hi all lao jiao here,
pls advise m which company shl i go go for... basically, i juz pass my TVDL n i hv some cash problem 2 put into security deposit, so is there anyway i can go wif or maybe which company allow installment...
Thkq 4 advise...
Newbie,
carfield
Only Comfort , but still , u need to deposit at least $250 .
What's the problem with being a relief first ?
No money still wanna be a slave for taxi company ?
Go become a relief , then u can talk about being a hirer .
Crawl first , then walk , then run , then sprint .
I am the master .
Believe one more person in your life , and that's me , do you more good than harm .
Good luck .
In between crawling and walking , u tends to fall flat on your nose sometimes , not all the time .
But it's ok , that's part & parcel of being a taxi driver .
Then u learn , from there , u walk slowly , then walk properly .
Many followed my advice , and last longer .
There is one chap , name mdt fellow , just got TVDL , sign on for Comfort , less than 2 months , disappeared from taxi industry totally .
And many more , disappeared from the forum totally .
Those who believe me , started off as relief , most are now happy lot .
And some even joined me at Lake View .
Cos they believe in me .
Pool
No where did he mention that he wants to be hirer leh... Just asking which company should he go for. For both hirer and relief, also must place deposit mah...
Other than that, the rest of your post is well said. Except that after 3 months of driving, I'm fiddling with the idea of going OMO with Comfort. TransCab is good, but the lack of CNG station in the East plus the attractiveness of Comfort's calls (lost count of how many times it's help me to get out of ulu ulu places) means that signing up for a Wish is a non-starter for me at the moment.
bro can tell us why u wanna OMO? For me i cant understand why perhaps u can enlighten me a bit .
Several reasons, but "earn more money" is not one of it. In fact, I'm prepared to earn lesser than what I'm earning now.
1. Flexibility for working hours. Currently I work from 5pm - 6:30am. I have a good hirer who only charge me half his rental with Comfort for this slot. As long as the car is washed and in the carpark by 6:30am, he's fine with what I do with it. Furthermore, he's staying next block from me, hence commuting to work is a leisurely 5 min walk. I don't mind working a couple of hours (targetting the morning peak of 7 - 9:30) more to cover the extra rental. I do concur that this working time slot is probably not gonna change since I very much prefer working night shift than day shift. (Oops... Have I shot myself in the foot here?)
2. Usage of car during off work hours. This is definitely more of a "want" rather than a "need". There are certain occassions that I need the use of a car to run errands and ended up wasting time waiting for a cab near my place. Yes, I'm one of the cheapo that do not call for a cab. Not for running errands. If urgent, I will call. But, running errands in not classify under urgent.
3. Guess this can fall into Point 1 but I hated that I have to forgo juicy jobs or rush to have my car washed, diesel pumped in order to hand over vehicle. I love scheduling advance jobs. And Comfort seems to love me as well... (Just imagine... a grand total of 7 advance jobs in 1 working night. Can you beat that? That's not even counting current jobs.) LOL... There are already couple of times that handing over of vehicle is screwed up due to customers delaying my timing. I'm the sort that even if I only have 30 mins left before handover and a juicy job pop up (either via a call - at certain timing, you can guess what job it's going to be - or via a street pax), I will still go for it.
I have been keeping records and currently, my income has been very consistent over the last 2 months (Mon - Sat). Sunday is different as without surcharges, I'm not motivated enough to ply the streets. I do have to add that the lack of surcharges is mitigated by the fact that there are less taxis on the street and most of the time, my collection from 5 - 8 pm on Sundays is almost the same as my collection from 5 - 8 pm on Weekddays. I just work to cover my rental and diesel and that's it. At the moment, my fare collection is sufficient to cover the entire rental ($105 for Sonata) plus diesel and still afford me a decent saving. No mentioning of figures here, and my idea of decent savings might be different from your's or even Pool's.
I am a member of LV although I do have to add that for the past 2 months, my call jobs with LV is a big fat ZERO, so my income over the last 2 months has been entirely playing Comfort's system. Nothing wrong with LV, just that I'm not the type to forgo sweeping in favour of ambushing for juicy jobs. I think Pool (and some LV members on board here) will also agree that to succeed with LV, you have to make adjustment to your working style. Currently, I am very contented with just sweeping and taking Comfort calls. Yes, there are shit jobs but a lot of times, I can count on Comfort to give me a call to send me back to town (or nearby). Just imagine... Church Street > YCK then YCK > Raffles Hotel. And, this is during peak hour. Just this 2 jobs almost cover my rental. And the best part is that I don't have to forgo sweeping in order to make sure these 2 jobs are mine. Not condemning walkie system here. Just different strokes for different folks.
Ok, think I have veered off course already... I recognise that my reasons for wanting to get my own car is probably not strong enough to really take that step forward. That's why I'm still toying with the idea now and not doing anything yet. Next month, my hirer is going on vacation. The last time he went on one, I made a big mess. This time, I'm going to use the 4/5 days to work exactly the way that I had planned to work (if I'm going OMO) and see how it pans out.
Long post, but hope it answer your queries...
Originally posted by TaxiNoob:Several reasons, but "earn more money" is not one of it. In fact, I'm prepared to earn lesser than what I'm earning now.
1. Flexibility for working hours. Currently I work from 5pm - 6:30am. I have a good hirer who only charge me half his rental with Comfort for this slot. As long as the car is washed and in the carpark by 6:30am, he's fine with what I do with it. Furthermore, he's staying next block from me, hence commuting to work is a leisurely 5 min walk. I don't mind working a couple of hours (targetting the morning peak of 7 - 9:30) more to cover the extra rental. I do concur that this working time slot is probably not gonna change since I very much prefer working night shift than day shift. (Oops... Have I shot myself in the foot here?)
2. Usage of car during off work hours. This is definitely more of a "want" rather than a "need". There are certain occassions that I need the use of a car to run errands and ended up wasting time waiting for a cab near my place. Yes, I'm one of the cheapo that do not call for a cab. Not for running errands. If urgent, I will call. But, running errands in not classify under urgent.
3. Guess this can fall into Point 1 but I hated that I have to forgo juicy jobs or rush to have my car washed, diesel pumped in order to hand over vehicle. I love scheduling advance jobs. And Comfort seems to love me as well... (Just imagine... a grand total of 7 advance jobs in 1 working night. Can you beat that? That's not even counting current jobs.) LOL... There are already couple of times that handing over of vehicle is screwed up due to customers delaying my timing. I'm the sort that even if I only have 30 mins left before handover and a juicy job pop up (either via a call - at certain timing, you can guess what job it's going to be - or via a street pax), I will still go for it.
I have been keeping records and currently, my income has been very consistent over the last 2 months (Mon - Sat). Sunday is different as without surcharges, I'm not motivated enough to ply the streets. I do have to add that the lack of surcharges is mitigated by the fact that there are less taxis on the street and most of the time, my collection from 5 - 8 pm on Sundays is almost the same as my collection from 5 - 8 pm on Weekddays. I just work to cover my rental and diesel and that's it. At the moment, my fare collection is sufficient to cover the entire rental ($105 for Sonata) plus diesel and still afford me a decent saving. No mentioning of figures here, and my idea of decent savings might be different from your's or even Pool's.
I am a member of LV although I do have to add that for the past 2 months, my call jobs with LV is a big fat ZERO, so my income over the last 2 months has been entirely playing Comfort's system. Nothing wrong with LV, just that I'm not the type to forgo sweeping in favour of ambushing for juicy jobs. I think Pool (and some LV members on board here) will also agree that to succeed with LV, you have to make adjustment to your working style. Currently, I am very contented with just sweeping and taking Comfort calls. Yes, there are shit jobs but a lot of times, I can count on Comfort to give me a call to send me back to town (or nearby). Just imagine... Church Street > YCK then YCK > Raffles Hotel. And, this is during peak hour. Just this 2 jobs almost cover my rental. And the best part is that I don't have to forgo sweeping in order to make sure these 2 jobs are mine. Not condemning walkie system here. Just different strokes for different folks.
Ok, think I have veered off course already... I recognise that my reasons for wanting to get my own car is probably not strong enough to really take that step forward. That's why I'm still toying with the idea now and not doing anything yet. Next month, my hirer is going on vacation. The last time he went on one, I made a big mess. This time, I'm going to use the 4/5 days to work exactly the way that I had planned to work (if I'm going OMO) and see how it pans out.
wow solid answers bro. Good luck if u decide to OMO :)
1st, i wanna thkq all e bros advise... btw wat is OMO???
@bro Pools: do u mean tat wif comfort i juz need 2 put juz $250 as deposit??? n it is for hire or relief...
Originally posted by carfield02:1st, i wanna thkq all e bros advise... btw wat is OMO???
@bro Pools: do u mean tat wif comfort i juz need 2 put juz $250 as deposit??? n it is for hire or relief...
OMO = One-Man-Operation
Ya lor , i dunno now if these policy still remain , my time yes .
$250 x 4 instalments .
Originally posted by Poolman:
OMO = One-Man-OperationYa lor , i dunno now if these policy still remain , my time yes .
$250 x 4 instalments .
hirer - $1000 full payment in order to take the taxi
relief - yes, $1000 or $250 x 4 instalments thru giro.
Originally posted by carfield02:1st, i wanna thkq all e bros advise... btw wat is OMO???
dun wait liao, 2moro go down to comfort, put $250 deposit and start looking for hirer, is good to start as a relief with comfort, dun be OMO when u are still new in this line, u will be under pressure and eventually u will gv up after two or three month( my personal view).
GD LUCK n ALL THE BEST.
bro ericp... thkq 4 ur advise... will go down on tues n apply 4 relief... btw if relief then wanna switch 2 OMO, i dun need pay other 1000 rite since i have pay e 1000 as relief liao is it??? or need 2 pay other 1000 wor???
Originally posted by carfield02:bro ericp... thkq 4 ur advise... will go down on tues n apply 4 relief... btw if relief then wanna switch 2 OMO, i dun need pay other 1000 rite since i have pay e 1000 as relief liao is it??? or need 2 pay other 1000 wor???
No need.
That Good, go and try. whether can or cannot only individual know themself better. We can only share and gv some of our experience here.
Originally posted by TaxiNoob:Pool
No where did he mention that he wants to be hirer leh... Just asking which company should he go for. For both hirer and relief, also must place deposit mah...
He very much sounds like going to hire a cab , but he sibei blur la knn ....very blur hhahahaha .
Luckily come here , we pulled him put of the quicksand .
Good he wake up and followed a regular newbie's path , and that's relief .
And i am relieved for him .
Originally posted by TaxiNoob:Several reasons, but "earn more money" is not one of it. In fact, I'm prepared to earn lesser than what I'm earning now.
Hi Taxi Noob,
All your 3 points above are valid points, but may not be practical if you think deeper on your point 1 and 3.
For Point 1 on flexible hours, you need to drive beyond the usual 12hrs shift if going for OMO to cover the full rental, say at least 3 hrs, so that will be at least 15 hrs on the road... So with only 9 hrs left to rest how to be flexible?!
And that will link to Point 3 for taking advance jobs beyond the fixed 12 hrs shift. How long can you tahan?
No doubt you have the luxury of having your own ride to run errands or drive your family around but OMO means rentals full 7 days versus relief can opt to drive 6 days and 1 truely rest day that no need to cover rental.
I'm speaking from my own experience as I started as OMO for 3 months before switching to relief and a whole lot happier TD with lesser stress.![]()
Originally posted by Reliefdriver4u:You guys keep telling him to go Comfort and pay deposit …
But New 1st Time Relief need to find a hirer first
and register together and interview by Comfort Admin
before Comfort can accept you as relief
100% right !!!
Spot-on , must find a hirer first .
You play LV calls leh... So far Comfort calls worked for me. Last Saturday steam steam... East > West > Orchard > West > Orchard again...
I also start out as a part time relief driving 1am to 7am for 3-4 nights a week due to my full time job commitment. Lucky to find a nice hirer just stay opposite my block to give me a feel of being a TD. He only charge me $20 cos he got a day relief driving 7am-5pm and he used to drive 5pm to past midnight 3am-4am. But due to health reason he finding a part time relief. That is in June this year.
Then after a month plus I go OMO driving a 1.8 Wish around end July. After 4 months of trying CNG and got a hang of it. I sign up for a new 2.0 Wish and getting my cab tomorrow. Now still on my full time job which is perm night shift working 15 hours a month. I drive from 8am-11am and 4pm-7pm on my working days which can cover my rental and CNG. On my off days I drive 4pm-12am covering rental and some pocket money. Sometimes my off days on fridays will drive 4pm-5am so can cover weekends rentals as well. Sat and Sun drive 2pm-7pm/8pm depends what time my BPL starts. So far so good still can make decend money from the taxi driving. 1 off day a week to catch up with friend or laze at home. Transcab can lah. Every month on the 10 all your stress will go away....LOL
Why I like Wish because it is not diesel. Yes I hate diesel cos very noisy. Drive too long will have headache. Drive CNG is different. Just like driving normal car. More comfortable when driving long hours. I tried driving Sonata for 2 days 12 hours shift when I started as a relief will have backaches. But for Wish my longest track record is drive 17 hours from 8am-1am continuous for 5 days when I am clearing my leave last month and still feel fresh after the 5th day.![]()
Originally posted by TaxiNoob:You play LV calls leh... So far Comfort calls worked for me. Last Saturday steam steam... East > West > Orchard > West > Orchard again...
Here as a friend , not as a LV colleague , i think why do you need to spent $30 , plus Grid $30 , just to listen and not take calls ?
After your Grid's contract , why not terminate the grid sim card , and focus solely on Comfort's call .
And save money $60 .
It's up to you .
As a friend .
U also never looked to me a Airport fellow .... so AP infos , also not important .
Where pick n go ? U should know by now ? Need walkie infos ?
Originally posted by Reliefdriver4u:You guys keep telling him to go Comfort and pay deposit …
But New 1st Time Relief need to find a hirer first
and register together and interview by Comfort Admin
before Comfort can accept you as relief
u hv to go down with a hirer only if u hv someone u know as a hirer, if not can just go down CDG register,tell them u want to be a relief and they will provide u a list of hirer looking for relief around yr area. the trouble is that u hv to go down 1time(oledi got yr hirer) or 2times(without hirer), get the list and find a hirer, go down with the hirer again and register for his taxi.
I start as a relief by the name list CDG provide me and found my hirer from there 5yrs ago.