THE culprit behind the interminable queues for a cab is the dial-a-cab service ('Waiting woes at Orchard taxi stands'; Thursday). Abolish the booking service and raise the flag-down fare to give taxi drivers an incentive to pick up passengers at the stands.
Many cabbies prefer the more lucrative and convenient booking system. They know that long queues work in their favour because it forces frustrated commuters to book a cab and pay more.
Recently, I was stuck in a queue at the Wisma Atria stand on a Friday night. Cabs were streaming in with 'On call' signs and dropping off fares. When I tried to board one, the cabby refused my fare. He drove to a spot opposite the taxi stand and waited. A few minutes later, the booking call on his cab sign came on, and he drove off.
Sally Phua (Ms)
Good , go and complaint , and get more LTA and CDG Enforcement Officer working overtime .
In fact , it's the passengers who make the whole scenario like that ....
They make us possible to get our game right .
Go take mrt and bus better...
LTA set the rules we juz play by it...... ;)
Yes Sally phua continue complaining!!!!!!!!!!!!!! complain complain and standby for another round of fare hike!!
With more people like u providing feedback , u think its going to solve problems???
2001 when i started to drive ..... these things happen already. 10 years later , the same issues occur again.
This char bor must be those take taxi once a mth kind.
Use your observations & see where are those complains coming from?? yes mostly from the shopping areas in orchard .
There are an abundance of occasional taxi commuters in this area so instead of getting a clearer picture , they get pissed off , they complain blah blah.
Supposing you are in wisma...going to woodlands, you cannot get a cab for the queue is very long.
Solution :
1) Book a cab
2) Take a bus
3) Take a mrt = drop off at somewhere north south line out of orchard rd = then from there, take a cab.
Originally posted by Tio Call Liao:Use your observations & see where are those complains coming from?? yes mostly from the shopping areas in orchard .
There are an abundance of occasional taxi commuters in this area so instead of getting a clearer picture , they get pissed off , they complain blah blah.
Totally agreed with TCL. Certain people and Certain Area people complain.
You know - all the people surge out at the same timing. Some due to shops closing , some due to save peak hour charge, some wanted to avoid midnight charge etc.....
MRT and Buses is just nearby.....
Ok, noted down the name, "Ms Sally Phua"
hello guys
this TS copy from somehwere and paste here, i think this sally phua isnt in this form.
anyway
if there a $5 and $0.50 on the floor ,which 1 would you pick ???
if you are a cabby, you wan to start with $3.20 or $6 ???
sorry i dont take cab so i dont know the prices .... i drive.
which idiot would wan to earn less ???
use brain and think ma..........
In order not to get trap in the queue, go home early by taking public transport. Go out early to meet your appointment.
Originally posted by Hwaimeng:anyway
Precisely. Only someone who is not right in the mind would prefer to earn less if the conditions given are identical.
Originally posted by kinwashi:Queues caused by dial-a-cab service
THE culprit behind the interminable queues for a cab is the dial-a-cab service ('Waiting woes at Orchard taxi stands'; Thursday). Abolish the booking service and raise the flag-down fare to give taxi drivers an incentive to pick up passengers at the stands.
Many cabbies prefer the more lucrative and convenient booking system. They know that long queues work in their favour because it forces frustrated commuters to book a cab and pay more.
Recently, I was stuck in a queue at the Wisma Atria stand on a Friday night. Cabs were streaming in with 'On call' signs and dropping off fares. When I tried to board one, the cabby refused my fare. He drove to a spot opposite the taxi stand and waited. A few minutes later, the booking call on his cab sign came on, and he drove off.
Sally Phua (Ms)
That is what i am saying ..... up the after8pm surcharge to plus 20% , see how ? Down 15% from peak hour . Down another 10% at 11pm .
Market forces ma .
Supply & demand ma .....
See if Wisma got long Q or not ?
Originally posted by Hwaimeng:hello guys
this TS copy from somehwere and paste here, i think this sally phua isnt in this form.
anyway
That why?
a copy of strait times cost 90 cent, did you aware there is a forum column... where people like this Sally Phua (Ms), and as many like he or she who wrote in... every week, something they encounter that they are unhappy on many issue related to gahmens or any others... happen this got some connection with taxi trade...
so( I )posted this article to let my fellow TD share..anything wrong.
this cock writer and some cock-atoo without any knowledges... taking taxi also joint in.
this shown, still many love taxi tropic...haha.
come on...you drive.
let me tell you...many paxs also said he drive...ask any taxi drivers over here...when your( farking) car went for servicing to the workshop, what kind alternative transports send you back and collect when its ready your (farking) car at the service centre.
you drive...hello me also drive and me olso drive taxi. many taxi driver here got their own private car...yo.
what a big deal...you drive..ha.
only thing...nothing much you know about taxi knowledges.
just see something say something....sorry about it.
Originally posted by Vee4317l:if there a $5 and $0.50 on the floor ,which 1 would you pick ???
I will pick up both. heheee….............
haha sibeh smart leh bro~~~~
Originally posted by Vee4317l:if there a $5 and $0.50 on the floor ,which 1 would you pick ???
I will pick up both. heheee….............
No wonder you quit taxi lah. When you bend down to pick the $5.50, I already $3+$3+$3.50=$9.50 with one finger pressing the meter nia. haha.
Just joking nia, bro. So many "$3+$3+$3.50=$9.50" meh?
bend down for $5.50?? that is cheap, usually bend down can earn much more than that...hehehe
Originally posted by bowah:bend down for $5.50?? that is cheap, usually bend down can earn much more than that...hehehe
Blange love the bend position.
kekekeke
walau, u very experience ..hehehe
Originally posted by bowah:walau, u very experience ..hehehe
hahaha...saw some td bend mah and bangle thougth is foc mah...hahahaha
Originally posted by Hwaimeng:hello guys
anyway
Even a non TD has the common sense to know what is all this stuff abt. dollars & sense issue.
Tell that CB Sally Phua, that TD she mentioned at Wisma was me! (maybe)
After I dropped my pax, I was like too tired to continue. So I refused her and drove to the opp side for a while & count my takings and said to myself: "Mmmm Enough for the day! Lets home sweet home."
But a call came..."Ting! pick up at TAKA taxi stand... $3.50 + $3.00 + meter" Energy suddenly slipped into my body. So I went off lor... So what was the big fuss about this?
Anything wrong?
Stupid complain Stupid pax stupid newspaper Stupid road design Stupid drive way
Haaa...