I averagely start at 4pm , although my relief handover to me at 3pm .
After dilly dally , makan , drink coffee , read newspaper at Koffee Shop , 4pm then start .
When i work , i really mean it , agressive .
Although i am Lake View's one of the "chiefs" , when i work , i work like normal member . I also grap jobs with other members . Thta's how i summed my my attitude towards working .
Then 11pm , i'll find choices to make sure if later wanna go home , i'll not be too far .
Either go back from town , or go back from Jurong after pump gas . No Tampines or East side for me .
CNG taxi make it possible to go home fast .
Pump , then go home .
Normally , if no kopi session , i should be home by 2am .
Even a Friday night , the most i whacked , it's plus minus $50 or $70 , never beyond that $100 mark for midnight . Unlike some of those guys .
Oops , $$$$ sign again .
Then sleep , b4 that online , see TV .... Saturday same routine , sometime bring family go makan , do some grocery at Sheng Siong .
Go AMK play mahjong .
Work 15 hours everyday ? Not from today til i die .
To ply a successful trade in taxi , one must take time to explore those potential in town .
Like some do not like MBS ..... so they must do other explorations .
Some , for some wonderful reasons , love Q-ing at AP . That's one tactic .
Some love Q-ing at Office towers like MBFC , Raffles Quay , DBS Tower , Hitachi Tower .
Some mountain side drivers , hide at Tuas or industrial areas .
Some love to Q at Changi South .
Some love only RWS , or St James .
Some only hit Clarke Quay .
My point is , for taxi driving , it's a routine for many .
One can do the same stuffs every night , at what specific time , he can be spotted where ?
There is no prolific , skills or luck needed .
Just plain discipline in working .
Until you hit your ideal realistic target .
it apply not only to night shift .
Day shift as well .
It's a formula .....
Just an example ....
I am one driver , that will find it easy at Jurong area , not Changi area .
So what happened ?
I will never try at DBS tower !
Why ? This tower has got abundance of staffs staying at the East side , at least this is how i explored and found out .
Or never u will see me Q at One Raffles Quay , many Sengkang !
But if ever , i need to find a pax to take me to Jurong , i'll try International Plaza !!
The possibilties or probablities is higher , cos i did some explorations before .
A successful explorations and analysis .
Talk cock ?
Up to you .
Want Jurong ? try Vivo .... anyhow throw a stone also will hit one Jurong East customer .
Hahahahaha
One thing for sure ..... i don't know how others can do it , they just sweep blindly ... not me .
If i anyhow whack street paxes , very soon , u'll see me at Woodlands , dunno why like that ?
Taxi is not about seeing paxes , u picked , u earn that trip , and disrupt those connections .
Correct strategy is to pick , and connect .
In Singapore , night shifts , has got more "dead-spots" than day shift .
U need extra experiences to deal with it .
U don't rebutt me that u can go Woodlands 5 times a night consecutive from town and u can beat someone that stick in town for the last 6 hours , no way !!
U can only can smell his smokes if u connect one from woodlands to nowhere .
Nobody can tell me everyday go woodlands 5 times , and 5 times they can connect 5 trips to town , no way .
Thta's the basic theory .
Night shift has lots of blind spots .
It take a lot time to explore every part of Singapore .
Day shift ..... their working style is quite robotic .
Cruise and cruise , for durians to drop .
See street got people flag .... just stop and pick .
Go anywhere also can .
Why like that ?
Cos day time ma , every part of Singapore has got people going anywhere .
There will be connections .
Unlike night shift , it's reverse .
It'll take a lot of time to explore those differences .
And that ..... no luck involve , u need skills .
what i said , not all will agree , it's up to individual ....
Originally posted by ALN:pool, in town where to find cbd to cbd or near town type leh?
classified leh ....
Originally posted by Poolman:
U also alliance with Zero 5 ?Fuck la , he cannot make it one la .... damn idle .
In fact his mentor Uncle Poolman , it's the President of Club Idle .
Zero 5 is just a exective member nia .....
Originally posted by ALN:pool, in town where to find cbd to cbd or near town type leh?
Pool, If i want to drive your timing.
Easy to get a hirer??
i think your timing is a very good timing to drive taxi..
forcus for 8hrs only... good.
Just to check for CNG taxis when u mean pump $50 - $70 can give u how much distance? Thks.
Originally posted by Fwahhh:Just to check for CNG taxis when u mean pump $50 - $70 can give u how much distance? Thks.
$50 can go arround 500km for 2.0 wish,
for 1.8 wish, can go up to 530-580 depand on fuel comsumption
Originally posted by Paulsurf:Pool, If i want to drive your timing.
Easy to get a hirer??
i think your timing is a very good timing to drive taxi..
forcus for 8hrs only... good.
You nid alot trade secret like poolman than can dr same timing like him.....
His trade secret up to 12mn nia...
After 12MN, where got trade secret,
every TD oso know,
Queue at MBS,AWS, CQ.....
Clocking 500km for a Friday night is a norm for old bird? Or maybe for very very old bird only?
Originally posted by Fwahhh:Clocking 500km for a Friday night is a norm for old bird? Or maybe for very very old bird only?
Clocking 500km is norm for night shift TD,
Normaly, avg km is:-
7am-8pm, casue of jam here and there and queue for pax, avg is 30-40km/h,
As for night shift after 8pm traffic is ease, avg can be 50-60km/h,
Originally posted by Fwahhh:Clocking 500km for a Friday night is a norm for old bird? Or maybe for very very old bird only?
Dun be naive , old birds don't clocked 500km , only new birds .
Old birds sian liao la , knn ... they hit target go home liao , where to get so much motivation ?
500km for me , 2 nights , walan eh .....
New birds si bey ho chiong one , u all dunno ?
U try telling one cabby that drove more than 13 months , did he perform 500km every night ?
He'll say : " U crazy ar ? Where to find so many people to hit 500km ? "
Originally posted by Red5xx:Clocking 500km is norm for night shift TD,
Not true la ....
OMO , yes . From 6am to 7pm , maybe yes , might not even get 500km .
Half shift , night shift , no la , i would say majority average 350km , maximum .
Even on a Friday night , i for one , never touched even the 400km mark .
The one and only day i hit beyond 500km , it's the New Year Eve .
I want my life and health , not just money .
Have you got any idea how many km since i first started as a cabby , til now ?
Let's say i off on Sunday .....
Per week 6 days i worked .
One day .... average just 200km i travelled , idle mode .
One week i ran 1200km .
One month 4800km .
One year 57,600km .
Ten years 576,000km
See that ? 576,000km !
Considering : The circumference of the earth at the equator is 24,901.55 miles (40,075.16 km).
I ran 14 times across the globe .
U crazy ar ? 500km every night , will die young one .
Thanks for no thanks .
very true bro pool, 500km once a while is ok, and mostly those doing OMO can make it. But if everyday like this, sure die cxxk standing. Actually Taxi driving is not mainly on mileage, some only travelled 300++km make more money than those travelled 400++, so it is the earning that is more important. You can work hard, but also must work smart.
Originally posted by Red5xx:Clocking 500km is norm for night shift TD,
siao si bo!! 500km per night.
I seldom even hit 300km per night not to even talk about 500km.
Even new year eve from 5pm-6am, which is a record for me as I usually keep by 1am, also did not touch the 500 mark.
But then again for bros driving for CXX taxis maybe, as their bookings usually send them to the north & west.
Originally posted by bowah:
very true bro pool, 500km once a while is ok, and mostly those doing OMO can make it. But if everyday like this, sure die cxxk standing. Actually Taxi driving is not mainly on mileage, some only travelled 300++km make more money than those travelled 400++, so it is the earning that is more important. You can work hard, but also must work smart.
You are right lah, bro.
More mileage not equal to more takings.
Many of our Lakeview bros' takings may be equal to their mileage.
Tio bo, bro komade ?
Originally posted by Poolman:
Dun be naive , old birds don't clocked 500km , only new birds .Old birds sian liao la , knn ... they hit target go home liao , where to get so much motivation ?
500km for me , 2 nights , walan eh .....
New birds si bey ho chiong one , u all dunno ?
U try telling one cabby that drove more than 13 months , did he perform 500km every night ?
He'll say : " U crazy ar ? Where to find so many people to hit 500km ? "
I drive 22 months and never even once touch the 500 mark.
I must salute those bros that perform 500km every night.