They can actually chose a Holiday eve , to perform a maintenance for they MDT system !!!
It was on a busy night from 12MN to 4.30AM , what are they thinking ?
Cannot do it on a Saturday night ? All the way to Sunday morning ?
Just now from 12MN to 4.30AM , TransCab bookings hotline like working nobody business ..... i go where also got bookings .
But i reject some , only entertain one which could sent me to Mandai for refilling of CNG .
About 1.30am , Transcab actually threw me a booking at Woodlands st 13 , to T3 arrival hall ! I rejected la knn .....
I punishing those people , when they cannot get Comfort , then call us , so when they called us , i make sure they dun have any cab , hahahahah .
This exercise , actually also no good for them , very good for TransCab especially .
Cos "cause awareness" wise , we have proven to commuters , we can be equally effective !
They need not rely on Comfort taxis all the time .
And when they got TransCab , the next will be , this TransCab pax will know Lake View as well .
We distributes name cards all the way .
In Lake View , almost 50% are Red Wish .
Thnks Comfort , TransCab and Lake View are giving them a run for their money as usual .
Next when ?
Maybe they sorting out those good pax and lousy pax from their data base ....
And give only good pax to their drivers , as what TCL has requested , and started throwing out those Ah Wood , Ah Shun , Ah Wang to TransCab and the rest ????
Those of Miss Crawford , Mr Raymond Weil , Mr Antonio Bandaras , Mr Gustavo Poyet all to CDG drivers , all the likes of Miss Tan , Miss Shirley , Mr Andy , Mr Gan all goes to the drain , listen music ?
If like that , good for Lake View as well .....
Again , TransCab drivers , if all take those tai-ko calls, it's good also , then in town , not much road sweeper to disrupt me .
It doesn't affect me , 100% i am free .
Whatever CDG can do now , this way or that way .....
The drivers still in perfect control .
CDG still will be in deep shit
What Scheme A , what Scheme B , no use one !
The next working day , commuters still jam their hotlines to complain why they kept calling , also no cabs ????
Scheme B , the duration to get a call .... too long !!!!
Scheme A time , inside CBD , kena all outside CBD , became Scheme B one hour , for fuck like that ?
Where got taxi ?
Nevermind , CBD got TransCab !!!
Here you go ..... Good trip TransCab take , lousy trip , we throw back to Comfort , Silver , SMRT , Smart , Prime ......
Now CDG No.1 , TransCab No 2 ..... but we got destination !!!!!
Here you go .
What say TCL ?
He surely come in here fuck CumFuck upside down !!!!
Wanna bet ?
Ydae see the call locations saliva drop sia..... :P
Knn...no destination is one thing, kena 4 stops and end up in Sengkang, during hot hours, by the time come back war is over.
Originally posted by thelionsleepstonight:Knn...no destination is one thing, kena 4 stops and end up in Sengkang, during hot hours, by the time come back war is over.
this one looked like u cannot do anything , cos they emphasis customer service ahead of cabbies' income .
U die your problem .
I pity those CDG drivers , who's destiny is being held "ransom" by CDG .
How can you match a current job : " Fullerton Bay Hotel > MBS ?"
Or
" ORQ $5 plus meter to MBS ?"
CDG where got $5 plus meter ?
Today one job from one hotel inside CBD during peak hour : " $8 plus meter , XXX Hotel > Airport , request for a Toyota Wish ."
How to match ? And that's a Lake View call by the way .
U cannot never find pax requesting a Sonata , with $5 extra , except that they need to pay by e-voucher .
What they thinking ?
They think they still KING ?
No la , i don't think so ....
I've just recruited 3 more CDG drivers into Lake View by the way , dunno why they wanna join me ?
Originally posted by thelionsleepstonight:Knn...no destination is one thing, kena 4 stops and end up in Sengkang, during hot hours, by the time come back war is over.
Yah man 4 stops liao lor worst if last 1 at woodlands..... :P
LV recruiter also no need to hum tum comfort until like that. Ya not all comfort calls are good, but also not all LV calls are good. If the calls are good, next question is whether u got chance to grab or not? If you are at the wrong place at the wrong time, got good calls also cannot take.
As a citycab driver, I everyday also can get 3-6 CBD calls. The rest all reject. Like yesterday night, everywhere long queue of taxis inside CBD. But I still manage to grab an advance booking from MBS 10.30pm > Nassim Rd > Hume Rd. Then later got another one from One Marina Boulevard 11.55pm > Gim Moh. Got midnight, got current booking, got CBD surcharge too.
Public holidays and sundays are very bad days for cabbies, but I average 8 current bookings on sunday evenings. Ping ping ping all the way. I dont bother road sweeping at all, unless the pax ask me to send them back to town.
The problem with most radio call centre is that they are practically dead after 2359 hrs. But with comfort or other taxi companies, you do not have to pay extra for the walkie talkie subscription plus the radio taxi membership fees. The membership fee is not expensive but also not that cheap. So if the taxi company provides a good calling centre, just make full use. Its already priced into the daily rental. Do not waste it.
Sure LV got $5 plus meter or $8 plus meter, but its not that common hor. If this kind of hot calls kenna announced and u press the walkie slow a bit, the call is lost. And how many $8 plus meter can u get in an evening? Max 1 or 2 if you are lucky.
CDG MDT is more fair. Current booking come, if u like just press n its yours. No need to fight with others.
Another advantage of CDG call center. You can sway sway send someone to some very ulu location, but very good chance that CDG will provide a call nearby just for you. With a radio call center, you can forget about this ever happening. Only one lady handling calls from all over the island. How can she beat a computerised system? Somemore CDG got a big network of staff taking calls from people. Not all goes thru the standard comfort taxi booking number. When major events happen, like the sentosa barclays golfing thing, they will send an uncle down to coordinate the calls because they knew the standard taxi booking number is impossible to get thru.
Hi Brother Poolman & all the experienced taxi drivers. I am a new driver who have learnt a lot from all your wisdom and sharings. Really appreciate the generous spirit in your sharing. It certainly has helped me to learn the robes quickly.
Continue...Thanks for being so unselfish & generous in helping all the new drivers like me . I am a part-time relief driver, (like ALN, I think). I drive on Tues, Wed & Fri 4+pm to 4+am. If I have to work early the next day, I will stop at 1 or 2 am. If next day, no work I work till 4+ am.
I tried to apply all the various advice from bro. Poolman & the rest of you on being a disciplined night driver, how not to get into accidents(own fault), not to be fatigued, not to get fines & de-merit points, not to get called by LTA to drink Kopi etc.
I have learnt that night driving is all about CBD, staying within 15km of CBD, interviewing and sweeping in CBD areas, taking good calls from CBD & with good destinations, avoiding super dark zones, if possible.
Continue....(This is my first post in SG Forum..sorry that my msg. is split up because I ever lost a big chunk of my msg earlier, so I need to save part of it)..
Thanks f1taxidriver for giving your views on Comfort & LV calls as well. Like you and TCL, I am a Comfort /Citycab relief driver. I think it balances up the view given by Bro. Poolman on LV calls. I have taken the advice from this forum to start off as a relief driver with Comfort because Comfort has more calls., not too OMO . If OMO or hirer, to consider Transcab for its better benefits, $670+ for now. So, I am starting with Comfort for about 1 month already. Results not bad except for Deepavali and Hari Rayah Hol. not so good , only abot $90/- nett.
I am considering LV calls, so I hope to hear from TCL as I know he is a Comfort driver who also sign up as a LV member. What about you f1 taxidriver, are you a LV member or you don't think it is necessary or wise to try Lakeview? I understand that besides the calls, LV has some other jobs like SATS and otheropportunities.
Brother Poolman, I only drive 3 nights(Tues, Wed & Fri), do you think it is wise / advisable for me to try LV? I hope to hear from ALN too, as I know he is part-time night driver who is an LV member (am I right?). I have alot to learn from you too as you are the best-ever part-time relief driver!
Brother Poolman, I have some queries on LV too. 1) Can I share my id no. with my hirer. (i.e. Can he use it as well in the day shift, if I allow him to?) 2) Also, do we have alot of very good lobangs where we can take part in like SATS(e.g. on days when I can work right up to 4+am) (in Nov & Dec-I can), without having to fight for it like taking calls, 3)What is $5/- plus meter, does it include the CBD $3/- surcharge?, 4) Would I be able to get a 2nd hand walkie-talkie for about $80/-?,& lastly 5) Will a newbie like me have a chance to take a good inter-city calls with so many good and experienced drivers like many in this forum here!(i.e. Are there so many inter-CBD calls compared bwith Comfort for e.g.??)
Lionel,
I used to be LV member, but you must understand that to be a successful radio taxi call taker, you must be able to ambush the hot calls by staying around the right place at the right time. It takes considerable skill and experience make your LV membership worthwhile. Personally I do not find it worthwhile to pay >$65 every month for this service. In spite of whatever people say about comfort, they do have many good calls. I was able to grab calls even after midnight, and this is very rare in LV.
Like you I also got a day job. I work 5 weekdays and drive every night. Everynight sure net $XXX between 4.30pm - 12.30am. Public holiday also same, just that I need to make about 18 trips. Weekdays after about 13 trips I can close shop with $XXX net. Enough time to sleep, enough energy to work next day.
Dont waste your time worrying too much about SATS. You can try, but I made more money playing the CBD area than with SATS.
For those $5 plus meter cases from LV, it is usually from those CBD border areas like Far East Plaza, Shaw Center types. The $5 is to entice taxi uncles to come in. If they already in CBD, no need to offer the extra $5 carrot right?
Hi f1taxidriver, thanks for your quick response and invaluable feedback. You must really be a very good driver, even on public hols can make $xxx/- and weeekdays only need to work till 12.30am caan consistently earn $xxx/- Thanks for sharing with me your experience. Really appreciate it.
Originally posted by f1taxidriver:Lionel,
I used to be LV member, but you must understand that to be a successful radio taxi call taker, you must be able to ambush the hot calls by staying around the right place at the right time. It takes considerable skill and experience make your LV membership worthwhile. Personally I do not find it worthwhile to pay >$65 every month for this service. In spite of whatever people say about comfort, they do have many good calls. I was able to grab calls even after midnight, and this is very rare in LV.
Like you I also got a day job. I work 5 weekdays and drive every night. Everynight sure net $XXX between 4.30pm - 12.30am. Public holiday also same, just that I need to make about 18 trips. Weekdays after about 13 trips I can close shop with $XXX net. Enough time to sleep, enough energy to work next day.
Dont waste your time worrying too much about SATS. You can try, but I made more money playing the CBD area than with SATS.
For those $5 plus meter cases from LV, it is usually from those CBD border areas like Far East Plaza, Shaw Center types. The $5 is to entice taxi uncles to come in. If they already in CBD, no need to offer the extra $5 carrot right?
That was last time bro ... Now inside cbd $5 , plus $3 cbd , plus meter .... got it ?
U left 2 months ago ......
How much you paying for the CDG levy per month ?
For that $0.50 per call ?
Originally posted by Ong yue jin lionel:Brother Poolman, I only drive 3 nights(Tues, Wed & Fri), do you think it is wise / advisable for me to try LV?
No .
Originally posted by Poolman:
That was last time bro ... Now inside cbd $5 , plus $3 cbd , plus meter .... got it ?U left 2 months ago ......
How much you paying for the CDG levy per month ?
For that $0.50 per call ?
Yes 5.20, 3.50 call, they take 0.50. 2.50 call they take 0.40. Its still better than no bookings. CDG gives me many calls, like on sundays. How to survive on just 3.00 flag down? So on Sunday and public holidays, I need many calls, wherever the passenger sends me. Weekdays they gave me CBD calls. 3-6 current bookings inside CBD or about $3 levy. If I take LV, its an additional overhead. I need to cover the extra $2 daily or $1 if walkie shared with hirer. But so far all my hirers dont use walkies. If they got lobangs, it all goes straight to their handphone.
Becoming a LV member only makes sense if the taxi company got no or very few calls.
Unless LV can provide a flood of calls between midnight to 6am, there is no point becoming a member if you are driving for CDG.