Should Taxi Drivers be paid more ?
1. Taxi Drivers have been complaining that their take home is very low and can
barely feed a family.
2. Taxi Drivers have no bonus, no holidays, no sick leaves etc
3. Taxi Drivers have to take risks as they have to pay taxi rental even if they are
sick
4. BUT taxi drivers also very relaxed as they choose their own working hours
5. Taxi Drivers do not need much skills as long as they know the roads and
landmarks and know how to drive a car
6. Taxi drivers work in comfort with aircon, music, radios and some with videos.
So, are taxi drivers under-paid or over-paid ?
Yes, taxi-drivers should be paid more.
Then my taxi-driver relative who owes me
$$ can return me faster..
Hmm...:-)
If they charge more than less people will take taxi.
As simple as that
Taxi drivers are already earning more and their average income is already more than those who are employed by companies.
Taxi drivers are actually considered self-employed and they get to earn as much time as they put in to work.
Taxi drivers pays only little to zero income tax.
Why do you think many people quit their real jobs and took up taxi driving instead?
The money is there, but if you asked another taxi driver, they will tell you the money isn't there because they discourage you to increase their competition.
Originally posted by Devil7030:Should Taxi Drivers be paid more ?
1. Taxi Drivers have been complaining that their take home is very low and can
barely feed a family.
2. Taxi Drivers have no bonus, no holidays, no sick leaves etc
3. Taxi Drivers have to take risks as they have to pay taxi rental even if they are
sick
4. BUT taxi drivers also very relaxed as they choose their own working hours
5. Taxi Drivers do not need much skills as long as they know the roads and
landmarks and know how to drive a car
6. Taxi drivers work in comfort with aircon, music, radios and some with videos.
So, are taxi drivers under-paid or over-paid ?
The earnings of a TD is really nothing to shout about. Considering how much the country has moved forward , the earnings are still lagging. If ever one day , SG cabbies can hit the earnings of UK cabbies , then we can safely say we will be a happier bunch.
There are just too much hazards on the roads these days and also one need to have some savings for
(1) At fault accidents - $2140 incl GST
(2) Parking & speeding fines
(3) Paying rentals for days when TD is sick
Just have to kena (1) & u hit the jackpot!
In general , December is not a time to discuss abt TDs getting paid more or not coz this is a good month.
Come January , February ,& march , lets see if some people can have the energy to shout their 3k , 4k earning figures for all to see hahahha
I cannot understand some people really :)
Originally posted by Tio Call Liao:The earnings of a TD is really nothing to shout about. Considering how much the country has moved forward , the earnings are still lagging. If ever one day , SG cabbies can hit the earnings of UK cabbies , then we can safely say we will be a happier bunch.
There are just too much hazards on the roads these days and also one need to have some savings for
In general , December is not a time to discuss abt TDs getting paid more or not coz this is a good month.
Come January , February ,& march , lets see if some people can have the energy to shout their 3k , 4k earning figures for all to see hahahha
If taxi drivers are earning more, just admit that they are earning more lor. What's there to hide anyway?
You can skip paying the daily rent when you're sick IF you choose to drive the old taxi.
Who asked you to drive the brand new ones with the on-call screen?
Originally posted by parn:You can skip paying the daily rent when you're sick IF you choose to drive the old taxi.
obviously u are not a TD to not know that old taxis cost just as much.
stupid Q
NEXT!
Originally posted by parn:
If taxi drivers are earning more, just admit that they are earning more lor. What's there to hide anyway?You can skip paying the daily rent when you're sick IF you choose to drive the old taxi.
If taxi drivers are earning more, just admit that they are earning more lor. What's there to hide anyway?
I for one am not earning more , it is abt the same. And i still recommend that CDG imposes chrysler fares $5 + $0.30 jump to ease the demand for cabs. Day drivers will earn more with this adjustment too.
This structure will weed out those marginal users , save having them to complain abt us day in and day out.
You can return the OLD taxi if don't feel like renting it anytime.
You cannot do that if you are renting the newer taxi.
Nobody is talking about the cost of the rental. Why don't you come out and admit that taxi drivers are earning alot more nowadays?
Originally posted by parn:You can return the OLD taxi if don't feel like renting it anytime.
You cannot do that if you are renting the newer taxi.
Nobody is talking about the cost of the rental. Why don't you come out and admit that taxi drivers are earning alot more nowadays?
Wah u mean can return the taxi to the taxi company on the day that you are sick and tell them "Eh today I not driving coz I sick. Nah, I return u taxi today then tml I ok le I come back take from you."??
Please enlighten leh...I buay hiao...
More like Bo Parn Huat...haiz..
Originally posted by FinallyThirty:
Wah u mean can return the taxi to the taxi company on the day that you are sick and tell them "Eh today I not driving coz I sick. Nah, I return u taxi today then tml I ok le I come back take from you."??Please enlighten leh...I buay hiao...
When you have planned beforehand that you don't want to drive the taxi on certain dates, you can return the old taxi to the company and they will rent it out to other people. No deposit required if you're taking old taxi.
New taxi need deposit when you hire it. And the deposit will be gone if you return the new taxi to the company if you break the rental period.
When you have planned beforehand that you don't want to drive the taxi on certain dates, you can return the old taxi to the company and they will rent it out to other people. No deposit required if you're taking old taxi.New taxi need deposit when you hire it. And the deposit will be gone if you return the new taxi to the company if you break the rental period.
Planned one mai kong lah...working also can plan to quit and rest for a month or a year before going back to work wat...During working time sick for a month have to take leave to cover. Cover till no leave liao have to take no pay leave to cover..this one is call bo parn huat what...got difference leh...
Or u mean outside working sick le can tell company that u quit for a while then later when ok le go back to work? Aiyo...
Like what bro ALN say, sick how to plan beforehand?? Haiz...
Originally posted by ALN:sick how to plan before hand?
my hirer’s other relief sick 1 month liao… here pain there pain…
so relief no income…
hirer cover for relief until concuss liao…
now ALN also must cover… no time to kick football! phui!
Alot of self-employed people also get no sick pay and taxi driver is no different too.
Although the taxi belonged to the taxi company, the driver don't get paid by the taxi company and can easily lose the taxi over a mere complaint from customer.
Taxi companies should protect their own drivers against such abusive customers.
But they are not doing it, so taxi drivers must learn how to protect their own business lor.
Originally posted by ALN:WHO is earning alot??? ALN want to know!
Me hand to mouth for years liao… sometimes parang anyhow fly also wor…
ya...this what i came to know about the salary of a taxi driver in Japan.
Taxi Driver
325万円
Income tax in Japan is 10% up
to 3,300,000 yen, 20% of base exceeding 3,300,000 yen, 30% of base exceeding
9,000,000 yen, and 37% for base exceeding 18,000,000 yen.
Originally posted by FinallyThirty:
Planned one mai kong lah...working also can plan to quit and rest for a month or a year before going back to work wat...During working time sick for a month have to take leave to cover. Cover till no leave liao have to take no pay leave to cover..this one is call bo parn huat what...got difference leh...Or u mean outside working sick le can tell company that u quit for a while then later when ok le go back to work? Aiyo...
Like what bro ALN say, sick how to plan beforehand?? Haiz...
Then hawkers leh? You can find relief driver if you really sick for one or two days, but most taxi drivers prefer not to do so.
One day $96, you split 1/2 with your night/day driver, so it's not much to lose in a day. Can easily earn it back then go home and rest for the day.
Hawkers have no relief hawkers and they still pay for the stall rental even though they are sick.
If you want to imagine taxi driving as the perfect job, then it's no wonder you're driving a taxi.
Originally posted by komade:
Old taxis no need to pay rental meh......
renting is a recurring expense, and buying outright(one shot pay for the taxi vehicle itself) and hence no need pay rent is more worth it.
Originally posted by kengkia:
renting is a recurring expense, and buying outright(one shot pay for the taxi vehicle itself) and hence no need pay rent is more worth it.
If I'm not wrong, you cannot do that anymore.
Are you a taxi driver ? come on admit it, if you are not no shame on admiting you are not a taxi driver. it seems likely you are not because of the way your way of saying here. why you said "many people quit their real jobs and took up taxi driving instead?" people have no choice as they are jobless for a long time thanks to gov policy FT. if you think singapore is recovering you better think again. And also you can try to drive 12 hour a day then you tell me it good to be taxi driver of cos you can said you sub let to relief driver but you must try first before you have the right to said anything here.
I know cos i am a ex taxi driver.
Originally posted by parn:If I'm not wrong, you cannot do that anymore.
somebody up there wnats passive income, that's y this recurring renting thing.
Originally posted by Tio Call Liao:The earnings of a TD is really nothing to shout about. Considering how much the country has moved forward , the earnings are still lagging. If ever one day , SG cabbies can hit the earnings of UK cabbies , then we can safely say we will be a happier bunch.
ya, pay them more and see more taxi driver sitting ard coffeeshop TCSS just before or after peak hrs while passengers are kept waiting ard the streets.. (dun quote me, cos was repeatedly told of such stuff by my workers..
also, a couple of things in my point of view.. as you said,
fault accident??? thats your fault anyway,
parking & speeding fines?? thats again your choice..
paying during sick leave?? well just think how much i'm paying to my workers who is on sick leave, 14days a year/worker and add in their leaves.. and look, who is complaining??? dun get me wrong, i'm not complaining abt my workers annual or sick leaves, i just wanna point to you another point of view only..