Rates across 23 Electronic Road Pricing (ERP) gantries around the island will go up from November.
This is part of the Land Transport Authority's quarterly review of ERP-priced roads and expressways, and may be the biggest single number of gantries affected this year.
Motorists passing through 23 of these gantries around the island will have to pay more from November.
The affected gantries include two along the ECP at Fort Road and KPE slip road, where rates will peak at S$4.
Rates at 11 gantries in the CBD will also go up by S$1 to S$3 while another nine gantries in the Orchard area will increase by S$1 to S$2.
Rates for other gantries remain unchanged.
The ERP is an electronic system of road pricing based on a pay as you use model and according to the Land Transport Authority, rates are adjusted to manage traffic flow.
LTA added that ERP pricing also helps to keep traffic flowing within the optimal speed range, which is 45 to 65km/h on expressways and 20 to 30km/h on arterial roads.
Motorists that Channel NewsAsia spoke with were mixed in their reaction.
"The increase is too sudden. Maybe they should do a so called survey to go around and check whether this is amount is justifiable or not," said one of the motorists.
"If the traffic is already heavy every morning, the gantries, if increase by a bit, I think the traffic will be a bit more smooth," said another motorist.
The next ERP review will take place in November for the December School Holidays.
The affected gantries include two along the ECP at Fort Road and KPE slip road, where rates will peak at S$4.
Take note morning shift guys ! 8.30am - 9.30am .
Good for us .
Less taxis inside CBD .
Less cars going inside for X'mas season .
Bingo .
All along i thought we need less cars during this year end festive season .
Less cars going in , can be good news for us .
Orchard Road hurray now .... less jams on Friday night .
Year End Orchard Road is a nightmare for me , or for us .
Starting from Lucky Plaza , all the way to Bras Basah Road , can be quite sicko on this stretch .
Take note :
Orchard Road 6.30pm - 7pm , from $1 up to $2 . ( Weekdays )
Orchard Road 6.30pm - 8pm , from $1 up to $2 . ( Saturdays only )
Bugis - Marina Centre cordon 6.30pm - 7pm ...
This one near Golden Mile i think .... up $1 to $3 .
Nevermind , 6.30pm - 8pm , i rarely need to bypass ERP to get pax if too expensive .
If i am inside , if someone sent me in , they pay , if no taxi , let's interview .
Who die ?
Not me definitely .
Less taxis , who die ?
Many yao gui cabbies still will go in pay ERP feed LTA , not me .
Pay $3 to get $3 ?
Not in my philosophy to do something not beneficial for me .
LV members will be good , i guarantee that , during year end .
What about ERP $3 , and a LV call reads : " Ritz Carlton > Fullerton Hotel ?"
Then after Fullerton trip , another came in : " OUB > Suntec "
Then at Suntec , another came in : "Mandarin oriental > Clarke Quay " ?
If no call : " Ar Ang Mor , going where , i changing shift Chinatown ."
I expect that to happen if ERP is rocket prices .
what about those road sweeper , pay $3 to sweep at taxi stand , and pax say : " Havelock River Place ."
good for them , good attitude drivers deserve such trips .
Not me , i am no samaritan .
Slightly of different topic.
ERP gantry at Bayfront Ave, after the bridge before reaching MBS hotel tower 3. What is this for ah?
Originally posted by Poolman:
The next ERP review will take place in November for the December School Holidays.
This is even more scary news. Means ERP rate may even go higher?? :)
knn squeezing $$ again......
Originally posted by Poolman:Nevermind , 6.30pm - 8pm , i rarely need to bypass ERP to get pax if too expensive .
If i am inside , if someone sent me in , they pay , if no taxi , let's interview .
Who die ?
Not me definitely .
Less taxis , who die ?
Many yao gui cabbies still will go in pay ERP feed LTA , not me .
Pay $3 to get $3 ?
Not in my philosophy to do something not beneficial for me .
LV members will be good , i guarantee that , during year end .
What about ERP $3 , and a LV call reads : " Ritz Carlton > Fullerton Hotel ?"
Then after Fullerton trip , another came in : " OUB > Suntec "
Then at Suntec , another came in : "Mandarin oriental > Clarke Quay " ?
If no call : " Ar Ang Mor , going where , i changing shift Chinatown ."
I expect that to happen if ERP is rocket prices .
See less taxi in town area these few days, all divert to orchid liao....
I'm 1 of the yao gui paid $3 to get $3.... >.<"
Bo pian, outside cbd so pack and all with " For Hire "
Originally posted by Red5xx:See less taxi in town area these few days, all divert to orchid liao....
I'm 1 of the yao gui paid $3 to get $3.... >.<"
Bo pian, outside cbd so pack and all with " For Hire "
For me $3 i wun go in lor..... if $2 still can close 1 eye :P
Originally posted by WizQ:Slightly of different topic.
ERP gantry at Bayfront Ave, after the bridge before reaching MBS hotel tower 3. What is this for ah?
This gantry belongs to the Bugis-Marina Centre cordon and this makes MBS outside the CBD boundaries.
Originally posted by service_238:
This gantry belongs to the Bugis-Marina Centre cordon and this makes MBS outside the CBD boundaries.
This does not make sense at all if it's outside the boundary... then why from temasek and republic boulevard heading towards bayfront ave need to set up erp gantry? To discourage ppl from going to casino?
Originally posted by Mvp30sg:This does not make sense at all if it's outside the boundary... then why from temasek and republic boulevard heading towards bayfront ave need to set up erp gantry? To discourage ppl from going to casino?
Squeeze more $$$ lor...... :P
Originally posted by Vee4317l:I tot School Holiday coming will reduce ERp , Why PAP $$$$ not enough again ???
Pay n Pay mah....... :P