what ?
Newbies take Skoda ?
Just one advice , drive slow .
Skoda is our industry's fastest V6 machine .
Extremely high consumption on diesel , ok la .
They dun have demand problem , many people loves taking Silver Arrow .
But my Lake View members , Silver Arrow one , once go workshop for repair this machines , take ages .
Must find a replacement taxi for Skoda , take so bloody long to indent spare parts from China , do not have ready new parts .
One member , sent in 1.5mths then can see his cab back .
The other , 2 months . Need overhaul engine .
Other than that .... Premier is okay la , their GRO quite good , can solve driver's problem .
But otang rental , premier most strict , otang too much , tow !!!
Tow & not pay ...Lawyer letter .
No need appeal , wait for them to sue you or pay in time .
Let me put it this way ....
6am start .... end 5pm , if u can get $180 , u should be happy . Believe me , that is the maximum newbies can get , or lower .
5pm to 8pm , another $60 .
Total $240 .
14 hours .
Per hour $17 , it's a ok result .
For the first 1 month at least this way .
$100 rental , and $40 diesel , take home $100 .
14 hours job .
Hello , in between 30 minutes break must be replace by working extension after 8pm .
2 breaks means 1 hour extension to get above figure .
Unless u are Poolman .
If u are not ..... be ready to go home sad .
For the first 1 month .
Be ready for a bad start from January .
Jan , Feb , March , is taxi's worst , lowest period .
But capitalise on CNY Eve and CNY 1st & 2nd day , make as much as u can .
After NY , CNY , Valentine Day ..... be prepare to go home wanting to surrender taxi the next day .
It's all in your mind then .
How strong is your mental strength .
Taxi easy ?
U drive then u tell those people here .
Originally posted by Poolman:Be ready for a bad start from January .
Jan , Feb , March , is taxi's worst , lowest period .
But capitalise on CNY Eve and CNY 1st & 2nd day , make as much as u can .
After NY , CNY , Valentine Day ..... be prepare to go home wanting to surrender taxi the next day .
It's all in your mind then .
How strong is your mental strength .
Taxi easy ?
U drive then u tell those people here .
One year ago, i also newbie.....newbie need to learn routes so basically you would most likely pickup anybody you see, thats what they called *sweeping*.
For the 1st 2 months, I do not dare to go inside CBD because of those CBD rules i dont understand so i dont want to go inside and get fined,and do not dare to take calls, i drive almost 16hrs daily and able to get about 160-200 gross, after deducting rental and cost, i get about 30-50....
Learning the basic routes gives you more confidence to venture further.....
More importantly, find someone who can click with you, to show you his path of journey, find a mentor, a friend, a buddy......
Seriously, if i had not know about taxi forums, i could have given up too......i used to have doubts....how come other taxi drivers so nice to give advice meh? My existence could meant another competitor, less business for them......why should they help a newbie grow......just let them rot lah.......Just ask what you wanted to know....most will be glad to offer their advices......as you broke the ice and eventually meet up some during kopi sessions, then you find more joy and the motivation to continue.....
All the best to your new career!
Good luck!
I think Skoda $3.20 fare is a bit rip off because the car is small. Only thing I like is the power. But nowadays I cannot see any skoda in good condition. Mostly are dusty and alot of black smoke.
Hello DMO....
I'm also a newbie... driving only for about 3 weeks nia... so I'm not expert enough to give advice... juz want to share my experience.
1. I'm a Road Idiot (路痴).... so whenever I'm in doubt.... I Always ask pax. Most pax are really willing to direct you to their destination.
2. When I got questions... I come here and ask the experienced and super helpful TDs... They sure help you one... like those good fellows that had oready replied to your thread.
3. I also try to PR with other TD while waiting for pax... ask them questions relating to taxi... so far they also quite friendly. I even ask how to secure the boot with the rubber string if the boot cannot close fully.
4. For newbies like us... its important to have good mindset during bad days. I always tell myself to 'Finished Strong' to keep me going.
5. Drive safely... I had near accidents a few times cos I never check mirrors...
All the best... Try to sleep well tonight... even though you will have1001 questions in your mind.![]()
Ah Leong.
Danny i think cover is not a problem is the problem how much u ean only? haha. DUn worry as long u si bei hardworking. Shouldn't see a problem why u dun have customer. In Singapore so many ladies take cab to work or go back home. Woman is the important pool of customer and woman with kids. haha.
Bear this in mind , we only have 24 points .
And Traffic Police loves fast cabs .
And when camera flashes , dun hope they dun sent summon , they will .
New bird better don't drive night shift , cos night shift u will kena whack upside down by old bird like us .
We can always find pax .
New bird go everywhere no paxes one .....
Day shift easier , just Q at t/s , easier as a learning curve .
Guys believe me , from Monday , u'll not see DMO's post at this forum again .
He where got strength to log-in ? Sleep also not enuf time liao ...
Originally posted by Poolman:Guys believe me , from Monday , u'll not see DMO's post at this forum again .
He where got strength to log-in ? Sleep also not enuf time liao ...
sleep not enuf is only 1st 2 months nia lah.. after dat, can plan and sleep at least 7 hrs liao lor.. knn, computer spoil so long, today pass by expo, went in take a look and come out $900 poorer, bought a notebook.. come home till now, want to go out again to drive also sibei lazy.. but must go drive lah.. only collect 40 nia.. will go drive another 3 hrs come home watch football liao lor..
Originally posted by ALN:but skoda omo can die…
should find a relief
or a part time relief… like ALN…. best relief wor
Originally posted by kengleong:Hello DMO....
I'm also a newbie... driving only for about 3 weeks nia... so I'm not expert enough to give advice... juz want to share my experience.
1. I'm a Road Idiot (路痴).... so whenever I'm in doubt.... I Always ask pax. Most pax are really willing to direct you to their destination.
2. When I got questions... I come here and ask the experienced and super helpful TDs... They sure help you one... like those good fellows that had oready replied to your thread.
3. I also try to PR with other TD while waiting for pax... ask them questions relating to taxi... so far they also quite friendly. I even ask how to secure the boot with the rubber string if the boot cannot close fully.
4. For newbies like us... its important to have good mindset during bad days. I always tell myself to 'Finished Strong' to keep me going.
5. Drive safely... I had near accidents a few times cos I never check mirrors...
All the best... Try to sleep well tonight... even though you will have1001 questions in your mind.
Ah Leong.
Originally posted by Poolman:New bird better don't drive night shift , cos night shift u will kena whack upside down by old bird like us .
We can always find pax .
New bird go everywhere no paxes one .....
Day shift easier , just Q at t/s , easier as a learning curve .
How do you wack new bird
Originally posted by Itedino:How do you wack new bird
Mr Poolman mouth hard but heart is kind one...
I remembered he told me the same thing when I wanted to join his group.
In any situation, one learns fastest when under stress/ kena whacked upside down, where got time to wait ppl to spoon feed you?!
So don't worry too much just tell yourself first 3 month still under probation and income should be lesser than expected then beyond that, you should be fine... Every week you should feels that it's easier/ better than last week...
If after 3 month still Orr Bak Kart, then driving TD is not your cup of tea...
At least this is my mentallity when I started...
when u set a lower expectation , u'll be happier .
A few here will survive , like JLKL , my peanut man .
He earn this much , also go home , earned that much , also go home .
Lose money , also go home .
8pm , go home means go home .
This is No 1 survivor code .
When u promise yourself u go home at 8pm , pls go home .
Tmr whack again .
Originally posted by Itedino:How do you wack new bird
when they sms : " Pool , u hiding where ?"
I will reply : " Busy busy ."
SMS : " Pool , me otr liao ."
I will replied : " Charity drive ?"