Hi all,
i passed my TDVL last week, waiting for my license from LTA. Is there a kopi session for newbies?
I kept reading the forum until eyes pain, blur like sotong, trying to absorb wat i can.
i not signing contract first, wanna get used to it and than see which company better.
i be omo.
Do i go book a taxi now or wait for my license to come than hire?
Can hire taxi straight away? preferably without deposit, Sonata or Magentis be ideal. I be in msia 13-16 July, so i want to rent daily basis till after my trip.
Dunno why, i prefer Diesel than CNG/Petrol.... guess dun need to plan go which CNG station to top up. I stay commonwealth/buona vista area.
Thanks for any advice. :)
I dunno about Comfort waiting time. But according to my friend who just join Silver Cab, KIA vehicle is quite readily available.
Their office very near ur home at Alexandra Area.
$350 dollar incentive for accident free
The workshop charge Premier for workmanship cost only and parts are all provided by taxi company. In another words, workshop will be more than happy to do any repair when u surface any problem. Cause more repair and replacement of parts = more business for them. My friend mentioned their service is really good and prompt.
Originally posted by La2534:The workshop charge Premier for workmanship cost only and parts are all provided by taxi company. In another words, workshop will be more than happy to do any repair when u surface any problem. Cause more repair and replacement of parts = more business for them. My friend mentioned their service is really good and prompt.
Service is so good and prompt that for less than 4 months, my vehicle have to visit them 4 times.
The first 3 incidents was in the interval of 1 week in between. And the last incident was 2 days before my hirer surrender the vehicle to them.
1st incident - air con faulty
2nd - brake pedal can floored all the way to the bottom
3rd - hand brake indicator lighted up but seems to be working. however recovery service guy said better send for repair
4th - air con faulty AGAIN. Lose a fare when half way thru the trip, air con not working and did not collect fare from pax in the end.
The 2nd to 4th incidents all occured during my shift. For the 2nd incident, they towed my vehicle back to workshop, the 3rd one I drove back to their company compound cos they don't have enough manpower to tow my car.
Downtime rebate was not correctly returned for the 3rd incident. While checking with the DRO, an unpleaseant incident happened that my hirer was so pissed off that he return the vehicle.
For the period (3 months & 23 days) with them, my hirer did not owe even a single cent and no missing of GIRO deduction. And this is what he got in return.
So be very carefull when you are with them.
HI Freemanteo
congrats on your passing of tdvl course while you are waiting for your issue of your licence browse thru all the option on the taxi company its truth premeir silver cab is easily availble now with low deposit and no contract just 14 days notice if u want to return the veh but its also true as insg said abouth the repair and maintainence its a bit scary on the rate of breakdown but its still manageble why i am saying this i have join silver cab kia 2l auto as an relief driver and will start next week wed cause i have infact book for transcab wish 2 liter which have to wait till end of augest so in the meantime, i will use the relief as an start off i infact should thank all the seniors brothers like poolman , tcl, zero 5 and the rest for their feedback on the various topic that i decide go relief first and then omo so i think this u can have and clear view now what u can do after getting your licence all the best to u![]()
Originally posted by A C MAX:HI Freemanteo
congrats on your passing of tdvl course while you are waiting for your issue of your licence browse thru all the option on the taxi company its truth premeir silver cab is easily availble now with low deposit and no contract just 14 days notice if u want to return the veh but its also true as insg said abouth the repair and maintainence its a bit scary on the rate of breakdown but its still manageble why i am saying this i have join silver cab kia 2l auto as an relief driver and will start next week wed cause i have infact book for transcab wish 2 liter which have to wait till end of augest so in the meantime, i will use the relief as an start off i infact should thank all the seniors brothers like poolman , tcl, zero 5 and the rest for their feedback on the various topic that i decide go relief first and then omo so i think this u can have and clear view now what u can do after getting your licence all the best to u
My hirer need to give 1 month's notice to return vehicle. They may have changed this period since AC Max said it's 14 days now.
Go to Sin Ming and see the number of vehicle parked at the workshop for yourself.
really amazes me that almost every new driver who just passed wanna straight away be a hirer. i wonder if they know what they are in for?
is it so difficult to be a relief first and learn the ropes?
hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm... or am i missing something ?
They never listen .... let them try .
Many had tried , many had died .

A quote from Jerry , nick JLKL .
" thanks all bros for the advice and encouragement.. and after 3 days of driving, i can now fully understand what is no life of OMO.. the only good point of OMO is you can have the flexibility of choosing what time u want to drive..
routes wise so far, most pax guide me from start to finish cos i dun even have an idea how to go.. like last nite, i pick up a pax going 2 places, turn out he also taxi driver but his cab is under repair, so need to take cab.. i ask him to guide me, which he did. the way he guide, i must say very impressed.. so familiar with all the road names.. i ask him how he master, he say for him easy cos before he become taxi driver, he also is a driver..
collection wise, me of cos no good lah, very little in terms of hrs on the road.. my peak hour very lousy.. off peak better.. must think of how to improve my peak hour.. cannot be my off peak colection is better than my peak hr mah
another problem i have is i dun like to queue, i cruise around but sometimes can be quite demoralising crusing around but becos i am new, i took the opportunity to just try to remember the road names etc..
physical wise, 3 words.. si bei xiong
topping up of cng so far okay lah.. have been to the 3 stations.. yesterday morning go sgn nth one, knn reach there close, my gas running out.. lucky got pax send me to maxwell.. then i go from there to toh tuck..
hope to meet up with u guys one day.. for those cng drivers, we may have met at those cng stations, just that we duno each other identity nia..
good luck to all and me go to start my work liao.. cheers "
OMO means totally no life , as what JLKL said .
OMO is all about working 365 days .
OMO is about every seconds counts .
OMO need not necessary earn more than Komade , Zero 5 , TCL , Sonata83 , ID243 , Insg , and FT etc ....
wat i can think is probaby these newbies who sign via the comfort & SMRT channels will be heavily exposed to their marketing.
They sign u for a reason , they want u to eventually hire a cab from them. they are never interested in relief drivers, to them this group is the most unimportant bunch haha .
But guys , what they never tell you are the long and hard hours you gotta put in to eke out a decent earning for yourself.
Someone like me or cck lao gui , tell us to be hirers, i think we will pee in our pants coz we ourselves are not even sure that we can earn $ or not. what more u? the new bird? without experience
please chuck aside all those marketing talk by those taxi cos. there , u see a lovely picture , everything there is roses but here , you see a lovely and also not that lovely picture. Here , u get to see thorns too .
OMO guys are sadly be said as ..... no time to come into Sgforums .
Kingzkong ...... OMO
Mangodew ..... OMO
88kel .... OMO
MVP30sg .... OMO
JLKL .... OMO
Just sad .... OMO is bad for family man . Where got time for kids ?
Originally posted by Tio Call Liao:wat i can think is probaby these newbies who sign via the comfort & SMRT channels will be heavily exposed to their marketing.
They sign u for a reason , they want u to eventually hire a cab from them. they are never interested in relief drivers, to them this group is the most unimportant bunch haha .
But guys , what they never tell you are the long and hard hours you gotta put in to eke out a decent earning for yourself.
Someone like me or cck lao gui , tell us to be hirers, i think we will pee in our pants coz we ourselves are not even sure that we can earn $ or not. what more u? the new bird? without experience
please chuck aside all those marketing talk by those taxi cos. there , u see a lovely picture , everything there is roses but here , you see a lovely and also not that lovely picture. Here , u get to see thorns too .
Bro take this !!!

If u insist on me being OMO , chop me better .
Originally posted by Tio Call Liao:wat i can think is probaby these newbies who sign via the comfort & SMRT channels will be heavily exposed to their marketing.
when the lao guis speak...LISTEN!! :P
Originally posted by Zero 5:
Bro take this !!!
If u insist on me being OMO , chop me better .
knn OMO then cannot go library then u better chop me also haha
Originally posted by Tio Call Liao:really amazes me that almost every new driver who just passed wanna straight away be a hirer. i wonder if they know what they are in for?
is it so difficult to be a relief first and learn the ropes?
hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm... or am i missing something ?
Little bird don't know catapult. Small calf don't know tiger.
I'm a hirer with relief and still have to work 6-1/2 days per week with comfort. TD....those comfort office staff work only 5 days or 6days with a off day for workshop staff...TD with comfort 3 or 4 off days given by comfort PER ANNUAL...sad..sob sob...
Originally posted by Zero 5:OMO guys are sadly be said as ..... no time to come into Sgforums .
Kingzkong ...... OMO
Mangodew ..... OMO
88kel .... OMO
MVP30sg .... OMO
JLKL .... OMO
Just sad .... OMO is bad for family man . Where got time for kids ?
Really sad...I OMO and no one mention me like I am invisible...not to mention that I am very active and find time to write long naggy post late at nite ^^V while driving from 12pm to 12-2am.
Guys, I feel when we giving advice, we should be mindful of the situation the poster is facing himself. We all know that Hirer is no life but if the OP is without job for a period of time and desperate like I was, what choice he has unless there is someone here able to offer him as a relief post.
Being said that, what have been posted so far is true so I hope OP cantake time to digest. Like I say in my guide, hungry fish see the bait not the hook.
Being a hirer is not easy, but looking for a good hirer to partner with is not easy either. In the end, you have to make a distinct choice.
Go be a relief for a while before jumping the gun.
Originally posted by freemanteo:Hi all,
i passed my TDVL last week, waiting for my license from LTA. Is there a kopi session for newbies?
http://mofo.sgforums.com/forums/3426/topics/403223?page=2#posts-9867898
Check it out..!!! TD story telling session.
Originally posted by La2534:Really sad...I OMO and no one mention me like I am invisible...not to mention that I am very active and find time to write long naggy post late at nite ^^V while driving from 12pm to 12-2am.
Guys, I feel when we giving advice, we should be mindful of the situation the poster is facing himself. We all know that Hirer is no life but if the OP is without job for a period of time and desperate like I was, what choice he has unless there is someone here able to offer him as a relief post.
Being said that, what have been posted so far is true so I hope OP cantake time to digest. Like I say in my guide, hungry fish see the bait not the hook.
Being a hirer is not easy, but looking for a good hirer to partner with is not easy either. In the end, you have to make a distinct choice.
Go be a relief for a while before jumping the gun.
Oh ya.....everyone out there Mr La DRIVE KIM GU OMO LAAAAAAAAAAS.....:p
Why be a slave for the taxi companies when you could easily earn just as much and have a balanced life as a relief? I'm not against those seasoned OMOs but for a newbie, it's a bad bad idea no matter how tight your situation is.
I would add on something from my own perspective. When you decide to commit yourself to be a hirer, subconsciously u are already laying the path to be a taxi driver all your life.No offence meant but let's be honest.
Nobody aspires to be a taxi driver, it just happens.
Umm i still enjoy been a OMO ........ si bei xiong never once come in my dictionary ......
Originally posted by 888kel:
Umm i still enjoy been a OMO ........ si bei xiong never once come in my dictionary ......
hehe veri soon bro..... me relief 9mths liao also slow down abit olredi..... ;)
oic... hmm i guess hearing you guys talk, most are family man. Well im seperated, no kids, no house, no life.....
My GF tell me to earn money rather than see me at home shake leg.
i 33 now, old yet no house of my own, no family. and i only O level holder, work office or sales, 2-3.5k a month.... SG cannot survive with this amount if have family.
So i decide to chiong when i can to at least buy 3/4 rm flat, or buy house in penang. (I SGer) :)
Xiong is ok for me, being a relief is also xiong cos holding 2 jobs.
i read here that sun, mon, tue, thur after 12mn is like ghost town, so i guess the money is before midnite, which as a hirer i can choose the time to drive.
Truthfully. if TD can earn decent income, no office politics, no Mgr to carry balls, than i am ok with my career as TD.
LOL about omo got no time to post here... :D
Originally posted by freemanteo:Hi all,
I kept reading the forum until eyes pain, blur like sotong, trying to absorb wat i can.
i not signing contract first, wanna get used to it and than see which company better.
i be omo.
Do i go book a taxi now or wait for my license to come than hire?
Can hire taxi straight away? preferably without deposit, Sonata or Magentis be ideal. I be in msia 13-16 July, so i want to rent daily basis till after my trip.
Dunno why, i prefer Diesel than CNG/Petrol.... guess dun need to plan go which CNG station to top up. I stay commonwealth/buona vista area.
Thanks for any advice. :)
Hi bro, listen to the lao jiao here. will be very helpful to you in decision making.Unless you dun want to share your vehicle with people and want to drive both peak and can drive for long hour, then you OMO. i just started for 10 days as OMO. 16 hr driving per day.after expenses,daily approx 100-120 nett income.Slightly better than operator only if they work 16 hour.And route is a nighmare if you are not familiar.Driving your own car is enjoyable as you just need to get to your destination no matter which route you take, no one kpkb to you. As TD, one wrong turn, you will see some passanger face also turn.Welcome abroad.Cheers
Originally posted by freemanteo:oic... hmm i guess hearing you guys talk, most are family man. Well im seperated, no kids, no house, no life.....
My GF tell me to earn money rather than see me at home shake leg.
i 33 now, old yet no house of my own, no family. and i only O level holder, work office or sales, 2-3.5k a month.... SG cannot survive with this amount if have family.
So i decide to chiong when i can to at least buy 3/4 rm flat, or buy house in penang. (I SGer) :)
Xiong is ok for me, being a relief is also xiong cos holding 2 jobs.
i read here that sun, mon, tue, thur after 12mn is like ghost town, so i guess the money is before midnite, which as a hirer i can choose the time to drive.
Truthfully. if TD can earn decent income, no office politics, no Mgr to carry balls, than i am ok with my career as TD.
LOL about omo got no time to post here... :D
Earn 3.5k still wan to be TD...u siao ah......brain burnt is it?