As Chinese new year is only less than 1 mth away, I have paxs who ask me.............
"Uncle, can u drive me to buy good bak kwa (barbercued pork) tat is traditional, old brand but not so expensive like Lim Chee Guan?"
"Uncle, can drive me to a place tat sells Chinese new year goodies at a cheap price?"
guys, pls recommend if u know of any places tat sells great tasting bak kwa at a reasonable price.
i like to buy every year at a stall tat is located inside a small coffeeshop directly opposite the BEO CRESCENT market. old n traditional brand n not so expensive, if u see a week coming to Chinese new year eve, many ple queue there n buy few kgs............
just drive them to the woodlands industrial area..tons of CNY goodies there.like fragance BBQ pork. n the factories? cnt exactly rmb the blk,bt it's by JTC de. sry,im nt a cabby driver here ![]()
yah, i know, Woodlands Terrace n vic.............lots of cheap Chinese NY goodies but the bak kwa i personally feel tat not so good leh..............
u know, i stay at Sembawang (just opposite tat industrial area), last time used to go tat area n buy bak kwa (factory n cheaper 10-20% there), but in recent years their standard drop alot..........
true..maybe try the chinatown thr? at lucky chinatown.facing the main rd de..lvl 1. gt 1 shop.tt 1 is not bad.BBQ pork i mean
many heartland got foodstalls converted to BBQ bak kwa.......cheaper and the taste as gd as BCH, LCG.
Originally posted by sBs_boy:Dont buy BCH..
Used to work there once during the CNY period. I dont think u wanna hear stories abt them…
Wat is the story? I really, really, like to hear your stories, uncle.
Why what happen at BCH...say say say....
Unhygenic is one thing...
Its the way that they work and try to sell their products.
MOst or rather 98% of the BK that u buy from the outlets are not actually BBQ in the outlet itself but rather at the factory. So by the time it reaches the outlet, god knows how many days liao. (Dont forget that BK can usually last about 14 days in normal conditions.)
They would usually BBQ a few pieces for 'show' to customer that ur BK are BBQ-ed in the outlet itself. But rather, these few pieces of BK are actually BBQ so that on the display at the counter, the most nicest and fresh BK are at the top. But those at the bottom.. U got it, are those from factory.
Ever wondered why some of the BK is like hard as rock ? Thats because, when the batch of BK from factory arrives, they are usually heated up for a few mins (U got it, another 'Show' to customers that they are fresh when in fact they are not.) but at the end of the day, they would just pack up. The next day, when the morning shift ppl arrives, they will take the overnight BK and go heat it up once more. So u can imagine by the time u buy home, how many times did the BK went through the BBQ heating up process.. nobody knws man.
Thats just some of the stories i have for u guys. hahahaha
Enjoy ur BCH Bakua.. :D
I stopped giving away as gifts once they jacked up the price to current like $46 per kg ?
I lost track , also dun bother to know those prices now .
What pissed me of was that ChinaTown was once a very competitve places and prices to buy Bak Kua , then dunno for whatever reason , URA stopped them from BBQ-ing Bak Kua at night market at Chinatown . So cannot be sold .
Then Custom forbid us from buying from JB , cannot bring in .
In the end , those MeiZhen Xiang started to find excuse to jack up those prices . They dominated the market .
Pork prices increase la , freight price increase la , school bus price increase la , COE increase , whatever excuse they can find to jack up those prices .
So i f*ck off from buying , eat less Bak Kua , also healthier .
Originally posted by ALN:ALN dun like bak gua…
very nice meh?
eat sashimi better la….
Originally posted by komade:
Eat some more sashimi no scared parang fly?? :P
sashimi got cheap one ma... at this woodlands terrace there heheh
Originally posted by ALN:bak gua up, ALN dun eat…
EPL up, ALN dun watch…
phui them
Same lor ...MioTv got the BPL Broadcast rights , i let others pay , i watch , at coffee shops .
I make sure next tender for BPL , mioTv don't dare bid for it .
No BPL in Singapore , big deal ? Ransom ?
Internet streaming lor ..... so many online , if can connect to my 40" LCD , lagi shiok .
Internet connect to LCD TV , can la , but troublesome .
Originally posted by Poolman:
Same lor ...MioTv got the BPL Broadcast rights , i let others pay , i watch , at coffee shops .I make sure next tender for BPL , mioTv don't dare bid for it .
Internet streaming lor ..... so many online , if can connect to my 40" LCD , lagi shiok .
i miss EPL on starhub cable vision leh.. hahahah
Originally posted by Poolman:
Same lor ...MioTv got the BPL Broadcast rights , i let others pay , i watch , at coffee shops .I make sure next tender for BPL , mioTv don't dare bid for it .
Originally posted by ALN:yeah woodland terrace… steam
Originally posted by komade:
When i come back frm motherland find 1 mon go together leh..... then after tat we go see marine fish
u want to buy sashimi ah
Originally posted by ALN:bak gua up, ALN dun eat…
EPL up, ALN dun watch…
phui them
EPL had become more of a money making machine than a real professional soccer game. I find some of the scoreline funny, seem like kelong alots. And most players, instead of being a real sport man, become actors and marketing icon.
But what to do, with the falling of Europe market, sport like soccer is what they had left to make money from Asia.