Originally posted by Just_do_it_lah:
Those whom made the change -either not happy with CDG becos their old mercedes are given them problems (CDG not willing to give them a upgraded cab - 50 new mercedes was released late last year).
SMRT Premier Dep looking for experienced Mercedes Limo cabbies to upgrade to Chryslers.. most of these cross-over drivers are guaranteed a new cab.
SMRT chrylsers cabbies was a hit at the Airport Limo Q (when operated by SMRT), this also attracted many cross-over, as it is a Meter + $20. (but since TOA took over the Airport Limo counters, Chryslers are not in their list of Limo required.)
being SMRT drivers, they are entitled a free rental day EVERY MONTH. while CDG only have it (free rental benefit) every 4 months.
there may be other reasons...
Talking about rental rebates, SMRT merc drivers are entitled a free rental day every month & $100 cash bonus/month & $400 accident free incentive per year.
Not much though but better than nothing.
Hi All
I am not a reporter from anywhere...
I am one intertested to join as TD, after reading this forum for a month I applied and got the approval letter.
Went for my medical checkup and waiting to collect report next week.
I just lots of questions cos like to know more about this job.
I am sorry if it causes some confusions.
Originally posted by xinyan:Hi All
I am not a reporter from anywhere...
I am one intertested to join as TD, after reading this forum for a month I applied and got the approval letter.
Went for my medical checkup and waiting to collect report next week.
I just lots of questions cos like to know more about this job.
I am sorry if it causes some confusions.
No problem at all,
ask whatever you are in doubt... we ( the regular forumer ) will try to provide you with necessary information (to our best knowlegde). Some of the comment/remarks may be sacrastic or baseless, but we are all humans and the stress levels TD faces everyday. (don't take it too hard).
The forum page is for you to mingle around. know their opinions but the final decision still rely on yourself.
hopefully, we are of you help and keep your thread coming, also pls post some of your opinions that may benefit the rest of the forumers.
cheers.
JDIL bro
we should nominate u as TD advisor haha. your info all quite good.
keep it up
Advisor ? he shuld be SMRT Consultant .
Uncle Pool TransCab only ......
Hi Just do it
Honestly, I am very impressed by the unity and helpfulness U all have.
Some or mostly sales/retail industries pp r very selfish, they take evry new bird as competitors, they worry or not willing to share the CAKE.
I do have a friend work as TD, told me easy money to make but ask him how?
His answer is no comment, so even my friend also selfish.( or he is not my friend, haha)
I do ask lots of questions and all answer by all the helpful bros and friends here( even we never met but I take it we r all friends)
I also think that most of u work nite shift, any comments for day ? I am still thinking day or nite shift.
Everyone of us want to make a decent living, if one can help others, everyone will able to leave happier and longer life.
Thanks to all
Originally posted by Tio Call Liao:JDIL bro
we should nominate u as TD advisor haha. your info all quite good.
keep it up
Bro TCL,
me only a green horn... as compared to you. Remembered that you drove the old CDi Mercedes !!! ![]()
Bro Poolman,
me just speak my mind. it is good to provide a helping hand to newbies. these guys are the "leaders of the future" (TD)..
You and TCL have more experiences than me...
In ranking (army), you are the Platoon Commander, ![]()
TCL the Platoon Sgt.. 
me 1st class private...![]()
So, Platoon Commander.. when are you buying us dinner ?? ![]()
Originally posted by xinyan:Hi Just do it
Some or mostly sales/retail industries pp r very selfish, they take evry new bird as competitors, they worry or not willing to share the CAKE.
His answer is no comment, so even my friend also selfish.( or he is not my friend, haha)
I do ask lots of questions and all answer by all the helpful bros and friends here( even we never met but I take it we r all friends)
I also think that most of u work nite shift, any comments for day ? I am still thinking day or nite shift.
Everyone of us want to make a decent living, if one can help others, everyone will able to leave happier and longer life.
Thanks to all
Day or night shift depends on your registered hirer. If he wants to drive day.. then you have to drive night...
If you wants to drive day shift - then you have to state your shift specifying to the potential partner. You can do it Online (some TD's website) or thru taxi company.
If you intend to drive OMO, then you can request for a cab from the company, after that, you can search for a night relief if you felt tired driving alone.
Day shift has it advantages (got time for family in the evening). Few of the disadvantages is the HEAT from the Sun, Heavy traffic Jams during peak hour, also Many White Monkey hiding at Over-head bridge with a speed cam.
Night shift needs alot of sacrifices (no social life). the advantages are the opposite of the disadvantage mentioned above... except for traffic jams.
As TD income is not fixed = it depends on the trips/luck of that particular day..
Furthermore, we encourage fellow TDs not to reveal their daily income online... ![]()
the reason....? you guess...
( this is a national forum page - every one can access into this page - including the taxman ). lol.
If you have a Full-time Job at the moment... stay with it.... Unless you are unemployed and having a Driving Licence, then go for the Vocational Licence (that is TDVL).
As long as you are honesty to yourself, don't overcharge, always ask the pax for his/her preferred routes, then you should be fine...
cheers.
Thanks to all
there isn't any easy $ in taxi driving. it is all hardwork.
the meter is regulated & monitored by the Authority (LTA).
as long as there are pax in your cab, the meter runs...
you got to learn your trade slowly, wisely and of course, you can buy Coffee for Uncle Poolman and Uncle TCL to understand the trade more...![]()
Hi Just dot it
That person said easy cos he mention he ever did 50-60 per hr dring peak hrs by only stay within CBD area.
For me, money never easy to earn- mostly thru nard work.
But above all that, we need to learn a better way to maximise our income in leagal ways.
Thats is why I respect all of u who r willing to share ur experiences for us new bird to enhance/improve our skills.
Thanks agin for ur quick reply.
Originally posted by xinyan:Hi Just dot it
That person said easy cos he mention he ever did 50-60 per hr dring peak hrs by only stay within CBD area.
For me, money never easy to earn- mostly thru nard work.
But above all that, we need to learn a better way to maximise our income in leagal ways.
Thats is why I respect all of u who r willing to share ur experiences for us new bird to enhance/improve our skills.
Thanks agin for ur quick reply.
this...
you should go for some TD's gathering ( spend some time to know more ), also mingles with fellow TDs are important ( sometimes, they will call you if there are no cabs at airport etc. or some traffic information ). as i did mentioned on the above few threads, we should'nt reveal the $$ you clocked.
to maximize income, you should join a taxi-stand group (for normal), a Limo-Group if you are a limo driver. with this walky grouping, you will probably get some trips rather than waiting for your MDT (Modile Data Terminal) to allocate jobs to you. hence, your income will increase gradually.
As long as you ON YOUR METER for every trip and NOT ADD ON SURCHARGES you are NOT ALLOWED to add... then it is legal... (except for limo drivers who occasionally have limo jobs from hotels or from Limo grouping - private arrangement).
Nobody can be a millionaire by cheating a few dollars (by adding additional surcharges to the meter)... he will be caught (one day) if the pax is smart. (and when he is caught, he will plead for leniency), why put yourself in this situation ?
HI just do it
regarding joining a group, is more advisable after few mths after we more familar wirh the route ?
Hi Just di it
When u talk about OMO and hirer, whats the diff ?
OMO = One Man Operation ( one man = 2 shifts ).. organise your time, maximize your income.
Hirer = Registered to be responsible for the cab well being. Company will deduct daily rental thru Giro from the Hirer's a/c only. If he has a relief, relief TD will just pay direct to him.
Hirer can be a OMO if he chooses to... but by economical means, he should have a relief partner to cover the alternate shift.
Hi Just do it
what time range do u think a OMO should work to max income ?
When said Hirer responsible for the cab well being, should that be the same as OMO ?
How do taxi company deduct rental for OMO ? same as hirer daily thru GIRO ?
By the way, what r u driving and which taxi coy ?
Thanks
let get this straight (One more time).
Hirer can be a sole driver (hence in taxi terms, we called him OMO)... he has 24hrs to himself (but normally working hours is ard 16-18hrs). Driving cab need sufficient rest.
Coy will hold taxi's driving conditions (exclude for wear and tear) solely to the Hirer of the cab. Hence, company will deduct daily rental from the Hirer's bank's a/c.
As driving OMO is uneconomical (cab likely to be parked at your CP for some hrs when you are resting), many hirers will search for a comparable partner to lessen their rental liabilities.
Conclusion = Hirer can choose to be OMO or not... depends on himself.
clear ?
By the way, what r u driving and which taxi coy ?
Thanks
can choose not to answer ? ![]()
HI Just do it
Thanks for ur reply.
what do u think is the best hrs to drive for an OMO?
thanks
I open this thread to talk about SMRT.
How did it end up to be an interview sessions??
There is a newbie thread http://cabby.sgforums.com/forums/3426/topics/397946
Then this is a newbie guide thread http://cabby.sgforums.com/forums/3426/topics/400685
Hope it will not appear in Wan Bao!!
me not OMO... never been one.. (sleeping more important)
you can post your enquires here and hopefully some helpful bros may give you some tips.
good luck.
Originally posted by Mercabs:I open this thread to talk about SMRT.
How did it end up to be an interview sessions??
There is a newbie thread http://cabby.sgforums.com/forums/3426/topics/397946
Then this is a newbie guide thread http://cabby.sgforums.com/forums/3426/topics/400685
Hope it will not appear in Wan Bao!!
Aiyo bro Mercabs...
why like that, cool it...
will buy you ja ja herbal tea next time...
or you go drink.. bill it on me...
Originally posted by Just_do_it_lah:
Aiyo bro Mercabs...why like that, cool it...
will buy you ja ja herbal tea next time...
or you go drink.. bill it on me...
Haha!! I am alright with it lah!! Don't need herbal tea.
Didn't know that it sounded like I am not happy.
Btw, I am a very easy going person and I don't get angry easily.
Cheers!!
okok.. i tot you angry with me...
haha.
Originally posted by Just_do_it_lah:okok.. i tot you angry with me...
haha.
No no!! You have been very forth coming with your sharings.
I believe many newbies & old bird have learn many new things from your sharing.
I myself have learn some new things from your sharing too.
Ok back to SMRT MDT.
I understand many CDG TDs are sometimes frustrated with the "tink" on their MDT for current bookings.
For they could be travelling on the overhead bridge at Vivo & got a "tink" from Vivo.
I believe all CDG jobs are on auto bidding mode. Pls correct me if I am wrong.
For SMRT jobs bidding, I may select auto or manual bid. I am on manual bidding as I want to choose the jobs. But I am very selective as most time I seldom take jobs from the MDT.