Not sure if TDs here are aware of this. Install this iPhone app called Palringo, and join taxiuncle group. Only cabbies please, this group is not meant for media spies or pax looking for a free taxi booking service.
It works similar to the walkie talkie, and in addition, u can post photos, and messages. The walkie talkie messages are stored as audio clips so you can replay them as often as u wish in case you do not catch it the first time. Last but not least, it is FREE. No monthly PTT subscriptions to Grid communications is required. Members provide good png lobangs, road traffic conditions, etc.
Using your "smart"phones go to www.parlingo.com. It will prompt to download appropriate version according to your OS.
ps, I heard latest iphone version got bug. iphone users please use second latest version or wait until Apple sell new 4GX phones. ha ha ha
Originally posted by f1taxidriver:Not sure if TDs here are aware of this. Install this iPhone app called Palringo, and join taxiuncle group. Only cabbies please, this group is not meant for media spies or pax looking for a free taxi booking service.
It works similar to the walkie talkie, and in addition, u can post photos, and messages. The walkie talkie messages are stored as audio clips so you can replay them as often as u wish in case you do not catch it the first time. Last but not least, it is FREE. No monthly PTT subscriptions to Grid communications is required. Members provide good png lobangs, road traffic conditions, etc.
You need to be crazier than me in order to bring yourself to media spies on taxiuncle.
Maybe it's more apprioriate for GAYS who fantaised about masturbating to taxi uncles.
if im not wrong, if you want to use palringo on your iPhone you need data plan...
where gt tis group sia...
Originally posted by SBS9818A:if im not wrong, if you want to use palringo on your iPhone you need data plan...
all iphones has got data plans from their respectively telcos .
Originally posted by carfield02:where gt tis group sia...
taxiuncle walkie group is a group , set up by a group of taxi drivers .
They also has their own group ID from Grid .
It's just meant to share infos .
Originally posted by WizQ:Then uncle Poolman can start his own group. ha ha ha
Me hands full .
Left hand walkie , right hand steering , left eye on MDT , right eye on the road .
Left ear listening walkie jobs , right ear listen to honking from behind .
Where got time .
In Lake View , it's already a group .
But at specific time , no chatting allowed .Surely kena left/right/centre from Management .
Other members want jobs !!!
Walkie is for jobs ! Not for chit chatting .
Walkie is to inform important traffic infos to fellow members .
Walkie is to highlight opportunites , be it at Airport , Expo , RWS , MBS etc ....
Mainly walkie is for jobs !!!!
Walkie for for short & sharp conveying of messages .
Some LV members , funny , knowing 8pm Harbourfront is always full of cheapos , they actually can say : " Harbourfront pick n go "
Who also know harbourfront pick n go .
No need such un-neccessary infos .
U dun join a group , at 10pm , telling you by walkie : " Serangoon Plaza pick n go ."
Nonsense as far as i am concern .
Who also know that !
Walkie is for something like : " RWS has got Convention , 3000 people attending , members nearby don't go , it'll be very jam when coming out ."
Not ....
" RWS has got convention , 10pm finish , members nearby can try ."
Try for what ? CBD so busy ?
Walkie is to help fellow members in some AP infos , like :
" Members , Sgp Airlines to Dubai , which Terminal ? "
This is valuable infos to fellow members .
Originally posted by WizQ:not only taxi groups but many other groups in sg you can join to chit chat.
not sure about marine fish group, but if search for geylang supper club or viet girl hunting club i think should have lah. lolz
Then uncle Poolman can start his own group. ha ha ha
VC hunting?? Where?? Where?? :P
Originally posted by Poolman:
all iphones has got data plans from their respectively telcos .
hahaha yes, but there might be some ppl using iphone without data plan (like me lor... PHUI!)
Originally posted by Poolman:
Me hands full .Left hand walkie , right hand steering , left eye on MDT , right eye on the road .
Left ear listening walkie jobs , right ear listen to honking from behind .
Where got time .
In Lake View , it's already a group .
But at specific time , no chatting allowed .Surely kena left/right/centre from Management .
Other members want jobs !!!
Walkie is for jobs ! Not for chit chatting .
Walkie is to inform important traffic infos to fellow members .
Walkie is to highlight opportunites , be it at Airport , Expo , RWS , MBS etc ....
Mainly walkie is for jobs !!!!
Uncle Poolman is right,
If you want to use walkie for tool to improve earnings, please join LV or other walkie groups because they have bookings (according to captain Phui is always huat big $$$ one :) )
This free parlingo walkie groups are basically only for sharing traffic info, airport info, hot locations and other hot info. There are quite a few (Singapore) taxi related groups on parlingo, you can choose the group that suits you best. There was even a group that have both cabbies and commuters as members and any commuter can place their booking there for cabby to take.
Of course being less regulated, after the CBD happy hour is over there are members who like to chit chat to relieve their stress :).
You are right WizQ, Palringo installed smart or iphones are basically for info sharing only.Unlike walkie talkie which is useful for getting jobs.Parlingo gets "hang" quite often and transmission is much slower than walkie talkie.
However, for those taxi drivers without a walkie talkie, you may like to consider giving this free tool a try.Make new friends, relieve stress and break boredom of driving on the road.Especially in the middle of the night, you'll get a feeling of not been alone on the road.
I have just started a new Palringo channel about a month ago. The "Taxi Navigation Channel" is just like a radio channel for taxi drivers to come share info and make friends.The rules are simple.Minimum chit chatting during CBD peak hours and be courteous to all users on air.
Installed Palringo in your iphone and join in by typing in the word "taxiuncle".
Have fun !
Installed on my Motorola Milestone.
Installed on my Samsung Galaxy S running android. Works fine with text messaging. Only glitch was that the app hangs constantly when I playback member's voice recordings. Read somewhere that Palringo doesn't work as well on android compared to iphone and windows phones. Hoping for updates that'll fix that.