Hi all,
After reading all the post on the TD Profession, was wondering can a person who been to prison apply for TDVL? Cos dun wan to waste the $40 application fee if it is a straight answer NO. Anyone can advice? Offence was possession of illegal cigerettes and pirated dvd....
wat about going in due to traffic case.....?
Originally posted by Demo76:Hi all,
After reading all the post on the TD Profession, was wondering can a person who been to prison apply for TDVL? Cos dun wan to waste the $40 application fee if it is a straight answer NO. Anyone can advice? Offence was possession of illegal cigerettes and pirated dvd....
Should not be a problem....... Unless, ur license is suspended, cannot drive......
Dun worry, illegal ciggs and pirated dvds are NOTHING....... Drugs? Fuck la..... who dare employ u???
think when u apply LTA will check your backgrd. If rapist, i think confirm cannot.
So far I dun think there are any restriction other than for pple who are convicted of drug and drink driving etc.
But u can call LTA and check it out.
Originally posted by Sandisct:think when u apply LTA will check your backgrd. If rapist, i think confirm cannot.
rapist cannot - becos.. the rottan ( min 12 strokes ) whacked onto buttocks... cabby need to sit and drive for long hours... cannot tehan...![]()
to TS... best is to check with LTA (even before you pay and register for application).. i believe that is a duty-officer for enquires (in a room). Good luck.
Originally posted by Ä«Õß:¸ïÀë:wat about going in due to traffic case.....?
LTA (Sin Ming) offices will answer your quires...
won't want to give you misleading information.
Uncle Poolman has got a friend , imprisonment for man-slaughtering .
8 years .
He asked Pool this same question , Uncle Poolman told me what he told him : " Just give it a shot , u never know if u dun try ."
That ex-convict tried , successfully he got his TVDL .
And no turning back since .
My answers is , like Uncle Poolman : " Give it a shot ! "
Can ? Good for you .
Cannot ? Too bad , at least u tried .
Did that chap hide from his application ?
This i dunno .
No harm telling the truth .
U have serve those punishments .
But i can tell you , taxi companies has no link with those prison departments .
But dun say i say one .
But if u successfully tried .
And became a happy driver .
Don't forget the people here .
And dun forget it's Zero 5 , from Lake View , that encourage you to give it a shot .
if kenna next sakura buffet u sponsor 05...... :P
Jus apply for the approval, no harm try only 40 bucks. LTA will look into case by case basis . if kana rejected, try to ask for reasons, worse seek ur mp help . as for drug traffickers, forget about everything u r condemned !!
possession of ilegal cigarattes ?? LTA give u TVDL to let u use taxi to smuggle in illegal cigarattes ??? forget it also
Originally posted by Freemanisa:Jus apply for the approval, no harm try only 40 bucks. LTA will look into case by case basis . if kana rejected, try to ask for reasons, worse seek ur mp help . as for drug traffickers, forget about everything u r condemned !!
When freemanisa speaks.....LISTEN ;)
Originally posted by Freemanisa:possession of ilegal cigarattes ?? LTA give u TVDL to let u use taxi to smuggle in illegal cigarattes ??? forget it also
Again , i suggest u try .
Ur argument is , u have serve the sentence .
And that's it !
U will be given a chance , as long as u are not caught doing so again .
hey freemanisa , put avatar on your nick leh ...
what about this ?

nono let him use tis.....
In our country, we were being well taught by our government on doing wat is right and wat is wrong. and for things that we did wrong we be punished by means of money ine or put behind bars. But some offences are unable to tolerate ..
well anything things also can try .. good luck bros
No matter what, yellow ribbons deserve a second chance, who do not make mistake in life?, perhaps lots of TD make mistake in their earlier life, but the issue is not about making mistake, it is about learning from the mistake and be good again.
As a TD, we are both earning and also help to contribute to the society and economy as a whole, we should be proud it. Taxis companies should therefore provide that chance to those ex convict who wants to take on a new life. And we, as TD, should welcome them with no discrimination.
Originally posted by bowah:No matter what, yellow ribbons deserve a second chance, who do not make mistake in life?, perhaps lots of TD make mistake in their earlier life, but the issue is not about making mistake, it is about learning from the mistake and be good again.
As a TD, we are both earning and also help to contribute to the society and economy as a whole, we should be proud it. Taxis companies should therefore provide that chance to those ex convict who wants to take on a new life. And we, as TD, should welcome them with no discrimination.
Well said bro Bowah !
But the government promote ppl to accept ex-convict, through Yellow Ribbon and many more ways, they ( gahment ) themselves never allow these ppl to get in government sector to work. I'm 1 of the examples: 15 years ago, convicted for theft case as still young, amount less than 500 dollars.Paid a fine and case closed. after NS, went to Singpost ( dat time still under gahment, i tink ) and already start to learn the routes as i interviewed for Courier Drivers, later kenna rejected after nearly 1.5 months working there. Reasons they give me is I'm a ex-convict for theft case.
Fuck them!!! ![]()
Thanks all bros,
Have call LTA in the morning to check. Reply was to apply first. Pay $40. If rejected, can appeal to the officer in charge.
Demo76
Give it a shot.
I'm also an ex-con. My offence is minor type but still get 2 months (3 - 1) free food free lodging. I was worried about wasting the $40 as well, but think what the hack... Just apply and if rejected, appeal. If appeal also rejected, make a big woo haa about it. After all, it's the government who encourages giving ex-con a 2nd chance.
Sometimes in life, don't just accept whatever is shoved to you. We're just trying to make an honest living here.
Oh... By the way, I applied for the TVL early June and received the approval in less than 3 weeks. So, go for it. :)
Originally posted by bowah:No matter what, yellow ribbons deserve a second chance, who do not make mistake in life?, perhaps lots of TD make mistake in their earlier life, but the issue is not about making mistake, it is about learning from the mistake and be good again.
Yeah , we should be proud of our profession .
We shouldn't be looking down on ourself too .
One cabby must possess such mentallity to be a happy cabby .
Originally posted by Demo76:Thanks all bros,
Have call LTA in the morning to check. Reply was to apply first. Pay $40. If rejected, can appeal to the officer in charge.
What i know , ur offense is chicken feed .
But i think as for robberies , rapists , molestors ........ their chances is slimmer than normal .
Anyway , robbers rapist and molestor , they inside , no chance to drive a cab . When they discharge , retire age liao .
One of my friend friend friend got 24 years for molesting with a pen knife .
With several victims .
He went in 23 , 24 years behind bars, come out 47 ? Singapore became what they also dunno .