Originally posted by KCTK:bro TCL, i bought this on ebay last week. should be arriving soon. check with you...the lcd screen must be down all the time? if flip back up, is the recording still in progress? where did you positioned it? (looks like just above the IU). thanks in advance.
KTCK , with the flap down or up , the thing will still record . Be sure to check if the recording timer moves.
Basically from what i feel , this camera is at best just for minimal protection as it is not wide angled , the view that is recorded is very limited. It can prove certain cases like people whacking onto your side when you are in lane , People beating red lights and causing a junction collision , cyclist coming into your path , pedestrians dashing out suddenly. Anything more , the camera is a bit lacking.
I placed it in the centre just below the rear view mirror . be sure not to stick the suction cup on your solar film visor at the top.
And also do not buy a micro sd card with adapter coz of contact point issues , do get the 4 GB or 8 Gb sandisk SDHC card. Mustafa sells the 4 gb for 12.90 and the 8 gb for 22.90
The camera allows you to set recording in clips of 2 mins , 5 mins and 15 mins. I set at 5 mins .
A 2 min file is abt 83 MB whereas a 5 min one is abt 206 mb.
U see what a simple camera can do ?
Imagine some goondu assholes chuck from inside to our lane , and we banged them , see got 50-50 or not ?
I make sure they "ar.............." later on after seeing those clips .
Just freaking $80 , or mine , something like $70+ without the lcd , expensive ?
Think about it .
Originally posted by Tio Call Liao:KTCK , with the flap down or up , the thing will still record . Be sure to check if the recording timer moves.
Basically from what i feel , this camera is at best just for minimal protection as it is not wide angled , the view that is recorded is very limited. It can prove certain cases like people whacking onto your side when you are in lane , People beating red lights and causing a junction collision , cyclist coming into your path , pedestrians dashing out suddenly. Anything more , the camera is a bit lacking.
I placed it in the centre just below the rear view mirror . be sure not to stick the suction cup on your solar film visor at the top.
And also do not buy a micro sd card with adapter coz of contact point issues , do get the 4 GB or 8 Gb sandisk SDHC card. Mustafa sells the 4 gb for 12.90 and the 8 gb for 22.90
The camera allows you to set recording in clips of 2 mins , 5 mins and 15 mins. I set at 5 mins .
A 2 min file is abt 83 MB whereas a 5 min one is abt 206 mb.
Thanks for the info, bro. much appreciated.
Welcome Bro
Me knn finger itchy , also click buy now .....
Now $78 poorer .....
No LCD screen buay shiok ..... upgrade from the old one , old one without screen .
pool, order the other model..DVR-017s. basically same but the camera angle is wider. 120 degrees vs 85 degrees. price slightly up only ($78 -> $89). i asked them to change the model for me before shipping. is listed here..
Originally posted by KCTK:pool, order the other model..DVR-017s. basically same but the camera angle is wider. 120 degrees vs 85 degrees. price slightly up only ($78 -> $89). i asked them to change the model for me before shipping. is listed here..
This is definitely better than the one i have coz its 120 deg wide angle. wahhhhhhhh should have waited for this hehe.
anyone wan my 85 deg one? working very well .
Originally posted by KCTK:pool, order the other model..DVR-017s. basically same but the camera angle is wider. 120 degrees vs 85 degrees. price slightly up only ($78 -> $89). i asked them to change the model for me before shipping. is listed here..
It's ok la ..... i am ok with 85 degree .
I dun like so troublesome , change here change there , contra here contra there .
I am a simple man . ALways is .
85 degree no good. will miss a lot of parts unseen if anything happen.
My 120 deg is comin but is HD 720p , when i see got normal 120 deg one , knn i kick myself .
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2D8cab6ZolE
This is the 120 deg version one, see the diff? this one can zoom in to the corners of the bonnet . Any asshole come into your lane u can see clearly.
TCL, your vid marked as private, no can see.
Anyone here has spare device I can loan until the end of the year?
I need one desperately. Let me know, I'll pay you by Teh Tarik or Mee Soto, OK? :)
Originally posted by WizQ:Anyone here has spare device I can loan until the end of the year?
I need one desperately. Let me know, I'll pay you by Teh Tarik or Mee Soto, OK? :)
bro why u need one desperately? what u plan on recording?? hahaha east coast park or pierce reservoir ? :p
wa knn lion , ur kang tao so much cheaper !!!
knn felt like kena conned hahahahaha .
Originally posted by thelionsleepstonight:
Fuck shit..... really TCL now = Tio Conned Liao
damn i paid a bomb for the HD720p leh knn
Originally posted by Tio Call Liao:bro why u need one desperately? what u plan on recording?? hahaha east coast park or pierce reservoir ? :p
Eerrh, let me see.
i. WizQ saw some drunken ghost jumping in front of his cab in CQ until he is scared.
ii. WizQ heard stories from other TDs about some thugs want to bash him up so they don't need to pay the ($5) fare, until WizQ shoit in his pants.
iii. WizQ sees so many moons (half moon, full moon, crescent moon), until he steam :)
iv. WizQ wants to record nice Xmas lightning at orchard and some beautiful sunset to put in his facebook.
v. WizQ saw some cheebye kia in their Mitsubishi and honda cut into his lane until he wants to take out his parang
vi; WizQ sees some TD cut que in front of him, coz they try to earn $1500/wk (they hear many TD can <wink> ), until WizQ doesn't dare to move his car.
See bro TCL? many reason lah. But actually only the third one is important. :)
You have spare bro?name your price lah.
Cheers!
Originally posted by WizQ:Eerrh, let me see.
i. WizQ saw some drunken ghost jumping in front of his cab in CQ until he is scared.
ii. WizQ heard stories from other TDs about some thugs want to bash him up so they don't need to pay the ($5) fare, until WizQ shoit in his pants.
iii. WizQ sees so many moons (half moon, full moon, crescent moon), until he steam :)
iv. WizQ wants to record nice Xmas lightning at orchard and some beautiful sunset to put in his facebook.
v. WizQ saw some cheebye kia in their Mitsubishi and honda cut into his lane until he wants to take out his parang
vi; WizQ sees some TD cut que in front of him, coz they try to earn $1500/wk (they hear many TD can <wink> ), until WizQ doesn't dare to move his car.
See bro TCL? many reason lah. But actually only the third one is important. :)
You have spare bro?name your price lah.
Cheers!
The 120 degrees wide angle one is good. Almost can cover the entire windscreen. What your eyes see are almost all covered by the lens. I set recording time to 5 mins. File size is about 300Mb (about 60Mb/min @ 720x480). An 8Gb SD card can last about 2.5 hours before the old files are written over. So far I found Giant selling cheapest at $20.8. A good buy (the camera dah). If lion's kangtao is good can order there. Mine cost around S$89 including shipping.
Originally posted by KCTK:The 120 degrees wide angle one is good. Almost can cover the entire windscreen. What your eyes see are almost all covered by the lens. I set recording time to 5 mins. File size is about 300Mb (about 60Mb/min @ 720x480). An 8Gb SD card can last about 2.5 hours before the old files are written over. So far I found Giant selling cheapest at $20.8. A good buy (the camera dah). If lion's kangtao is good can order there. Mine cost around S$89 including shipping.
bro can u post something u recorded on youtube?
I may plan to get the 120 deg VGA if the quality is passable.
Sim Lim Sq can get 16GB selling at $48. Able to record more than 1 shift.
I had bought 2x32GB, 1 Kingston $105, 1 Sandisk $125.
32GB able to record 2-3days...
Originally posted by Tio Call Liao:bro can u post something u recorded on youtube?
I may plan to get the 120 deg VGA if the quality is passable.
hi TCL, quality ok lah. Link below...
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RMGRZrHcN0g
The microphone is knn sensitive. Can pick up pax conversation in the back. Very useful in case pax make unsubstantiated claims against you. Also will record you f-ing other drivers or singing. My vid got some clicking sound, that's the air freshner knocking against the camera when moving. Gold 90.5 can be heard in the background, fyi back speakers only and low volume level. Best to carry a spare 8Gb card in case you want to keep the current recording. Today's 5min duration files average 215Mb per file. Wonder why different from yesterday's 300Mb per file, same setting wor.
Just when I thought I bought a solid cam, this guy comes up with another. This one Dual Camera 720p $98. cb ah.