Originally posted by Zweiz:but wait! according to acekang here, it's a trick! no it's not an equipment problem, the pax bank a/c is empty and their credit limit reached liao!
give them a good one so they'll think twice before attempting the same trick again, k?
Some card issues , some network issues .
Some driver's issue .
If some insist on card payment like at supermarket , good for them .
Cash is still King .
A scenario , at CCK ave 4 .
11am , street full of people waiting for taxis . Infront , behind , opposite , all directions .
One waited for 15 minutes , still no cab , call also no cab . This pax always used nets .
In a hurry liao , siao liao .
Sekali from one car park , got a private yellow top just start work .... come out of the car park . That waiting person is the nearest .
U tell me , will this waiting pax take this yellow top ?
But this yellow top no nets liao .....
What will you do if you are that waiting pax ?
Still insist on Nets ?
Huh , this time very flexible , right ? Can go nearest ATM press money , right ?
Still need to take cash , right ?
Cash is still King , right ?
So what's the problem with carry about $20 cash with you all the time to take taxi ? Even if u do not take taxis , take extra $20 will kill you ?
Die die use NETS people , are because their bank account only left with $19 . Minimum withdrawal is $20 , so cannot withdraw , but can use NETS .
So talk so much , pax insufficient funds in the account , go ATM also no use , once network down , they siao liao .
No tricks , just realistically they got no money in the bank . Cannot withdraw even $20 .
I understand , cos i've been at this stage before .
But one thing for sure , no money or insufficient funds , i will not take a cab .
Everyone has been that stage before .
Well, it takes both hand to clap, but sori to say, hardly. All because each have a I cheat you and you are trying to play me kind of mentality, so end up a simple cashless problem become very personal. Try to avoid it, never assume or worst, tell pax that the card got no money, unless he/she admit it, typical singaporeans like you and me also want face and pride, what if someone tell you that yr cards got not more money to charge, you also cannot believe it and get heat up.
Originally posted by Poolman:POSB and DBS card ?
Answer : Pls flag for a TransCab or Comfort / Citycab
UOB card ?
Answer : Comfort / CityCab only
EZ Link card ?
Answer : TransCab and SMRT
Visa , Mastercard , AMEX , Diners ?
Answer : Silver , TransCab , Comfort , CityCab , SMRT , Prime .
Singapore only 2 taxi companies do not accept any cashless
Answer : Smart and Yellow-Top
We are going through more and more cashless, if you ask me, i rather take cash, system fault and transaction delay could make us lost our next potential pax in tight times.
With several different cashless transaction that taxi can accept now, it creates more confusion what cashless payment taxi can accept.....yesterday i just had a pax who wanted to pay by CASHCARD...lol
Eg. To be fair, a good pax would usually ask, can you accept EZlink card? (If they have run out of cash).
Originally posted by Poolman:I understand , cos i've been at this stage before .
But one thing for sure , no money or insufficient funds , i will not take a cab .
Everyone has been that stage before .
Been there before. Walked from River Valley to Clementi then flag a taxi because not enough money.
Just now 7.55pm , at Telok Ayer St taxi stand , ang mor got on board , u got nets ?
"yes , which bank ?"
" UOB ."
"Sorry sir , u take the taxi behind , i accept only DBS and POSB ."
" It's ok , it's ok , just move on , we go Newton Road . Near Shell i will go to the ATM ."
Like that lor , $11+ , take $15 , knn got tip somemore for telling him off , hahahah
This is genuine customer .
Originally posted by Poolman:Just now 7.55pm , at Telok Ayer St taxi stand , ang mor got on board , u got nets ?
"yes , which bank ?"
" UOB ."
"Sorry sir , u take the taxi behind , i accept only DBS and POSB ."
" It's ok , it's ok , just move on , we go Newton Road . Near Shell i will go to the ATM ."
Like that lor , $11+ , take $15 , knn got tip somemore for telling him off , hahahah
This is genuine customer .
Originally posted by Poolman:
Die die use NETS people , are because their bank account only left with $19 . Minimum withdrawal is $20 , so cannot withdraw , but can use NETS .
So talk so much , pax insufficient funds in the account , go ATM also no use , once network down , they siao liao .
so out of 100 pax, how many use nets?
out of 100 who use nets, how many fail transaction?
talk so much, end up is not about tricks lah. is you pushing your own payment preferences to customers.
i will continue using nets... in fact you taxi drivers can forget about collecting cash from me liao.
want to confiscate my nets card? want to call police? go ahead lor. but don't expect me to sit in cab and wait. no point playing nice, taxi drivers see us customers as dirt anyway.
Originally posted by Zweiz:so out of 100 pax, how many use nets?
out of 100 who use nets, how many fail transaction?
talk so much, end up is not about tricks lah. is you pushing your own payment preferences to customers.
i will continue using nets... in fact you taxi drivers can forget about collecting cash from me liao.
want to confiscate my nets card? want to call police? go ahead lor. but don't expect me to sit in cab and wait. no point playing nice, taxi drivers see us customers as dirt anyway.
If you insisted on using nets, you are limiting yourself to several taxi types, causing yourself more inconvenience at times when taxi are in high demand.
Same shit la , black sheep among those paxes .
Just one of those people who used nets to get a free trip . Phui .
And push the fault to the taxi .
Phui .
Anyway , if one is clever , always carry some cash with them if need to take a cab .
Yes it's true the options is more .
True ma , if like in Taka , 10pm .
Q until like shit , call also no taxi .
All taxis that came and picked , are those taxi without nets , then how ?
So Mr Z still dun care , insist on NETS , then good luck .
Certainly Mr Z never come across to wait for a cab around 10pm around town , and dun even want to call-a-cab when one is needed .
i just paid by nets twice today. no issues at all. no dirty fuck up looks from taxi uncle either.
morale of the story?
these guys here prefer cash and will exaggerate their 'experiences' so as to collect money in their preferred mode of payment
will stick to nets from now on
Originally posted by Zweiz:i just paid by nets twice today. no issues at all. no dirty fuck up looks from taxi uncle either.
morale of the story?
these guys here prefer cash and will exaggerate their 'experiences' so as to collect money in their preferred mode of payment
Originally posted by komade:
Its always gd to carry some cash as contigency plan u nber knoe when the network nber works..... Got once midnite send pax back to tuas wan to use nets but no network lucky pax got cash if not hav to travel very far for a atm.....
Precisely... Got once I send a pax from Katong to Pasir Laba Camp. Along the way, he already indicated that he will be paying by Nets. (Sidenote: I actually prefer cashless payment mode.) But, the horror begins when we reach his camp and after trying for close to 15 times (no exaggeration), keep getting Timeout Error. Really sweat man. Think the fare is close to $30 and according to him, the nearest ATM also quite far as there is no ATM in his camp. (I thought all camps used to have a POSB ATM near the guardroom??)
Luckily, after messing for about 30 minutes, he saw one of his bunkmate and manage to borrow cash from him to pay.
It's ok if you want to stick to NETS payment, but to prevent such incident, it's always wise to keep some cash with you lor.
Originally posted by TaxiNoob:........, the horror begins when we reach his camp and after trying for close to 15 times (no exaggeration), keep getting Timeout Error. Really sweat man. Think the fare is close to $30 and according to him, the nearest ATM also quite far as there is no ATM in his camp. (I thought all camps used to have a POSB ATM near the guardroom??)
I assume you would have shifted your vehicles to more "open" areas to try as well? It could be due to weak signal at far corners of the island. Try it next time, it may work.
Originally posted by WizQ:I assume you would have shifted your vehicles to more "open" areas to try as well? It could be due to weak signal at far corners of the island. Try it next time, it may work.
Yup. Actually shifted a few times until we are almost a few hundred metres from his camp entrance still cannot. I also sweat...
Originally posted by Zweiz:i just paid by nets twice today. no issues at all. no dirty fuck up looks from taxi uncle either.
morale of the story?
Thanks for using nets....u know got lucky draw, u can get to win taxi vouchers......good luck to you!
Originally posted by komade:
Its always gd to carry some cash as contigency plan u nber knoe when the network nber works..... Got once midnite send pax back to tuas wan to use nets but no network lucky pax got cash if not hav to travel very far for a atm.....
the question is, when nets fail, what comes first to the driver's mind?
it's interesting to see the attitude of certain drivers here, jumping into conclusions that us customers are up to our usual 'tricks' and they 'see through it' by insisting cash
if i am going to be treated as a cashless bum anyway, i might as well be one
Originally posted by Zweiz:the question is, when nets fail, what comes first to the driver's mind?
it's interesting to see the attitude of certain drivers here, jumping into conclusions that us customers are up to our usual 'tricks' and they 'see through it' by insisting cash
if i am going to be treated as a cashless bum anyway, i might as well be one
Hi All!
I am a newbie in this thread as I wanted to find more info about being a TD.
After browsing this thread, I finds that there might be some misunderstanding going on.
My 2 cents is that any forum is for sharing of information and experiences, no need to be hostile to each others, constructive feedbacks are welcome!
Mr Zweiz, from the following post by Mr allulu69, he is referring to the army guy not a reply to your post about nets/visa failed. Well, unless you are that army guy, there's no need to be agitated.
As for technical failure, nobody wants that, it will means inconvenience to everyone and to make TD to wait for pax to go ATM withdraw it is $$ lost to them as time=$$.
Sometimes to comprise and move on, it will make ourselves more happy then to keep dwelling on something.
Please correct me if I'm wrong, in a nice way that is.
Happy sharing!![]()
Originally posted by allulu69:Yes, I can understand that is worth it as a matter of principle.
The important thing is what ace said is to make THINK TWICE before he want to pull the same trick on other TDs again!he guy.
Originally posted by Zweiz:what trick? getting into YOUR taxi and make YOUR nets & credit card machine fail?
directory , allulu69 is not a MR .
It's a Miss Allulu , our so called "SIS" .
And sis is not even a cabby .
But i like to thank her , she always stand by us .
Always at cabby's side .
Drunk man lucky encounter to meet an kind driver, an honest pax, a quick witted wife.
19 jan 11 wed 2320h, after pumping diesel at sin ming, i drove my taxi, and saw a man flagging my taxi along sin ming ave(near the prawn fishing). Further up ahead was an yellow top taxi, another guy was trying to help his friend into the taxi, but it seems that the taxi driver did not want to take them. The guy who flagged my taxi opened my door but did not get in. He waited for the guy that was helping a drunk guy and they are coming towards my taxi. They settled down the drunk man into my taxi. I was not happy that the guy who actually flagged the taxi is not the one taking the taxi. I was given a drunk man instead.
Sad he took the receipt .
Sad he can trace you .
Sad Ace did not turn your head to check anything was left behind .
Sad it was at Sembawang Close .
Another thing we learnt ........at Bishan , abundance of paxes to the north , believe it nor not .
That is why , Bishan , AMK , Sin Ming , Shunfu , in one of my banned list .
Not point taking up such jobs and connect another to the north .