This keeps bugging me. Woodlands ave 3 to SGH. Courier company employee, now passenger told me fastest to SGH...BKE-PIE-Clementi Ave 6-AYE-Lower Delta.
I had asked this before and the replies was BKE-PIE-Stevens.
Maybe QX179 could help enlightened how ambulance drivers plan their routes.
Lion , fastest might not be cheapest .
vice versa , cheapest , might not be fastest .
On Christmas Eve , went to Night Safari
12MN .
7 paxes , four took mine , 3 took Comfort Mercedes .
Destination : Scarlet Hotel .
I took BKE > PIE > Clementi Ave 6 > AYE > Clemenceau Ave , and so on .
Meter $29.00
That Merc , if i am not wrong , he took Stevens Road , Cavenagh and so on
His meter $25.00
What does that tell you ?
As per my experience , Woodlands via AYE definitely longer , but direct , need not go through several traffic lights along Queensway .
PIE , must go through Eng Neo , Dunearn Road , Farrer Road , walan eh ..... boring sia this route .
What about SLE > CTE ?
My choice if to go to SGH .
Originally posted by Poolman:On Christmas Eve , went to Night Safari
12MN .
I took BKE > PIE > Clementi Ave 6 > AYE > Clemenceau Ave , and so on .
Meter $29.00
That Merc , if i am not wrong , he took Stevens Road , Cavenagh and so on
His meter $25.00
What does that tell you ?
Wah... Night Safari to Scarlet Hotel should be BKE, PIE, Stevens Rd,Paterson Rd, Havelock , then South Bridge Rd rite?
Or Mandai, Lentor, CTE, Havelock, Then South Bridge Rd
Or if go by your way, exit Clementi Rd, rather than Clementi Ave 6...
From Woodlands to SGH, for me same as poolman will prefer SLE, CTE, Exit Bukit Merah...
But still ask first which way they prefer lor... But always standard answer one... The Fastest way!
For me, if there's an alternative route, I always choose PIE last...
Really hate PIE, so many motorcycle... PUI!!!
Fastest, not the shortest or cheapest. In this instance, the customer gave me directions which she is certain is the fastest.
The pressure would really be immense if she is crying and rushing to see a dying patient and this taxi driver me can't decide which is fastest.
Marine Parade to TTH? ECP>KPE>PIE>CTE?
Originally posted by Mvp30sg:From Woodlands to SGH, for me same as poolman will prefer SLE, CTE, Exit Bukit Merah..
Short cut to SGH,
Once you hit AYE then to CTE, exit Tiong Bahru exit, keep right straight away after exit, and into the back lane of Wangz Hotel, this allow you to join back Outram rd and keep right and go into College rd after traffic light.
Much much faster then go by Bukit Merah or Lower Delta!
Originally posted by thelionsleepstonight:Marine Parade to TTH? ECP>KPE>PIE>CTE?
Parade ?
Direct leh ....
ECP - AYE - Keppel .........for me .
Originally posted by Mvp30sg:Wah... Night Safari to Scarlet Hotel should be BKE, PIE, Stevens Rd,Paterson Rd, Havelock , then South Bridge Rd rite?
Or Mandai, Lentor, CTE, Havelock, Then South Bridge Rd
Or if go by your way, exit Clementi Rd, rather than Clementi Ave 6...
Yes , this is the normal route we should be using .
But taking account it's a Christmas Eve , i scared Orchard Road Plaza Singa area jam .
That's why i whack Clementi Ave 6 .
Originally posted by Poolman:
Yes , this is the normal route we should be using .But taking account it's a Christmas Eve , i scared Orchard Road Plaza Singa area jam .
Parade ?Direct leh ....
ECP - AYE - Keppel .........for me .
Keppel to go TTSH???
Yes , this is the normal route we should be using .But taking account it's a Christmas Eve , i scared Orchard Road Plaza Singa area jam .
Orchard Rd Plaza Sing?
Unker, you not enough sleep lah :)
Originally posted by WizQ:Keppel to go TTSH???
Oh sorry , i am saying SGH .
From Parade .
From Marine to TTS ... not much choices , ECP > KPE > PIE > CTE > moulmein .
Originally posted by WizQ:Orchard Rd Plaza Sing?
Unker, you not enough sleep lah :)
Why u say that ?
Yes to Scarlet Hotel , i will never go by Scotts Road , Kim Seng , non sense during Chirstmas Eve .
whether or not Plaza Sing jam , i will avoid as much as possible .
Not worth to risk ....
Same time we reached Scarlet , mine is more .
I thought you agree to MPV's route "Mandai, Lentor, CTE, Havelock, Then South Bridge Rd". then why must pass orchard, PS?
Correct lah, on any days we should avoid those nonsense Scotts KimSeng, etc. Waiting at the traffic lights alone will bore you to death :)
Originally posted by WizQ:I thought you agree to MPV's route "Mandai, Lentor, CTE, Havelock, Then South Bridge Rd". then why must pass orchard, PS?
Correct lah, on any days we should avoid those nonsense Scotts KimSeng, etc. Waiting at the traffic lights alone will bore you to death :)
Topic is QX179 needed, but he did not reply yet.....
It is kinda strange why the thread starter wanted to hear from QX179 when there are a bunch of other forum members who could have offered him the advices he needed.....
And having a ambulance avatar doesnt means that person is driving an ambulance......
Just wanted feedback from someone who works with ambulances and would like to know if ambulances drivers have specific routes to take.
Anyway just picked up a paramedic from Bt. Batok and he told me ambulances drivers are stationed almost permanently (unlike paramedics who will be transferred every few years) at their respective stations and are in likelyhood working more than 10 years so they know roads in their area very well.
He said their drivers do not have specific routes and they are constantly updated on traffic jams from HQ.
Originally posted by thelionsleepstonight:Just wanted feedback from someone who works with ambulances and would like to know if ambulances drivers have specific routes to take.
Anyway just picked up a paramedic from Bt. Batok and he told me ambulances drivers are stationed almost permanently (unlike paramedics who will be transferred every few years) at their respective stations and are in likelyhood working more than 10 years so they know roads in their area very well.
He said their drivers do not have specific routes and they are constantly updated on traffic jams from HQ.
well the routes are depend on the ambulance drivers themselves..
some may take a fixed route whereas some may not..
it also depends on which hospital the ambulance is en-route to..
Originally posted by ALN:ALN sure whack SLE-CTE…
BKE-clementi-AYE very obvious a backwards detour wor… PIE-u-turn lornie shorter and faster…
PIE-steven most phui…
The U-turn at Lornie has been shifted to so much further down that it's not practical anymore.
Thank you all fellow drivers for input, I think if there is a next time, SLE>CTE seems to be the best.