1-2 months. More then 1 year old Sonata is 2 weeks. Mercedes Limo 4 yrs
old is immediate. I am thinking of getting the Limo. Heard from others
the difference of $20 of rental can be make up by the better fuel
consumption. So my question is the Mercs Limo is really more fuel
economical then a Sonata? How about the condition of the car? 4 yrs old
car will give problem? And also is it more difficult to get street job
from flag down because of $0.20 difference flag down fare? How about
Limo booking? Easy to get or must wait long long? Cos I know there is a
Limo counter to queue for job at airport right?
Any old bird here
drive before Limo cab can share with me the experience? Thank you
Also if drive Mercs Limo cab need to wear uniform or not ah?
Originally posted by hammerhammer8888:Also if drive Mercs Limo cab need to wear uniform or not ah?
Shirt n pants will do no need uniform ;)
Originally posted by komade:Shirt n pants will do no need uniform ;)
Night shift, polo T also can.
Originally posted by hammerhammer8888:Went down to CDG recruitment center. I want to go full time after my relief driving for the few days and found out it suits my style to me a TD. Sick of my current job with a low pay. Can't advance far because I only a diploma.
The queue for a less then 1 year old Sonata is 1-2 months. More then 1 year old Sonata is 2 weeks. Mercedes Limo 4 yrs old is immediate. I am thinking of getting the Limo. Heard from others the difference of $20 of rental can be make up by the better fuel consumption. So my question is the Mercs Limo is really more fuel economical then a Sonata? How about the condition of the car? 4 yrs old car will give problem? And also is it more difficult to get street job from flag down because of $0.20 difference flag down fare? How about Limo booking? Easy to get or must wait long long? Cos I know there is a Limo counter to queue for job at airport right?
Any old bird here drive before Limo cab can share with me the experience? Thank you
Just a piece of advice....
1) 4 years cab = abt 9 cents per 1km on CDG pumps.
2) conditions on cab depends on the previous users lah.... who can tell how problematic the cab before ?
3) should be allocated 62xx to 63xx plates' cabs (euro4 engines).. 630x is from June-July 2006. If you get 2xxx or 3xxx (euro3 engines).. better don't take.. high fuel consumption for sure. lots of mechanic problems too. (the mentioned plates numbers are for Mercedes cabs under Sovereign (ex-Yellow Top Dept, direct Comfort Mercedes).
4) ex-City Cab Limo (Presido) 4 years cabs = 8xx series. (also euro4 engines).
5) Flag down at $3.20.
6) Limo Jobs ? have lah... but see if you lucky or not.... now that there are about 600(approx) Mercedes cabs in Comfort. Better Go join a Limo Group = Limo2000, Royal or K-Limos...
7)Limo Counter at Airports (needs lot of patience). Not only CDG mercedes, there are also SMRT, Silver Mercedes, SMART, Dynasty Unions. Per Trip is $45 (less $7 for airport counter). Midnite +$10. ( DON'T Waste time there, unless you f**king free and tired ). Some time waiting time can be easily 2hrs ( for $38 nett, don't worth it ).
8) Ocasionally, CDG Premier services do have events = like Airshows, Expo events, Swiss Club (Meter+$10) etc.
9) wear long sleeves white, black pants, leather black shoes. (if you get Limo jobs - have to be smartly dress). if you sweep floor... wear watever you like.. nobody bother. (if you sweep floor.. go drive a sonata).
10). Must drive with a right attitude.. be it Limo or normal... Limo drivers no big F.
just my 2 cents of advice.
good luck.
Just take note .....
Just do it lah is a Limo Driver .
Anatta also a Merc driver , not sure a Limo .
Sonaat83 also a Merc driver .....
If they come in , they will answer .
Best person to ask ...Mercab this nick .
Originally posted by Zero 5:Just take note .....
Just do it lah is a Limo Driver .
Anatta also a Merc driver , not sure a Limo .
Sonaat83 also a Merc driver .....
If they come in , they will answer .
Best person to ask ...Mercab this nick .
haha... how come i don't know...![]()
me a 2 mths newbie but driving a CDG merc limo.....my opinion, the cons in merc is the rental... the pros cant think of any..... my number plate is 62XX.....it is a 5 yrs + merc & recently hit 800,000km........
so far (2 mths) no major engine problem in driving the merc...
one thing I hate about the CDG merc cab is the placement of meter it is on top of the roof....god knows how many CBD $3 I forgot to press or press lightly that was not captured in the meter
Originally posted by Mercabs:I understand CDG MDT got many limo jobs & it’s good if you join them.
I’m with SMRT from day 1 & not willing to jump ship.
There are many ang mo who wants limo service.
Many will ask for your service.
Just do it Lah is right, Limo driver no big F.
If you want to have $30-$45 trip, then Limo driver is big F.
Just drive with the right attitude & jobs will keep coming in.
how often you get $30-$45 limo jobs ??? (rely on other ppl's jobs ?)
me "was" a limo mercedes with ex-sovereign grouping... (no longer with CDG)..
knew about 95% of the old timers...i can say.. most night limo guys knew my previous cab number too (we normally recognise cab nos either than names of drivers.. lol).
hence, the final conclusion... new or old members.. just drive with the right attitude..
even TCL was a Limo driver b4... go ask him...![]()
Originally posted by Mercabs:I understand CDG MDT got many limo jobs & it’s good if you join them.
I’m with SMRT from day 1 & not willing to jump ship.
There are many ang mo who wants limo service.
Many will ask for your service.
Just do it Lah is right, Limo driver no big F.
If you want to have $30-$45 trip, then Limo driver is big F.
Just drive with the right attitude & jobs will keep coming in.
CDG's IVT limo jobs many... useless you are a OMO, regular taker of their Airport Departure & Arrival jobs.
if you are talking about current $2.50, $3.50... maybe have the advantage in town... Tuas, Changi = normal cabs have the advantage.
$8.00 mercedes call = Once in a Blue Moon. ( look out for the moon if you want a current mercedes job ). advance mercedes $16+M ? (wait for Christmas eve).. lol.
Corporate Dep and arrivals - best you go up to 3rd level - Premier Services for enquires and register yourself with them... (F**k job also take.. then they will consider you as a regular job taker).![]()
Originally posted by anatta:me a 2 mths newbie but driving a CDG merc limo…..my opinion, the cons in merc is the rental… the pros cant think of any….. my number plate is 62XX…..it is a 5 yrs + merc & recently hit 800,000km….....so far (2 mths) no major engine problem in driving the merc…
one thing I hate about the CDG merc cab is the placement of meter
it is on top of the roof....god knows how many CBD $3 I forgot to press or
press lightly that was not captured in the meter
haha.. yeah.. it happened to me many times... initially not used to it... sometimes.. never even ON meter...![]()
Originally posted by anatta:me a 2 mths newbie but driving a CDG merc limo…..my opinion, the cons in merc is the rental… the pros cant think of any….. my number plate is 62XX…..it is a 5 yrs + merc & recently hit 800,000km….....so far (2 mths) no major engine problem in driving the merc…
one thing I hate about the CDG merc cab is the placement of meter
it is on top of the roof....god knows how many CBD $3 I forgot to press or
press lightly that was not captured in the meter
Heard the new Mercedes (latest model) cuming next year....
(priority given to existing Euro3 engines, possible replacing them).
Brand New.... but rental also no cheap...
heard approximately $150++
Maxi Cabs (Mercedes Vito) new models also around that range....
the last badge of CDG Merc daily rent cost $139 (including GST)... 170hp.. powerful machines.. (TP eyeing you).. lol.
by the way.. many cabbies have degrees, diplomas too..
once ages catching up....
be a TD is the next best alternative...
nothing to be shy about....
honesty living.... ![]()
I posted a tread name: Newbie start with Merc Cab. go and read it.
You need to attend 'premere MDT cse' in order to be a qualified limo driver. else you will not recv any premere 'Tink' at yr MDT.
Just put on those CDG long sleeve shirt and you will look smart. Buy 2 get 1 free. during carnival, buy 2 get 2 free. very comfortable, easy to wash & dry.
But if you put on with a tie... you look like one!
The one from singapore gasket! heee
Poolman said I must be 1 of those commando who start as a TD by driving a Merc Cab. You must be one of those SOF who dare enough to start as a full time with Merc Cab just after a few days as a relief...
Wait.. Hammer, are you sure CDG recruitment centre allows you to rent Merc Cab since you had only started driving for 'few days'?
My understanding is that you must have at least 6 mths driving experience. (driving taxi la)
pls clarify.
Originally posted by Sgm40 vps:Poolman said I must be 1 of those commando who start as a TD by driving a Merc Cab. You must be one of those SOF who dare enough to start as a full time with Merc Cab just after a few days as a relief...
correct... previously (probably 7years ago).. you want to be a Mercedes (hirer and/or Relief)...
you need at least 2 years of normal cab driving experiences... (that's the minimum requirement by CDG premier group before you can even get a interview)...
also must be able to communciate in Ang Mo...
Now... no need liao.... you got $$ to pay rental can liao.... ah Beng, Ah Seng also can... ![]()
Originally posted by Sgm40 vps:Wait.. Hammer, are you sure CDG recruitment centre allows you to rent Merc Cab since you had only started driving for 'few days'?
My understanding is that you must have at least 6 mths driving experience. (driving taxi la)
pls clarify.
Now can... as long as your driving licence no need to put.... this

Thanks to bro Bluenut from Taxiuncle forum. After having a kopi session with him. I have come to a conclusion. I have decided to
take a Transcab Wish. Be a full time OMO and holding on to my current
job. After some calculations I just need to drive $290 during my off
days to cover the rental for the whole month plus fuel cost. Then on my
actual working days I just have to drive around $50 a day and that is my
takings. And still have the $700++ rebate from Transcab. Best of both
worlds. Anyway my night shift job mostly is relax+sleeping+surf net.
Only once a while need to work a bit. Below are my calculations. Please
feel free to comment on it if I have made any miscalculations.
Rental
of cab : $105 X 30 days = $3150
Fuel cost : $60 X 15 days (Driving
OMO for my off days) = $900
Fuel cost : $20 X 15 days (Working days
driving from 8am-1pm) = $300
Total overheads : $3150 + $900 + $300 =
$4350
Average takings during off days to break
even driving OMO = $4350 / 15 = $290
I work from
7:30pm-7:45am and usually I go home CBL until afternoon 3pm then Zzzz
cos at work Zzzz liao so during this time I still can drive a bit to
earn extra pocket money. So this way I still can drive and work my CBL
job at the same time and wun get sick of driving too fast. Because in
order to take back $150 a day I also need to drive around $290 like that
without taking the rebate into consideration. Cos my daily wages for my
CBL is about $170++ a day. So during my working days I can take a break
from the wheels and relax at work place. Is there any flaw in this
plan? Can expert care to share with me? Thank u
confirm already ?
later you talk to somebody... and change plans again... hehe.
good luck anyway.
Ya more or less comfirm. Just now went to recce the Serangoon North CNG refueling station and talk to the few uncle there. Comfirm can go 220++km 1 full tank of gas. At least can tahan 1 peak hour of running and refuel and go back rest to drive another peak hour. Planning to drive from 6am to 12pm and 3pm to 10pm stagger shift. But uncle advise me go Mandai since I stay AMK cos the Serangoon North station very lousy. Sometimes will go out of gas and also not 24 hrs.
having looked briefly at this thread , i cant help but shake my head.
why be a hirer when you have a job and u just wanna make $50 a day??? Taxi world got such a thing called being a relief driver & the perks of a relief driver suits someone with a FT job the best.
Free drive , got something urgent cannot drive compensate hirer a bit. no contracts , no handover / takeover , no servicing , no daily rental deductions.
u never thought of this option??
Actually is $50 X 15 and the cash rebate from transcab $700++ so is additional $1400++ a month extra income. Wanted to go FULL TIME OMO but scare if cannot tahan or become sick of driving so choose this option to drive PART TIME OMO until end of year. Something like an OJT to see whether I can tahan the driving. If ok after year end take AWS and bonus and bye bye my full time job and go FULL TIME OMO. But in case I cannot tahan at least can just return cab and have a job to fall back on.