-not suitable to post-
Hi ALN,
I actually wanted 3,5,6 as they are the best days I have learnt from all of you & actually my hirer is ok for me to have that. However, for my family reasons, I have 2 young children, a boy 6yr-old, & girl 5 yr-old, so weekends are impt. for family reasons. Next best, I reckon is 3,4,5 as taxi drivers I met says that business pick-up towards the weekend. But wife requested that Thurs I be around, hence next best is 2,3,5. Don't worry, I won't fight the title of "best ever relief" with you. I stay in Bukit Panjang. So,can I be best relief in BPJ, I will be happy with that. Ha Ha. Hey you never share whether you are also LV member? I would like to know as I also part-time and am considering whether it is worth a try at LV if I only work 3 days per week? (Sounds interesting- from what Poolman & other LV members say) Are you driving with Comfort now or are you driving Fit?
Originally posted by ALN:3 nite comfort no need LV la… at least not when u just started…
ALN best relief wor… no need LV… haha
eh, how come you know me driving Fit?
of cos he know la, u FIT here FIT there everybody sure know one... hahahah
Hi Poolman, F1taxidriver, TCL, ericp, ALN , Komade, Alamakloh,
Thanks for the lively discussion on calls from radio call stations & Comfort calls. I think the discussion is very enriching & I have learnt alot and for that I thank each one of you for taking the time to share. Hopefully, there are no hard feelings as each is just sharing their point of view, so I hope that at the end of it , we are all still v good friends, brothers & comrades.
I appreciate your analysis Poolman and offering me your walkie-talkie for $80/- If I do join LV, I will buy from you the walkie-talkie. Thanks also for answering my questions. TCL, you gave v. good advice to learn the Hotels, the commercial buildings in town, and gave a fair assessment on the Pros & Cons. It certainly helps to learn from someone who is an LV member (on radio calls since 2002) and is a Comfort driver as well. I am just waiting for ALN on his inputs on LV as he is part-time like me. I like the camaradie amongst many of the forumers here and am glad to hear that LV operates as a team(like a football team). Ericp through his love-letter style gave me insight on the LV advance calls, how they are different from Comfort adv calls, & his view that it depends on the style one adopts. Thank you, Komade & Alamakloh for your inputs and F1taxidriver for his personal sharing on his own experience on taking LV calls, and how he utilises effectively the good Comfort calls that come in. However, Poolman did say that 2 months ago, LV was undergoing some restructuring & have evolved to be a better call centre. Like you say, if LV have an abundance of v good calls from 8pm to mid-nite Mon to Fri, then it may be worth considering it again??
Thanks ALN for replying. SBS9818A is right, you talk about Fit very often. So, are you driving 3,5,6 or just fri + 1 weeknite?? Fit is not under Comfort right? Comfort only have Sonata, Crown , Merc etc. So , do you have calls, or you just sweep here, there & everywhere?
Originally posted by Poolman:Nowadays , TCL if he bid for a job , most likely he confirm those jobs one .... others dun seem to want to compete with him .
Poolman lagi no need say , if i bid , i surely will get . If someone bid together , depends , i will withdraw if i want to , u may go .
So many calls , why worry ?
ya lo...so many hor...but i still like to come from the back...
Originally posted by FT:ya lo...so many hor...but i still like to come from the back...
Knn PHUI!!! :P
Originally posted by komade:Knn PHUI!!! :P
hahaha today u idle ah so late still posting at home..... phui!
To Lionel ,
Not many can succeed at Lake View .
I still felt that those who had only less than a year experience , better start with Comfort's call .
Today , got a chap , called me to ask me a bout joining Lake View .
After asking him , he then told me he only drove one month of taxi knn !!
I told him to come back after 6 months , cos i dun think he can make it at our level .
Originally posted by SBS9818A:hahaha today u idle ah so late still posting at home..... phui!
Komade's off on Monday .
To Poolman:
Thanks for all your advice. I remember in one of your earlier posts you said that we must be willing to take baby steps: learn to crawl first, then learn how to walk, then learn how to run, then we can then consider to learn how to fly...I will brush up to learn how to go by the shortest routes, know by my fingertips all the names and locations of commercial buildings, hotels e.t.c,then how to sweep, then how to take calls,. Then, when I do join LV, I will be a good team member & contribute effectively to LV. Thanks for all your counsel, & remember I still want to buy a good second hand walkie talkie from you..when I do join LV Ha Ha!.Cheers...
Originally posted by Poolman:To Lionel ,
Not many can succeed at Lake View .
I still felt that those who had only less than a year experience , better start with Comfort's call .
Today , got a chap , called me to ask me a bout joining Lake View .
After asking him , he then told me he only drove one month of taxi knn !!
I told him to come back after 6 months , cos i dun think he can make it at our level .
yes bro, i support yr view.
is true, for new driver i also encourage to drive cdg, cos can learn alot of place we never went be4( they got alot of call for those ulu ulu place), that where i learn the place when i driving cdg for yrs and later if u want to be omo can consider transcabs( low cost after deducting the incentive $80+/day) , stay on with cdg or other coy and see which coy give u the most benefit and suit u the best. after all u r paying yr own rentals and nobody can help u.
This CDG vs LV calls topic has been bickering over and over many times and it will never end.
I can only say to each his own.
Hardcore CDG drivers will think that their system is superb while LV members feel that our call are solid.
It's true that CDG has plenty of calls everywhere, but the only calls that matter to LV outside CBD is those $5 + meter calls. Best part is, most destinations are around CBD area.
But my question is, why are there many CDG drivers in LV?
With an additional call centre/talkie to ply our trade, we can maximise our takings in a shorter time every night.
In short, anyone can join LV, but not everyone can play LV calls.
Originally posted by f1taxidriver:So far CDG calls, under 5 minutes for CBD calls is no problem one. LV under 3 minutes is good thing? Think about it, if the pax want fast, they belong to those 'no show' types. These kind of pax will grab the first empty taxi they see. Does not matter if from LV. They want fast mah. So book 2 cabs, see who come first. Take the first empty cab that comes. As a taxi driver, is this the kind of bookings u want? If the pax cannot even be bothered to wait 3-5 minutes, then these bookings are considered very hard to take. For those less than 3 minutes kind of calls, the only way is to ambush the caller. This sort of routine is meant for a very special breed of cab drivers. If u feel shiok about this kind of competition, then LV is the right place.
Pls don't be confused by the timing of LV calls.
Outside CBD, paxs may have to wait up to 15 mins & they will wait for us. Inside CBD, many members are trying for the calls, so it could be as fast as on the spot or 1 turn to call locations.
Be it 3 or 15 mins, it's not paxs that can or cannot wait. It's how LV members response to the calls.
MDT no choice. Even 1 turn must bid 5 mins and if finger slow, you lose the call.
Like I said, anyone can join LV but not everyone can play LV calls.
Thanks ericp & Mercabs, I learn from your sharings. Poolman advice for newbies to gain experience first. I was excited by the potential with LV as I have heard that there are quality calls with destinations in & around CBD areas, and those outside with $5/- + meter, plus other opportunities like SATs & Corporate jobs. Also, I like the support given by the family of LV members. However I only work part-time & ALN thinks that part-time no need be LV Mbr esp as I have just started.
Originally posted by Mercabs:Pls don't be confused by the timing of LV calls.
Outside CBD, paxs may have to wait up to 15 mins & they will wait for us. Inside CBD, many members are trying for the calls, so it could be as fast as on the spot or 1 turn to call locations.
Be it 3 or 15 mins, it's not paxs that can or cannot wait. It's how LV members response to the calls.
MDT no choice. Even 1 turn must bid 5 mins and if finger slow, you lose the call.
WIth LV, its about call centre maintaining open call and passing job to the fastest driver. So unless u r nearby, its very hard to grab those calls. In short, to make more money with LV calls requires focus and planning. Not easy at all.
CDG current bookings are a different story, no need to be fastest finger (unless advance booking). Just click 3 or 5 mins and the job is confirmed to you.
But at the end of the day whether u play LV or CDG, the income difference is not enough to pay for a condominium in hot districts. Most important thing is that you as a driver feel satisfied and happy with your ability to take calls successfully. Dont live your life with regrets. So for those who have not tried LV, you never know if it works for you. Once you tried and find out what is actually happening, you will be able to make a clear decision as to which method of taking calls works best for you.
Originally posted by f1taxidriver:WIth LV, its about call centre maintaining open call and passing job to the fastest driver. So unless u r nearby, its very hard to grab those calls. In short, to make more money with LV calls requires focus and planning. Not easy at all.
CDG current bookings are a different story, no need to be fastest finger (unless advance booking). Just click 3 or 5 mins and the job is confirmed to you.
But at the end of the day whether u play LV or CDG, the income difference is not enough to pay for a condominium in hot districts. Most important thing is that you as a driver feel satisfied and happy with your ability to take calls successfully. Dont live your life with regrets. So for those who have not tried LV, you never know if it works for you. Once you tried and find out what is actually happening, you will be able to make a clear decision as to which method of taking calls works best for you.
You are very right to say this, "In short, to make more money with LV calls requires focus and planning. Not easy at all."
Many paxs still need CDG taxis to send them home. Stay in your comfort zone.
i like this statement sia ' But at the end of the day whether u play LV or CDG, the income difference is not enough to pay for a condominium in hot districts. Most important thing is that you as a driver feel satisfied and happy with your ability to take calls successfully'
Originally posted by Mercabs:This CDG vs LV calls topic has been bickering over and over many times and it will never end.
haizzzz no calls liao la. if korea fight , all better start to put broom in your cab.
I like to add .....
Some LV members , namely MerCab , TCL , FT , Sonata83 , or rather myself .... when we bid for some jobs , we hardly has got much competitions .
Right bo ?
Cos there were just too many each day , not too many recently to be honest .
Again , it's about their reputation as a punctual , dun play play with my ETA attitude , others are wasting their time and resources to challenge us .
When u are a on-the-dot punctual driver , other members are not afraid of you , but they respect you , they rather spent more time hunting for other resources , rather then to challenge you .
So many calls what !