Pick up a pax at T1 complaining to me that he has to wait 40 minutes for a cab. I told him I also waited 30 minutes. So what is the problem ? The problem is due to the renovation at T1. It has been going on for a very long time. So CIAS if you are reading this please bug up if you still want Changi to be No 1.
Originally posted by gasband:Last night I just came back from Hongkong on a business trip and as usual I left my car at home and take taxis. At T3, I saw there was no queue and when I came to the entrance, the assistant wave for a taxi to come over and it was an uncle driving a silver taxi. He was smiling as he opened the boot and when I got into his taxi, I told him Simei and he suddenly broke out in a short laughter.
He told me, wah lau today is very suay, he went to Airport 3 times that day and 3 times kena Bedok, Tampines and me, Simei. He was hoping for a connection to somewhere nearer to City area so he can go inside and take passengers for booking etc. So we triggered off a discussion about all these passengers going short distance from Airport. And he says why some TDs black face when kena these trips cos it is just not worth their time and fuel money but I told him it is also not anyone's fault that the passengers stay nearby and why should the passenger put up with bad attitude from the TD? Its just like going into a Mcdonalds and buying just a coke, does it mean we get shitty attitude compared to another person buying a meal? The uncle says no lah, just that sometimes hope that passengers understand.
You know the trip came up to $11.40 with the 5 bucks surcharge and I pass him $15 and ask him keep the change and told him better luck with his business.
Why I am writing this? The key point here is this uncle complained to me and talked to me but he was all the time smiling and at any one time, he did not make me feel guilty that I stayed in Simei. I enjoyed the short discussion with him and felt that if the taxi driver is nice to me, I do understand that going to simei to airport while not optimum, its not my fault so dun give me shit attitude. And for my end, I always make sure I tipped polite taxi drivers a few dollars despite knowing how they feel.
So to taxi drivers, why give passengers the black face? Be nice to them, you might just get a few dollars as tips. I know its not alot, but for an $11 fare, a $4 tip is pretty substantial and afterall you are just trying to earn as much money for a living, so why vent your anger and frustration on the passenger?
As for passengers, all I can say, if the taxi drivers have been polite and nice to you, why be stingy? Reward them a bit and tell them we do appreciate good service.
Tks for sharing here. I too experienced short trips to Budget Terminal, to Simei, or Expo, or CBP, Changi north.. etc. I guessed its just god's will somtimes. Though felt a bit sad but just ignore it and drove on...
My worst encounter was queued for 1 hr 15 mins during morning peak hr and gotten a trip to Changi Business Park. What a day!
For me, I dun bother to anger or show face. I just take a deep breath, sip my kopi-O and sniff my vicks inhaler and drive on........ :)
Originally posted by Sgm40 vps:Tks for sharing here. I too experienced short trips to Budget Terminal, to Simei, or Expo, or CBP, Changi north.. etc. I guessed its just god's will somtimes. Though felt a bit sad but just ignore it and drove on...
My worst encounter was queued for 1 hr 15 mins during morning peak hr and gotten a trip to Changi Business Park. What a day!
For me, I dun bother to anger or show face. I just take a deep breath, sip my kopi-O and sniff my vicks inhaler and drive on........ :)
If i wan to Q i dun complain ;)
@likeyou, in respond to your above, Like-wise , if you afraid of taxi uncle face turn black when you @ changi airport, my suggestion to you is dont use taxi on that day...
a gentle reminder......... dont mean to be blunt, just want to make my message clear n understand.( we're adult n mature enough, alot of different nationality may be reading too, so let not shame ourself by make ridiculous remark)
maybe, i am your driver some day...hahaha