For current drivers and newbies , it's not fully our fault to listen wrongly , sometimes it's the paxes who just can't pronoun location clearly .
So how ?
Ask la .
Here is a few examples , it's sounds so close , and it could be so far apart .
If u have some examples as well , do contribute to benefit the new drivers .
I ever almost ... sent them to wrong place .
At Jurong ..... they wanna go "Race Course Road" , but their accent , i listen like " West Coast Road " .
Half way , they remind me : " Uncle , Tekka huh ?"
My LV colleague , ever bidded for a job ( No 10 , Rowell Road ) , he actually went to Blk 10 , Dover Road .
PRC going to Sengkang's Rivervale will tell you "Uncle, RIVER VA LE". Almost drive him to River Valley.
usually if the destination the pax told me is not clear.............
i will............."U going to Velocity, rite? tat one at Novena Square........Not Vivo city, the one at HarbourFront correct?
usually Sporeans wil jus tel us "Uncle, i wan go Novena Square" but some PRs, expats n Ang Mos like 2 say "I wan go to Velocity."
dun tel me if u hear Velocity, u wun wan 2 confirm again with pax it's not Vivocity tat they r going 2 ?
if destinations given by pax is not clear, best is 2 name some PROMINENT LANDMARKS or major roads near their destinations 2 DOUBLE CONFIRM with them.........
if i cant hear correctly i always make sure i ask
them till i can confirm correct place then i move off
Best is pax got one card , everytime wanna go where , just write and show TD. then TD also got one card , write total fare on it after trip and show to pax.
shiok right? one whole entire trip no need to open mouth. something i like very much.
Originally posted by Vee4317l:Uncle go two places first ICON then go Tg Pagar MRT. Then I go ion shopping centre, Uncle Is ICON near Tg Pagar, huh ???? guide me wen reached Tg. Pagar.hehee….... lukily foreigner. Sinkaporean sure ask for great sinkapore SALE. Hehee…......
Bro , ICON at Gopeng Road , behind Amara Hotel , u sent him to Ion Orchards ?
Siao liao lor ....
Want drink kopi at LTA ?
Originally posted by Insg:PRC going to Sengkang's Rivervale will tell you "Uncle, RIVER VA LE". Almost drive him to River Valley.
I kena this one from Ah Nei PR before at night safari , when I asked river valley where? Near to alexandra side or nearer to clarke quay? They dun know, when pass thru scotts road they still know it's orchard area, KNN!!
Another time at Tuas area, 3 Bangala want to go BenJU road, Where got such road?! In the end you know where? Penjuru road!! PUI!
i know there is a thread on shortest route but cannot find leh.. so i thot i post here lah..
is there any standard or most common route from orchard towers to signature park?
Orchard twr T/S > Claymore > Steven Rd > Bt. Timah > Jurong Kechil. Trick Question?
lan chiao chew hu kia just now ....knnbccb at Duxton Road , my former home ground .
Come up say : " Defu Lane 9 ."
I asked : " Defu Lane 9 "
Then proceed ......... Gopeng St , Cecil St , Nicholl as usual KPE , Tampines Road .
All the way , they speaking their own Chew Hu dialect , Hakka .
Until Defu Lane 9 , one of the chap sensed something wrong : " Uncle , MArsiling Rise leh ! "
KNNBCCB Defu Lane 9 and Marsiling Rise .......
All the way again lor .....
I collected $30 from them , lugi big time .
Near to $50 whole trip , $50+ knnbcccb
Defu Lane 9 & Marsiling Rise .
Until now i still puzzled how the fuck the chew hu ass can pronoun like that so run water .
Originally posted by topview:Orchard twr T/S > Claymore > Steven Rd > Bt. Timah > Jurong Kechil. Trick Question?
thks.. not trick question.. me very lousy in route till now..memory bad...
Originally posted by ALN:zouk to amara…. take havelock or take cantonment?
Cantonment la , straight only ....... Havelock like F1 , corner here corner there .
Sometimes you repeat the wrong place, then they say yes! There is once I pick up japanese, and they say "Orchard Parado" (don't know why they add an "o" to the parade). I asked them "Orchard Paragon?" and they say yes yes. Reach there, they say no no, and they show me the map..
got once also a japanese couple, said lucky hai,,...i asked, lucky plaza?? they said, hai hai hai!!, i thot jpan hai means correct, so go lucky plaza road, damn, half way said hai hai,..no no, no,..then, i realise it is lucky height, height said hai..damn. Get scolded.
Pax: "Uncle! Lengkok Bahru, not Johore Bahru! "
Uncle: "I thot you said Kampong Bahru. Now we are at Geylang Bahru, so how? Go by Kallang Bahru??
sori lah, uncle bahru first time start work...new driver. If i go wrong road or need pax to guide me, i alway said I am new, first time making a living, house got one wife, 3 primary sch kids, two old parents, very cham...pax hear already also pity me, guided me and also give tips, keep the change. Sometime taxi driver must use psychology to make a living. But unfortuntely, lots of taxi drivers have high egos and too much pride hold on, do not know the road also agar agar chiong.