I believe that every TD has some kinda problem otherwise they will not even think of touching the steering wheel.
Bankrupt... financial problems ... unemployable...attitude problem... too much $ liao just wanna pass time are some of the reasons.
what is yours?
let me start off... i came into this trade out of curiousity.. kinda enjoyed the fun out of driving a cab. then as time goes by , when i wanna get back into the job market , it became so tough.
I also dabbled in soccer betting and lost.. from 2007 to 2009 , i was spending all my $ clearing debts mostly to bank credit lines. it was only this year that i finished clearing everything. very happy to see that my outstanding balance is $0.
Now that i am out of the financial shit , im in another shit hole and that is the TAXI shithole. it will take me a miracle to get out of this. hahaha
To work in the MNC killed me !
Too stress to work for MNC .
Freaking good pay but no life .
Too pampered with good $$$ .
Never realized it's hard to get those jobs with such good money .
Only taxi driving as i am familiar with Sgp routes
Financially always in a heathy state .
Started off as night shift .
Realized night shift can make money , can see EPL , can go back early .
Can sleep well .
Can surf internet .
Can watch World Cup .
European Championship .
Best of all World .
I used to come from OutDoor Advertising Industries doing operation work like project management and production.
I drive taxi cause I fall out with my old boss which I am drawing about $2.9k. Then I switch a couple of jobs within the industry but either working environment dun suit me or it din pay well. The last job owe me CPF never pay and run by a young punk who anyhow spent money.
So I was without job for over 2 months with 3 kids. I desperate, prayed hard, used wadever last bit of savings and last pay check to take up TDVL.
So here I am...........driving taxi.
And O, I tried jobs like being a Security Supervisor. And yes, all bosses that claim Singaporeans shun certain work is all bull shit..........................they took advantage of pple and everything they think is how to make themselves rich by making lower tier workers poor.
I am glad government is making life difficult for hiring foreigners. _l_ too all bosses ...I know ur bull shit I know ur trick. U can bluff government but u cannot bluff me.
Next time have cost cutting measure, I would like to see top tier guys took the first initiative of pay cut. Amount of money saved with your (one person) pay cut = many workers pay cut or retrench. So start with you first u tard................
No matter wat r the reasons when we jus started as a TD, we should b proud lah. Driving taxi is a clean n honest job. But some x, we wil pickup KNN CCB pax like Death Pit. Jus treat it as a occupational hazard lah.
But I believed many bros wil agree wif me that some CHIO BUs pax (esp those wearing super short mini-skirt n tight top) wil brighten up yr day.
Originally posted by Uncle Cabby:No matter wat r the reasons when we jus started as a TD, we should b proud lah. Driving taxi is a clean n honest job. But some x, we wil pickup KNN CCB pax like Death Pit. Jus treat it as a occupational hazard lah.
But I believed many bros wil agree wif me that some CHIO BUs pax (esp those wearing super short mini-skirt n tight top) wil brighten up yr day.
uncle, not only chio bu ma... those paxs that really treated us with Respect will surely brighten up ur days or nights liao right ...
as long as got tips I am happy
i take taxi i look for taxi driver's name and call him Mr __________. then again, i only take taxi like.... 5 times a year.
ya........I also like 2 drop Ang Mos n foreigners at Airport, usually can get a few dollars tip, fares like $15 to $18 they wil tell u to "make it 20 pls".
i feel happy not only because of tips $$$, some of the paxs will appreciate u that u send them back safely n fast ...
Ya.........luckily there r more gd pax than bad ones........going 2 watch WC final.........Holland !!!!!!!!!!!!!! Paint the whole world ORANGE !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
All Dutch players wil have 1 STAR on their jerseys 4 all their International matches in future!!!!!!!!!!!!! :)
uncle good luck ...
btw, i feel night paxs r better than days paxs as day paxs usually more fussy , unlike those night paxs usually just wanna reach back home fast n safely...

Dunno why , many hop in : " hey boss , sent me to ......."
How do they know i am boss ?
Why i took up part time taxi?
3 reasons,
To gain experience. Nowadays you never know when you getting retrench.
To help my dad as he is getting old & not feeling too good. So, i drive a few days, let him have the off days.
Lastly, same like every TD bros here, MONEY !!!
No need for me take leave to attend press conference in the day as I am driving night shift.
For me was working in the navy for last 11yrs then got
disillusioned by the way the force is treating us now so when
they offered me a new contract i tell them to F off...... :P
Then was jobless for awhile n worked outside for a few jobs
bfore joing TD. Outside jobs really terok sometimes pay u
peanuts $$ but knn do everytin.......... Now being TD earning
much much more n hav more free time now
Got retrenched as a technician, hop along a few jobs, end up doing marine repair job with lots of OT, but very tough, recently, Marine market is low, very less OT, with a pathetic basic paid, go drive taxi on weekends.
For money and time.
Money because need to feed myself and several '000s of credit card debt. Not a big amount though.
Time because to me, driving a taxi is a very straightforward job. Once you hand over the shift, there is no one else to bother. No worries about project deadline. No worries about sales target etc. It's an honest way of generating an income which also afford me the time to work on my side project after handing over my shift.
Ya.............agreed with many bros views...........also can meet all kinds of interesting ple during the shift..........got good, bad, ugly, pretty, rich, poor, humble, knn ccb pax like Death Pit(luckily they r a minority), smelly, celebrities n even GHOSTS sometimes!!!!!!!!!!!
Lim peh ganna 2 times supernatural encounters!!!!!!! But nvm, strike 4D within 2mths...............hehehee :)
Originally posted by Uncle Cabby:Ya.............agreed with many bros views...........also can meet all kinds of interesting ple during the shift..........got good, bad, ugly, pretty, rich, poor, humble, knn ccb pax like Death Pit(luckily they r a minority), smelly, celebrities n even GHOSTS sometimes!!!!!!!!!!!
Lim peh ganna 2 times supernatural encounters!!!!!!! But nvm, strike 4D within 2mths...............hehehee :)
wah.... uncle cabby, share your encounters with the spiritual kind leh.....
By the way, can 'P' plate drivers enrol for VL course?