should taxi drivers keng more to have better pay?
Originally posted by parn:
Ohh...so you mean you went easy on me because you think I'm a girl?Don't do that, because I won't even go easy on you if you're a guy or a girl or an ah kua.
My zero tolerance policy still stands to get rid of rude, unprofessional, low-class taxi drivers like you.
Look at my avatar for what? It's not meant for low-class society trash like you.
Did something die in here? hmmm
Originally posted by KCTK:A reduction in taxi fare may not necessarily result in a corresponding increase in a td's income. There are only so many hours in a day a td can work. (say 10hrs for one shift and 14 hours for omo). The upside is limited by the number of hours and the fact that taxi driving is limited to serving 1 paying customer at any instance. Be it 4 adults or 1 or any other combination, the fare is still the same. This is unlike shop owners\biz owners who can serve several customers simultaneously. It is guaranteed that a td will earn less per trip if the fare is reduced, and this has to be made up for by an increase in the number of trips in order to maintain the same level of earnings. This is not a given, though I concede given a fare reduction, an increase in the number of trips is a likely outcome. But it comes back to the number of available hours. The general perception that a td is his own boss is wrong. He has no say in the price of the service he is providing. A business can increase the prices of it's products or services to meet it's own increasing costs and maintain a reasonable profit margin if necessary. A TD is just self-employed. His only say is the number of hours he works in order to achieve his desired income utilising the available working hours.
When people ask me why the taxi fare is so expensive, my usual response is to ask if they expect their annual salary increments to at least match the inflation rate. Only 1 answer obviously - yes. The advantage of being an employee is that one can generally expect bonuses and salary increments. For a td, the only increment is if taxi fares were raised AND the number trips remain consistent. This is an unlikely outcome as people will voice their unhappiness by not taking taxis. (at least for the first few months). Since the last fare increment in December 2007, my income has not varied significantly MOM or YOY.
Inflation rate : 2007 = 2.1% , 2008 = 6.6% , 2009 = 0.6% , 2010 = 3.3% (Sep).
My income has not increased despite me working the same number of hours and at the same work rate. Obviously, inflation and the rising cost of living do not apply to tds. Who is helping me cope? The three of us have to work hard, me, myself and I.
fabulous post KTCK bro. hats off
Originally posted by Tio Call Liao:Did something die in here? hmmm
TCL, stop replying to this fella, sai hay le...
Originally posted by KCTK:A reduction in taxi fare may not necessarily result in a corresponding increase in a td's income. There are only so many hours in a day a td can work. (say 10hrs for one shift and 14 hours for omo). The upside is limited by the number of hours and the fact that taxi driving is limited to serving 1 paying customer at any instance. Be it 4 adults or 1 or any other combination, the fare is still the same. This is unlike shop owners\biz owners who can serve several customers simultaneously. It is guaranteed that a td will earn less per trip if the fare is reduced, and this has to be made up for by an increase in the number of trips in order to maintain the same level of earnings. This is not a given, though I concede given a fare reduction, an increase in the number of trips is a likely outcome. But it comes back to the number of available hours. The general perception that a td is his own boss is wrong. He has no say in the price of the service he is providing. A business can increase the prices of it's products or services to meet it's own increasing costs and maintain a reasonable profit margin if necessary. A TD is just self-employed. His only say is the number of hours he works in order to achieve his desired income utilising the available working hours.
When people ask me why the taxi fare is so expensive, my usual response is to ask if they expect their annual salary increments to at least match the inflation rate. Only 1 answer obviously - yes. The advantage of being an employee is that one can generally expect bonuses and salary increments. For a td, the only increment is if taxi fares were raised AND the number trips remain consistent. This is an unlikely outcome as people will voice their unhappiness by not taking taxis. (at least for the first few months). Since the last fare increment in December 2007, my income has not varied significantly MOM or YOY.
Inflation rate : 2007 = 2.1% , 2008 = 6.6% , 2009 = 0.6% , 2010 = 3.3% (Sep).
My income has not increased despite me working the same number of hours and at the same work rate. Obviously, inflation and the rising cost of living do not apply to tds. Who is helping me cope? The three of us have to work hard, me, myself and I.
Reduction of hop in fares and reduction of rental will definately helps.
Originally posted by likeyou:Reduction of hop in fares and reduction of rental will definately helps.
Based on what theory may I ask?
Originally posted by Mvp30sg:Based on what theory may I ask?
No theory, just a thought.
Originally posted by likeyou:
No theory, just a thought.
Supposing govt said lower rental, reducing hop in fares, who will be happy? Td and customers right? Isnt it simple and logic? Win win for all.
Govt done own the taxi companies althought some are GLC, and neither will they be able to standardised the starting fares for all taxis and not to talk abt reducing the starting fares...
Originally posted by Mvp30sg:Govt done own the taxi companies althought some are GLC, and neither will they be able to standardised the starting fares for all taxis and not to talk abt reducing the starting fares...
I heard that when td are making good money, govt or whatever will come and distrub them like increase this and that. Sigh!
Same logic goes to other fields.
Originally posted by parn:
Why ask me when you already know the answer?So silly.
Obviously Parn is the silly one here. If he knows the answer would he have ask you in the first place? Obviously he doesn't.
Imagine you ask your teacher in school or ask anyone about anything in particular and the reply you get is, "Why ask me when you already know the answer? So silly."
How would you feel? Dun do unto others, what you dun want others do unto you.
Silly.
Originally posted by Tio Call Liao:fabulous post KTCK bro. hats off
Terima Kasih chief. Just voicing out loud what most TD bros already know.
likeyou, concerning reduction of rental, beside the loyalty reduction for the first few years (I think for CDG it's $1.5 + GST per year) a true reduction in rental is never going to happen. Not with COE prices at such levels, not with CDG giving their staff 3+ month bonus (my guess only, but I know what they got for last year), not with inflation running at 3+%. I am thankful they never increase in the first place. Sure many tds throw key. Reducing hop in fares, again unlikely to happen. TDs unhappy, throw key. Consumers switch to taxis, billions invested in MRT Lines down the drain. Biggest losers SMRT, SBS Transit and the garmen.
They never try, they already say cannot.
I mean if hopin fare ready reduce, I am 100% sure more commuters will take the cab. I am one of them.
I mean td will have more opportunities to earn as the end of the day. The profit they earn. And when they are on the road, they will not scare dont have any pax, as pax will be able to afford to take cab.
Yes I agree with you, very likely more people take taxis. But the big taxi companies dare not risk losing many tds at one go. Idle fleet = money loss. MRT how? All take taxi, who take MRT? Only the low income group? Not enough ridership, the MRT fares increase. Vicious cycle.
Originally posted by KCTK:Yes I agree with you, very likely more people take taxis. But the big taxi companies dare not risk losing many tds at one go. Idle fleet = money loss. MRT how? All take taxi, who take MRT? Only the low income group? Not enough ridership, the MRT fares increase. Vicious cycle.
Domino effect.
But mrt will have commuters, mrt wont or will not loose any commuters to the td.
Anyway, that is the wishful thinking, it will happen. fares and rental and disel will increase. Trust my word. They wont make td life better. They make sure td work triple hard for the earning.
They see td happy, they not happy. They see td not happy, they happy.
Originally posted by likeyou:Reduction of hop in fares and reduction of rental will definately helps.
bro just to rewind a little back to 1995 , prior to this , taxi rental was only $38 a day. When COE hit $110k . they hiked the rental by more than double to $80 or so citing COE prices as the reason ( I am not sure wad is the exact hike but should be therabouts)
But right after that 110k COE , prices started to spiral downwards , over the years we seen $40k , $30k , $10k and even $3k COE but rentals still stayed high & never came down. So just imagine how much $ they made from TDs. The amount is mind boggling considering some of the sonatas they bought were only $60k with COE.
Just a year of solid prompt payment from a hirer yields $37800 for CDG. In a matter of another few months , the cost of the taxi is fully paid for ( and im very sure they do not take bank loans to buy their fleet).
You think they will lower rentals bro? They never increase our rentals consider very heng liao.
We are just like u commuters , hapless & cant do much.
So we take all the shit from the taxi cos and just pass the baton on to end users.
If people were to understand this simple theory , then they will not slam the TDs tat much but sadly tats not the case.
Originally posted by Sandisct:Obviously Parn is the silly one here. If he knows the answer would he have ask you in the first place? Obviously he doesn't.
Imagine you ask your teacher in school or ask anyone about anything in particular and the reply you get is, "Why ask me when you already know the answer? So silly."
How would you feel? Dun do unto others, what you dun want others do unto you.
Silly.
My reply still stands correct. I just don't bother to reply to people who already know the answer but still want to challenge me for the answer because they think I don't know the answer so that they can embarrass me.
You're just one of them anyway. Or you must be a really stupid person in real life.
It's not like there is nobody else to ask for the answer in here. And I don't fall for obvious trap and taunting.
You all need to try alot harder, and add in alot more intelligence if you wish to entrap me. ![]()
Originally posted by Pntc70:So what business are you in???
Need Workers???? Can I join???
Been in welding works. Carpentry. Vehicle mechanic. Can cook ( zhe car ), used to have my own seafood restaurant.
40 years old but no cert. $2000 is enough
Interested???
You think we are having easy life. If got chance to change, a lot of TD will rather gave up their taxi.
Talking about fault accident. My rear left door was bang by a van, but i still have to repair myself. Not my fault I was going straight but the stupid fella just signal and turn out without looking. My company say no witness better not claim, 50/50 chance only. If want to claim, can but if the claim doesn't go through then i will have to pay company $2000. We are out there on our own, company doesn't protect us.
Been slap by a passerby who want to take taxi. ask me to wind down my window and slap me then tell me it's wrong to pick up pax by the road. then cha bo taking another taxi. Call police, police ask me to call my company to track down the taxi so that they could block it. I call but my company say the police need to fax the details to them before they release the whereabout of the taxi. Think about it by the time the police fax the details, the guy will be at home sleeping. We are out there on our own.
Thinking and talking is easy. Try it out first. Try driving 10 hours a day, 7 days a week.
Typical singaporean, always think you are right. If we don't eat before or after peak hours. You expect us to eat during peak hours. Siao bo.
I am really wondering whether you really own a business. Or just a nobody, but like to talk big. I think it's the later.
well, i kinda lazy to reply to the rest of the post simply because its a waste of everybody time, but since you parting shot is in question of my company then find, lets talk about what you claimed you're so very right.
40 years old and S$ 2,000 salary, fine, call me at 85541533 and we can discuss from there.
being hit at your side door?? well its a well known fact that being hit on the side is 50/50, dun tell me you dun even know this fact??? try hitting my car at the back and i'll show you not only will you lose your 2K deposit, i'll make you lose your driving points too, wanna try+?
you got slap by someone?? hahhaha.. there must be more to it, who in the right frame of mind would go round slapping others???
i dun think i've mentioned that driving 10hrs 7 days a week is easy. but you choose this line in the 1st place didn't you?? or was it your aunty took a knife to make you a taxi driver??
as for if i'm a business owner, well call me at the phone no i provide and you'll find out for yourself, however, if indeed i've been in business for the last 10 years engaging 10 workers, and you would like to join my company and be a driver, would you either put a post in this forum and forgo your 2 months salary because of the doubt and remarks you had??
as for typical Singaporean, may i ask if you're a Singaporean?? if you are, then slap yourself 1st before replying to my post, or rather, give me you hp if you're man enough enough, just like what i did...
Originally posted by Saltiga:
well, i kinda lazy to reply to the rest of the post simply because its a waste of everybody time, but since you parting shot is in question of my company then find, lets talk about what you claimed you're so very right.40 years old and S$ 2,000 salary, fine, call me at 85541533 and we can discuss from there.
being hit at your side door?? well its a well known fact that being hit on the side is 50/50, dun tell me you dun even know this fact??? try hitting my car at the back and i'll show you not only will you lose your 2K deposit, i'll make you lose your driving points too, wanna try+?
you got slap by someone?? hahhaha.. there must be more to it, who in the right frame of mind would go round slapping others???
i dun think i've mentioned that driving 10hrs 7 days a week is easy. but you choose this line in the 1st place didn't you?? or was it your aunty took a knife to make you a taxi driver??
as for if i'm a business owner, well call me at the phone no i provide and you'll find out for yourself, however, if indeed i've been in business for the last 10 years engaging 10 workers, and you would like to join my company and be a driver, would you either put a post in this forum and forgo your 2 months salary because of the doubt and remarks you had??
as for typical Singaporean, may i ask if you're a Singaporean?? if you are, then slap yourself 1st before replying to my post, or rather, give me you hp if you're man enough enough, just like what i did...
Give ptnc70a break will ya? Sure nobody force us to be taxi drivers , dont have to say until aunty , uncle , granddad , grandma but some circumstances drive us to be one.
You are a very arrogant businessman i must say. 10 workers? well u better make sure your business flourish and huat till the day u die and pass on to the next generation.
3 businessman cases i have come across who had to drive taxis.
ex boss of a ferry operator ( big timer ) - much more than 10 workers.
ex boss of a credit co
ex boss of a contracting firm
you are obviously very offended when Ptnc70 challenged u, seriously wad have u got to prove? offer people a job and then docked 2 mths pay for challenging u? wtf?
What u can do instead is to tell us wad is your company , so all of us can boycott picking your staff & i will be the first.
Originally posted by Tio Call Liao:Give ptnc70a break will ya? Sure nobody force us to be taxi drivers , dont have to say until aunty , uncle , granddad , grandma but some circumstances drive us to be one.
You are a very arrogant businessman i must say. 10 workers? well u better make sure your business flourish and huat till the day u die and pass on to the next generation.
3 businessman cases i have come across who had to drive taxis.
ex boss of a ferry operator ( big timer ) - much more than 10 workers.
ex boss of a credit co
ex boss of a contracting firm
you are obviously very offended when Ptnc70 challenged u, seriously wad have u got to prove? offer people a job and then docked 2 mths pay for challenging u? wtf?
What u can do instead is to tell us wad is your company , so all of us can boycott picking your staff & i will be the first.
I believe in fengshui..you know...it is rounded. It goes there and comes back. That is why pple who is rich do charity and so on.
And supposing ptnc70a are snobbish, he wouldnt go far..and have to pray hard that business fournishes if not, one day, he will need to drive taxi too and taste the medicine himself.
You can forget about this idea lah.
Firstly rental will never be lower, coz it is tied to the fixed capital the coy paid (ie, the vehicle cost, taxes, and so on so forth).
Secondly, I don't think it is gahmen intention to lower the fare. Lower fare -> more commuter take taxi -> more taxi needed on the road -> more congestion, polution, etc.
Originally posted by likeyou:I believe in fengshui..you know...it is rounded. It goes there and comes back. That is why pple who is rich do charity and so on.
And supposing ptnc70a are snobbish, he wouldnt go far..and have to pray hard that business fournishes if not, one day, he will need to drive taxi too and taste the medicine himself.
not ptnc bro , is that Saltiga fella. A businessman with 10 workers.
Originally posted by WizQ:You can forget about this idea lah.
Firstly rental will never be lower, coz it is tied to the fixed capital the coy paid (ie, the vehicle cost, taxes, and so on so forth).
Secondly, I don't think it is gahmen intention to lower the fare. Lower fare -> more commuter take taxi -> more taxi needed on the road -> more congestion, polution, etc.
I dont think it will make the road more congested.
With the present number of taxi on the road, it will be sufficient enough to cater for the increase of commuters.