Today i had a pax from loyang way wanted to go serangoon avenue 4. Pax got no preference and i wasnt too sure which route is best so i consult my inbuilt GPS in my mobile.
Guess wad the fella ask me to do ? hahaha
Loyang Way >> TPE >> CTE >> Amk Ave 1 >> Serangoon Ave 4
hahaha if i took this route , i will kena fark by pax for sure.
so i took this way which i think is still no horse run
Loyang Way >> TPE>> Exit KPE/Hougang >> Tampines Road >> Upper Searangoon>> Boundary Road >> Serangoon Ave 4
GPS? wah lan... dua go hor lan, so better dont relly too much :)
I would say not to rely on GPS from your mobile phone.
The GPS in most mobile phones are not equip with good software.
But then again it is a good tool for locating obscure places. I have used the Search mode to locate Jalan Lekar for Poolman the lao gui haha & Ontario Avenue for my friend.
Originally posted by Mercabs:I would say not to rely on GPS from your mobile phone.
The GPS in most mobile phones are not equip with good software.
mercabs bro , i tot all same same de haha.
U have a stand alone GPS is it? next time u at loyang can try plot the route to serangoon ave 4 ?
If it does not give a TPE>CTE>ANK ave 1 route , then its really a reliable equipment haha
Originally posted by Tio Call Liao:But then again it is a good tool for locating obscure places. I have used the Search mode to locate Jalan Lekar for Poolman the lao gui haha & Ontario Avenue for my friend.
I agreed. I used it to locate roads in the many private estates.
Originally posted by Tio Call Liao:Today i had a pax from loyang way wanted to go serangoon avenue 4. Pax got no preference and i wasnt too sure which route is best so i consult my inbuilt GPS in my mobile.
Guess wad the fella ask me to do ? hahaha
Loyang Way >> TPE >> CTE >> Amk Ave 1 >> Serangoon Ave 4
hahaha if i took this route , i will kena fark by pax for sure.
so i took this way which i think is still no horse run
Loyang Way >> TPE>> Exit KPE/Hougang >> Tampines Road >> Upper Searangoon>> Boundary Road >> Serangoon Ave 4
GPS? wah lan... dua go hor lan, so better dont relly too much :)
Bro , u need a GPS to guide you go Serangoon Ave 4 ?
2 ways for me ....
The way u mentioned .....
If my mood good , PIE > Upper Paya Lebar Road > Boundary Road > Yio Chu Kang Road .
Either way , won't kena fuck one la .
If kena fuck , tell them Uncle Poolman say one , claim from Uncle Poolman .
I once came across someone mentioned about GPS , across from a neighbour forum . A classic example of how a GPS can cock you up !
From AYE > Bukit Panjang ....
His GPS , expensive one , invest some money one , Ho-Lux i think , sent him , see this ......
AYE > Clementi Ave 6 > PIE > Bukit Batok Road > Choa Chu Kang Road > Bukit Panjang Road . WTF !!!!!!
I told him to throw away that GPS , hahahahah .
Cos his paxes f*ck him for not using Clementi Road .
That GPS brand should changed to Ho-Sey , or Ho-lan . KNN hahahaha
I realized many paxes once got on board , immediately on the GPS , maybe i sensitive .
Ti ti ti .... on their iphone , knn hahhahahah .
Still i dun give a damn , my route means good route .
Their route surely jam , hahahahaha at that hour .
Originally posted by Poolman:
Bro , u need a GPS to guide you go Serangoon Ave 4 ?
no choice.. mind gone blank the moment the destination was known.
just out of curiosity, did you all key in the block number as well? it can make a different.
Originally posted by Cash Lee:just out of curiosity, did you all key in the block number as well? it can make a different.
I took a few cab and they asked for area code...
Originally posted by Poolman:I realized many paxes once got on board , immediately on the GPS , maybe i sensitive .
Ti ti ti .... on their iphone , knn hahhahahah .
Still i dun give a damn , my route means good route .
Their route surely jam , hahahahaha at that hour .
iphone sometime give you america map,,....they also got dover road, orchard road...queen street etc etc...I ever use once, that time I was new to TD, keyed dover rise hillview condo..it show me florida america map, I was still pondering how come the picture look so unfamilar, where is AYE, clemeti??...then the pax asked me why i took so long...after a while, i realise this is USA map, at that moment, do not know want to laugh or cry at myself.
Sometimes the gps calculate differently frm our "human" GPS,
for me is the fastest way with least jams n traffic lights
Originally posted by likeyou:
I took a few cab and they asked for area code...
yah bro, area code will be a idea one, no need to key so many ABC....haha
stopped using GPS after it gave all the slow but however, short distance routes all the time!
Ha2, I still like the GPS, find it to be extremely useful.. To be honest, I admit I am not that good with directions. After driving 3 mths, I still find myself not that familiar with the routes :( esp when it comes to the small routes, I always make wrong turns to go to the main roads. But as time goes by, I hope the GPS slowly becomes more and more as a 2nd guide rather than totally rely on it.
If you set the prefered route settings to shortest, it will most likely to direct you through the shortest route, not necessarily fastest though and sometimes will guide you to cut through ERP unnecessarily. You don't really have to follow blindly, it will re-route as you move on.
Originally posted by Tio Call Liao:mercabs bro , i tot all same same de haha.
U have a stand alone GPS is it? next time u at loyang can try plot the route to serangoon ave 4 ?
If it does not give a TPE>CTE>ANK ave 1 route , then its really a reliable equipment haha
Stand alone GPS & mobile phone GPS is different.
Btw, I've not tried using GPS from Loyang to Serangoon Ave.
But from AP to Serangoon Central, this is my route
ECP>TPE>PIE>Paya Lebar Rd>Upp Paya Lebar>Upp Serangoon Rd>Serangoon Central
Originally posted by bowah:
iphone sometime give you america map,,....they also got dover road, orchard road...queen street etc etc...I ever use once, that time I was new to TD, keyed dover rise hillview condo..it show me florida america map, I was still pondering how come the picture look so unfamilar, where is AYE, clemeti??...then the pax asked me why i took so long...after a while, i realise this is USA map, at that moment, do not know want to laugh or cry at myself.
iPhone map is not a GPS but if you really want to use, do end with sg after your address. This will help to pin point the country.
I have both a stand alone GPS & TomTom for iPhone.
The TomTom really suck the juice out of my iPhone & I seldom use it but I heard good review about it.
As for my stand alone GPS, I used it when going to small road in the rich man private estate. No point remembering all these & it's very accurate that sometimes the paxs wonder why I used a different route.
I also used it when going to Bt Batok as I'm really confused there.
Poolman explain the division between Bt Batok east & west to me once & it really help. Now I need not used it there. Anyway, I drove there only once in a blue moon. Haha!!
Originally posted by Mercabs:Stand alone GPS & mobile phone GPS is different.
Btw, I've not tried using GPS from Loyang to Serangoon Ave.
But from AP to Serangoon Central, this is my route
ECP>TPE>KPE>Upp Paya Lebar Rd>Serangoon Central
Only 2 traffic signal.
Cannot be 2 traffic signal only. Where did u exit from KPE? Airport Rd?
I think u drive until shiok shiok and miss the count.
Originally posted by Insg:Cannot be 2 traffic signal only. Where did u exit from KPE? Airport Rd?
I think u drive until shiok shiok and miss the count.
Haha! I exit PIE not KPE. Stop only at 2 signal that night.
using GPS ??? use our BRAIN is better........... i tot only women drivers in Spore use tat all the times...............
Originally posted by Mercabs:iPhone map is not a GPS but if you really want to use, do end with sg after your address. This will help to pin point the country.
I have both a stand alone GPS & TomTom for iPhone.
The TomTom really suck the juice out of my iPhone & I seldom use it but I heard good review about it.
As for my stand alone GPS, I used it when going to small road in the rich man private estate. No point remembering all these & it's very accurate that sometimes the paxs wonder why I used a different route.
I also used it when going to Bt Batok as I'm really confused there.
Poolman explain the division between Bt Batok east & west to me once & it really help. Now I need not used it there. Anyway, I drove there only once in a blue moon. Haha!!
Agreed, Iphone is just a locator and directional provider to know where you are, so far, it had served me well, I have never use a GPS before, as a former delivery driver, I know most of the main road, just that in those housing estates, i am quite confuse, but learning well. For me, I have no problem in industry parks like, tuas, defu, amk etc etc, my worst confusion is sengkang, hougang and around that places, got east west, punggol road and all those vales from fern to rivervales...haiz..siao liao.
My family do catering business for people buffet etc etc, i use to do the delivery on daytimes, so kind of need Iphone to help me, mostly serving industrial companies function. But now taking care of pubs, I do less, only help out. Iphone, if fully utililised, is a very good phone, i like it. But my Dad cannot see, so he uses Ipad, much more bigger, just that cannot make call, however, now there is this new samsung pad, that is bigger and can make call too.
Originally posted by Uncle Cabby:using GPS ??? use our BRAIN is better........... i tot only women drivers in Spore use tat all the times...............
no, me no use GPS, me only like to jam brake here and there for nothing, so dun follow my back ya. When I drive, all taxis uncles behind very angry, sure to keep a distance or move out..hahaha
Quote -
"Ha2, I still like the GPS, find it to be extremely useful.. To be honest, I admit I am not that good with directions. After driving 3 mths, I still find myself not that familiar with the routes :( esp when it comes to the small routes, I always make wrong turns to go to the main roads. But as time goes by, I hope the GPS slowly becomes more and more as a 2nd guide rather than totally rely on it.
If you set the prefered route settings to shortest, it will most likely to direct you through the shortest route, not necessarily fastest though and sometimes will guide you to cut through ERP unnecessarily. You don't really have to follow blindly, it will re-route as you move on. "
I use it as a learning aid for part-time weekend driving as some of the routes / Hotels not so familiar... If pax and me dun know, I tell them I will use the GPS. Also very helpful for call booking, bring you to the exact block location....