hw do u feel abt passengers addressin u as uncle?
Originally posted by Hello Kitty:hw do u feel abt passengers addressin u as uncle?
Cos we've been stereotyped...
Once 2 lady keeps calling me that when I told them me not uncle lah, they starts to flirt wif me (verbally only hor)...
LOL...
Uncle uncle lor ..... if not now .
eventually will la ....
Originally posted by Poolman:Uncle uncle lor ..... if not now .
eventually will la ....
u different lah.
u old liao leh.
coz dat day me took a cab.
the driver maybe in his early 30's.
bt me kept callin him uncle.
so many 30's , i see until scared .
In fact , most here i sgforums , those cabbies damn young , young until felt so old .
30 , 31 , 37 , 33 , omg ... Komade 31 .
Manumatica 32 ?
Many .....
Originally posted by Hello Kitty:hw do u feel abt passengers addressin u as uncle?
I am used to it. From 30 , i got addressed as Uncle or Ah chek by pax older than me.
Tat time , kopi tiam aunty still ask me , Ah Di ah , ai lim simi?
Now , kopi tiam aunty ask me , Uncle , ai lim simi?
Time really flies
Back then , a 30 year old person driving taxi is a rarity. Some even ask me why i drive cab? i have no answers for em.
Now still got people ask but very much lesser, coz uncle liao mah. sad to say , i still have no answers for them
Originally posted by Poolman:so many 30's , i see until scared .
In fact , most here i sgforums , those cabbies damn young , young until felt so old .
30 , 31 , 37 , 33 , omg ... Komade 31 .
Manumatica 32 ?
Many .....
TCL you where got uncle??
Anyway, now taxi driving has gone into a era as TDs are getting younger nowadays and soon the old image of Taxi uncles will be re-written...
My Hirer only 33yo, taxi drivers is not an advancing job, after 15 years, peoples working in corporation may go up to managers, supervisors or some senior techs, even food seller can expand business and can drive merc, taxi driver would still be a taxi driver, you can said you are very experience and skill in driving and directions but there are no grade, no designation, and certainly no promotion, just a couple of not so grand awards maybe. But then, once you are in, after a few years of driving, it is very hard for you to go back to corporate world or take up some career courses.
You can said you earn 4k hard cash every month, the same people who earn 3k still get employer CPF contribution to top it up, medical n dental benefits, leaves, paternity and maternity leaves, bonuses, allowances, overtime...and so on. And bear in mind your 4k (if you can earn that much), not only depend on economy, you also have to work very hard, stressed, get old easily with an occupational hazard of digestive system and urinal congestion, 30s look like 40s already. Then there is accident to care for, once hit, you may have to lost alot, unlike working, go 8 to 5pm, any extra will be o/t, can take leaves, do not need to be so alert, eat snakes abit, and never worry about paying companies but then, have to look at peoples face to work, whereas taxi face direct customers.
But then, TD has it fun side too, own time, own target. It is good to see young peoples taking taxi jobs, as for now, times are good, most of these young peoples may not experience the bad times which hopefully will not happen. I hope they stay on and deprive the foreigners, especially the PR prowling to get into this trade.
I think calling us Uncle is a respect rather than an insult that you are old. And it become a culture here, even the foreigners like the philipinos, japs, indians etc etc are calling me Uncle, cos they learned from the local that this is the best way to address a taxi driver, if I am not wrong, in HK and China, they call taxi driver, shifu, so, i do get HKees and PRC calling me shifu, like taxi shifu...feel kind of funny, but then, it is a culture to show respect to one occupation
i enter and say..... "hello how are you? can you bring me to......?"
then again, i only take cab once every.... 3 months?
Originally posted by bowah:I think calling us Uncle is a respect rather than an insult that you are old. And it become a culture here, even the foreigners like the philipinos, japs, indians etc etc are calling me Uncle, cos they learned from the local that this is the best way to address a taxi driver, if I am not wrong, in HK and China, they call taxi driver, shifu, so, i do get HKees and PRC calling me shifu, like taxi shifu...feel kind of funny, but then, it is a culture to show respect to one occupation
liddat oso song.
Originally posted by bowah:My Hirer only 33yo, taxi drivers is not an advancing job, after 15 years, peoples working in corporation may go up to managers, supervisors or some senior techs, even food seller can expand business and can drive merc, taxi driver would still be a taxi driver, you can said you are very experience and skill in driving and directions but there are no grade, no designation, and certainly no promotion, just a couple of not so grand awards maybe. But then, once you are in, after a few years of driving, it is very hard for you to go back to corporate world or take up some career courses.
You can said you earn 4k hard cash every month, the same people who earn 3k still get employer CPF contribution to top it up, medical n dental benefits, leaves, paternity and maternity leaves, bonuses, allowances, overtime...and so on. And bear in mind your 4k (if you can earn that much), not only depend on economy, you also have to work very hard, stressed, get old easily with an occupational hazard of digestive system and urinal congestion, 30s look like 40s already. Then there is accident to care for, once hit, you may have to lost alot, unlike working, go 8 to 5pm, any extra will be o/t, can take leaves, do not need to be so alert, eat snakes abit, and never worry about paying companies but then, have to look at peoples face to work, whereas taxi face direct customers.
But then, TD has it fun side too, own time, own target. It is good to see young peoples taking taxi jobs, as for now, times are good, most of these young peoples may not experience the bad times which hopefully will not happen. I hope they stay on and deprive the foreigners, especially the PR prowling to get into this trade.
ahh at least someone echos wad i have been trying to tell those youngsters who choose to drive a taxi.
I already went thru all that. Tot taxi was all fun & laughter. As time goes , realise that the world is advancing so much that i cant catch up.
Slowly as days go by , i become an obsolete person with no skills , no proper knowledge , only steering skills & coffeeshop talk knowledge.
40 now and practically zero chance of entering the workforce.
Tats the whole trouble with being a TD. Likely to be a TD for good unless tio 4d , toto .
Originally posted by Tio Call Liao:ahh at least someone echos wad i have been trying to tell those youngsters who choose to drive a taxi.
I already went thru all that. Tot taxi was all fun & laughter. As time goes , realise that the world is advancing so much that i cant catch up.
Slowly as days go by , i become an obsolete person with no skills , no proper knowledge , only steering skills & coffeeshop talk knowledge.
40 now and practically zero chance of entering the workforce.
Tats the whole trouble with being a TD. Likely to be a TD for good unless tio 4d , toto .