.. i ask him how he master, he say for him easy cos before he become taxi driver, he also is a driver..
collection wise, me of cos no good lah, very little in terms of hrs on the road.. my peak hour very lousy.. off peak better.. must think of how to improve my peak hour.. cannot be my off peak colection is better than my peak hr mah
another problem i have is i dun like to queue, i cruise around but sometimes can be quite demoralising crusing around but becos i am new, i took the opportunity to just try to remember the road names etc..
physical wise, 3 words.. si bei xiong
topping up of cng so far okay lah.. have been to the 3 stations.. yesterday morning go sgn nth one, knn reach there close, my gas running out.. lucky got pax send me to maxwell.. then i go from there to toh tuck..
hope to meet up with u guys one day.. for those cng drivers, we may have met at those cng stations, just that we duno each other identity nia..
good luck to all and me go to start my work liao.. cheers
Originally posted by JLKL:thanks all bros for the advice and encouragement.. and after 3 days of driving, i can now fully understand what is no life of OMO.. the only good point of OMO is you can have the flexibility of choosing what time u want to drive..
routes wise so far, most pax guide me from start to finish cos i dun even have an idea how to go.. like last nite, i pick up a pax going 2 places, turn out he also taxi driver but his cab is under repair, so need to take cab.. i ask him to guide me, which he did. the way he guide, i must say very impressed.. so familiar with all the road names.. i ask him how he master, he say for him easy cos before he become taxi driver, he also is a driver..
collection wise, me of cos no good lah, very little in terms of hrs on the road.. my peak hour very lousy.. off peak better.. must think of how to improve my peak hour.. cannot be my off peak colection is better than my peak hr mah
another problem i have is i dun like to queue, i cruise around but sometimes can be quite demoralising crusing around but becos i am new, i took the opportunity to just try to remember the road names etc..
physical wise, 3 words.. si bei xiong
topping up of cng so far okay lah.. have been to the 3 stations.. yesterday morning go sgn nth one, knn reach there close, my gas running out.. lucky got pax send me to maxwell.. then i go from there to toh tuck..
hope to meet up with u guys one day.. for those cng drivers, we may have met at those cng stations, just that we duno each other identity nia..
good luck to all and me go to start my work liao.. cheers
Slowly n take ur time to learn bro but hor Q is part of nite
driver life sometimes bo bian but u muz knoe which Q to
go so that u wun kenna those taiko places...... :P
after 12mn norm need to Q but if u plan ur timings correctly
u can get alot of PnG places juz have to be fast. Next kopi
session come along maybe i can gibe u some pointers ;)
Also if cng finish then u at Tampines dun need die die go pump
juz run on petrol lor cost juz abit more nia 1 more trip u cover liao
rather than ur break ur momentum juz to go pump cng but tats my
style maybe ur style diff frm mine
New member reporting....SIR...
Originally posted by komade:Slowly n take ur time to learn bro but hor Q is part of nite
driver life sometimes bo bian but u muz knoe which Q to
go so that u wun kenna those taiko places...... :P
after 12mn norm need to Q but if u plan ur timings correctly
u can get alot of PnG places juz have to be fast. Next kopi
session come along maybe i can gibe u some pointers ;)
Also if cng finish then u at Tampines dun need die die go pump
juz run on petrol lor cost juz abit more nia 1 more trip u cover liao
rather than ur break ur momentum juz to go pump cng but tats my
style maybe ur style diff frm mine
bro, i pm you my taxi number, u pm me yours.. next time at kiosk if meet, then know who we are mah.. sekali i have talk to you before but u duno nia.. haha
Originally posted by A C MAX:HI JLKL, look like you are and omo with transcab? well with all the brothers here i am sure you will be better, me i am still waiting for my cab , some of my friends who drive azira are infact crying due to the mileage i am new and looks like comfort and citycab i have to wait longer . what are the terms in transcab to been and hirer?
have a good day
bro, what terms you refering to? benefits or deposit? benefits 665 per mth for wish and deposit 1.5k.. i think now got used wish.. very fast can take.. i apply one week can take cab liao.. just that their handover of taxi is very slip slod one cos lack of manpower.. MDT and meter i learn from the handout and ask other taxi drivers doing their servcing at transcab to teach me..inclduing changing of recept paper..
so what cab u are waiting for?
wa buay pai leh, here also got taxi folum ar? I always stuck in bus folum and chit chat... I 17YO boy boy here, pls point and teach more... ![]()
Point what , teach what AH Boy ?
Study hard la .
Don't gamble , don't womanising , don't get drunk , don't be lazy , don't have attitude problem .
Study hard , get a degree first , other options we discuss later .
dun drive taxi lah waste of talent ;)
go study hard and be COE lar...drive taxi u think easy ah...........we have no choice thats why and it is the result we bo tat cheh.......