Last night at about 2am , along CCK Ave 1 , near Keat Hong Market , one old man flag , "wow" i thought ..... got durian drop at this ulu place .
Open door , said in hokkien : " Uncle , can help , only got $10 , can take me to Dover Cresent ? Pls la "
I said : " Close door please ."
Not that i see them down .... got money drink beer , no money take taxi home ?
Cos i smell alcohol .... phui .
Think i samaritan ?
I think many of you surely take ?
I will not take. Especially got money drink beer , no money take taxi home pattern.
yah man same here, if really hardship case i will gibe free ride
Originally posted by komade:yah man same here, if really hardship case i will gibe free ride
If hardship VietCongs , just arrived one , how ? Phui Komade ...... surely got more freebies .
I encounter quite a lot liao in fact .... most are those senior citizens , aged 60 and above type .
Just that day , for $10 , i despatch one beggar-like local , From Alexandra Hospital to TTS Hospital , during midnight . I see him poorly sick , seeing a doctor , but according to him , Alexandra don't entertainment him , cos he no money ? I dunno .
That is why he want me to send him to TTS Hospital .
At CCK, also got a mynmar who asked me to go Pioneer rd for working, but he only got $10, pity him, took him there, empty go out.
Then there is one time, 3 men and a gal all arms tattooed, look like malay and indian mixed, at toa payoh late nite about 11pm, go Jalan sultan and come back toa payoh again, reached there, the woman and man went up a flat, the other 2 stay with me, i waited, asked them, what are they doing,...they told me collecting money...aiyoh, i thot of pressing the red button..all got drinking alcohol smell, I was so worry, about 4 mins, the couple return and i send them back to toa payoh same spot, they paid me with tips too and asked me got free time, come for a drink, I run liao.
Mostly drivers will take lah.
Do some good deeds.
Last few night ago after my makan with kc n martin at allenby road , i also encounter 1 male around 30yrs old along amk st 61 at around 4am, think he ask me , " uncle , $10 can send him to MBS ", his friends got trouble there , i simply ignored n drive away , nb got $$$ wanna go MBS save friends , dun have extra money for cab fare ...
Originally posted by likeyou:Mostly drivers will take lah.
Do some good deeds.
Yes, if workers or student are late for work and school, missed their transport, but only got a few dollars to spare, I do not mind doing something good for them, it makes me happy the whole day. But like some of our bros here said, go casinos, pubs, niteclubs drink etc etc and then said no money, that is too much.
I had a similar incident some weeks back, 5.30am shift went to Clarke Quay. Got stop by 2 guys and 1 gal (all indian, no racist meant). Guy asked to Bedok about how much, then say his gf only got $10 can or not. That time was about few minutes to 6am (past midnite charge). Politely I said most cabby here at this time to make a little more and sorry I cannot take them. Din think of much that time till now I read this thread. Really like you all said, can afford to party or something but no money to take taxi home.
Originally posted by frenzs:I had a similar incident some weeks back, 5.30am shift went to Clarke Quay. Got stop by 2 guys and 1 gal (all indian, no racist meant). Guy asked to Bedok about how much, then say his gf only got $10 can or not. That time was about few minutes to 6am (past midnite charge). Politely I said most cabby here at this time to make a little more and sorry I cannot take them. Din think of much that time till now I read this thread. Really like you all said, can afford to party or something but no money to take taxi home.
I remember when I just started...
One man gotten up near Golden Mile ask me go Geylang, upon reaching put $10 on the dash board ask me wait for 5 min....scarly go down want to beat up pple collected bad debt........I think he high on drug also....wow lao.....
Hope all taxi drivers to control their kindness and save it for other purposes.
I foresee a situation of more people taking advantage of the local kindness to pay less for ride esp for the two people from the two big countries.
That is, due to the environment that they breed, they will take advantage of any one for themselves in any situation.
So, any one with local kindness will be a empty victim.
Dun forget that you are being stupid in their eye and not being kind.
Yes yes, save your kindness for other things, like helping old people with their luggage. Or fetching handicapped people. But please hor, if you drive at night and pick people up from clubbing or red light areas, do not give them any discounts. These people must not take us cabbies for granted. Try and recall how your RSM fucks people on the parade square. And use it on these idiots.
I was one of those that had asked taxi driver if $15 enough to go back my house before. ![]()
That time I was out and only had $15 with no atm nearby, but my stupid house has no nightrider. So no choice, had to flag a cab and ask if $15 was enough reach my house. Uncle said should be ok but in the end the fare had reached 15+ in the vincinity of my house.
I told the uncle to drop me at ATM to take money. I would leave my IC behind and he could keep meter running. But the uncle keep saying nevermind while I keep saying drive to nearby atm (I show him where). In the end the kind uncle just drove me home and took the $15. The fare was 17+ I think.
Originally posted by hisoka:I was one of those that had asked taxi driver if $15 enough to go back my house before.
That time I was out and only had $15 with no atm nearby, but my stupid house has no nightrider. So no choice, had to flag a cab and ask if $15 was enough reach my house. Uncle said should be ok but in the end the fare had reached 15+ in the vincinity of my house.
I told the uncle to drop me at ATM to take money. I would leave my IC behind and he could keep meter running. But the uncle keep saying nevermind while I keep saying drive to nearby atm (I show him where). In the end the kind uncle just drove me home and took the $15. The fare was 17+ I think.
No need to feel shy. Just glad you are appreciative of the good taxiuncle. I have done that before taking a pax from Clarke Quay to Choa Chu Kang home accepting less. Sometimes difficult to tell genuine from the cheapo but a number of taxiuncles are compassionate people too. Hope more people have the same good impression about taxiuncles.
If one night before going back base at CCK , if ever kena at Tampines , people asked me : " Uncle , $20 can go CCK Ave 4 ?"
I hug them and kiss , hahahahaha
I will asked : " $25 can ?"
Hahahahah .
But impossible to get leh .....
Originally posted by Poolman:
If hardship VietCongs , just arrived one , how ? Phui Komade ...... surely got more freebies .
Hmm....hardship vc ah..... i sure help 1..... my countrymen/women mah esp
the women more...... :P
Freebies?? Maybe for the women bah haha~~~~~