indeed, just like you have to pay the worker's normal rate for the day, TD also got to pay for vehicle rent, no different since a TD is his own boss effectively.
Originally posted by parn:
Then hawkers leh? You can find relief driver if you really sick for one or two days, but most taxi drivers prefer not to do so.One day $96, you split 1/2 with your night/day driver, so it's not much to lose in a day. Can easily earn it back then go home and rest for the day.
Hawkers have no relief hawkers and they still pay for the stall rental even though they are sick.
If you want to imagine taxi driving as the perfect job, then it's no wonder you're driving a taxi.
Not prefer not to do so leh...sick is on that day wake up feel sick = last min how to look for relief driver?? Take MC also is on that day wake up go and take MC what..u can take next week's MC meh...
Last min sick = cannot find relief = $96 all gonez becoz sick le how to drive? Wanna lose life or lose $96??
If wanna compare to hawker, their risk and all the cham cham chui chui kua bo $$ is a lot less compared to TDs isn't it??
I certainly am not thinking that being a TD is the perfect job...I believe TD bros here are definitely not thinking that way too...in contrast, I think you are the one that is saying that TDs earn damn a lot leh...
Nobody is talking about the cost of the rental. Why don't you come out and admit that taxi drivers are earning alot more nowadays?
There is nothing to admit . You can go on & on abt TDs earning a lot , If indeed TDs are earning a lot , MIndef will not just reimburse NSmen $80 a day .for their ICT
& PTC will not approve the fare increases. Dont think that 5% of TDs make $ means 95% of the rest are doing the same.
Which is why Poolman's range of 3k per mth does not apply to the whole general market.
Just take for example , Property agents , you see big big adverts , X agent makes $200k a year , how many actually do make that amt? Some cant even close deals for mths!
Taxi driving sometimes huat , sometime OBK.
Originally posted by Saltiga:ya, pay them more and see more taxi driver sitting ard coffeeshop TCSS just before or after peak hrs while passengers are kept waiting ard the streets.. (dun quote me, cos was repeatedly told of such stuff by my workers..
also, a couple of things in my point of view.. as you said,
fault accident??? thats your fault anyway,
parking & speeding fines?? thats again your choice..
paying during sick leave?? well just think how much i'm paying to my workers who is on sick leave, 14days a year/worker and add in their leaves.. and look, who is complaining??? dun get me wrong, i'm not complaining abt my workers annual or sick leaves, i just wanna point to you another point of view only..
Quote :ya, pay them more and see more taxi driver sitting ard coffeeshop TCSS just before or after peak hrs while passengers are kept waiting ard the streets.. (dun quote me, cos was repeatedly told of such stuff by my workers..
Coming from someone who runs a business with workers , do u maximize your profits?
Say you are a TD at tanglin road , 1 pax flag u and u know just 100 m away is lucky plaza and u get $3 extra , what do u do?
I dunno abt the rest but i have my meal breaks at 11 pm which is the time for me to recharge to do my midnight runs. If one day u see me at a kopi tiam TCSS , you really cannott fault me for tat as i think 11 pm is the worse hour to do my rounds & my body needs a rest.
<<
paying during sick leave?? well just think how much i'm paying to my workers who is on sick leave, 14days a year/worker and add in their leaves.. and look, who is complaining??? dun get me wrong, i'm not complaining abt my workers annual or sick leaves, i just wanna point to you another point of view only..>>
Which is why i wanna tell would be drivers that life is not a bed of roses as a TD. Some moderator here , for some strange reasons , wants to invite people to be TDs and people not knowing what are the pitfalls ahead jumps into it.
This serves to tell some of them not to just listen to nice stories.
Originally posted by Tio Call Liao:There is nothing to admit . You can go on & on abt TDs earning a lot , If indeed TDs are earning a lot , MIndef will not just reimburse NSmen $80 a day .for their ICT
& PTC will not approve the fare increases. Dont think that 5% of TDs make $ means 95% of the rest are doing the same.
Originally posted by Saltiga:ya, pay them more and see more taxi driver sitting ard coffeeshop TCSS just before or after peak hrs while passengers are kept waiting ard the streets.. (dun quote me, cos was repeatedly told of such stuff by my workers..
also, a couple of things in my point of view.. as you said,
paying during sick leave?? well just think how much i'm paying to my workers who is on sick leave, 14days a year/worker and add in their leaves.. and look, who is complaining??? dun get me wrong, i'm not complaining abt my workers annual or sick leaves, i just wanna point to you another point of view only..
So what business are you in???
Need Workers???? Can I join???
Been in welding works. Carpentry. Vehicle mechanic. Can cook ( zhe car ), used to have my own seafood restaurant.
40 years old but no cert. $2000 is enough
Interested???
You think we are having easy life. If got chance to change, a lot of TD will rather gave up their taxi.
Talking about fault accident. My rear left door was bang by a van, but i still have to repair myself. Not my fault I was going straight but the stupid fella just signal and turn out without looking. My company say no witness better not claim, 50/50 chance only. If want to claim, can but if the claim doesn't go through then i will have to pay company $2000. We are out there on our own, company doesn't protect us.
Been slap by a passerby who want to take taxi. ask me to wind down my window and slap me then tell me it's wrong to pick up pax by the road. then cha bo taking another taxi. Call police, police ask me to call my company to track down the taxi so that they could block it. I call but my company say the police need to fax the details to them before they release the whereabout of the taxi. Think about it by the time the police fax the details, the guy will be at home sleeping. We are out there on our own.
Thinking and talking is easy. Try it out first. Try driving 10 hours a day, 7 days a week.
Typical singaporean, always think you are right. If we don't eat before or after peak hours. You expect us to eat during peak hours. Siao bo.
I am really wondering whether you really own a business. Or just a nobody, but like to talk big. I think it's the later.
I would say, a normal worker needs only to face his superior good and bad moods, we as TD, have to face all kinds of moods out there. I got couples quarrelling until I also kenna scolded for nothing, I got people who lost in casinos scolded me so loud just for a few metres short of his intended stopping location and many more. But that is part of our life we choose to live on, we blame nobody and certainly expect nobody to blame us. And frankly, it is not that I have not work before, for working is rules and disciplines, you can siam here and there, and there is alway a room to negiotate over it, but for taxi driving, if you dun not have a self discipline, plan your own rules and regulations, you are doom.
Originally posted by bowah:I would say, a normal worker needs only to face his superior good and bad moods, we as TD, have to face all kinds of moods out there. I got couples quarrelling until I also kenna scolded for nothing, I got people who lost in casinos scolded me so loud just for a few metres short of his intended stopping location and many more. But that is part of our life we choose to live on, we blame nobody and certainly expect nobody to blame us. And frankly, it is not that I have not work before, for working is rules and disciplines, you can siam here and there, and there is alway a room to negiotate over it, but for taxi driving, if you dun not have a self discipline, plan your own rules and regulations, you are doom.
It's not self discipline, it's just bad upbringing.
No matter how bad your day is or how bad your mood are, manners are simply just manners and people should at least maintain their composure by treating each others with basic manners especially when they are plain strangers talking and facing each other for the first time.
Singapore should adopt the ZERO TOLERANCE POLICY in all our service sector.
Be it a foreigner or local, the people in the service sector should have absolute zero tolerance towards all hostile behaviour and should report to the security/police to have these troublemakers arrested or thrown out or banned from the premises.
It's not self discipline, it's just bad upbringing.No matter how bad your day is or how bad your mood are, manners are simply just manners and people should at least maintain their composure by treating each others with basic manners especially when they are plain strangers talking and facing each other for the first time.
Singapore should adopt the ZERO TOLERANCE POLICY in all our service sector.
Be it a foreigner or local, the people in the service sector should have absolute zero tolerance towards all hostile behaviour and should report to the security/police to have these troublemakers arrested or thrown out or banned from the premises.
Parn the fag ( dont think we assume u are a gal just coz of your avatar) belongs to the customer from hell group. Never emphatise people , never give people a back door.
It's gotta be real bad luck for a TD to pick someone of parn's oops i mean fag's kind.
So guys , no mercy is the key. Line your pockets first before anything else.
I emphasise from day 1 till now
Huh ? Why is it when something has to be link with service , it can be a much debating issues here ?
Let them talk , let them raise the ratings of this forum .
Although ratings are nothing to me , i dun see why i should stop people talking non-sense about service , taxi service .
Same shit , when a Ah Beng and Ah Lian goes into Luis Vuitton , does this 2 expect service from the sales staffs ?
It's more likely they get tagged by the security guard inside .
Back to the thread ....
Cabbies no need pay more or pay less .
U smart , intelligent , vigilent , versatile , u can make it .
U idle , lazy , go home early , woke up late , can you make it ?
Main obstacle is yourself , nothing else .
Another obstacle , it's the government .
Don't disturb us , we thank god liao .....
The meter start from $2.40 , i also can make it .
Meter start from $3.00 , i also can make it .
CBD or no CBD , i also can make it .
On Call , street paxes , have or don't have , i also can make it .
Why worry about the fundamentals , get practical .
Just Do it !
Hit target , fuck off , go home .
Never hit target , also fuck off , go home , tmr try again .
Originally posted by Poolman:The meter start from $2.40 , i also can make it .
Meter start from $3.00 , i also can make it .
CBD or no CBD , i also can make it .
On Call , street paxes , have or don't have , i also can make it .
Why worry about the fundamentals , get practical .
Just Do it !
Hit target , fuck off , go home .
Never hit target , also fuck off , go home , tmr try again .
$5 metre akan datang soon.
Simply put it...All TDs have a choice....if u feels that you are earning much lesser then what you are supposed to earn then change job...if not just carry on driving ur Taxi....
For ts, your start thread and title very funny.
"Should td be paid more"??? I thought td is earning a fixed monthly salary.....hmmmm...
Anyway, reduce the fare and there will be more pple taking taxi and means more income for the td, Win win situation.
The problem is .... reducing hop in fare is not in 'their' agenda citing it will not work.
Problems really lies with the authorities setting all those fares rules and charges.
Shouldnt everybody sit down and comes up with a win win for both?
Just like many pple said, if someone earn good $$$$, govt will meddle it cos they too want a share.
When you have planned beforehand that you don't want to drive the taxi on certain dates, you can return the old taxi to the company and they will rent it out to other people. No deposit required if you're taking old taxi.New taxi need deposit when you hire it. And the deposit will be gone if you return the new taxi to the company if you break the rental period.
Eh, what type of old taxi can return to company when u want to go "On leave"?
What type of old taxi don't require deposit?
Originally posted by likeyou:For ts, your start thread and title very funny.
"Should td be paid more"??? I thought td is earning a fixed monthly salary.....hmmmm...
Anyway, reduce the fare and there will be more pple taking taxi and means more income for the td, Win win situation.
The problem is .... reducing hop in fare is not in 'their' agenda citing it will not work.
Problems really lies with the authorities setting all those fares rules and charges.
corect we juz play by he rules set
Shouldnt everybody sit down and comes up with a win win for both?
Just like many pple said, if someone earn good $$$$, govt will meddle it cos they too want a share.
Originally posted by komade:
A reduction in taxi fare may not necessarily result in a corresponding increase in a td's income. There are only so many hours in a day a td can work. (say 10hrs for one shift and 14 hours for omo). The upside is limited by the number of hours and the fact that taxi driving is limited to serving 1 paying customer at any instance. Be it 4 adults or 1 or any other combination, the fare is still the same. This is unlike shop owners\biz owners who can serve several customers simultaneously. It is guaranteed that a td will earn less per trip if the fare is reduced, and this has to be made up for by an increase in the number of trips in order to maintain the same level of earnings. This is not a given, though I concede given a fare reduction, an increase in the number of trips is a likely outcome. But it comes back to the number of available hours. The general perception that a td is his own boss is wrong. He has no say in the price of the service he is providing. A business can increase the prices of it's products or services to meet it's own increasing costs and maintain a reasonable profit margin if necessary. A TD is just self-employed. His only say is the number of hours he works in order to achieve his desired income utilising the available working hours.
When people ask me why the taxi fare is so expensive, my usual response is to ask if they expect their annual salary increments to at least match the inflation rate. Only 1 answer obviously - yes. The advantage of being an employee is that one can generally expect bonuses and salary increments. For a td, the only increment is if taxi fares were raised AND the number trips remain consistent. This is an unlikely outcome as people will voice their unhappiness by not taking taxis. (at least for the first few months). Since the last fare increment in December 2007, my income has not varied significantly MOM or YOY.
Inflation rate : 2007 = 2.1% , 2008 = 6.6% , 2009 = 0.6% , 2010 = 3.3% (Sep).
My income has not increased despite me working the same number of hours and at the same work rate. Obviously, inflation and the rising cost of living do not apply to tds. Who is helping me cope? The three of us have to work hard, me, myself and I.
Originally posted by Tio Call Liao:Parn the fag ( dont think we assume u are a gal just coz of your avatar) belongs to the customer from hell group. Never emphatise people , never give people a back door.
It's gotta be real bad luck for a TD to pick someone of parn's oops i mean fag's kind.
So guys , no mercy is the key. Line your pockets first before anything else.
I emphasise from day 1 till now
Ohh...so you mean you went easy on me because you think I'm a girl? ![]()
Don't do that, because I won't even go easy on you if you're a guy or a girl or an ah kua.
My zero tolerance policy still stands to get rid of rude, unprofessional, low-class taxi drivers like you.
Look at my avatar for what? It's not meant for low-class society trash like you.
Originally posted by Hiei1979:Eh, what type of old taxi can return to company when u want to go "On leave"?
What type of old taxi don't require deposit?
Why ask me when you already know the answer? ![]()
So silly.