Hi all seniors, I am a new OMO driver wif Premier. Can someone teach me how to increase my income? I stay in Jurong and everyday I start driving at 6.30am till ard 11pm. Very shack. But my collection for the whole day is range from only $240 to $280. So after deducting my rental and petrol maybe take home abt $120 average.
My routine is everyday morning I juz sweep ard my area coz sure gt pax. Then depending on where the pax bring me to, I sweep agn. Peak hrs no prob getting a pax. It's after 10am to 4pm when the amount of pax drop drastically.
Any advise where can I go at tis timing frm 10am to 4pm? Places i normally like to go if I am in town is MBS and ICA..
Initially is like that one. Drive long hours to learn. But it will get easier. This was wad I do,
1) As you drive, observe where all the official taxi stands are found. Also keep a look out on places where u find long taxi queue on certain places with no taxi stand.
2) Do not be afraid in unfamiliar ground. When in taxi queue or having a break, just flip through the street directory just to get a rough idea on where the main streets are.
3) Always ask yourself some simple questions like :
- During lunch time, where u think the crowd will be in the area. For eg, if u at Jurong East. International Business Park is a good place to hunt.
- Or peak hour, Ask yourself, where are the offices found. If not go for the nearest hospital (eg If in Hougang or Sengkang - u can try IMH or Serangoon Nt Ave 5 area)
4) Remember all the surcharges well.
For a start, just do this will do. Just keep on driving. After 1-3 months u will notice you only need to drive shorter hours to earn more money.
When you are more experienced, then you can start to plan a rough schedule. For eg, by 5pm you want to go near city, then go to the places where you know the chances to fetch pple to city is greater. It may not be always accurate, but you will notice you can steer urself to a particular area some of the time.
Bro New Kid,
U must tk care of yr health 1st, last x i also full hirer(Citycab), when started driving 1st few mths, I cheong everyday (like u, ard 15hrs), if never hit $150 net (after rental n diesel) I wun go back home n rest. U know wat happen after a few mths, i got no mood 2 drive, body breakdown a few days.........
I'm only 35 n those uncles aged 50 n above always advised me 2 tk care of my health when I chatted with them n told them my way of driving. I tin u r ard same age as me, as long as can cover 7-9.30am n 5-8pm peak hrs very gd liao, after 8pm, straight away pump full tank n go bk n enjoy time with yr family or gf.
I agreed with La2534 as u got more experience, u wun feel so stress. 10am to 4pm also alot of ple taking taxi all over Spore wat........
This is what i called Phobia Driving .
No lifestyle ...
OMO ? Think again ?
Bloody 6.30am til 11pm , maximum $280 ?
Do your math .... ur intake divided by the time u on the road .
If anything less than $20 , u better go home sleep better .
OMO ?
Uncle Poolman also surrender .
Well ..... depends on timing .
After 1pm , can play around CBD , or outside CBD .
Around 9am to 1pm , cruise around in HDB .
Like during my time , i love cruising Serangoon and Hougang area .
Once hit town , CTE down AMK Ave 1 to Serangoon Ave area .......
Just crusie upwards to Sengkang side .
Do what others dun like to do .
Most doesnt like going into Highways .
And i realized one formula many successful drivers adopt .
Pay ERP into CBD area , they still think it's worth while .
Many oldies dun like to pay ERP .
They prefer to stick outside ERP .
For $0.50 s0metimes , ok la .
Alternatively , join a Walkie group .
I suggest u join Boon Lay or Taman Jurong .
Cos u stay Jurong , right ?
After 5pm , just stick around Jurong area , until 8pm .
No need run here run there .
After make enuf liao , go home straight .
Once experience , i advise you jump to Comfort , dun stick with Premier .
Why Comfort ? Cos their fucking Tuas fucking lots of jobs !!!
Premier ? Fuck la only Sungei Gedong on Friday !
Originally posted by Zero 5:And i realized one formula many successful drivers adopt .
Pay ERP into CBD area , they still think it's worth while .
Many oldies dun like to pay ERP .
They prefer to stick outside ERP .
For $0.50 s0metimes , ok la .
Pay $2 i also go in..... at least i knoe got pax and i still
make $1 after minus off the $3 cbd surcharge
Originally posted by komade:Pay $2 i also go in..... at least i knoe got pax and i still
make $1 after minus off the $3 cbd surcharge
but for day shift , meter same .
Still worthwhile , do things others dun want to do .
Originally posted by Poolman:
but for day shift , meter same .Still worthwhile , do things others dun want to do .
yah if pay 50 cents go in got cust i dun mind actually
cause connection may be gd
Sorry to say this but u should reconsider being a OMO because i think most reliefs are earning more than u for far less hours than u put in. Anyway 10am-4pm quite ok mah, i think it is easily to find paxs than in the morning peak. Comb the neighbourhoods, go shopping malls do shuttle service, hit the office and industrial area during lunch, and take advantage of the changing shift time since you are a OMO.
Hi, I am also a newbie to driving taxi, just started about 2 weeks ago as relief. For me, I still learning the road, so I will just drive and pick, pax go where, i go where, even if on call, i also do not know where to pickup, so off the on call system altogether.
Sometime, I also forget to press the CBD surcharge also let go, and got twice forget to press the hired meter, reach destination also $3...hahaha..luckily paxs agree to pay as according to his earlier journey price. More important, I find that being cool and courteous is very important in taxi servicing trade, you notice that being courteous, peoples tends to reciprocate back the same way, even ah beng and ah lian also find it nice and that makes you driving happy. Human relationship is therefore critical in Taxi driving, cos you meet all kind of peoples from all walk of life, learn to speak into their tune, so many paxs lead me all the way.
Got one ang mo gives me $50 at MBS, i got no change left, so he digged his pocket and got a $10, which is ok to me, so he drop off, but his $50 is still in my hand, i chased after him and give back his $50, if not I would had pocketed $60, he was so grateful and wanted to offer me a drink, how can, all jammed up and honking at my cab liao.
However, the different is, I am driving on weekends, so many peoples on the road, go toilet also no time. Now I understand why taxi driver got health problem.
As per some old bird here, take care of health is more important.
Originally posted by bowah:As per some old bird here, take care of health is more important.
Old bird ?
Hello bro , should be new bird .
Those new birds here like machine .
We oldies body season liao .....
How we whack , when time's up , our direction is also on our way home .
Driving time very tired , knnbccb reach home still online until 9am , knn .
Originally posted by Poolman:Old bird ?
Where got like machine?? nowadays 3am
my steering wheel also turn towards my homeground liao....... :P
Originally posted by bowah:Hi, I am also a newbie to driving taxi, just started about 2 weeks ago as relief. For me, I still learning the road, so I will just drive and pick, pax go where, i go where, even if on call, i also do not know where to pickup, so off the on call system altogether.
Sometime, I also forget to press the CBD surcharge also let go, and got twice forget to press the hired meter, reach destination also $3...hahaha..luckily paxs agree to pay as according to his earlier journey price. More important, I find that being cool and courteous is very important in taxi servicing trade, you notice that being courteous, peoples tends to reciprocate back the same way, even ah beng and ah lian also find it nice and that makes you driving happy. Human relationship is therefore critical in Taxi driving, cos you meet all kind of peoples from all walk of life, learn to speak into their tune, so many paxs lead me all the way.
Got one ang mo gives me $50 at MBS, i got no change left, so he digged his pocket and got a $10, which is ok to me, so he drop off, but his $50 is still in my hand, i chased after him and give back his $50, if not I would had pocketed $60, he was so grateful and wanted to offer me a drink, how can, all jammed up and honking at my cab liao.
However, the different is, I am driving on weekends, so many peoples on the road, go toilet also no time. Now I understand why taxi driver got health problem.
As per some old bird here, take care of health is more important.
To me going toilet is a must when i need to go i dun
bother to "lun" even when got abudant of pax does more
harm to the body, 1 less pax knn F let go lar...... :P
Originally posted by Poolman:Old bird ?
Hahaha, bro, me also old liao, but working on as a newbie in this industry, when i first started, after for 4 hours, i take pandol liao. Headache, go round and round the west side until blur blur. I also go home and sleep, so, not all newbirds are so desparate, guess only those young newbies are desparate. Well, every jobs start like this, very active and hardworking, but after learning the trade, sian liao. Havin said that, as long as you are happy of what you are doing, its fine.
Online is good, you get to learn, share and gather infos. Afterall, you have been driving all day, just enjoy yourself, online with a cup of tea.
Originally posted by komade:To me going toilet is a must when i need to go i dun
bother to "lun" even when got abudant of pax does more
harm to the body, 1 less pax knn F let go lar...... :P
But Bro, sometime the pax already board the taxis, that happen to me in ECP, I was really very urgent, need to pee, thinking that after dropping the current pax at the hawker centre, I can go for a toilet break, but damn, peoples just chiong in, there is no taxi stand, all like pasar malam, lucky me got one new dating couple, so I told them I got to release myself somewhere down ECP. And being new couple, gf and bf, both show their politel side of it. Managed to pee off.
Ok, i listen to you, next time let go...
Originally posted by bowah:More important, I find that being cool and courteous is very important in taxi servicing trade, you notice that being courteous, peoples tends to reciprocate back the same way, even ah beng and ah lian also find it nice and that makes you driving happy. Human relationship is therefore critical in Taxi driving, cos you meet all kind of peoples from all walk of life, learn to speak into their tune, so many paxs lead me all the way.
But sometimes when u get unreasonable paxs, its important to match it with some aggression. Its nice to be polite and all-smiling but sadly, there are people who take it as your weakness.
Thanx for all the valuable advice, today is my 6th day driving. Body slowly getting used to driving for long hrs..I will now try to target min $20/hr. Will wan to join a walkie grp soon..now taking Premier talkie already find it quite useful..But my routes n location nt so gd..therefore oni dare to take booking which i am very confident..Hope i can pick up the ropes fast.
Originally posted by bowah:More important, I find that being cool and courteous is very important in taxi servicing trade, you notice that being courteous, peoples tends to reciprocate back the same way, even ah beng and ah lian also find it nice and that makes you driving happy. Human relationship is therefore critical in Taxi driving, cos you meet all kind of peoples from all walk of life, learn to speak into their tune, so many paxs lead me all the way.
Please re-visit your statement in 6 months' time. See if you're still as patient as when you started. You're still in the honeymoon period.
no need 6 mths, 3 mths time to review
Originally posted by Insg:Please re-visit your statement in 6 months' time. See if you're still as patient as when you started. You're still in the honeymoon period.
Haha, dear bros, no need 6 or 3 months lah, 2 weeks already kenna scolding left right and centre from Paxs liao.
Some paxs are really very nasty, some got very high ego and think they are big boss. But then, I still have to cool down, hold my temper for the sake of earning a living and life goes on.
In fact, in working life, there is also lots of temper flying around with lots of office politics, taxis are different in a way is that no matter how the paxs react, at the end of the journey, we do not see them anymore. In working life, the people you don't like are with you 360 days or years. And most of them are bosses which we find no way out in argueing with them. They pull rank only, we shut up liao. But taxi is different, the relationship is between a client and a service provider, it is only a few minutes to an hour of interaction, after that, life goes on.
Originally posted by lazyeebone:Sometimes I wish I’m a FT with no family or permanent address in S’pore.
you see them good, they see you good, that's life
Originally posted by bowah:
But Bro, sometime the pax already board the taxis, that happen to me in ECP, I was really very urgent, need to pee, thinking that after dropping the current pax at the hawker centre, I can go for a toilet break, but damn, peoples just chiong in, there is no taxi stand, all like pasar malam, lucky me got one new dating couple, so I told them I got to release myself somewhere down ECP. And being new couple, gf and bf, both show their politel side of it. Managed to pee off.Ok, i listen to you, next time let go...
for me when i need to go i dun care i juz tell them to F off...... :P