I read so many of TD's encounters with bad passengers who accuse TD for driving longer routes. But personally, I met a TD who really go the longer route even after I told him I'll guide him to take my route.
I've been going from my home in Hougang to my company in Tampines central for years via Old Tampines rd (bus 72's route) and it's faster than whatever expressway route (I forgot the name of the expressway, think it's CTE. This expressway route also taken before with a few TD, but always got traffic jam so I prefer Old Tampines rd).
So whenever I take cab (due to me waking up late sometimes) to company, I'll always ask the TD to go by old tampines rd.
But once, there's this tmd TD uncle who asked me what route to take, I asked him to go by Old Tampines Rd, he said that road & expressway always jam. I replied I always take bus 72 which also go via Old Tampines Rd but I've never experienced jam. Then he insisted on going by Jalan Kayu Rd then to some expressway. I quickly pointed out that would be a longer route, he said no choice because of jam and just started driving.
I was shocked but too late to get off already. Never mind, so I let him drive. Even for those TD who took some expressway route, they never have to drive via Jalan Kayu road. This is clearly a rip off! Thoughout the journey, he keep on saying Old Tampines Rd jam.
Personally, during those times when I woke up on time, and take bus 72 which go to Tampines Central via Old Tampines Rd, the traffic is always normal one. Then I SMSed a colleague who took bus 72 to office, she also said that morning Old Tampines Rd no jam, normal road conditions.
When nearing Tampines Central (near the temple & dormitory area), that tmd TD went to the HDB flats area in the national library side to took another longer route. I pointed to him again, that he can take the route next to Tampines dormitory (after the temples) to access central (bus 72's route), he said that road cannot take. I was like "What?!"
Then he go all the way to the road beside Courts/GIANT to the HDB flats near the national library area.
When reached Tampines Central finally, I paid $27 (my usual is $10.** only!) and I'm still late despite taking a cab. Normally, when I woke up late, I take cab which go by Old Tampines Road, I'll still be on time and paying only $10.**.
This is clearly a rip off! So, don't blame us pax for being suspicious or agitated when asking about route!
from my personal view, maybe u are just plain unlucky to met with the minority "cheats" but until now, when a TD ask which route i want take, he will just follow.
Hougang ? Which part ?
Different Hougang has got different ways to hit Tampines ?
But this chap also one kind , he must know Hougang paxes loves Old Tampines Road if going to Tampines , even if got TPE , they will die die use Old Tampines Road .
Pls la , now got one new road call Bartley Road East flyover , what Old Tampines Road ? What Kayu ?
THis is cheapest and fatest route , wah piang eh .
Go Hougang Ave 3 , straight down Airport Road , then Bartley Road East . 3 minutes hit Tampines Ave 5 , 2 minutes reach Central liao .
What Bus 72 ?
Dun mixed bus service with taxi routes .
U talking what Hougang and Jalan Kayu ?
Information must be more accurate , so that i can tell you which route and prices is the best .
$27 from Hougang to Tampines during peak hour , never , u over exaggerated .
Bull shit , whichever route and jams this driver will sent you , no way hougang > Tampines $27 . NO WAY !!!
To be exact , anywhere from Hougang to Tampines Central , during peak hour , with that 35% surcharge , excluding booking , around $11+ .......... via Old Tampines Road .
Chrysler ?
Originally posted by Poolman:Pls la , now got one new road call Bartley Road East flyover , what Old Tampines Road ? What Kayu ?
THis is cheapest and fatest route , wah piang eh .
Go Hougang Ave 3 , straight down Airport Road , then Bartley Road East . 3 minutes hit Tampines Ave 5 , 2 minutes reach Central liao .
What Bus 72 ?
Dun mixed bus service with taxi routes .
Jalan Kayu road you also don't know? Along that road got lots of roti prata shops one loh, then at end of Jalan Kayu road is the dunno what expressway (but is not the expressway TD usually take when they go from my place and they never take Bartley rd flyover).
The part of Hougang I'm staying is near Yio Chu Kang road.
TD also can take bus routes one what, as long as not in bus lanes.
That unlucky time I took with that jerk TD is without call surcharge, I didn't call him as it's easy to get cab in my area along Yio Chu Kang road.
With peak hour surcharge, usually only $10.XX only. Never hit $11 one. But that unlucky time with that jerk TD, it hit $27!!! Want to earn more money from me, can, but next life must pay back multiple times!!!
Jalan Kayu road you also don't know? Along that road got lots of roti prata shops one loh, then at end of Jalan Kayu road is the dunno what expressway (but is not the expressway TD usually take when they go from my place and they never take Bartley rd flyover).
It is called TPE (Tampines Expressway)
Originally posted by allulu69:
It is called TPE (Tampines Expressway)
Ok, thanks......
Then the expressway which other TD take from my place via Buangkok Green is called what expressway?
KPE lah.
Originally posted by allulu69:KPE lah.
So li hai, know the roads name.
I travel around singapore everyday cos I am an agent.
Originally posted by allulu69:I travel around singapore everyday cos I am an agent.
I don't travel around Singapore cos mine is deskbound job. At most, only travel to other departments in my office.
Originally posted by cyberr1981:I read so many of TD's encounters with bad passengers who accuse TD for driving longer routes. But personally, I met a TD who really go the longer route even after I told him I'll guide him to take my route.
I've been going from my home in Hougang to my company in Tampines central for years via Old Tampines rd (bus 72's route) and it's faster than whatever expressway route (I forgot the name of the expressway, think it's CTE. This expressway route also taken before with a few TD, but always got traffic jam so I prefer Old Tampines rd).
So whenever I take cab (due to me waking up late sometimes) to company, I'll always ask the TD to go by old tampines rd.
But once, there's this tmd TD uncle who asked me what route to take, I asked him to go by Old Tampines Rd, he said that road & expressway always jam. I replied I always take bus 72 which also go via Old Tampines Rd but I've never experienced jam. Then he insisted on going by Jalan Kayu Rd then to some expressway. I quickly pointed out that would be a longer route, he said no choice because of jam and just started driving.
I was shocked but too late to get off already. Never mind, so I let him drive. Even for those TD who took some expressway route, they never have to drive via Jalan Kayu road. This is clearly a rip off! Thoughout the journey, he keep on saying Old Tampines Rd jam.
Personally, during those times when I woke up on time, and take bus 72 which go to Tampines Central via Old Tampines Rd, the traffic is always normal one. Then I SMSed a colleague who took bus 72 to office, she also said that morning Old Tampines Rd no jam, normal road conditions.
When nearing Tampines Central (near the temple & dormitory area), that tmd TD went to the HDB flats area in the national library side to took another longer route. I pointed to him again, that he can take the route next to Tampines dormitory (after the temples) to access central (bus 72's route), he said that road cannot take. I was like "What?!"
Then he go all the way to the road beside Courts/GIANT to the HDB flats near the national library area.
When reached Tampines Central finally, I paid $27 (my usual is $10.** only!) and I'm still late despite taking a cab. Normally, when I woke up late, I take cab which go by Old Tampines Road, I'll still be on time and paying only $10.**.
This is clearly a rip off! So, don't blame us pax for being suspicious or agitated when asking about route!
Sorry to hear ur ordeal.....very stubborn uncle indeed lol..he very old man?
Originally posted by cyberr1981:Jalan Kayu road you also don't know? Along that road got lots of roti prata shops one loh, then at end of Jalan Kayu road is the dunno what expressway (but is not the expressway TD usually take when they go from my place and they never take Bartley rd flyover).
The part of Hougang I'm staying is near Yio Chu Kang road.
TD also can take bus routes one what, as long as not in bus lanes.
That unlucky time I took with that jerk TD is without call surcharge, I didn't call him as it's easy to get cab in my area along Yio Chu Kang road.
With peak hour surcharge, usually only $10.XX only. Never hit $11 one. But that unlucky time with that jerk TD, it hit $27!!! Want to earn more money from me, can, but next life must pay back multiple times!!!
I of course know Jalan Kayu , but u said u stay at Hougang > Then go by Kayu ?
I never visualised which part actually .
If near Fernvale , or Buangkok side , or Hougang St 91 , or Ave 4 side .
Pls tell the drivers that took you to take this route .
Don't take any Old Tampines Road .
This one faster .
Yio Chu Kang Road > Hougang Ave 2 > Eunos Link > Airport Road > Bartley Road East > Down > Tampines Ave 5 .
Try this route , now many people use this route , save alot of time .
I would say , nothing more than $11 .
$10.10 and $11 , f*ck la ...... what diff ?
To TS ,
Feel sorry for your ordeal with the TD. Never knew still got such TDs around but $27?? thats really a lot u know? he has to go thru loops & circles to have the metre chalk up tat kinda fare.
first of all u if he wants to rip off he would not ask u which route he wants to take ,just drive all around spore n claim the fair second there r some changes around old tampines rd eg u could exit through by tpe to old tampines rd some drvers r not familiar eg if im stayin in west or part time dr i would not go to east so not familiar especialy with so many changes nowadays so dont blame the driver if u dont know the n just take it as a lesson for u further more from hougang to jalan kayu what r doing not directing him which way he suppose to go,n asking to, after reaching jln kayu too late for him to u turn so its ur dump attitude,n dont even know the xpressways is another dumpness of urself with only a few xpressways in spore so dont blame others for ur own stupid mistakes.
Originally posted by Tio Call Liao:To TS ,
Feel sorry for your ordeal with the TD. Never knew still got such TDs around but $27?? thats really a lot u know? he has to go thru loops & circles to have the metre chalk up tat kinda fare.
Ya , i suspect this amount the TS said .
Unless she/he can saw pictures of the receipt .
$27 is from Jurong to Tampines .
I suppose you stay near Regentville at Hougang Ave 9
I tried both routes (the one you suggested and the Jalan Kayu->TPE route)
The Jalan Kayu one is definitely more expensive as you enter TPE much earlier than at Hougang Ave 3 where you can choose to enter Old Tampines road too.
Its rare for Old Tampines road to have jams (personally I have never encounter any before). But one point to note is the Kovan area always jam in the morning so maybe the TD was imply that area.
Another route you can consider is Hougang Ave 9->Sengkang New Town->TPE. Smooth traffic flow and cost about the same as the Old Tampines Road
Originally posted by theyj:
Its rare for Old Tampines road to have jams (personally I have never encounter any before).
L-plate army trucks ![]()
Originally posted by ALN:yeah jur to tamp $26 w/o surcharge…
kena 2 times same pax same time… hehe… damn steam
wah so heng ah bro, the max i picked any street pax is 3 times
and was this super chio chena lady studying here can say 80%
like Lin Chi Ling....... :P
So bro, did you date her out?hehehe
Originally posted by Poolman:
Ya , i suspect this amount the TS said .Unless she/he can saw pictures of the receipt .
$27 is from Jurong to Tampines .
I want so upset, I just pay up and got off the cab. Don't even want to waste my breathe to scold that cabbie!