Thaipusam Festival .
Thursday 20th January 2011
Pls avoid Tank Road , Clemenceau Ave , Serangoon Road , Penang Road , Selegie Road .
Good thing is , Thursday morning 4am onwards , housing area from all over Spore , many devotees will take cab to Serangoon Road to start celebrating the festival .
From Seragoon Road , they will walk to Tank Road in thousands .
One lane will be closed from Serangoon Road , Selegie Road , Penange Road , Clemenceau Ave area .
Day drivers , good luck !
Night drivers , even more good luck to you .
I remember one year , the traffic was bad at Penang Road , very bad .
Cos Penang Road is the link from one side of Orchard to other side of Orchard .
A very important route .
Now we are handicap .
How to avoid ?
I'll keep that to myself .
No point sharing .
U must experience it .
Then come and tell us what we should do next year .
Originally posted by Poolman:How to avoid ?
No point sharing .
U must experience it .
I thought the purpose of forum is to share info?
Another trade secret? lol
If what you wanted is to let new drivers learn the hard way, then it is quite understandable, as some things they would only learnt better through experiencing it themselves.
I doubt many drivers would be as good as you even they drive many years, this is a knowledge you accquired from learning the hard way, so you deserved to be proud about it.
Thanks for the partial info though.....
No point sharing .
U must experience it .
Aiyah, where got secret one????
The best way to avoid being trapped in the jam is to stay away from the area lah.
Anyway, do you think those people bother to take your taxi? Other parts of town don't have pax meh??
For those who bit advance booking on Wed night.. from wherever location to either Serangoon road or Perumal rd, very likely they are going to Sri Srinivasa Perumal Temple which is the starting point of this event.
Many devotees will leave early and also be accompanied by their family members.
You can avoid the jam by going thru the side rds such as Pertain rd, Perumal rd or Race Course rd..
No point sharing .
U must experience it .
Interview?
Just avoid the 'parade' route lor...
usually when you kerna jam at the parade route, pax also enjoying watching the devotees carrying Kavadi... they will forget about the meter still running. haa
Yes, just avoid it, warn pax about the road closure and jam, then see if they really want to go or not. By and large, every taxi drivers also their own way out, singapore only, how big and how far you want to go??
Originally posted by WizQ:Aiyah, where got secret one????
The best way to avoid being trapped in the jam is to stay away from the area lah.
Anyway, do you think those people bother to take your taxi? Other parts of town don't have pax meh??
U don't get the point this time .
It's those people who got on board your taxi from other parts and specific must go to certain places by passing this areas .
Ok , at Suntec > AMK , pls do not use Rochor Canal road into CTE .
Use KPE .
U guys must really learnt thru the hard knocks ways .
This day , must drive smart , on the road , must use brain at most times .
Drive blindly , follow pax's instructions , will be very tough .
We must give paxes alternatives . Make sure the taxi they took , it's not just about meter fare , it's more than that !
Do challenge them that u are more experience on the road , i-phone GPS is not better than us . Never will .
Challenge them for what? they are the pax, like this morning peak hr, one pax want to go bukit timah from jurong east, he said AYE exit clemeti road all the way to upper bukit timah, i said use PIE more faster, he said make sure it is faster, but later, we get jam for hours there due to a freak accident at eng neo, kena scold by him upside down, quickly shift out at Bukit batok and use toh guan. Even that also jam and move slowly. Can't imagine those paxs who got a plane to catch get jam in btw for hours.
I dunno how this year's traffic management will be like , i never had good experience during this festival .
Last year seemed the worst .
Originally posted by Poolman:I dunno how this year's traffic management will be like , i never had good experience during this festival .
Last year seemed the worst .
Here you go
Now 4.53pm , i am still at home , all thanks to this wonderful festival , cos i am celebrating with them , at home .
Have a Wonderful Thaipusam Festival !
Walan , wtf the freaking traffic near YMCA , sucks man !
Buses back-to-back ......
Clemenceau Ave closed .
In fact , only hit once around there , no point hahahaha .