STOMPer Jared was shocked to find that the insurance
claims from a cabby have escalated to more than $80,000, for a minor
accident two years ago.
The STOMPer was involved in an accident
with a taxi. The cabby had got out of his vehicle "with a big smile on
his face" and the STOMPer thought the incident was resolved when they
agreed to claim against the STOMPer's insurance.
Two years later, he received a claim of more than $80,000 for personal injuries from the cabby.
Jared relates his story in an email:
"Most
of us, the working executives are drivers. Every day there is an equal
chance for every one of us to get involved in a car accident.
Unfortunately for me, I was involved in a car accident with a taxi in
July 2008.
"Along the slip road, the taxi in front of me
stopped, I too stopped behind him. Seeing that there were no oncoming
cars, he started to move off, I too stepped on the accelerator to move
off. However, he decided to brake suddenly and I couldn’t stop my car
in time.
"The cabby got down from his taxi with a big smile on
his face and I was wondering why. I had no prior car accident
experience to speak of. The cabby seems like a nice person, he checked
on the safety of everyone first.
"But the first sentence I said however will not be too pleasing to anyone’s ear. 'Why did you stop?', I asked.
"After
checking no one was injured, we agreed to claim against my insurance
policy. As there was a passenger, we took some photos of each other’s
vehicle.
"I thought it was just bad luck and I should let the insurance settle everything.
"Finally
after two years, I received a claim from the taxi driver. He is
claiming against my insurers for $81,240.91 for personal injuries. That
does not include the repair fees for his taxi.
"Before this, I
checked a couple of times and he mentioned he was not hurt. The most
ridiculous part is he claimed that three of his teeth are fractured
caused of the accident after a year. He claimed almost $10,000 to fix
his teeth. However, in his previous medical report, nothing was mention
about this until a year later.
"I hope to share my story with
readers so that everyone can be aware of this and not fall prey to
profiteers on insurance claims. Insurance is a protection against our
liabilities and not a tool for profiteers to capitalise on it.
"I
have attached some photos to show the seriousness of the accident and
you will be wondering why the claims escalates to more than $81,000,
and if it includes the car repair, it is almost $90,000. Now, who still
dares to drive?"
Note: The licence plates were masked by the contributor.
lol .... of course the TD would be smiling ......
cos cai shen just kissed his ass ! .... ![]()
Aiyo , insurance company's problems , what's the problem with those people ?
Pain for those insurance bastards ?
I've learnt that whenever at slip road and there's a vehicle in front of me, I will ignore the on coming vehicles but keep my eyes on the vehicle in front of me. Until when I'm the first vehicle then I'll look out for on coming vehicle before going out to the main road.
Originally posted by Poolman:Aiyo , insurance company's problems , what's the problem with those people ?
Pain for those insurance bastards ?
cos those insurance bastards, would squeeze your nuts in turn ! .....
that's why insurance premiums are sky rocketing ... because of mother-farkers like these, making fradulent and frivolous claims ....what they have to fork out to such claimants, they'll squeeze back from the kisser and other motorists .....
would you be saying the same thing, if you langa into someone's rear and your next premium from your insurance co makes you kek sai ?
i wonder how come only claiming 80k bill for accident after 2 years?
come on, no one finds this strange?
It like strike million dollar toto but claim after a few years, why?
and insurance agencies are bastards anyways, take long time to investigate then try to find any and all excuses as to why cannot claim.
if the taxi driver can claim then maybe he got contacts inside your insurance company. better switch, all insurance people are assholes and insurance companies are blood suckers
80k is just too much. I believe will tio investigate one la
imagine if this case goes thru. oh my god i dunno how much i got to pay for my next insurance renewal.
the claim actually took 2 years?
A switchblade knife that is only 17 cents delivered!!!
Originally posted by Bingbing7dw:A switchblade knife that is only 17 cents delivered!!!
Did you see that little switch blade auto knife? They got it listed on the website for only $0.17 cents and that's with free shipping! Here is a link to it http://www.liangdianup.com/inventory/400021.htm or you can go to www.liangdianup.com and go to the knives section or search the stock number with the search on the right side. The knife has a stock number of 400021 on the LDU Company website.
i want to buy
can i use the switchblade on you?
i promise it will only cause a 5 cent wound
Ya man, looks like the insurance costs might make it more worthwhile for him to switch to taxis. Hope he does not bump into this TD again, because this pax will have good excuse to extract free rides from him. $80K worth of free rides :)
I heard that other than the workshop, you and the other party, and more???, there is also the LAWYER. And the lawyer get a good cut of it.
Study hard, don't become a cabby, be a lawyer
Cabbies all hope their kids do not end up driving taxis. Congrats if your child makes it to university, but make very sure they study the right subjects. The most useful subjects are directly reflected in the cutoff grades for the local universities. I am copying it here for your reference. The most prized courses are at the top one-third, those in the bottom two-thirds are not as valuable but if your child can network well, still got chance. If your child gets into a course in the first one-third of the list, even if he or she is not the top student, I am pretty certain he or she will huat or at least huat a lot more than driving a cab. I believe some of the courses in the bottom two-thirds are just plain useless, with so many foreign talents out there willing to work for shit salaries. Our minister's children are all in those courses in the top one-third of the list, and zheng hu of course don't allow foreign talents to come in and anyhow compete in these areas at ridiculous prices. So be careful what course your child gets interested in.
NUS/NTU/SMU Cut-off Grades for all Degree Programmes 2010
AAA/A NUS Law
AAA/A NUS Medicine
AAA/A NUS Chemical Engineering
AAA/A NUS Environment Engineering
AAA/A NUS Dentistry
AAA/A NUS Pharmacy
AAA/A NUS Industrial & Systems Engineering
AAA/A SMU Laws
AAA/B NTU Accountancy
AAA/B NTU Business
AAA/B NTU Aerospace Engineering
AAA/B NTU Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering
AAA/B NUS Business Admin (Accountancy)
AAA/C NUS Business Admin
AAA/C NUS Materials Science & Engineering
AAB/B SMU Accountancy
AAB/C NTU Sport Science & Management
AAB/C NUS Bioengineering
AAB/C NUS Engineering Science
ABB/A NTU Maritime Studies
ABB/B NTU Environmental Engineering
ABB/B NTU Mathematics & Economics
ABB/B NTU Communication Studies
ABB/B NUS Engineering
ABB/B NUS Mechanical Engineering
ABB/B NUS Science
ABB/C NUS Arts & Social Sciences
ABB/C SMU Business Management
ABB/C SMU Economics
BBB/B NTU Chemistry & Biological Chemistry
BBB/B NTU Mathematical Sciences
BBB/B NTU Economics
BBB/B NUS Project & Facilities Management
BBB/B NUS Civil Engineering
BBB/B NUS Computing
BBB/C NTU Physics / Applied Physics
BBB/C NUS Architecture
BBB/C NUS Real Estate
BBB/C NUS Electrical Engineering
BBB/C NUS Computer Engineering
BBB/C NUS Arts & Social Sciences (MT related)
BBC/A NTU Bioengineering
BBC/A NTU Psychology
BBC/B NTU Computer Engineering
BBC/B NTU Biological Sciences
BBC/B SMU Social Sciences
BBC/C NTU Computer Science
BBC/C NTU Information Engineering & Media
BBC/C NTU Materials Engineering
BCC/B NTU Engineering
BCC/B NTU Mechanical Engineering
BCC/C NTU Civil Engineering
BCC/C NTU Electrical & Electronic Engineering
BCC/C NTU Linguistics & Multilingual Studies
BCC/C NTU English
BCC/C NUS Industrial Design
BCC/C SMU Information Systems Management
CCC/B NTU Sociology
CCC/B NUS Nursing
CCC/C NTU Chinese
CCC/C NIE Arts (Education)
CCC/C NIE Science (Education)
CDD/C NTU Art, Design & Media
NUS http://www.nus.edu.sg/oam/gradeprofi...ramme-igp.html
NTU http://www3.ntu.edu.sg/oad2/website_...Y09-10_IGP.pdf
Originally posted by PedoBear:i wonder how come only claiming 80k bill for accident after 2 years?
come on, no one finds this strange?
It like strike million dollar toto but claim after a few years, why?
and insurance agencies are bastards anyways, take long time to investigate then try to find any and all excuses as to why cannot claim.
if the taxi driver can claim then maybe he got contacts inside your insurance company. better switch, all insurance people are assholes and insurance companies are blood suckers
you got bad experience before meh? what makes you say so?
Originally posted by Tio Call Liao:imagine if this case goes thru. oh my god i dunno how much i got to pay for my next insurance renewal.
That's why with these frauduent claims... the premiums will shoot up....
Wat the fark the insurance claims dept of sillycab is doing !!! $80k ?? the Toyota CLOWN made of GOLD ???
The said driver also claimed $10k for his tooth fix.... ?

maybe golden tooth....
The said cabby should also have implant a new heart too !!!! His old ones much have been blackened.
I am surprised that the claims department allows such claims.... really makes a mockery out of CDG... The counter insurance company should have counter such claims !!!! Amazing TOOPIG !!!!
I am sure the TD will get nothing from it.
It plain plain greedy to suck out insurance money.
If the TD asking few hundreds, then might be able to settle it.
But this TD too greedy, might get choke and died!
Originally posted by BanguIzai:you got bad experience before meh? what makes you say so?
from your question, it is very clear that you are either an insurance agent or you have never deal with an insurance agent before
let me list why insurance agent are assholes
1 - when they call you up to tele-market their 'new' insurance/savings/investment plan to you, they do not understand the phrase "I am not interested". they need you to repeat that at least 5 times before they are willing to hang up. there should be a law againts pushy tele-marketing tactics and in USA there is but sucky sin-a-poor dont have.
2 - they drive up the premiums on anything you buy from them, do you know that part of your monthly payments goes directly to them?
3 - they like to sell you stuff, get alot of money then quit (cos even if they quit, they still get paid because all their previous customer is still making monthly payments). so now you have a situation that the customer is making monthly payments but have no one to support them on their enquiries, if customer stop making the monthly payments, they forfeit whatever they had paid so it is a lose-lose situation. yes, if you complain enough, the insurance company may assign another agent to assist you but this 'agent' is either a newbie and you are his/her guinea pig or someone who is under performing as their best performing agents are busy getting new sales.
why insurance companies are assholes
1 - takes years to 'investigate' claims even for very clear cut cases
2 - they have employees dedicated to finding fault with your claims, these employees performance bonus depends on the number/amount ($) of claims they can deny you.
3 - you belong to a family with a history of diabetics/sufferer of heart diseases or cancer/smokers = high premiums for you
3 - you missed out any medical details of your family = denied claim when anything happens
4 - claims for experimental treatments will be denied even when trials are 100% successful.
5 - when investments they sell go bust, they are sorry that their agents "may not have" (read - did not) explain the risks clearly to their customers
6 - when investments they sell go bust, they are sorry that there is nothing they can do as their agents had quit and they cannot 'investigate' if their agent use pushy/strong arm/high pressure tactics for sales
7 - they deem that it is the customer's fault when any misunderstanding arise, even if it is due to their agents only being able to speak broken English/Tamil/broken Mandarin even though 100% of their target market do not speak these languages,
I fully agree with PedoBear. Everything he said is absolutely true. When people try to sell me policies, I straight away zoom into specific claims and probabilites of it occurring and ask the agent why certain events are not in it because it is so common. To me, insurance companies are casinos disguised as sheep. When you buy an accident or illness policy, you are basically placing bets against the insurance company. They can dress up their policy all they like, but certain illnesses and accident types are specifically excluded, and claimable cases occur under very exact circumstances. So put it this way, if the insurance company is doing well, it is because most of their clients have lost their bets. Perhaps that few hundred dollars used to hedge against a detrimental event gives them comfort. So be it. Most clients lost money at the end of the day. Put it this way, if a bank cannot generate high returns on your savings account without any insurance liabilities, what makes u think the insurance company can generate even higher returns without resorting to even riskier investments to generate the necessary returns to cover claims? And if the investment arm of the insurance company can successfully generate those high returns, why would they want to bother with the insurance business unless there is a ready pool of people ready to part with their hard earned money to hedge against events that are very very unlikely to happen? Because if it happens with sufficient frequency, the insurance company will collapse for sure unless the premiums go up. Good game.
Originally posted by f1taxidriver:I fully agree with PedoBear. Everything he said is absolutely true. When people try to sell me policies, I straight away zoom into specific claims and probabilites of it occurring and ask the agent why certain events are not in it because it is so common. To me, insurance companies are casinos disguised as sheep. When you buy an accident or illness policy, you are basically placing bets against the insurance company. They can dress up their policy all they like, but certain illnesses and accident types are specifically excluded, and claimable cases occur under very exact circumstances. So put it this way, if the insurance company is doing well, it is because most of their clients have lost their bets. Perhaps that few hundred dollars used to hedge against a detrimental event gives them comfort. So be it. Most clients lost money at the end of the day. Put it this way, if a bank cannot generate high returns on your savings account without any insurance liabilities, what makes u think the insurance company can generate even higher returns without resorting to even riskier investments to generate the necessary returns to cover claims? And if the investment arm of the insurance company can successfully generate those high returns, why would they want to bother with the insurance business unless there is a ready pool of people ready to part with their hard earned money to hedge against events that are very very unlikely to happen? Because if it happens with sufficient frequency, the insurance company will collapse for sure unless the premiums go up. Good game.
I bought a life policy and wanted to terminate it cos I find it no purpose to buy the policy. What should I do? I would prefer to buy a saving policy...at least I can feel and see the money rather than I die then can claim the money. For what!
To terminate a policy, you need to go down to the headquarter, that is the fastest, otherwise, if you go to those branches, or thru you agents or by phone, they will ding dong here and there until you also sian to terminate it. That is what i did to Aviva, call them to terminate, after few weeks still no news, call up agent, agent questioned recommend this and that and end up like kind of do not want to terminate or opts for change in policy. Then finally I make up my mind, go down to shenton way and tell them to cancel it once and fall out. Out came a check after 2 hours, I cashed it, take a nice cab ride home, help my cabby brothers during peak hour and cbd charges.
Life policies that do not have any riders like total permanent disability or critical illnesses still can keep. If got rider portion just go down to their office and remove it, but keep the life policy. You will get back a nice sum of money after say 20 years. If the premium is like $50/month, try to continue lor. If you terminate early, sure lose alot of money. Mistake was made years ago, so just suck it up for a few more years and terminate with some profit at least lor. But of course sometimes we get fed up, maciam pay and pay but get nothing back, and the the insurance company still want to find more ways to squeeze more money from u.
hate to say this.... strangely, when when taxis are clearly at fault in accidents, they can manage to claim the victim's insurance.. very sly twisting here... (not related to this TS incidence)..
doesn't help if your insurer is NTUC, cos NTUC and Comfort is linked..
TDs here, please dont be offended by my post.. personally, what i said, had happened in my household... very unpleasant.
Originally posted by 105090:hate to say this.... strangely, when when taxis are clearly at fault in accidents, they can manage to claim the victim's insurance.. very sly twisting here... (not related to this TS incidence)..
doesn't help if your insurer is NTUC, cos NTUC and Comfort is linked..
TDs here, please dont be offended by my post.. personally, what i said, had happened in my household... very unpleasant.
Regardless the facts... as long as your vehicle kissed the back of any cars... you will be claimed !! Even as the cabby stopped suddenly for a pick-up !!
fyi, CUMFcuk Cabs are NOT insured with NTUC !!