STOMPer Dennis was having his dinner at
a roadside stall in Upper Changi Road when he apparently witnessed a
four-car pile up after a commuter flagged down a taxi.
The STOMPer recounts:
"I was having supper at the roadside prata stall along Upper Changi Road near the Joo Chiat complex.
"Suddenly, someone flagged a cab and...*bang bang bang*
"The four cars ended up 'kissing' each other."
hate cabbies. they always jam brake.
I for one , don't stop suddenly .
I checked my rear , if car behind far , i slowly stop and hazard light .
If vehicle behind too near , i let go .
Cos i am never a hungry driver .
That jammed brake for that few bucks .
No class .
If its midnite or before peak hour and at upper changi road , understandable.
But!!!!! if its after peak hour and before midnite PHUI!
Originally posted by Tio Call Liao:If its midnite or before peak hour and at upper changi road , understandable.
But!!!!! if its after peak hour and before midnite PHUI!
Most likely the 1st cab jam the brake to catch the worm.
And the 2nd , 3rd and 4th tailgate unable to stop in time.
Insurance company headache.
Drive safely and not anticipating so as to avoid tailgate, at least, there is ample time and distance for braking.
Though wrong for cab to stop suddenly inorder to get customers....the cars behind cannot escape blame also...they sure must have tailgate for this to happen...if they have maintain safety distance..there would definitely more then enough time for them to brake..><"
theres a report in today's ST..
each taxi insurance excess is $5000 ![]()
ha ha ha no signal suddeny jam break to catch worm
Not only taxi drivers... private car owners also like to tailgate. Many a times, I have to flash my brake light repeatedly to "warn" the car behind that I find him too close to me for comfort.. Not surprising that the 3 cars in the collision are tailgating.
Always when things happen, taxi at fault, the pax who flagged suddenly leh? These TD also too hungry for pax.....but why they so hungry leh? TD is earning alot right, why so hungry for pax? Ya....possible timing that happen is during peak hour or midnite surcharge.....cut-throat tactic required just to get a pax!
Fellow TDs, please check surroundings if it is safe before you take a pax, no point getting into such accidents over a fare especially during peak/midnite hrs.
when no paxs, I alway drive slowly, so that any sudden flagging, can stop in time, but as most had said here, we need to check the rear too, if you drive abit slow, most at the back will move out of the lane, they know you are looking for pax, some private car drivers may horn or blink lights, but let them go, afterall, it is better to stop in time than get banged. If you drive at a fast speed and stop suddenly, you are really asking for trouble.
Originally posted by theWEIRDme:hate cabbies. they always jam brake.
Why do u hate cabbies?
1st, those cars behind should keep a safe distant then this would not happen.
Pte cars do not jam brake ?
Think before you talk rubbish.
Maybe cabby ran over WEIRDme toes last time...so he beh song them leh..><"
Originally posted by 105090:theres a report in today's ST..
each taxi insurance excess is $5000
Not surprising to hear that.
Whenever any accident involved TD, the damages and claim was balloned out of proportion.
I read somewhere that just a minor kiss behind the taxi, and the taxi drive claim up to over $10k+, claim involved : mc, heart pain, repair, pax medical expenses, etc...
My friend told me that never try to kiss a taxi tail.
Originally posted by allulu69:
Why do u hate cabbies?1st, those cars behind should keep a safe distant then this would not happen.
Pte cars do not jam brake ?
Think before you talk rubbish.
Aiyo....those pte car only knows how to complain but why don't they do some defensive driving. Before i become a TD, when driving mine personal car, i always avoid staying behind a Taxi cos i know they will stop if pax flag them. If i really have to stay behind a Taxi, i will also try to look out for pax in case they flat and the taxi stop. I'm so too use to it that why now i became a TD.
Originally posted by likeyou:
Not surprising to hear that.
Whenever any accident involved TD, the damages and claim was balloned out of proportion.
I read somewhere that just a minor kiss behind the taxi, and the taxi drive claim up to over $10k+, claim involved : mc, heart pain, repair, pax medical expenses, etc...
My friend told me that never try to kiss a taxi tail.
see that red car.... zzz typical tailgater-driver type of car
NO la . Taxi should stop at the designed taxi stand and not stop anywhere all of the sudden.
We something cannot totally blame the td for they (some of them) work hard and been on the road more hours than the motorists and might get tried and lost a bit of concentration.
Originally posted by Itedino:NO la . Taxi should stop at the designed taxi stand and not stop anywhere all of the sudden.
During night time, td can pick up pax along the road side right? I mean dont need to pick up at the taix stand. Only during office hour or peak hour.
Originally posted by Acekang:This probably happens when pax flagged suddenly and the taxi that saw it stop abruptly........thus causing chain collision.
What to do? Give it a miss lor.......When pax flag....i always check rear view mirror for any vehicles following too close me......hazard lights on....then stop.....if travelling speed too fast then give it a miss......
But cruising speed below 50km/h and on the left lane, should be fine......
Looks like it happened on the right most lane....where most drivers thought vehicles wont stop.......this whole stretch of road towards geylang, always got pax flagging on the right side of the road.
Geylang also got many pax that will flag on the right side......so drive safe...
Always when things happen, taxi at fault, the pax who flagged suddenly leh? These TD also too hungry for pax.....but why they so hungry leh? TD is earning alot right, why so hungry for pax? Ya....possible timing that happen is during peak hour or midnite surcharge.....cut-throat tactic required just to get a pax!
Fellow TDs, please check surroundings if it is safe before you take a pax, no point getting into such accidents over a fare especially during peak/midnite hrs.
Why blame the pax? Pax has no responsibility to ensure safety while he is on the road mah. TD who is behind the wheel is the one who choose whether to jam brake or not.
But I think the TD also often tired and react by instinct lah. No choice due to long hours and tiredness.