Even though it says 70km/h as the maximum speed, its very normal to see most motorists driving well over 70km/h. I used to follow others and drove up to 80-85km/h until very recently, i saw a car being snapped by the camera which i believed the vehicle was going at around 80km/h. It happened in the tunnel coming from Buangkok Drive towards town and ever since, i don't go above 75km/h.
What's your usual cruising speed in the KPE tunnel?
for me , i stick to speed limit all the way. although its really very sleepy , i rather not get fined . heard the tolerance for the cameras very low. 75 will kena liao.
80km/h ... nothing wrong at centre lane .
Max 80km/h...
got cruise control... i set at 78km... (no pray pray).... Camera will shoot at 81km...
got a friend whom used to work contractor to LTA (build the Cams)... the Digital Cam can track you even if you Zoom past...
Once u see the Cam sign (Blue rect sign), better slow down (respect your wallet.. haha). after Cam... 100m then pick up speed again... (scar-lee behind got TP)... lol.
max can go 80km/h i use it almost everyday ;)
only 3 cameras each side so after the camera
sign u can whack all u wan liao :P
I know where are the cams and how to tell them at kpe... if got chane will take a photo of them and post it here... other then those part i think the rest of the stretch can go fast.
on so many occasions i see ple go over 100 km/h n then jus b4 camera, they wil slow down............after camera go over 100 km/h again.......
but tis pattern of driving very RISKY!!! got 1 time, i remember very clearly tat i shoot over 90 km/h jus after the 1st camera n then b4 the 2nd camera, as i was thinking abt sometin, i ALMOST forgot 2 slow down, have 2 jam brake last minute 2 slow down from 90+ km/h to 70+ km/h..........
knn ccb, almost ganna snap n fine tat time..........
Originally posted by Uncle Cabby:on so many occasions i see ple go over 100 km/h n then jus b4 camera, they wil slow down............after camera go over 100 km/h again.......
but tis pattern of driving very RISKY!!! got 1 time, i remember very clearly tat i shoot over 90 km/h jus after the 1st camera n then b4 the 2nd camera, as i was thinking abt sometin, i ALMOST forgot 2 slow down, have 2 jam brake last minute 2 slow down from 90+ km/h to 70+ km/h..........
knn ccb, almost ganna snap n fine tat time..........
haha...very common...now U see why there are often accidents around static speed cams...![]()
For me I will let go of the accelerator and cruise towards the cam...maintain at speed limit or 10 km/h lower...if got car behind...I will change lane and see him do his hard-braking at the cam...
problem is we dunno how far before and how far after the cam is being monitored...seen lots of people pick up speed right after passing the cam...
seriously...70km/h at KPE CMI lar...
Originally posted by ALN:KPE my territory… 5 real cameras each direction….
under 80km/h ok…
over 81 to 90kmh kena shot but maybe warning nia…
over 91kmh $ fly away…
haha
only 3 lar each direction bro ;)
correct... 3 each direction....
Originally posted by Tio Call Liao:for me , i stick to speed limit all the way. although its really very sleepy , i rather not get fined . heard the tolerance for the cameras very low. 75 will kena liao.
where is your
(balls)
nowadays... ![]()
Cam shoot above 80km...
My father
70 to 75 Km/h
as he say he dun wan to get summon![]()
You speed more than 70km/h, you don't gain anything. You will have to pay more petrol and also for the summon.
If you stick 70km/h I don't think you will lose more petrol than speeding more than 70 and also you won't get summon too. Think about it.
amateurs going at 65km - 70km... it is prefectly fine.... but don't hog the 1 right lane...
that is the diff of amateurs and experience drivers.. cost of petrol count's nothing... if you want to save cost... stay at home...
There are 3 sets of speed cam along KPE on both side. However, on the north bound (ECP to Tampines) way, there is an additional set of warning sign which you can't find any cam. just the sign, no Cam!
There are 2 cam on the left side of the rd and 1 at the right hand side. The cam are in square shape with a big round len. around it are all the small 'flash light' with flash & snap.
There are no sensor lines buried on the road surface. I am not sure which technology they used. could be infra red or ultrasound (wave). that is why it is so accurate can can be calibrate to a tor of 1km.
anything zoom past at 81km/h will get snapped at yr butt!
Originally posted by Sgm40 vps:anything zoom past at 81km/h will get snapped at yr butt!
Originally posted by linwei20:You speed more than 70km/h, you don't gain anything. You will have to pay more petrol and also for the summon.
If you stick 70km/h I don't think you will lose more petrol than speeding more than 70 and also you won't get summon too. Think about it.
Many car designed with an optimum speed of 80 to 100km/h. If you drive constantly
at 70km/h for 100km as compare to 100km/h for the same distance, the latter will be at a better fuel efficiency!
got it?
Talking about speed cam.
anyone knows why most speed cam in singapore are installed in such a way that it will snap your butt? except some old red light camera which snap both side becos there's a need to obtain the facial image.
just a fun fact - i read in BBC Knowledge that if you go abv 170km/h, you can beat the speed camera ie you go too fast for it to capture your license plate.
just a fun fact~
Originally posted by x4dish:just a fun fact - i read in BBC Knowledge that if you go abv 170km/h, you can beat the speed camera ie you go too fast for it to capture your license plate.
just a fun fact~
Pls try and let us know...