Ok, let me start the topic about this taxi coy call SMRT.
I know many bros out there may have some unpleasant experiences about this coy when they hand over the keys and Uncle Pool always bash about it. Haha!!
This is nothing personal & I will not mind if bros here continue to bash SMRT.
Since Uncle Pool says not many SMRT TDs here and I am 1 of the minority, I will share with bros here about my experience with SMRT.
Many bros here says SMRT call booking system is no good. I agree as there are only about 1400+ call bookings per day.
But whenever I am in the CDB area, there will be calls from the National Museum of SIngapore. You know why?? Because there is a SMRT standee at the lobby & pax only call SMRT. Haha!!
I have been lucky as every other day my MDT will have a CDB calls sometimes with destinations within the CBD.
I am also with their Central Limo group 6, and this 1 really benefits me. SMRT have counters at T2 & T3 for SQ cabin crews. So whenever I am near airport, I can try the arrival hall at T2 or T3 for PNG.
Fyi, the pick up fare is the same as the airport Q. Of course, there will be many short trips but on tues got 1 Jap SQ chio bu to Bukit Merah View & thurs during peak hr, I got 1 fare from T3 to Queen St. This cabin crew reside in JB.
Of course like what Teolk posted, the SMRT lounge for drivers is 1st class. They also have people who are visually handicap to provide shoulder or foot massage at $20 for 20 mins, i think.
So much for now.
hi
can I know base on ur experience
,how to be a sucessful mercab driver ?
This is a good start for SMRT infos here .
For a forum so called owner , this is going to be good for the forum , for the public .
For the members , this is another eye opener .
For the soon-to-be cabbies , there is another thing they can learnt things from .
Good . Thanks .
Hope to see more infos coming .
SMRT CEO will be happy to see this .
http://www.smrtbuses.com.sg/transport/bus/story.htm
SMRT taxi were former Trans Island Bus & Taxis , started by Mrs Lee Kuan Yew .
Trans Island brought in new ideas and concept , to curb the taxi demand in Singapore .
Comfort starting fare that time is $2.20 .
TIBS flag down is $2.10 .
But their distance charge is 210m $0.10 jump , others 240m $0.10 .
And their Friday night peak hour $1 surcharge from 5pm to 12MN .
Others from 5pm to 8pm .
They were the first to implement 11.30pm 50% midnight surcharge .
Instead of the 12MN .
They failed miserably .
What is the definition of " Midnight " ?
11.30pm ? That is what commuters unhappiness is all about .
Trans-Island Bus Service, TIBS Taxis and TIBS Motors were rebranded as SMRT Buses Ltd, SMRT Taxis Pte Ltd and SMRT Automotives Pte Ltd respectively.
from my own opinion.. the coy is not aggressive or "serious" about the taxi industry..
recently, they lost out on Airport Limos "counter-right" after a "Surprised Coup" from previously held by CDG.
Of Course there are pros and cons... but.. they seems to be like a testing guinea pig to the Stat board, introducing "funny measures" like the Chryslers running on a 30cents jump... (1st for taxi industry too).. why must them be "so special" ?
With the fleet of around 3,000. (used to be second to CDG), they are now trailing behind a newcomer Unions taxis.
If drive with the right attitude, whichever taxi companies you are driving for, doesn't matter much... CDG's MDT jobs may be essential especially if you are at "mountain tops" like Tuas, Loyang or Woodlands Pk E3 but waiting a current job may take time (time wasted).
SMRT now joins the smaller private taxi companies plying their trades. hence cabbies have to drive not only wise, but smart... experienced lau jiao will know where to go (for another pickup) after fetching a pax there...
Believe me.. at most times, you will earn more than CDG cabbies (becos they spend too much time waiting for a MDT call).
Hi Mercabs
can I know how to be a sucessful merc cab driver ?
1. do u drive in the day time or at nite ?
2. how u secure jobs ?
3. lots of TD here said dun drive a merc unless one has good lobang, is that true ?
How to have gd lobang if u never start ?
4. base on what u said, I believe u started as a Merc cab TD in ur early stage, do u think new bird can try ?
5.Do SMRTgive u has gd and enough or Lakeview group for mer cab ?
thanks
Originally posted by xinyan:Hi Mercabs
can I know how to be a sucessful merc cab driver ?
1. do u drive in the day time or at nite ?
2. how u secure jobs ?
3. lots of TD here said dun drive a merc unless one has good lobang, is that true ?
How to have gd lobang if u never start ?
4. base on what u said, I believe u started as a Merc cab TD in ur early stage, do u think new bird can try ?
5.Do SMRTgive u has gd and enough or Lakeview group for mer cab ?
thanks
Wah!! This looks like an interview leh!! You not from any newspaper hor??
Anyway,
I am only 18 months as a TD & I drove a crown for my 1st 3 months.
I don't know what's your definition of successful?? I cannot say I am 1.
I believe many bros here are good in their trade, whether merc or normal cabs.
1. Currently I drive night & I believe nights TD can make more abeit in a shorter time.
2. I join Lakeview & SMRT Central Limo & private jobs from airlines & hotels.
3. That's true. If you are 1st time TD, why do you want to have high overhead cost???
4. Uncle Pool will say " Siao ah, new bird wanna drive merc ". haha!!
5. SMRT have many corporate jobs & Lakeview has many inter CBD jobs. But Lakeview has help me to secure many private jobs. So it is the best combination for me right now.
Originally posted by Just_do_it_lah:from my own opinion.. the coy is not aggressive or "serious" about the taxi industry..
recently, they lost out on Airport Limos "counter-right" after a "Surprised Coup" from previously held by CDG.
Of Course there are pros and cons... but.. they seems to be like a testing guinea pig to the Stat board, introducing "funny measures" like the Chryslers running on a 30cents jump... (1st for taxi industry too).. why must them be "so special" ?
With the fleet of around 3,000. (used to be second to CDG), they are now trailing behind a newcomer Unions taxis.
If drive with the right attitude, whichever taxi companies you are driving for, doesn't matter much... CDG's MDT jobs may be essential especially if you are at "mountain tops" like Tuas, Loyang or Woodlands Pk E3 but waiting a current job may take time (time wasted).
SMRT now joins the smaller private taxi companies plying their trades. hence cabbies have to drive not only wise, but smart... experienced lau jiao will know where to go (for another pickup) after fetching a pax there...
Believe me.. at most times, you will earn more than CDG cabbies (becos they spend too much time waiting for a MDT call).
I totally agree with you. Like I say in another thread, the taxi is just a tool for us to ply our trade, just drive with the right attitude & I don't care about which coy I'm with.
Today after dropping a pax at Downtown East I head straight to AP but all terminals have long Q of taxis & no cabin crews to pick.
As I have a job at 930pm in Orchard, I thought of driving empty to Havelock Rd where the LV members are gathered.
Then, my MDT "ping" with a call booking from Changi Naval Base with no destination.
I bo chap just press 5 mins. I just pray no Ah wood or Ah rong.
Pax on board, Jalan Minyah at York Hill.
I said "Thank you, Mr Wong". The pax look puzzle.
Haha!! Another lucky night.
yeah... SMRT has Changi naval base supports...
great trip.
Since we are also talking about SMRT Chrsyler, do the bros here notice that many CDG merc driver return their merc & join SMRT Chrsyler??
When I was going through the MDT course in order to start as a hirer, there was 2 CDG merc drivers who switch, Then Sonata83 hirer is also making the switch.
The few Chrysler drivers I talk to from Central Limo were also ex-CDG.
Any ideas, bros here can comment??
Originally posted by Just_do_it_lah:yeah... SMRT has Changi naval base supports...
great trip.
That's what I thought.
Whenever I am on the way to AP, I would press STC early. I have took few bookings from there. Surprising, those few bookings were not to the east side. Mostly nearer to town.
Originally posted by Mercabs:Ok, let me start the topic about this taxi coy call SMRT.
I know many bros out there may have some unpleasant experiences about this coy when they hand over the keys and Uncle Pool always bash about it. Haha!!
This is nothing personal & I will not mind if bros here continue to bash SMRT.
Since Uncle Pool says not many SMRT TDs here and I am 1 of the minority, I will share with bros here about my experience with SMRT.
Many bros here says SMRT call booking system is no good. I agree as there are only about 1400+ call bookings per day.
But whenever I am in the CDB area, there will be calls from the National Museum of SIngapore. You know why?? Because there is a SMRT standee at the lobby & pax only call SMRT. Haha!!
I have been lucky as every other day my MDT will have a CDB calls sometimes with destinations within the CBD.
I am also with their Central Limo group 6, and this 1 really benefits me. SMRT have counters at T2 & T3 for SQ cabin crews. So whenever I am near airport, I can try the arrival hall at T2 or T3 for PNG.
Fyi, the pick up fare is the same as the airport Q. Of course, there will be many short trips but on tues got 1 Jap SQ chio bu to Bukit Merah View & thurs during peak hr, I got 1 fare from T3 to Queen St. This cabin crew reside in JB.
Of course like what Teolk posted, the SMRT lounge for drivers is 1st class. They also have people who are visually handicap to provide shoulder or foot massage at $20 for 20 mins, i think.
So much for now.
u drive how long liao??
u with Central Limo ah.......lol ok .........^^ go help them in the SATS and Airport staff transfer. They need support
Originally posted by Mercabs:Since we are also talking about SMRT Chrsyler, do the bros here notice that many CDG merc driver return their merc & join SMRT Chrsyler??
When I was going through the MDT course in order to start as a hirer, there was 2 CDG merc drivers who switch, Then Sonata83 hirer is also making the switch.
I got no comments...u wan u go drive and find out first hand then come tell us.
Originally posted by Mercabs:Since we are also talking about SMRT Chrsyler, do the bros here notice that many CDG merc driver return their merc & join SMRT Chrsyler??
Those whom made the change -
either not happy with CDG becos their old mercedes are given them problems (CDG not willing to give them a upgraded cab - 50 new mercedes was released late last year).
SMRT Premier Dep looking for experienced Mercedes Limo cabbies to upgrade to Chryslers.. most of these cross-over drivers are guaranteed a new cab.
SMRT chrylsers cabbies was a hit at the Airport Limo Q (when operated by SMRT), this also attracted many cross-over, as it is a Meter + $20. (but since TOA took over the Airport Limo counters, Chryslers are not in their list of Limo required.)
being SMRT drivers, they are entitled a free rental day EVERY MONTH. while CDG only have it (free rental benefit) every 4 months.
there may be other reasons...
oops.. sorrie.. double post...
Originally posted by Mercabs:Wah!! This looks like an interview leh!! You not from any newspaper hor??
Hey bro , very likely .
I realized whenever XinYan came around , the next thing is our posts in Wan Bao .
Sekali next Sunday headlines : 马赛地德士�机�露 .........
Long time liao wanbao no taxi news liao ....
Chrysler ?
Not because of flag down .
I heard Classic Limo very aggressive for good service coporate job .
I mean $45 for AP Transfer , for a Chrysler , why not ?
well, unless they gets regular jobs...
$45 is okie...
Originally posted by Poolman:
Hey bro , very likely .I realized whenever XinYan came around , the next thing is our posts in Wan Bao .
Fuck... Really must be careful about what we post here man....
Originally posted by La2534:u drive how long liao??
u with Central Limo ah.......lol ok .........^^ go help them in the SATS and Airport staff transfer. They need support
I join Central Limo for the corporate & merc point to point jobs.
To support SATS & airport staff transfer, don't need to join Central Limo.
Any SMRT taxis can do the pick up. Anyway, this is not my priority.
Originally posted by Poolman:
Hey bro , very likely .I realized whenever XinYan came around , the next thing is our posts in Wan Bao .
Oic!! Thank you Uncle Pool.