Singapore: A scheme to raise the healthcare savings of taxi drivers in Singapore has kicked off.
Under the scheme called 'Drive And Save' (DAS), principal taxi hirers who contribute 50 cents a day into their Medisave Accounts get to enjoy a co-contribution of another 50 cents from their taxi companies.
All this adds up to $30 a month in the taxi driver's Medisave Account, which totals around $360 in Medisave contributions for each principal hirer each year.
In addition, eligible members can even receive some $1,800 in the form of Workfare Income Supplement (WIS).
According to the NTUC, the Medisave co-contributions made by the taxi companies and Workfare, will incentivise drivers to contribute regularly to their Medisave Account and save for their future healthcare needs.
Describing taxi drivers as an important group of self-employed persons, the
Chairman for the DAS Working Committee, Seng Han Thong pointed out that the DAS enhances the social safety net of principal hirer taxi drivers, who are an important group of self-employed persons.
"Medisave is one of the key benefits that all working Singaporeans enjoy. Taxi drivers are no different from other Singaporeans and should enjoy Medisave contributions as well" he said.
"After several years of lobbying by the various taxi associations, we are heartened that our taxi drivers can also enjoy Medisave contributions from the company from which they hire their taxi" said Mr Seng who is also NTUC Assistant Secretary-General.
A Memorandum of Understanding was signed last July between the National Taxi Association and seven taxi companies (CityCab, Comfort, Premier, Prime, Smart, SMRT and Trans-Cab), to realise the healthcare savings scheme.
Encouraging taxi drivers to be part of DAS, Mr Yang Ban Seng, CEO (Taxi) of ComfortDelGro & CityCab, said his company is setting aside $2.8 million a year to match the Medisave contributions.
This, he said, is on top of existing benefits for that ComfortDelGro & CityCab drivers already enjoy.
As for Trans-Cab, General Manager Ms Jasmine Tan said, "currently, our company is giving cash benefits to our taxi hirers ranging from $400 to $700 per month. The CPF co-contributions by the company under the DAS scheme will be on top of the existing cash benefits.
"We hope this will help to lighten the financial burden of our taxi drivers in building up their Medisave to cover for their medical needs and their families too."
The scheme is expected to benefit 25,000 principal hirers.
The seven taxi companies will collectively co-contribute more than $4 million a year to the drivers' Medisave accounts.
ok i am going down CPF to pay one shot $360 medisave .
Solve all those lay-chay-ness .
And enjoy what work force etc .....
Not bad .
For hirers only , not for relief .
That's the diff between hirers and reliefs .
Work Force $1800 is what ?
Let me go check with them .....
Maybe another form of CPF contribution into the CPF .....
Need some time to read .
Originally posted by Poolman:ok i am going down CPF to pay one shot $360 medisave .
Solve all those lay-chay-ness .
And enjoy what work force etc .....
Not bad .
For hirers only , not for relief .
im dead
another "help-yourself-and dun-rely-on-gahmen" scheme...
the concept is nothing new but proliferating horizontally to help gahmen....
WTF Scheme ! It's a Scheme you know.
Cheapo way of making you happy before the BIG DAY COMING.
So you can be very grateful of it and be very "KamTong" to this scheme people. Aiyoh, my hair standing up now.
Every Damn idea is a scheme.
You know the word "Scheme" ?
Whatever it is , if can squeeze some money from the government or taxi companies , just do it .
It's our money .
Some might say : " Oh goat skin come from the goat ."
Ya lor , goat skin , then do we get it ? No right ?
Now we get it .
Listen , if cabbies here do not have enough Medisave , i would like to say to you , pls do it , why ?
Cos your family will benefit from it !
We do everything for the family , the kids , they are the values , they are the future .
Just do it for them .
Originally posted by komade:
PHUI!! how come relief dun hab?? eh pool check for me can thanks
All this adds up to $30 a month in the taxi driver's Medisave Account, which totals around $360 in Medisave contributions for each principal hirer each year.
The scheme is expected to benefit 25,000 principal hirers
Originally posted by Poolman:
For those who's is in their early 30's , yet to getting married , and kids .
Once ur wife pregnant , u'll know how handy Medisave can be .
Delivery package is like $4000 ?
And medisave can settle 100% for you ?
Imagine ?
Let's give you an example .
I've got a friend ....
Near to his 50's .
New Year Day , got strike by minor heart attack while driving a cab .
Admitted to hospital ..... done a surgery .
Cost about coming to what , $8000 ?
Now what ? Siao liao .... worried here worried there .
If he has got enuf CPF since younger time .
Now he then no need worry . Now worried .
Furthermore , wife not working add more worries for him now .
Again , once u've decided to becoming a cabby , it's not a bad idea to have a strong medisave account for yourself and family .
Not as if u are paying a atomic bomb for it .
Some are paying 1-for-1 for you .
If u are in your early or late 30's , time to do it .
Dun take wasted .
Originally posted by komade:
F no game liao...... knn really wan me to be sai mo meh?? :P
Me has got a old man relief .....
Me hirer , relief old man ( rich man ) hahahaha
That's a coincidence .
Originally posted by Poolman:Let's give you an example .
I've got a friend ....
Near to his 50's .
New Year Day , got strike by minor heart attack while driving a cab .
Admitted to hospital ..... done a surgery .
Cost about coming to what , $8000 ?
Now what ? Siao liao .... worried here worried there .
If he has got enuf CPF since younger time .
Now he then no need worry . Now worried .
Furthermore , wife not working add more worries for him now .
Again , once u've decided to becoming a cabby , it's not a bad idea to have a strong medisave account for yourself and family .
Not as if u are paying a atomic bomb for it .
Some are paying 1-for-1 for you .
If u are in your early or late 30's , time to do it .
Dun take wasted .
Correct, better have some medisave inside, the govt use it to buy medishield insurance for you, so you are better covered. Medical cost is not cheap. As TDs, with no medical coverage, it is very dangerous, once sick only, your whole life driving saving can be gone...provided if you had saved.
So how do we make contribution? Any form to sign? How the taxi company keep track of our contribution?
This one have to check .
Logic tell me this ....
CPF would want your company's endorsement , to prove that u are their hirer , from this date til this date etc ....
Bring that letter , go CPF , apply for it .
If the CPF staff do not know what's going on , tell me his/her name , i make sure he/she this 2011 no bonus .
Originally posted by Poolman:This one have to check .
Logic tell me this ....
CPF would want your company's endorsement , to prove that u are their hirer , from this date til this date etc ....
Bring that letter , go CPF , apply for it .
If the CPF staff do not know what's going on , tell me his/her name , i make sure he/she this 2011 no bonus .
This is worse than peanuts...
Originally posted by Poolman:For hirers only , not for relief .
Last time you said relief is king!
So now what is hirer? King's father?